USA Georgia North Georgia Ellijay Listing #30212

Koala River Lodge - Ellijay, GA

Take a Virtual Tour
34 reviews
Max. occupancy: 14 3 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms  plus loft 3 bathrooms 2 dog max  (50 lb weight limit) 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly riverfront cabin with WiFi, fireplace, and private hot tub

This amazing elevated luxury cabin is right on the river inside the gated Coosawattee River Resort and is just minutes away from Historical Downtown Ellijay, Georgia. Inside, you will find an unbeatable rustic-style living area equipped with an impressive, wood-burning fireplace! The beautiful living area has a large TV, oversized sofas, and chairs perfect for family or group gatherings. There are picture windows that open out over the river, tongue and groove cathedral ceilings, and wood floors. The kitchen has stainless steel appliances with granite countertops and an island with bar seating. The lower level has a foyer. Just outside the home, you'll find a private hot tub waiting to help you relax further.


AttractionDistance from home
Gilmer County Parks5.6 Miles
Chateau Meichtry Family Vineyard And Winery14.0 Miles
Tumbling Waters Trail14.6 Miles
Talking Rock Town Park17.6 Miles
Fort Mountain State Park23.1 Miles


You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Jetted tub


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining







Water view





Cable : DirecTV

DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router


On-site activities

Hot tub : Private


Gas grill : Private




34 reviews

Roselee W. Jun 2022
Our stay at the lodge was a quiet getaway to enjoy each other. Happy I read the previous comments, as all comments came to be our experience. Road in, as well as directions are tough. AC was freezing downstairs, but ok on main floor. Dishwasher was a constant problem to shut and run. Code to main door never worked. Wi-Fi unreliable. Beautiful setting, but be prepared to be isolated.
Manager response:
Roselee, thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Thank you again for this valuable information as we always welcome the opportunity to improve. We hope to have another chance to impress you on a future stay!
Cynthia F. Aug 2021
this is a fabulous place for a getaway trip. We had a couple issues at first but Vacasa took care of them immediately. The place was very clean and well appointed. We loved having the big table for family dinners, plus so many options. Even though there are properties on both sides, that were occupied, there were never any noise or view issues. So nice to be so close to the river and the kids never got tired of seeing deer. We had a lovely time.
Diane M. Jul 2021
Great house for a crowd. View is beautiful. A few things you need to be aware of before renting. Drive to house is very hard. There are places if you met another vehicle someone would have to back up. House only has one AC unit for entire house so bottom floor is very cold and loft is warm. Vacassa gave wrong instructions on how to get into neighborhood. Told us would send gate code and never did. Had to call Vacassa more than one time to be told to ring call button and give lot number…was told someone would always answer call button. Not true!!! Thankfully someone else was going in and they opened gate…we were never given gate code. I would make sure to get another way to open gate!! All in all great place but reviews on road are correct…stressful driving.

Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, Diane. We sincerely apologize for the issues you had with the gate code. The resort recently went back to the lot number and guest names instead of using gate codes. We are sorry no one answered the call button. This is the responsibility of the resort and we will address your experience with the appropriate party. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope to have another chance to host you for a more enjoyable stay!
Brian F. Jul 2021
The site was beautiful, but the house was not well maintained. Many of the ammenities did not work, such as, the hot tub jets and the TV service was not reliable. The locking mechanisms on the doors downstairs did not function properly. The fire pit area was a mud hole, which could be easily remedied with some gravel.
Manager response:
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed this home's location. We are sorry to hear that you did not get to enjoy the firepit or internet as anticipated. Please know that the firepit is situated right along the river and victim to a recent flood. The internet is very spotty in this remote area. The local manager is working to repair the firepit and addressing the locks on the downstairs doors. Thank you for letting us know there is room for improvement and we hope we have the opportunity to host you for a more comfortable stay.
Patrick M. Jul 2021
Rustic setting for this large Cabin nice place. You will need a front wheel drive or 4 wheel drive get to the Cabin. From the security gate to the Cabin is 20 mins. We couldn’t use the fire pit by the river because it was placed in the muddy water. We did use the deck fireplace which was great option. Jeff The local Maintence contact was very helpful. I would have given 4 stars but there are other Cabins are too close to this one.
Angela H. Jun 2021
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Koala Lodge. Our family of 12 fit nicely in the home. We loved tubing and fishing in the river an just enjoying the peace an quiet of being surrounded by nature. The internet was a bit slow, but we didn't mind much.also the road getting to the property was pretty rugged, but with an SUV or truck you can make the trek. It was worth it to get to the seclusion and beauty. The house was clean and the kitchen was really well stocked. It could use more linens. Especially if you're using the trundle beds like we did. Overall it is a great property.
Jennifer K. Jun 2021
Overall this was a great spot for our family. 3 families with 3 sets of adults and 5 kids. The sleeping arrangements worked out great. Loved the spot on the water. Could hear the rapids flowing! Plenty of room for everyone to spread out. Things I’d improve:

- mattresses were VERY firm. So a con for us, unless you love a firm mattress!
- wish there was more cabinet space in the kitchen for food...or a pantry.
- a little mold in the downstairs shower, should really be an easy clean. Not sure why it wouldn’t have been dealt with.
- if you want a quick drive into town, this may not be your place. Takes about 20 minutes to get out of the neighborhood. But if you’re looking for quiet and seclusion, BOOK IT!
Manager response:
Hello, Jennifer! Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that the home had all the makings for a positive stay! We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience. We're happy to report that the property just got updated beds with new protectors! Our housekeeping staff has since addressed the downstairs shower. We hope to host you again soon!
Johanna D. May 2021
Loved the place , only a couple things that needed to be fixed but Jeff the maintenance guy made sure that they were fixed inmediatly , kuddos to him .
Plenty of room for a big family ... I do recomend to make sure you get there with day light since you could easily get lost getting there at night for the first time .
The house is well stocked with everything you need , even a couple of cribs if you have babies.
Definitaly recomend it and look forward to go again.
Kevin C. May 2021
The beautiful cabin looking out over the river and very spacious for our large group. The kitchen was well stocked for cooking and the beds were comfortable. An incredible place to stay and we will certainly come back again.
Lisa E. Feb 2021
The secluded area was a great place to unwind from this busy crazy world
Michael M. Feb 2021
LOVED our stay here! It was very remote, beautiful and worth the 8 hour drive from Florida! Getting to the cabin was a little confusing so be sure to read the directions carefully... i want to reccomend updating the directions to look for Falcon drive instead of Falcon Trail because you wouldnt find Falcon Trail unless you turn down Falcon Drive.

Currently booking another stay for later this year.
Joy H. Jan 2021
I have stayed at many cabins throughout the area and this one was a great choice. This is a cabin with more of a creek view and sides of mountains, not mountain top views. The creek is beautiful and such a joy to listen to. The large windows set this cabin apart from similar cabins. There is so much room with many large eating areas, many porch options with creek views, 3 king beds, 2 twin beds, and a few pullout couch/daybed options. We loved the fire pit by the creek and the fireplace on the porch. Most importantly this cabin was so clean and definitely tidied before we arrived.

Some suggestions I have would be to supply coffee filters, need a pizza cutter, more than 1 dishwasher pod, need dish towels and need oven mittens.

This cabin made for a perfect girls weekend and we enjoyed the beautiful cabin on the creek!
Manager response:
Joy, thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the home and location! We supply a starter supply of items such as toilet paper, paper towels, laundry soap, and dish soap to ensure the first night of their stay starts off well. We encourage guests to bring their preferred items if they anticipate needing more or have specific items they can't go without. We appreciate your feedback as we are always seeking the opportunity to improve for the future. We hope to host you again soon!
Gretchen J. Jan 2021
Loved our stay!! Lots of room and spacious for large family.
Joye F. Dec 2020
The secluded nature of the house and the close river.
D D. Dec 2020
We had a wonderful family time together. We stayed in some and enjoyed the walks along the river, cooking in and s’mores by the fireplace.
Other days there was shopping in Downtown Elijay and Blueridge and hiking.
Perfect balance of activity.
Garrett M. Dec 2020
Koala cabin
Located in the woods
Very spacious
Next to a creek
Multiple wood fireplaces
Large outdoor seating area
Jets in the hot tube barely worked
Dishes in the cabinet were visibly dirty
The two downstairs twin beds headboards were held together to the frame with zip ties
Manager response:
Hello Garrett, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have provided your valuable feedback to our local manager. We are working with the homeowner to replace the bed frames. The jets on the hot tub are working properly. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope we have the chance to host you again.
Carole W. Nov 2020
This house was perfect for our family. The setting is absolutely beautiful. We will be back. The only suggestion I can make is, have a small amount of firewood at the house. It would have been nice to have a fire on the night we arrived.
Kathleen B. Oct 2020
Peaceful location
Clean and comfortable accommodations
Perfect relaxing get away
Marcos O. Sep 2020
The house is beautiful, the sound of nature at night... there is nothing like that we love it.
my kids have a lots of fun, the house is very good equipped, i like to cook a lot and also bake, cakes and cookies, i took with me my baking tools but there was no need the house has everything you need. Also, we have a baby and i took a high chair and a playcrib, also no need the house has a high chair and crib in the closet, you can also find extra pillows and a air mattress. The beds are very very firm for me was a little painful because I sleep on the side. If you travel on winter take some extra blankets, the ones at the bedrooms are very thing, we were cold at night.

It was very hard for us to find the cabin, there are some private roads that you can't use and it make us the trip a little difficult, but once there we were in love.

Like everybody else we had a issue with the code at the cabin door, the code was not working, we found yourself in the middle of nothing, there was no phone signal so it was very frustrated because it was night and we could not access, they should change this!!! we connect to the wifi and also it was a very bad connection, we contact vacasa and a men had no patience on me repeating things a lot so he can understand, at this point we still outside with 6 kids, we call again and a very kind woman had patience on us and give us the lock number so we can get the keys to get in.

They have internet but poor connection, we access to netflix but almost not being able to watch anything.
also the phones inside the cabin are not working.

After this, everything else was just more than perfect.
we hope to be back soon!!! we really didn't want to leave.
Please fix the issue with the door code, especially if we pay a extra fee for access, and phone in case of emergency we have no way to communicate.

Manager response:
Hi, Marcos! Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We apologize for the frustrations you experienced and will be looking into them. We hope to see you again!
Kristen R. Aug 2020
Beautiful secluded cabin next to refreshing cold river. Furnishings were nice and updated. Listing said that there was no cable TV but DIRECTV was working properly, Wi-Fi was spotty and cell service was nonexistent. Inside of cabin was well cleaned and cared for but outside porches and decks could use a little work. Fire pit was nice but several chairs were broken. The road in is a bit of a challenge but worth it for the location and the abundance of deer along the road. We would love to stay here again.
Amanda D. Jul 2020
Perfect for two families plus extra. Kids ranging from 11-17 had plenty to keep them entertained. The roads were rough, but thankfully we were traveling in trucks.
Kamela Q. Jul 2020
Our family wanted a change of scenery since we really can't take any vacations right now! The location was amazing and lots of space for our family of 10. A couple hiccups when we arrived, the security code didn't work for the door nor did the lock box code. We did found a door that was slightly open (not sure if that was a mistake or not) and were able to get in the house. Thank goodness because we had no service once we arrived to the house. (wifi signal was bad and the lane line phones didn't work).
Manager response:
We apologize for your difficulty with check-in; all codes will be verified, and we will remind housekeeping to thoroughly lock up before departure. Thank you!
rachel d. Jul 2020
The home had very good sleeping arrangements, good view and access to the river and we would walk up the road and put in tubes and kayaks and float down to the Black iron gate And we would have someone pic us up in the truck after.
Porches were awesome and hot tub was clean and functional.
One love seat in the front room was damaged and had a note on it not to sit on it. Needed to be removed in my opinion.
The entry code didn’t work but Vacasa was VERY helpful and prompting fixed the issue
Manager response:
Hi, Rachel! We are happy to report the living room furniture has been updated. Thank you for staying with us!
Steven S. Jun 2020
House was clean and the kitchen was well equipped. Spent a great deal of time at the fire pit and on the spacious deck. Had a hard time getting in the house since the keypad didn’t work. Customer service at Vacasa was backed up so I was on hold for 1/2 hour. The dishwasher was not working either so I e mailed Vacasa and never heard from them. Had to wash dishes by hand for 9 people all week long. Unnecessary time consumption when one of the “selling points” was a dishwasher. Still had a great time and would stay there again.
Isabel R. Jun 2020
Koala River Lodge was perfect and comfortable. There was no reason to leave the house unless you had to go to the supermarket. The outside balconies and decks could’ve been better cleaned and kept up but we still enjoyed it. Vacasa’s customer service sucks but the house, no real complaints. I would stay here again.
Manager response:
We are disappointed to read you were unimpressed with our services. We have been short-staffed due to COVID-19 and are hopeful to be fully back up and running soon. Thank you!
Tim D. May 2020
All the amenities you need for a relaxing stay.
Margot W. Mar 2020
Once we arrived at Koala River Lodge, we were very comfortable and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. The roads getting there were a bit rough (major potholes and very steep gravel roads). In addition, it was annoying to check in at the gate house each time we entered the resort area (we had to call security using the call box every time). If that doesn't bother you and you have 4-wheel drive, I'd recommend this place.
Jackie D. Feb 2020
Very spacious and right on the water. Was equipped with everything we needed for a weeks stay.
Laurie L J. Feb 2020
The house was beautiful. Three master rooms with own baths was perfect. The view was amazing. Dirt road in was a little tricky because there has been so much rain. Getting up a couple of hills took a few tries.
Danny Z. Jan 2020
Time of Year we went and very nice cabin
andrea v. Dec 2019
The Koala River lodge was a great choice for our family of 14. It had everything we needed. I would highly suggest having an SUV to get to the cabin due to steep roads at this location
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize for any issues you had. We do hope you contacted our 24/7 customer service so we could address any issues during your stay. We hope you will allow us to host you again in the future.