USA North America Tennessee Pigeon Forge Listing #30166

Legacy Mountain Resort: Spellbound - Pigeon Forge, TN

Take a Virtual Tour
57 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 1 King Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 1 bedroom 2 bathrooms 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly cabin with private hot tub, shared pool, & amazing mountain views!

Spellbound is nestled in Legacy Mountain Resort, making access to Dollywood, Pigeon Forge, and Gatlinburg easy yet allows you to feel away from it all. This beautiful dog-friendly cabin is richly decorated throughout and features comfortable leather furniture, flatscreen television with cable, and fireplace in the living area along with exquisite views of Mount LeConte and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. On the first floor of this charming home away from home, you'll find an entertaining pool table and a furnished deck overlooking the mountains. A private hot tub can be found on the deck as well so you can soothe your muscles while admiring the views before going to bed. Renting this marvelous cabin will grant you access to the resort's on-site shared amenities that include a sauna, fitness center, and a seasonal outdoor pool.

What’s nearby:
The towns of Pigeon Forge (seven miles) and Sevierville (10 miles) offer days of endless entertainment. No visit to the Smokies is complete without at least one pancake breakfast, some of the best are at Flapjack’s Pancake Cabin. Legacy Mountain Ziplines, a three-hour zip through the tree canopies, you’ll be over 400 feet above the ground. Dining is outstanding at Timberwood Grill at the Island in Pigeon Forge. Dollywood is a must-visit as well! Dolly Parton's family amusement park is only nine miles away and is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Tennessee.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Dog-friendly!
Full kitchen

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Bathrooms

Jetted tub

Common areas

Gym/fitness room

Game room

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

House rules

Dog-friendly

Meeting and events allowed

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Mountain view

Media

Internet

TV

Cable : Comcast

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Pool : Shared

Pool table : Private

Sauna : Shared

Outdoor

Deck

57 reviews

vicky w. Dec 2022
The view was truly amazing. The road to the cabin was two lanes and paved east to access. You feel like you are in the mountains but ten minutes to the Islands. Very clean, lots of hot water , and nice hot tub .
Matthew C. Dec 2022
The top deck view is so incredible and the hot tub down stairs were our fav features. Clean and nice this is our 2nd time at this property
Mike O. Nov 2022
Loved the views, easy access to activities.
Stephanie B. Oct 2022
The house was beautiful and so homey and we absolutely loved it!
Cameron R. Oct 2022
Loved our short stay here. This was one of my better vacation rental experiences in recent memory - absolutely no major complaints. When we locked ourselves out night 1 (bring your phone with you everywhere!) it was very easy to get in contact with someone over the phone to help you in by providing the code. I wish there was a way to temporarily keep the front door unlocked - but lesson learned!

It was a great place for our two dogs and they felt right at home once we got settled in, which made leaving them for a couple hours successful - they are also very easy dogs. I am glad the cabin was not obnoxiously cluttered with unnecessary tchotchkes for the dogs to be tempted with - we get it, we are in a cabin, we don't need all the decor to prove it.

I wish there was a smart tv in the main room like there is in the billiard room - it was really tough finding shows to watch using the Old Comcast interface and we had to bring in the porch chairs into the home to watch some of our favorite shows - but we had plenty to do in the area and in the cabin to keep us occupied otherwise.

I could see us renting this same place in the future if the TV situation could be updated in the main floor. I don't think the bedroom tv is necessary (but we don't watch tv in bed at home).

Thanks!
Alesia P. Sep 2022
The view was beautiful and the layout of the cabin. I loved having coffee out on the deck. The access to get to it was good as well.
Hunter W. Aug 2022
Everything about this stay was amazing. The cabin was beautiful, well kept, and clean. The views were breathtaking and the location was perfect for everything we had planned. We will certainly be back!
Shelby B. May 2022
Loved the views and the comfort of the cabin. Only reason we have to complain is because the top floor toilet was leaking out of the bottom reservoir this morning. My husband turned the water off to the toilet and had to drain the reservoir to make the leaking stop. Other than that, very clean and the hot tub was also dull with clean water. Regardless of the toilet mishap, we would 11/10 recommend this cabin!
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Shelby. We apologize for any issues you experience with the toilet and for any inconvenience it may have caused. Our local staff is always available to assist you if there are any issues during your stay if we are notified. We have forwarded your comments to the local staff so they can work with our maintenance team to get the issues corrected. We hope to host you again.
Sandra T. Apr 2022
Loved the Cabin. Great view and it was easy to get to. Clean as well. Only issue is apparently there is a leak from the upstairs bathroom into the Master Bath. We kept wondering how our stuff was getting wet and finally figured it out the morning we left when we looked up and saw the Water droplets coming down. Also, Bedroom fan needs fixed. You cannot use it.
Manager response:
Hi, Sandra! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay despite the leak. Maintenance will be making repairs right away. Thank you!
Virginia L. Feb 2022
Everything, was great. The location on the side of the mountain and the view was spectacular. Also, door dash does deliver to that location
Nadine K. Jan 2022
Such a great cabin! The view was gorgeous, the layout was great, loved the proximity to the Pigeon Forge strip and Gatlinburg. Perfect size for a couple and a dog. Would book again!
Sarah C. Jan 2022
I booked for a girls week then read other reviews and grew quite concerned. HAPPY to review! The “weird” carpet has been replaced. The hot tub was a DELIGHTFUL non sloshy 104 degrees and the jets worked great. The cabin warmed up quickly pool table had great play. The views were AMAZING. My sister slept on the mattress down stairs she found no spring issues. I rolled over it and was pleased it didn’t “dip” or anything. At this point the cabin earned our trust. I also - after asking so many “is it ok” questions had to explain myself. Luckily we took it as a challenge. My other sister tried her best to uncover the “the tubs leak” and couldn’t. I slept on the pull out couch and it was comfy and sheets were clean. It’s a great spot on the mountain and we had a lot of fun!
Sarah C. Jan 2022
I really enjoyed staying here. I extended our stay and the staff was great. I was a bit late getting out - 6min over 10:06 and the cleaning staff was so gracious about it. VERY professional. 100% will come back to THIS cabin. The kitchen table is GREAT for remote work and the wifi is strong.
William E. Dec 2021
Great mountain view from this cabin. The issues were the furnace wouldn't shut off. It got up to 89 degrees in the upper part of the cabin. I texted Vacasa and followed their directions. We left the night before check out. We did not feel safe. Haven't heard back from Vacasa. Should get one days money returned to us.
Manager response:
Thank you for the review, William. We are disappointed to hear this was your experience as this is not the high standard of guest satisfaction that we hold ourselves to. We have issued a refund for the last night due to the inconvenience and frustrations. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope we have the chance to impress you in the future.
Tom M. Nov 2021
We enjoyed our getaway very much. Very clean. Beautiful views. Great location! Quick response when we had an issue with the heat. We will 100% be back!!!!
Matthew C. Nov 2021
Views were amazing cozy place and great views from the hot tub and balcony’s
Michael M. Aug 2021
The view from the cabin was amazing! The cabin was very relaxing and exceeded my expectations. It was a fantastic stay!
Brandon S. Jun 2021
The home had an amazing view and located just minutes from Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. It has what looked to be brand new flooring in the downstairs except the bathroom which had tile. Some of the tile right outside the tub was cracked. Other that that everything was good for our family of 5 and our dog. We look forward to staying in this cabin again next year.
Laura G. May 2021
The wood was broken on the side of the hot tub which made it lopsided. There was a sour smell in the basement.
Brook V. Mar 2021
The view and overall set up of the house was great. Dogs permitted, so that was a plus. Hot tub was wonderful. There were some cleanliness/maintenance issues, especially on the carpet floors on bottom level. The upper level had wood floors, that was a plus. The bed mattress was worn to the point that it caved in, it seemed like the springs were broken. Found a dirty sock in pool table pocket. Refrigerator was not closing properly and made funny noises. Sliding shower doors in basement bathroom were in poor condition, they didn’t stay on the sliding track very well. Bottom step to outside entrance was broken. Although the stay was enjoyable and comfortable, for the price of the cabin, I was a little disappointed with poor upkeep.
Manager response:
Hi, Brook! We are so glad you enjoyed the view and hot tub and apologize for the disappointments you had. The mattress has been replaced, shower doors repaired, the fridge is being addressed, and the decks are getting fixed. Thank you!
Brian P. Feb 2021
Loved the view of this beautiful cabin
Robert D. Jan 2021
This was our 8th year spending Christmas week at a cabin in TN. Our 4th time back to Legacy Mountain Resort. We love the location of Spellbound, the views are breathtaking! This cabin has everything you need to feel like a home away from home. The only negative feedback was the downstairs carpet had an stale odor of urine indicating pets had accidents on it. The master bedroom mattress had a crater like hole on the right side as if the springs were broken when you laid down. The pillows were paper thin (that’s one reason that we always bring our own). For the holiday pricing we paid for that week, we’d expect that the carpets would at least been sanitized in between guests.

Manager response:
Hi, Robert! We appreciate you staying with us and hope you will be pleased to hear the owner will soon be replacing the carpet. The property manager will be inspecting the beds and bedding. Thank you!
Dustin W. Dec 2020
The view was absolutely stunning. But that’s all that we can actually say that was stunning about this property. The lower level smelled of animal urine and the carpets were disgusting. The fridge needs to just be replaced. The house itself was just dirty. The jacuzzi was not level which caused all the water to flow out! The casing was clearly busted. The master bathroom shower door was broken which allowed for water to get everywhere. For the amount of money we spent on this property, we were not satisfied with this cabin.
Manager response:
Hello, Dustin, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize for the issues you had during your stay, as this is not the high standard of guest satisfaction that we hold ourselves to. We have provided your valuable feedback to our local manager. The homeowner is replacing the carpet. The manager has let us know that the refrigerator is working, and unfortunately, the case for the hot tub is not able to be replaced without replacing the entire hot tub. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope we have the chance to impress you in the future.
Krystal J. Nov 2020
The views are amazing!! Simply stunning. But the downstairs carpet smelt of urine, the refrigerator was very old and moldy with a broken ice maker. The master bedroom table lamp didn’t have a shade. I did send an email complaint and asked a manager to call, that never happened although 3 days later they sent a repair man to fix the issues. Unfortunately, even after they cleaned the carpet, it still smelt of urine and the refrigerator was just gross. I will say, we will return to Legacy mountain just maybe not Spellbound for another stay.
Manager response:
Hello, Krystal, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that there were issues during your vacation as we never want our guest's vacations to start this way. Our local management team has confirmed that the carpets are scheduled to be deep cleaned. The ice maker has been replaced. The master bedroom lamp has a shade now. We apologize for the inconvenience and do hope we have the chance to impress you in the future.
Mandy O. Oct 2020
Best view I've ever had here. Clean house, easy access, gorgeous view, amazing jacuzzi bathtub. The hot tub was on and ready to go when we got there. The kitchen had all appliances we could need. We even had little gifts from Vacasa to use during our stay. They let our dogs stay there as well. They called to check up on us. All around wonderful!
Kristen C. Aug 2020
This is by far the worst experience in a rental we have ever experienced. The lack of maintenance and cleanliness for this property is unforgivable and the lack of concern from the team at Vacasa is outrageous. Upon arrival, we were immediately struck by a disgusting odor from the downstairs carpet, which had been stained by either vomit/urine and not been cleaned up. The most alarming was the safety concern from the second-floor deck. The railing was COMPLETELY disconnected in the corner which a pet, child, or person could easily fall through. This is completely unacceptable and the lack of interest in safety concerns and maintenance are evident all over the cabin. The number of screws in the base of the deck railings to keep it standing up is the equivalent of putting a band-aid on a gunshot wound. Also, there were multiple lightbulbs out and one of the lamps next to the bed did not work. It looked like a mouse had chewed through the wires. Continuing on maintenance issues, the jetted tub did not work nor did the fireplace. Why advertise these amenities when they do not even work? The refrigerator stopped working about half-way through the trip which caused us to hastily transfer what we could into coolers and we had to throw out the rest. Circling back to cleanliness, there were stains on the quilt, cobwebs everywhere, and clumps of hair in the bathtub drain. We expressed our concerns with a representative at Vacasa who said someone would reach out to us. Yet, it has been over a week and we have not heard a word. I urge everyone who is considering staying at this cabin to look elsewhere.
Manager response:
Hi, Kristen! Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that the home was in this condition upon your arrival - please know that this is not the regular standard for our properties. We have implemented a Premium Clean program so we can continue to strive to provide our guests with fulfilling experiences; We apologize for any missteps, as it is never our intention to disappoint. We have passed on your comments to our local manager and housekeeping staff to ensure that we immediately get these issues addressed. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future.
John P. Aug 2020
Spellbound delivered on a comfortable and secluded reprieve from the daily chaos of coronavirus and work stress. A short distance from the Great Smoky Mountains as well as the hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge and Sevierville if you desire. Simple and easy check-in and check out process.
Emma G. Aug 2020
Con una vista perfecta, la piscina y toda el área es hermosa. Distancia a los pueblos algo retirado pero por el tráfico 18-30 min. Muy limpia, casi nueva... (lo único que no me gusto fue el mal olor del piso de abajo, por la carpeta). Sin duda regresaría! ❤️
Yvonne K. Jul 2020
The view from the cabin was beautiful. Great location.
kellie h. May 2020
Adorable cabin with the most amazing view! Cabin was very clean. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Ronnie M. Apr 2020
The view was nice. Make sure that you take any extras that you need for kitchen as it is furnished with very basic necessities. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We have stayed in quite a few cabins and this one is right up there with the best.
Ken B. Feb 2020
Hot tub didn't work, jacuzzi didn't work either. After a 7 hr drive we just wanted to relax. It wasn't till the NEXT day at 9 pm they came to fix the issue. Then the night we were leaving woke up at 3 am to a 57 degree bedroom the furnace quit working.
Manager response:
We are sorry to read your stay had some hiccups. We found the hot tub was out due to a breaker being tripped, and a vendor has been out to repair the jacuzzi jets. The furnace is being taken care of by a tech. Thank you!
Corey H. Jan 2020
Cabin was great!, location was great! Amenities in the cabin were great.. all around great vacation cabin
Andy B. Jan 2020
Cabin was perfect. Clean, beautiful, cozy and 15-20 mins from downtown Gatlinburg and pigeon forge. I would definitely recommend this spot.
Jeffery Y. Dec 2019
Loved the cabin - clean and comfortable!
Beverly C. Oct 2019
Ease of making reservation, payment, check-in, and check-out
Betty Don S. Sep 2019
Never did get the code for the use of the pool.
Manager response:
We're very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. This issue occurred under a previous management company. Our local teams are working with that company to learn from feedback and fix any issues. We just started managing this unit and would love for you to try staying with Vacasa in the future to experience our world class service.
Shannon A. Jul 2019
Amazing view
Robin W E. Jun 2019
Cabin was very beautiful, comfortable, and had a great view!
Lance M. Jun 2019
The cabin was clean, communication was clear and precise. Just an awesome experience.
Robin C. Apr 2019
The cabin was clean, and very nice
Donna B. Apr 2019
Smooth experience
Brian P. Mar 2019
The cabin had a spectacular view . It was clean and cozy
William C K. Feb 2019
The cabin and customer service was excellent!
Mitchel H. Oct 2018
Love seat needs to be swapped out hard to sit on ,had to place pillow under cushions so not to sink in . Showers need hand bars for seniors ,floors very slippery when wet other then that great cabin .
Manager response:
We're very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. This issue occurred under a previous management company. Our local teams are working with that company to learn from feedback and fix any issues. We just started managing this unit and would love for you to try staying with Vacasa in the future to experience our world class service.
Tiffany F. Jul 2018
We absolutely loved the cabin and view!
Natasha K. Jun 2018
Everything was amazing! Loved the veiws. Cabin was cozy. Did not like how the code to the pool was not provided in my emails or on any sheets at the cabin, but we had to call to get the code. The other thing was when the water was turned off for a good 2 hrs on Friday of our stay. Which was inconsiderate of the cabin owners was the we were not notified that the water was going to be turned off. At that moment we needed water and had a little panic when there was not water, and again we had to call to report why the water was not running and they say “that the water line busted and they are working on repairing it”. The was not a good experience when your on vacation! Other that that we had a great time!
Manager response:
We're very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. This issue occurred under a previous management company. Our local teams are working with that company to learn from feedback and fix any issues. We just started managing this unit and would love for you to try staying with Vacasa in the future to experience our world class service.
Adam O. Jun 2018
Our cabin rental was clean and had all the necessary amenities.
Shantavia M. May 2018
The view was amazing and it was very peaceful
James S. May 2018
Office personnel were very helpful. Rental cabin was clean and was exactly like it was pictured in the brochure.
Liz B. May 2018
Beautiful cabin! Y’all were so helpful with any issues we had & we loved your app!
Diane B. May 2018
Beautiful cabin with awesome view!!!
Muhammad R. Apr 2018
There were dog hair on the top floor and on the sofa. It was not properly vacuum cleaned. Couple of us have allergies from dog hair.
Manager response:
We're very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. This issue occurred under a previous management company. Our local teams are working with that company to learn from feedback and fix any issues. We just started managing this unit and would love for you to try staying with Vacasa in the future to experience our world class service.
JOHN C. Feb 2018
Beautiful property, great views and spacious for (2) people