Virtual Tour
USA California South Lake Tahoe South Lake Tahoe Listing #852

Peaceful Pinewood Retreat - South Lake Tahoe, CA

60 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms 2 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
2953 Pinewood Dr., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible, no-fee options for trip changes and cancellations.

You can reschedule your trip, cancel it and receive 100% credit for a future stay, or cancel it for a refund (minus the booking fee) at least 30 days before check-in.

Note: If your trip starts after August 31, you have these options as long as you change or cancel your trip at least 30 days before check-in.

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.


Most Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly retreat w/ private hot tub, deck, and large yard - plenty of charm!

*The hot tub is temporarily closed due to county rental guidelines for renting as noted by local regulations, OSHA and the CDC.

Searching for a great South Lake Tahoe getaway with room for everyone and lots of cozy charm? Look no further than this comfortable four-bedroom vacation home! Perfect for families, friends, or couples traveling together, this home puts you in a prime central location for exploring all the Lake Tahoe area has to offer.

The main level has a large, classically-decorated sitting room with slanted wood-beam ceilings, and a bright, sunny window seat - an ideal spot to curl up with a good book and a mug of tea. A formal dining room seats six, with extra seating in the kitchen at the breakfast bar. There's also an extra dining table near the living room, which could serve as a kids' table, an informal meeting spot for planning the day's activities, or the setting for an after-dinner card game.

The kitchen is big and open, with many windows for natural light. Plenty of counter space assures that there is always room for preparing meals - everything from homemade granola to a hearty vegetable lasagna. There is a new countertop convection oven and warming trays to make entertaining easy! There's also a dishwasher for easy cleanup and kitchen gadgets like a blender and coffee grinder for any culinary project you may want to undertake.

The living room has a lot of cozy spots for snuggling around the wood-burning stove on chilly Tahoe nights. There's also a flat screen TV with cable and a DVD player for family movie nights with popcorn - or after the kids have gone to bed, viewing multiple episodes of your favorite TV shows late into the night.

A sliding glass door from the living room leads out to the deck and enclosed, tree-lined yard. This house is also dog-friendly, so your furry friends will enjoy exploring the yard and keeping you company while you relax on the deck with a glass of wine. The lower level also has a half bath and other house amenities include WiFi, a washer and dryer, stereo, and CD player.

All four bedrooms are located upstairs, including a master suite with a queen-size bed, en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower, and ceiling fan. This room is nicely-sized and very relaxing. Two other bedrooms each have full-size beds, one with its own TV - great for keeping kids entertained with morning cartoons. The last bedroom has a great deal of space and a queen bed. A full bathroom is conveniently located in the hallway. This home will comfortably sleep eight guests. Dogs are welcome, though a nightly fee per dog and a minimum fee per stay will apply.

This Peaceful Pinewood Retreat vacation home is located in a quiet, residential area of South Lake Tahoe. Only a few minutes' drive from the Tahoe Keys Marina Yacht Club, your group can enjoy boat rentals and private charters on Lake Tahoe for sightseeing. Great for beginners, the Bijou Golf Course is just two and a half miles east and for a more challenging course, the Lake Tahoe Golf Course (championship layout designed by William Bell) is only five miles south.

In the cold months, the Lake Tahoe area definitely offers some great skiing at Heavenly Mountain Resort. Only a ten-minute drive from the house and you'll be breezing down the slopes, taking a snowboarding lesson, or just relaxing at the Tamarack Lodge with a hot toddy. You can also kick back in the comfort of the private hot tub!

In the summer, this area has just as many enticing activities such as hiking, rock climbing, mountain biking, and downhill tubing activities. You can even take in the breathtaking sights from the Heavenly Mountain Gondola, a 2.4-mile ride with panoramic views of Lake Tahoe below.

Aside from outdoor activities, this city has so much more to offer, including restaurants, galleries, casinos, and nightlife. After a day of gallery browsing in town, stop at Base Camp Pizza for handmade gourmet pizza and ice-cold beer. From there you can try your luck at one of the many casinos across the Nevada state line.

No matter if you're planning a family vacation in the great outdoors or a friends' getaway for skiing and fun at the casinos, this South Lake Tahoe home provides a comfortable home base right in the middle of all the activity!

*Please note, outdoor amenities like the gas grill, patio furniture, and other summer amenities may not be available in the winter.

ANIMALS: Tahoe is home to many animals. You may experience bears, raccoons, mice, ants, spiders, and other animals. Meadows are home to many rodents. When these areas are filled with water or snow, these animals move to homes in the area. You may experience these animals in or near your home.
There is no A/C in this home.

Guests staying at a South Lake Tahoe rental must adhere to all City Ordinances. In addition to noise, trash disposal, and parking rules, maximum occupancy cannot be exceeded under any circumstance. Fines of up to $2000 will be imposed by The City of South Lake Tahoe, without warning, for any violations.

A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

Property permit ID: 6368



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining






Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter

DVD player

Wireless router


Nearby activities & attractions

Board games

Downhill Skiing

Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Adult bikes

Children's bikes


Gas grill : Private

Beach towels


Enclosed yard

60 reviews

DeAnna W. Mar 2020
This home was located in a very quite neighborhood. With plenty of space for a family. Big back yard for you pets and kids to play safely. Would recommend to anyone looking to spend a quite time with family.
Mary O. Jan 2020
We love our stay at this very comfortable house.. Clean, quiet, complete amenities and the best part was the huge bedroom and the kitchen, hot tub and most of all the short distance to almost all tourist destinations... We will definitely be back as we yearly come to Tahoe for family vacation.. This home will be the # 1 on our list...

Hae Jung C. Jan 2020
The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was old but very clean. I was very happy with the location. I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviews. :.
This home had 2 large rooms and 2 smaller rooms. Was the perfect setting for our first annual 7 people friends holiday trip. It was within walking distance to Heavenly, a very easy drive into town.
The home is definitely aging and in need of a few minor repairs, but that did not detract from our experience at all. The kitchen provided almost everything we needed to cook dinner, plus enjoy our day-to-day living. Can't say enough great things about our stay.
Bob S. Sep 2019
The house is in a great location and nice neighborhood. The house was very clean and well stocked with towels cooking utensils. Everything anyone could need was available.
Julio P. Feb 2019
We loved our stay here! We were 8 people and 1 dog. There was enough space for everyone. Everyone slept comfortably. Located in a nice area and very easy to find. Huge backyard. Super clean and neat. Fresh bedding and plenty towels. The only thing that I would think about before your stay here is if you are coming with a second car. We came with 2 trucks and we could not fit one in the garage and had to leave the garage open so would not be in the road for the other houses around us. Other than that this house Exceeded exceeded our expectations.
Travis R. Jan 2019
The house was wonderful, the storm awesome! The city implemented fines an regulations scary! They need to be allowed 3 cars was our only problem.
Jenna L. Dec 2018
This house has potential and lots of room... HOWEVER - Unfortunately, it’s been so I’ll maintained that it’s disgusting!! Upon arrival all 4 bedrooms had dirty, soiled, sheets with stains and hair left from guests before us. Back fence was broken, so dogs could get out the back. Hot tub was broken! Kitchen was disgustingly dirty with used dirty cutting boards and used dirty pans still in the oven with food still on them. Beds were old and uncomfortable, couch was stained and beyond dirty. DVD player was broken. The back door DID NOT LOCK, and the garage door only locked from the outside so our belongings were never secure. Overall, It’s sad because this could be a great house, but it’s mismanaged and very poorly maintained.
Manager response:
We are so sorry that the cleanliness was not up to standard before the guest's arrival. We've followed up with our housekeeping team, and they will pay closer attention to these details moving forward. The hot tub is in good working order and the local team is working on getting the fence fixed. We hope to have the opportunity to impress this guest in the future.
Paula S. Oct 2018
Cozy and spacious home.
Cecile A. Sep 2018
Peaceful place, no problem with the house / booking or neighborough ! I recommend
ROSANNA C. Aug 2018
The place is very centrally located. It's spacious and we were very comfortable in the house.
Ana S. Apr 2018
Very nice place and everything comfortable
Andrew B. Mar 2018
The home was very comfortable and spacious. It suited a group of 8 easily and made for a nice stay. There were some accessories not working in the home, but none of them truly impacted our stay. Would definitely recommend this place.
Billy H. Jan 2018
Big house.
Cable boxes in 3 rooms.
Fenced backyard.
1 adult and 2 kids bikes are in the shed.
Small driveway.
Sketchy deck.
Dog poop all over the yard when we arrived.
Jeannette E. Sep 2017
Wonderful home. Great yard for your dogs. We will be back! This was stay number 5 at this property.
John A. Aug 2017
We truly enjoyed staying at this property. I fell in love with it :) I think we will always book that specific property when we come to visit Tahoe!
Christina S. Jun 2017
My friends and I rented this house as it could accommodate a large group since we were participating in the Rock Tahoe Half Marathon. The house had enough bedrooms for 8 people to stay, and was quite comfortable. It was situated a little bit off the main road and was ideal as it was close to many restaurants and groceries stores.

The only downside was that there happened to be heat wave that weekend, and as all the rooms are situated upstairs and the house does not have central air, it made it a bit stuffy and warm. But we understand that most houses in Tahoe do not need have central air because it doesn't get too hot for most of the year. Luckily it is quite pleasant to sleep with the windows open, and the outside air cooling down the unit.

We had a pleasant stay and will definitely book this place again in the future!
Aakankshya T. May 2017
It's a fully furnished home with all amenities.the hottub is amazing.The backyard was big enough to get my large dogs tired.
Jacqueline O. Apr 2017
This was a great rental close to Heavenly. We primarily were looking for a dog friendly place, with a hot tub, and close of the ski lifts. This fit within our budget. It was a very large place with two dining rooms and two living rooms. Definitely for big groups. The bathrooms were dated, but functional. The hot tub was great except the temperature didn't seem accurate. It was scalding HOT! We had to cool it down with some icy cold water because it didn't seem to lower in temperature at all. That was the only hiccup for this great place. I would definitely recommend to furry dog owners and friends.
Morgan P. Jan 2017
Bedrooms were large and had adequate space for 8 of us plus a dog. Back yard is fenced in for the dog, although very snowy so we mostly went out front. The only shovel for the driveway was in the back yard in a snow bank, so if we hadn't gone out to look at the hot tub, we wouldn't have found it and it is a very useful amenity in the Tahoe winter. Also, the hot tub did not work, master toilet was clogged on arrival, the master bed headboard was not attached to the bed and hit the wall with the slightest movement, and the master bedroom door had no door knob - we emailed about the hot tub and toilet but received no response. Other than these flaws, the house was great for what we wanted - lots of space to hang out and play games. The trashcan had no bag in it but we used small grocery bags, but then could not take it to the bear locker like asked because it was not all contained in one large close-able bag. I would stay here again with friends, despite the cons. It was perfect size for us 4 couples and was great that everyone got their own room. With the extra toilet downstairs, we didn't really need the master toilet to work.
Kathy M. Jan 2017
Hot tub was not available without any notice
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback for your stay at the Peaceful Pinewood Retreat! This home does not have a hot tub listed as an amenity. The hot tub on site has been out of commission and pending repair. We hope to have you again soon!
Juan A. Jan 2017
I am so happy. With vacasa. Thanks so much..
Leah F. Aug 2016
The home needs a lot of work, tons of cheap maintenance could be done to make the experience nicer. there were no bulbs in the outside light fixtures so we had to bbq and use the hot tub in the dark. bathroom fans not working, towels smelled like dog, prob not cleaned prior to us arriving. lamps fell apart when I tried turning them on and off. the carpet is SO dirty, my feet were black from the dirt. everyone ended up wearing shoes inside due to the dirt. the house is under a fly zone, you could hear the planes as if they were landing on the house. now for the positive - location was amazing, the neighborhood is really nice and safe. It's not far from the beach and stores, the size of the house is huge + kitchen, we really enjoyed having all the space. The rooms are huge as well and we really enjoyed having 3bathrooms.
Dao V. Jul 2016
This is the second time we stayed at the home and the first time was great during the winter. This second time was not as great due the grill catching on fire underneath near the propane tank, making us all think it was going to explode. Not the way we were hoping to spend 4th of July. We have been in contact with management and will update the review once our situation is resolved. So far they have been very receptive to our concerns so hopefully we have a happy resolution.
Manager response:
We are very sorry to see that there was a scary experience with the grill. This guest was refunded for the dinner lost, and they were refunded for the inconveniences they experienced with this reservation in general. We would love another chance to impress in the future!
Adeline M. May 2016
If you stay here, you need to like pets. Even though we waited over a half hour past check in time for the the house to be cleaned, there was fur all over the rugs and poop in the back yard and I did not bring any animal with us. Be weary of the toilets, back door, and hot tub, they are all rather temperamental in that the toilet easily floods, you need a strong man to lock and unlock the back door since its so sticky, and make sure you give plenty of time for the hot tub to cool down before you go in, my friend got a burn on her leg that lasted the whole trip.

The location is great, kitchen was well stocked, and the tv was nice and all instructions for check in/out were very clear. There was a very helpful little binder on the table with all the details about everything from wifi to laundry to tv plugs etc. I think the largest seller for this place is that its location is almost perfect, it was a good price, and it's pet friendly. I probably wouldn't stay there again, but it was a lovely trip.
Lara K. Mar 2016
Great place for a quick trip. Lots of space and close to everything.
Leann G. Mar 2016
We had a very relaxing comfortable time at this property and we will be staying here again.
Kristin P. Mar 2016
We had a fantastic time, the house was perfect for our group and had everything we needed. Thank you!
Felicia C. Feb 2016
Very easy service to use! Had two specific search criteria that were easily listed and produced results I needed.
David G. Jan 2016
great home for a big family and pet's friendly :) unfortunately the add doe snot say anything about the guests not being able to use the garage. expect several sign of "do not use not working" like the bathroom exhaust fans, the microwave, the garage, the fireplace. we used the stove oven once and guess what it did not have a sign of "not working" however it did not work. if you don't care about any of that this property is for you and your big family.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We apologize that so many items were out of order for your stay and will work on getting those up and running again as soon as possible. We hope you found the home large enough for your group to be comfortable in.
Himanshu V. Dec 2015
We enjoyed our stay but some fixes are required to make it good for all. I can recommend this house for 1-2 family. Bathrooms locks are not working and hence you have to coordinate with others properly when bathroom is in use. If you have kids, this coordination will become difficult.

Heater has some issue, lower level will not go desired temperature while upper level become suffocating (as we tried to raise lower level temperature).
Manager response:
Thank you for your response. We apologize that the bathroom locks were not working correctly and that the clean was not up to standards. It is very important to us that these matters be addressed and we will work on making sure that does not happen again in the future. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Emily S. Oct 2015
The house was in a good location. Close to grocery stores, 10 mins from casinos and shops. House was overall pretty clean. They had some moldy cutting boards in the cabinet that need to get thrown away! A couple things need repairing but it was a nice stay. Great for our group of 6. We could have fit many more people rooms were spacious and the bedding was good. Would stay here again.
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback very much. The Property Manager will remove the moldy cutting boards (we are terribly sorry they were there in the first place!), and will also look into other maintenance items that might need our attention. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the location and hope to see you again soon!
Mallory R. Oct 2015
We loved our stay at this home! The location was convenient to everything! Nice big tv and cable which was great because we watched a football game here! The home could use some updating but for the price it's a great deal! Rooms are nice and big! Huge double shower in the master. We will stay here again for sure next time we come to visit!
Mikayla M. Aug 2015
Went up there with 4 other couples. We had a great time. The house was nice and spacious. One of the bedrooms was large enough to add two queen mattresses in! Not far from the casinos and shopping. We would definitely stay there again! We overall had a great experience.
Laura R. Aug 2015
Other than a few needed improvements, this place is very well maintained and clean with surprisingly large rooms. We had more than enough space for all of us. Thank you
Liaku X. Jun 2015
Our trip was cater towards a couple's retreat. We had 4 couples (total of 8 people). Each couple had their own room which is very nice. I loved how all the rooms are located upstairs. The kitchen was big enough to do some cooking and the two living rooms were clean and spacious. In fact, this house was a bit too big for just 8 people. We ended up not using the first living room by the front door and the dining room. We mostly stayed in the kitchen area and second living room with the couches and tv.

We did use the hot tub! It was very nice! The grill took a while to cook our meat but it was doable. The back yard could use a little of gardening but the dandelions were so huge and so massive in numbers that we used it to our advantage. We took pictures of couples and used these dandelions as filters (falling dandelions). It was a great touch!

The only improvement I would add is that our check in was at 4pm. So everyone scheduled their availability towards that time (work, school, etc.). I received an email at 10am for an early check in at 11am (which is awesome of course). However, most of us were still at work and the rest would not be able to leave yet since we already planned out carpools. Besides, we were not coming from near by, we were coming from the central valley. We ended checking in at 9ish and were super exhausted. Straight to bed we all went. Perhaps in the future, if early check in is available, more than an hour notice would be nice.

Overall, this was a great place to stay at and have some rekindling done. Everyone left home with a bittersweet smile on their faces. I know I did :)

Thanks for the great stay!
Werlu A. Mar 2015
The house is in a very nice location.. close to shops and stuff.. cozy, spacious rooms, and fully equipped kitchen...and if u have kids they board games for days haha the house can fit 12 comfortably, sleep 12 comfortably.. but shower 12?! The house runs out of hot water after 3 to 5 showers if whoever does the dishes washes with warm or hot water.. the linens and towels don't smell clean or fresh but they have a washer and dryer if you or any in your family are OCD about cleanliness.. and they don't have towels enough for 12 so bringing your own won't hurt. The hot tub works great, the bbq grill was in bad shape, but over all our family enjoyed the stay.
Monica A. Feb 2015
We're liked our quiet and cozy stay. The hot tub and yard were a real plus. The property is a bit dated, but we were warm and comfortable. big rooms too.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the yard and the hot tub! We hope to see you again soon!
Scott W. Oct 2014
My wife and I stayed here with a few other couples, and had a great experience. The home is very close to downtown South Lake Tahoe, but is in a nice quiet neighborhood with a big backyard, which was great for our dogs. Tahoe is very accessible from this home, and everything in the house was well maintained and very cozy.
Would definitely recommend!
Jeannette E. Sep 2014
We enjoyed the peaceful setting. We loved watching dogs run and play in the large fenced backyard. The rooms were huge and the beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was well stalked for cooking our large family meals. This is the spot we will return to next time. Thanks for everything!!
Bill C. Aug 2014
Enjoyed the beautiful meadow nearby to walk our dogs with great views of the mountains in the distance.
Manager response:
Thank you for the nice review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your next visit.
Lisa B. Mar 2014
I have stayed in many cabins but this one was spacious and a truly good family vacation spot! We will consider this home for future stays!
Mollie V. Jan 2014
This house is perfect for a large group. We had plenty of space, and all the appliances and amenities we needed for a great weekend of snowboarding, card playing, football watching, cooking and eating.

The location was perfect, with easy access to supermarkets and supplies, as well as great proximity to the lake and the snow. The house was in great shape, and extremely comfortable for everyone.

Overall, I definitely recommend this house for a great weekend in South Lake Tahoe!
Ashlynn W. Jan 2014
This was the perfect house for our stay in Tahoe. All bedrooms are large and have either a full size or queen bed! The kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans, plates, cups and gadgetry. Backyard is HUGE!!!
We will definitely consider booking again for future trips.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your great review with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit. See you then!