USA Washington Eastsound Orcas Island Listing #17962

Raccoon Point - Eastsound, WA

Take a Virtual Tour
43 reviews
Max. occupancy: 7 (6 adults) 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 1 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly waterfront home with private hot tub & island views

Admire stunning views of Puget Sound from this state-of-the-art home. Located right on the water, you can enjoy spectacular vistas of the water and distant mountains. Take in the wonderful sunsets from your private patio complete with a private hot tub, grill, and firepit!

What's nearby:
Situated on the north end of Orcas Island, you'll be only minutes away from the town of Eastsound. There you can find markets, a bakery, restaurants, and more. Make sure you pay a visit to Moran State Park, an expansive green space featuring campgrounds, five lakes, hikes, and an observation tower with panoramic views. Or simply enjoy a boat or paddleboard ride. Be on the lookout for whales!

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Up to two family dogs are welcome
Full kitchen (including a dishwasher)

San Juan County License #PCUP00-17-0008

County permit number: PCUP00-17-0008

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Jetted tub


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Not suitable for children

Kitchen & dining





Ocean view


Water view


Beach access


Internet : Century Link Help Desk



Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private


Gas grill : Private

Beach towels


Enclosed yard

Safety & accessibility

Accessible bath/shower

43 reviews

Mark K. Sep 2022
Close enough to town but feels very remote, even has a beautiful small beach. Incredible views. Looking forward to returning!
Christine S. Aug 2022
Our stay in East Sound at this amazing house was pure heaven on earth! The house was more than large enough for the four of us (two adults and two children). The house was super clean and the chef's kitchen was perfect as I love to cook while on vacation. The modern designed bathrooms were spectacular as well. The view from the back deck is one of a kind. Amazing views of the sound and nearby wildlife. Also, the private beach (steps from the back deck) was fun for looking for shells or wading in the water. Last (but certainly not least), the hot tub was awesome! We will definitely be back next year!!!
Jackie F. Aug 2022
The scenery was beautiful spent most of our time out on the deck
Laura H. Aug 2022
Gorgeous, peaceful, everything we hoped for and more.
Abigail P. Aug 2022
Incredible view, convenient beach access, and great amenities. This home was so relaxing, clean, and fun with all the things you can do on-site, making it one of my favorite vacations I've ever had. We saw whales, seals, and sea lions every evening from the back deck. The hot tub was wonderful, the kitchen was fully stocked, and there were games galore. No complaints- honestly just can't wait to go back!
Ellen D. Jul 2022
We enjoyed the quiet of Raccoon Point along with the amenities of the home. We relaxed fully and enjoyed use of the property.
Nicole H. Jul 2022
This house is gorgeous! The hot tub was amazing. The beach area was secluded and we had tons of fun exploring. Definitely recommend!!!
SVEN P. Jan 2022
We absolutely loved the place and most definitively the views, even on a cloudy, rainy day. The place was comfortable and spacious. The private beach was a bonus. Great location. We would have given it 4-5 stars if it wasn't for the lack of cleanliness. Upon arriving we found the floors were not vacuumed, and the master bedroom carpet had a large stain. Perhaps not too big of a disappointment, however the kitchen counters were not wiped off, the dish drying rack had large chunks of food stuck to it, and the cutting board still had bread crumbs and pieces of food on it as well. There were no dish towels, only paper towels. We also found the backdoor in the master bedroom not locked. The hot tub's water was yellow with a stench and the chlorine feeder was empty, so unfortunately no hot tubbing for us :( Please watch out for a very slippery deck when wet - it is composite and had a lot of algae buildup. There was unfortunately no firewood at the local supermarket, it would have been nice and cozy to turn on the fireplace in the evening as the temperatures were looming in the low 30s. Perhaps bring your own!? Be prepared to be confused with the many lighting switches. There are many. Several did not work and it took a bit of playing around to figure out which switch controlled what lights. Keep in mind that the hot water does not last very long, so time your showers accordingly. We did not take a bath in the inviting jetted bathtub in fear there wasn't sufficient hot water to fill the tub. On a positive note, the mattresses both in the master bedroom and upstairs were super comfy, and the bathrooms beautifully renovated. Overall the place simply had a vacation-relaxing-style to it.

Aside the cleanliness and a few things requiring a bit of fixing such as the patio door, deck gates and miscellaneous, we loved staying there. We are definitively considering coming back!

Oh, one more thing. The neighbor, or guest, had their heavy pitbull (?) dog running around loose and off leash. At night the dog became very aggressive, incessantly barking at us, and ended up cornering us in front of the main door (which was unfortunately locked as we exited from the back door). Luckily the dog owner was in the yard calling for the dog. I however had to plead with him to come and grab the dog. Quite scary and not sure what might have happened if he hadn't pulled back the dog.
Manager response:
Hi, Sven! We're so glad you stayed with us though we're sorry to read it occurred when we were short-staffed due to COVID. We certainly missed the mark and apologize for that. The home has been thoroughly cleaned, the hot tub balanced, doors and gates repaired, and light switches labeled. The deck is also scheduled for a pressure washing. Thank you!
Rob C. Dec 2021
The views were spectacular, hot tub was awesome, modern bathrooms, and upgraded kitchen. Heating system wasn’t working sufficiently. Ike from Vacasa quickly assisted us with logs for the two fireplaces. Driveway was steep and bumpy, so follow the advice to park at the top and walk to the home. Location was relatively close to downtown.
Susan T. Nov 2021
Great view from the deck and hot tub. Nice bathrooms. The local Vacasa staff were easily reachable for our concerns.
Erin A. Oct 2021
We loved it here. Comforts of home plus some we don’t have at home. Beautiful spot. Quiet. Private. We will be back.
arthur c. Sep 2021
Loved the view, the hot tub, the private beach and the location was convenient to town and a great dog park. The layout and space of the house is good for families.
Mark S. Jun 2021
This property on Raccoon Point was spectacular! Amazing views, and the house layout worked great for our family of 4. Close to Eastsound for food and activities too - would definitely recommend!
james j. May 2021
The view, the beach, the way this house feels is all emaculent. We stayed here and went on a private whale watching charter at outer island excursions, they were really great and good people.

The bad, this is simply constructive criticism for the property manager. Now imagine your sitting in the hot tub trying to enjoy that view... WELL there is a GIANT BUSH that takes up 6 feet of your view away. I LANDSCAPE on the side for myself and I was appalled that this was not trimmed down. Also there is a composite deck board that is very weak right next to the entrance of the hot tub.

The stove top..... It works but if you plan on cooking it is one of those Induction stove tops that are supposed to have special cookware to use properly. Well they don't have those so be prepared to take longer to use the stove top.. I have natural gas at home so maybe this isn't a big deal for most.

We weren't so sure the house was really clean, the floor needed swept and the bedroom in the loft needed to be made as it looked like somone got out of it.

All in all, this house is somewhere I would love to come back to and visit these critisms are meant to be taken constructively because this place is really something special. Prepare to be breathless when you walk in the door.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, James! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are disappointed to hear the home was not up to our high standard of cleanliness that we hold ourselves. We have provided your valuable feedback to our local manager to address. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope we can host you again!
Sue R. May 2021
We loved the hot tub and easy access to the beach!
Joe B. May 2021
If sitting in a hot tub with amazing views of the ocean and Mt baker is your thing, this is the place
Evan S. Apr 2021
Love this beautiful house with the best views.
Ilana R. Jan 2021
I should start by mentioning that we would stay in this house again, so none of the comments I am about to leave would deter us from going back. Yet, I am leaving this review so that future guests can set their expectations accordingly. The house is beautiful and has open feeling with lots of windows looking out at the water. The hot tub is perched above the water (some trees block the view, but still beautiful), and we even had a bald eagle land in the tree right next to us while we were out soaking. There were some minor annoyances-- the key lockbox was not working properly and we had to waste time on the phone with Vacasa figuring it out (they had long holds) before finally gaining access to a bakckup key. Incidentally, the side door was left unlocked, so we were able to go inside rather than freezing outside while trying to get the key, but it felt strange essentially breaking into a property we had rented. Also, the 4PM check-in time is not flexible and does not line up at all with the winter ferry schedule, so I do wish there was some flexibility there. Also, there definitely were enough pots/pans in the kitchen to cook, but many of them were flimsy, mismatched, and so dirty that we washed everything before using. There was also no wood or kindling, and the wood we managed to find at the supermarket was too damp to light, so we never got to make a fire. Bring your own wood! And bring your own olive oil, since there was no oil either. Our biggest gripe was that the bed upstairs in the loft (the larger of the two) was infested with spiders. Our kid woke up shrieking and we discovered the bed was covered in spiders and webs!!! We did notify Vacasa and were told they would take care of it, but we were not offered any sort of compensation or apology for not being able to use the upstairs loft at all. OK, so that is the negative. Now let me focus more on the positive! The sweeping views were magnificent. The house has a very airy and vacation-like feel, and we had so much fun playing board games (we brought tons along, but they did have Dixit and some other fun family games and puzzles), and there was a high quality foosball table upstairs. Internet worked perfectly and the TV kept giving us a weird message that it needed to rest, but ultimately it worked great for family movie night, once we let it rest (strange message). The bathrooms are beautiful renovated, and the master has an enormous jetted tub. We did not get to use it because there was not enough hot water for a family to shower and bathe (we ran out of hot water on both nights of our stay when trying to shower), but it is a really beautiful and high-end bath and shower, and had there been enough hot water, it would have been spa-like! Mattress in the master is great, and the mattress in the room with the sliding door is more of a soft foam thing that is not for anyone with a bad back but would work great for kids. Overall, the design of the house is really nice and I recommended it to friends, assuming they take care of the spider issue. It is definitely not the cleanest house (dirty dishes, spiders...), but it was good enough for us, and the hot tub reached a 104 degrees and had awesome jets. The location down a private road with a beautiful small private beach was really nice. Do not drive down the driveway (as instructed in the Vacasa notes), and to be honest, we struggled to get out of the designated spot at the top with our minivan as our tires got stuck in the mud. No big deal, but do not attempt to go down, and if you have a lot of stuff, expect to go up and down carrying it all! The house itself did not have a number on it as far as I could tell, but we found it easily enough in daylight (there is a number at the entrance, but then there are several houses that can be accessed and it is hard to figure out which is the right one.) I did like this house and would stay again, despite the imperfections. My son left his favorite stuffy there and we emailed and were told there is a 25 dollar fee to find it (we know exactly where it was left) on top of shipping costs, which seems incredibly odd to me as we have left things in hotels in the past and have always had it happily shipped to us, often with a friendly note. In other words, don't expect the type of place that is going to go above and beyond to please you (that does not seem to be their business model, so don't expect extras such as tin foil or laundry detergent, or firewood...), but the place is nice enough that it is a great place regardless.
Manager response:
Thank you for your thoughtful review, Ilana. We are happy to hear that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us at Raccoon Point. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the lockbox. This feedback was passed along to the local manager. They will work with the homeowner to make any necessary upgrades regarding the lockbox. We are so sorry for the spider incident you encountered in the loft. Our housekeeping staff has been notified of this and a deep clean has been scheduled to address the spiders. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future!
Elsie P. Jan 2021
The view was absolutey amazing! Sitting in the hot tub in December with a gorgeous view of Mount Baker made it an unforgettable experience.
Great bathrooms and kitchen. However the place was not as clean as I would have preferred, with cobwebs above the stove and the wood burning stove has not been cleaned. Would also recommend better directions to find the right house once you get to the address. Ferry times mean you get there after dark and finding the right house in a cluster of houses was a bit challenging.
Overall I would highly recommend this beautiful house, our family had a great relaxing time here!
Manager response:
Hi! Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that the home was in this condition upon your arrival - please know that this is not the regular standard for our properties. We have implemented a Premium Clean program so we can continue to strive to provide our guests with fulfilling experiences; We apologize for any missteps, as it is never our intention to disappoint. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future.
Harrison K. Oct 2020
This place was perfect for me and my fiancé’s mini-moon. In the era of COVID, our honeymoon plans needed to be revised and our stay here did not disappoint. The hot tub was probably the best hot tub location and set up I have ever seen. The place itself was accommodating in every way with plenty of space, charm, and beach vibes. 100% would stay here again!
Kale W. Oct 2020
Beautiful views, lots of privacy and a 20-second walk to the water.
Sonja W. Oct 2020
Beautiful View! Cozy! Hot Tub is perfect! Kitchen and bathrooms great! Only reason for 4 vs 5 stars was lots of pet hair left behind. We didn't have our kiddo with allergies with us so this was a non-issue for us this trip. We pulled out the vacuum avaliable and used it through master that we stayed in and on the couches! No big deal really but wld be for any allergy suffers.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive for a standard of excellence in ensuring the home is clean and accommodating for our guests. If there are any concerns or areas in need of additional attention, we hope to be notified so we can make sure any issues are addressed. We look forward to hosting you for a great stay in the future!
Shannon E. Aug 2020
The property is absolutely astounding. You simply cannot beat the views and magic of this place. We enjoyed the private cove. This is the sound though, so I wouldn’t say pristine swimming conditions. There was a ton of seaweed, kelp and boulders but we brought river tubes to lay on and that worked out for us in addition to wearing our water shoes. It was very peaceful out there and on the property. Neighbors are very close but respectful so we ensured to do the same for them. The hot tub was in great working condition and it was great to sit back in it with views of the entire Cascade Ranges as well as Mt Baker towering in the distance. We saw some shooting stars, starry skies in general, orcas in the distance and a lot of bald eagles! The home itself was very clean and ready to go for us. The modern decor and plentiful windows were amazing. We would definitely come back if given the chance! A word about Vacasa: I’ve had problems with them in the past but this go around, zero issues whatsoever. They were easy to get in touch with, very responsive, the house was clean and everything in working order, every detail we needed for checkin, checkout and our stay was provided. It was a very smooth process and trip as a whole!
Melissa M. Jul 2020
Beautiful home with all that you need! Plenty of linens for the comfortable beds. The kitchen was beautiful and ready for anything. The hot tub was perfect with an amazing view. Would definitely stay here again!!
Tracy L. Jul 2020
We were disappointed to arrive at a place that was not adequately cleaned, maintained or stocked.

Pros: The location and view is stunning. The bathrooms are updated and so is the master bedroom.

If you aren’t going to do much cooking and are just a couple using this as a home base to sleep, it works. Looks better in the photos than it lives in real life.

Cleaning: We literally drove up to a pile of trash bags in front of the house and had to watch our step around dog turds walking up to the house. The fridge was grimy and covered in old food bits. It was definitely not wiped down between guests. The freezer had a frozen layer of water with black hairs in it. We went through the house and wiped down everything. If this weren’t on an island in peak season, we would have just left.

Maintenance: as a previous reviewer stated, the house feels a bit abandoned and forgotten. Only one of the mattresses has been updated after I presume the last bad review. The other mattresses are awful and the attempt to cover up their age with giant foam pads does not help. From their appearance, some mattresses are probably at least 20 or 30 years old, probably more. With the state of the beds, the house really only comfortably sleep one adult couple. The upstairs comforter didn’t even have a cover. The blinds are falling apart and some of the baseboards are falling off the wall. The screens on a number of the windows are either missing or held together with duct tape. A bunch of outlets in the kitchen don’t work so you’ll have to plug things into a couple until you find one that does. The house is kinda stuffy because most the windows don’t open.

Supplies: Bring your own knives if you plan to cook. There are a bunch of mismatched weird forks and no wine glasses. With paper goods, there were no tissues, napkins, tin foil etc.

Bottom line is that this does not feel like a place that is well cared for. And so, it does not feel comfortable or welcoming.
Manager response:
We appreciate your input, Tracy. The master bedroom mattress is now a memory foam mattress in great condition, and the second lower level bedroom now has a 3 in. memory foam topper. The windows that open have screens on them, and the other windows are fixed due to the wind. The loose baseboard has been fixed. The blind in the master bath will be replaced as soon as possible. Thank you!
Sharon O. Feb 2020
We loved the sparkling clean accommodations! Everything was comfortable and peaceful. The view out the windows and off the deck was magnificent.
Alice M. Nov 2019
The checkin was easy and the house was as expected. We loved having so many windows that showcased the fabulous views! We hiked a ton and loved taking a hot tub at the end of the day looking out at the sound. True vacation! The house and rooms were comfy and cozy.
Elizabeth T. Aug 2019
We drove into the driveway very disappointed by the look of the property (e.g. landscaping and home). The house almost looked abandoned and forgotten. Entering the home, the décor is cute, but furnishings worn and tattered. Roman blinds falling apart. Mattress is master bedroom was awful!

The best feature this property offers is a spectacular view of the sea below.

That being said, after spending over $5k for six nights, it was quite a disappoint for what it offered.
Manager response:
We are sorry to read you were disappointed with your visit and appreciate you letting us know. The property manager and owner will be discussing your comments as they brainstorm improvements. Thank you!
Jamie J. Jun 2019
We loved the unique home tucked away in what seemed like our own private cove...wonderful to watch wildlife, sit by the fire, enjoy the hot tub and relax to the most amazing views.
Alyssa D. May 2019
This house is amazing ! It has breath taking 360degree views of the Olympics and Mt. Baker. The house is only 20 min from the ferry and 8 min from EastSound Downtown! I had an amazing time at this location!
Brent H. Mar 2019
Really enjoyed the kitchen, even doing the dishes given the view.
Jessica G. Jan 2019
We loved our stay out the house- everything was super clean, comfortable, and the location/views + hot tub can't be beat! We especially appreciated that the unit was pet friendly. We would love to come back again :)
Gregg B. Dec 2018
The view from this home was wonderful! Views to the east included Mt. Baker and views to the north included Canadian coastal mountains and some of the smaller San Juan Islands.
Lucy P. Nov 2018
We loved our time at this house! The house itself is very spacious and impeccably clean. The bathrooms are impressively nice, which is not something you regularly see in rental houses. The location is wonderful - close to town and pretty much equal distance to anything on the island. The house itself is situated in a way that really makes it very private. The view from the deck of the ocean and Mt. Baker in the distance were pretty spectacular. I'd recommend this place to anyone!
Gail S. Nov 2018
This vacation home is a lovely, calm hideaway. The interior design is beautifully appointed and perfect for a beach cottage. Every detail was well thought out for the area. The entire experience was equal to a spa visit. Gorgeous bathrooms/tubs,showers, kimonos, a hot tub on the deck with peaceful ocean views, the ambience and warmth of the fireside, the huge family kitchen with a million dollar view of Mount Baker, the sunrise each morning from the grand master bedroom and the absolute private location created a wonderful, memorable experience for our family of 6. We will return......soon!