USA California Southern California Big Bear Lake Listing #28055

Tranquil Forest - Big Bear Lake, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
40 reviews
Max. occupancy: 5 1 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Updated mountain retreat with porch & forest views - Dogs welcome!

If you are seeking a quiet mountain retreat, escape to Tranquil forest. This beautifully updated cabin has everything for total relaxation including a covered front porch perfect for a quiet morning with a book, observing the wildlife, and taking in the fresh mountain air. The kitchen is equipped with all you will need to prepare fantastic meals for the entire group. In the evening, make some hot cocoa, light the fire and cozy up on the sofa to watch your favorite shows on the flat-screen TV. Tranquil Forest is a wonderful family getaway.

What's nearby:
The Village is only a four-minute walk away to experience a variety of local shopping, dining, and nightlife! During the winter months, grab your skis or snowboard and head to Snow Summit Ski Resort, just two miles away. There are runs for all experience levels here, so bring out those newbies too! During the summer months, visit the rental center at Big Bear Marina and spend a day in the water wakeboarding or tubing less than one mile away.


City/town permit number: VRR-2022-2418

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining









Wireless router


Step-free access

Wide clearance

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf nearby



Safety & accessibility

Accessible bath/shower

40 reviews

Bryce C. Nov 2022
Perfect walking distance from Village center. But beautifully removed from any noise or bustle. We had a quiet, relaxed Thanksgiving weekend while also being close to all the village had to offer.
Joseph O. Sep 2022
This nice little home is in a great location. Just 2 blocks from Pine Knott Ave where many shops await. The home is nice inside, very cozy. My only complaint would be the sounds the fridge/freezer makes. Periodically it makes a popping sound which isn't a problem during the day but its kind of an issue in the middle of the night. Besides that, I would recommend staying here. The check in process was easy and I enjoyed my stay in Big Bear.
Manager response:
Joseph, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities and location of our condo. Thank you for sharing your feedback and bringing some items to our attention that may need some TLC. We have forwarded your feedback to the local staff so they can work to improve the house for future guests. Please know that our guest services team is available 24 hours a day to assist should any concerns arise during your visit. We hope you choose to stay with us again!
Daniel M. Jul 2022
The location of this cabin was fantastic, right at the end of Big Bear Village. Easy walking distance to the area and to some nice trails. The interior was updated and modern in amenities. The landscape and exterior could use a little work, the property has lots of space but the dry weeds and overgrown shrubs don’t allow the space to be used to its full potential.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Daniel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback as a means to continually improve our home. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Natalia N. Jul 2022
Very comfortable and quiet place, conveniently located within walking distance to all the restaurants and shops at The Village.
Jane B. Jul 2022
We loved this upgraded little cabin in a nice location near the village- which made it easy to get everywhere we wanted!
Charles M. Jul 2022
Upon arriving, the living room, and kitchen floors were very dirty. The mole and cleaning (zip) were laying on one of the beds, I texted the check-in and was told they would come out and clean it. We cleaned it our selfs. The broom was done for, the straws were all broken off. They said they would refund part of the cleaning $120.00 but never did.
I would use extreme caution with Vacasa rentals.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Charles, we hope you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness concerns you encountered during your stay with us. Please know that this is not our typical standard, and we apologize for any missteps, as it is never our intention to disappoint and always our goal to provide guests with spotlessly clean homes upon arrival. We regret you chose not to allow us to rectify the issue and apologize for the negative impact this had on your stay. Please be aware that refunds do take time to hit your financial institution and while we know it can not change the experience you had we hope the compensation you did receive alleviates some of the stress your party encountered. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future.
Krystal A. Jun 2022
Cozy cabin nice rooms very pleasant stay for me and my family.
This place is perfect for a couple or a small family. Quiet, quaint, clean with easy access to the village. We would love to have the opportunity to stay there again someday.
Scott S. Apr 2022
Home is very clean and newly renovated. The home was set up for a simple not complicated visit. Well done
Delicia J. Mar 2022
Nice and clean home. Good location.
Scott G. Feb 2022
Location is great. Very convenient to Bear Village. The home was clean and cozy. I would stay again.
Jeffrey M. Feb 2022
Loved the location, updated amenities, and cleanliness
Hailee M. Jan 2022
The house was extremely clean when we arrived and it was a cozy cabin in a great location! The only thing I think would be nice to have would be Salt for the ice in the drive way. Thank you so much for the inviting atmosphere
Laura T. Jan 2022
I loved the cabin, but I didn't like that they didn't clean the driveway and the door to access to the cabin, we had to park our car close to the street, several times we had not power in the cabin, and all night without tv because the power didn't come back in half of the cabin.
Anne Marie R. Dec 2021
This place was so cozy and had everything we needed for comfort! This location was super convenient and was close to everything such as Big Bear village. Only a walk away. Would definitely come back although I wish the cleaning fee was less or there is no cleaning fee because we were required to take out all the trash and drive it to a dump site, so what is the point of a cleaning fee but all the more Great location. Quick responses and service. Thank you
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Anne Marie. We are so glad you enjoyed this cozy cabin. We apologize for any confusion - cleaning fees cover the cost of our housekeeping team cleaning the home prior to our guest's arrival and following their stay. Thank you for understanding and we hope to host you again soon for another pleasant stay.
Rupert R. Dec 2021
The location to the Village was a 3 minute walk and the Cabin itself was clean and comfortable with a fully stocked Kitchen. It would be nice though to fence off the front yard section right off the deck. I will stay again.
corina b. Nov 2021
super close to village center. just loved hanging out here to relax.
Walter B. Aug 2021
We had our grandsons from Texas for a visit. Perfect location for a walk to the Village and close to other amenities of Big Bear Lake. We hope to visit again. Thanks 😊
Nazareth E. Aug 2021
First off the floors are extremely dirty. We walked in and smelled as if the floors had just been mopped but within an hour our socks were black. Other than the floors our stay was great. Plenty of towels, sheets and blankets. The kitchen was fully equipped. A ceiling fan in the living room and one bedroom, the other bedroom had a floor fan. The location was ideal; an easy 5-10 minute walk to the downtown area and short drive to snow summit and marina area.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Nazareth! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the fantastic location of our home. We apologize if the cleanliness of the floors left something to be desired, and we will follow up with our housekeeping team to see that future cleans are completed to our standards. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Wendy Y. Jul 2021
Clean updated 2 bedroom. nice open concept main area with living /dining room and kitchen. Nice bathroom. Large beds in each bedroom but no nightstand in one. Bring your own hangers! Great large tv with cable and free internet!
Amanda P. Jun 2021
The cabin itself was in a fantastic location - just a 5 min walk to “downtown.” However, on arrival, it was filthy! The floors were literally so dirty when my baby was crawling around her hands and clothes were visible soiled with dirt- I had to go do laundry to clean all of her clothes awhile we were on vacation. I spent the first few hours of my vacation going to get cleaning supplies, sweeping and mopping the floor and calling Vacasa to see if anyone could come out and clean. When I did get ahold of someone around 3pm she was very apologetic and came out immediately to do the floors. Also, an oversight on my part- but be ware this cabin doesn’t have air conditioning and can get quite hot (up to 85 while we were there!) but the fans provided helped!
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and apologize that you encountered some cleanliness issues. Please know that this is not commonplace, and we thank you for calling in, in order for local staff to promptly resolve these issues. We hope that the refund that you were given has helped with some resolution for the issue you experienced. We look forward to your next stay!
Alan C. Jun 2021
we loved the location being so close to the
village and Marina. Very comfortable bed. It had all the conveniences we needed. Enjoyed the patio for morning coffee. Would love to come back.
Rebecca V. Jun 2021
We loved the location, close to the village, yet secluded and quiet. Although compact, the floor plan and furnishings felt open and comfortable. We would stay here again.
Julie Ann M. Jun 2021
We loved the privacy and the quiet this clean well kempt property offered. The size was nice, bathroom very clean and convenient with two sinks for the four of us. The couch was VERY comfy and the beds were ok (we are spoiled on the mattress front at home).

A lot of nice details were in place to make things easy; the large trash can with extra trash bags, the dark grey wash cloth for makeup removal, the nice t.v. set up, the deck with a table and chairs, and if I had more time I could go on.
We would like to return a few times before the hotel opens up nextdoor, that could cause a name change for this cabin as I imagine it won't be as tranquil with many guest just over the fence, but while they continue to fix up that building to the east, we will enjoy the peace.
Kathy L. Oct 2020
Excellent location to Village, the lake, and other amenities. Kitchen, floors have been upgraded; spacious bathroom. Huge flat-screen TV with streaming platform capability, furniture in large front room is capacious and comfortable. Beautiful apple tree by front porch laden with apples (October); large yard which is somewhat enclosed but not fenced. Appreciate the ability to bring our small dog.

On our stay, the blinds were broken in the front room and could not be raised, resulting in a dark interior. The pillows in the master really need changing out. Otherwise a very good cabin for a few days' stay.
Eric C. Oct 2020
This place is Great! Large outdoor area for kids to play. A short walk to shops, restaurants, bars and more. The fireplace is perfect for those chilly nights.
Heather A. Sep 2020
This house was a perfect location and the pictures were exactly how the house looked. Our one complaint was the floors were disgustingly dirty. It was very clear the cleaning crew has never used a broom or mop on the floor. Thankfully we brought Lysol wipes and somewhat cleaned up the floor. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.
Alfonso V. Aug 2020
Neighborhood was quite and calm. All the amenities were great! Pots, dishes, towels, soap, shampoo, conditioner. House was very modern. Would definitely stay again.
Dana R. Aug 2020
This is a great place to stay. It is close to The Village and you can walk. It takes maybe 3 minutes. This is also a good home to bring dogs. We enjoyed our stay.
Tommy L. Aug 2020
Clouds of dust and dirt on the floor and couch. Dozens of dead flies in each window. Wiped all light switches due to covid and the paper towels were all black. Same thing happened when I wiped down all the chairs and table tops around the home. The steak knife in the knife block had food still on it. They should have paid me the cleaning fee as I spent the first 2 hrs cleaning the place.
Manager response:
Hi, Tommy! Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and apologize for the inconvenience. Please know that this is not the regular standard for our homes, as they are professionally cleaned prior to your stay and inspected the morning of your arrival so as to ensure it met our Premium Clean standards. We encourage our in-home guests to call our 24 hr Guest Services line with any issues so our local staff has the opportunity to promptly address them. We hope to have an opportunity to better impress you in the future!
Emily L. Aug 2020
This house was perfectly located! Walking distance to both the lake and village. Everything was clean and comfortable. Everything you’d want in a rental!
Ryan M. Aug 2020
Vacasa Maintenance responded after first evening we realized there was a clogged shower drain. Problem was fixed after first night. Nice quiet house, good area near Village and marina. Overall we enjoyed our stay. Be aware only single ply TP and paper towels are provided. Their garbage bags were not good quality either, like they’re shopping at the dollar store or something. Would have brought my own if I knew. There’s also a massive swarm of flys near the pine trees in the front during the day which was kinda gross. Chalk that up to the great outdoors, but this seemed excessive. Would still stay here again though, we liked the cabin and the location.
Jamie B. Jun 2020
It was nicely remodeled and clean, but the power went out twice and the recessed lighting over the sofa area never worked. Good thing the fan worked and we used the light from that, otherwise, while the power was on, it would have been dark.
Alyssa D. Feb 2020
We had a girls trip for some relaxing time. The place was easy to access, clean, and super cute! The beds were comfortable and it was very well stocked. The location was absolutely perfect. Only 1 block from the downtown and about .5 miles to the tubing park. Loved it! Will definitely be back.
Chrisitna M. Jan 2020
Location is perfect. Clean home with comfortable beds and cozy living room space.