USA Oregon Northern Oregon Coast Gleneden Beach Listing #8707

The Cottage in the Grove - Gleneden Beach, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
66 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Cozy, dog-friendly home with easy beach access & an outdoor firepit

Steal away to Gleneden Beach and cozy up in this comfy home for a relaxing Oregon Coast getaway. Perfect for families and small groups, this vacation rental offers close proximity to the beach and an outdoor firepit for late-night interludes. And the family dogs are welcome, too!

Located on a corner lot just four blocks from beach access, this home is situated in a quiet neighborhood just off Highway 101, within walking distance to a few restaurants. Lincoln City is just a few miles to the north, offering more shops and eateries.

Step inside this quaint little rental and get comfortable. It has a wonderfully trendy yet welcoming style, with shiplap walls, brick in the kitchen, and plenty of cozy spaces to relax. Chill in the living room on the sectional sofa while you warm up by the woodstove. Watch some TV, complete with Roku, Netflix streaming, and a DVD library and player. Check in with folks at home with the complimentary WiFi.

At mealtime, cook up something delicious in the well-equipped kitchen, which features standard appliances, including a dishwasher. Savor your meal with your guests at the dining table for six. In the summer, fire up the gas grill for some easy kabobs and dine al fresco while you lounge in the beach chairs to the sound of the waves nearby. Follow your meal up with marshmallows roasting on the outdoor firepit and enjoy some tasty s'mores.

This two-bedroom, one-bath home sleeps up to six guests. Your canine family members are also invited for a small nightly fee. The master bedroom has a king-size bed, while the second bedroom has two twin beds with a fun bunk space above. There's also a futon in the living room for additional sleeping space. This home also provides a private washer and dryer for your added convenience.

When you're looking for something to do on a rainy day, gather around the dining table and play some games, or have a friendly competition using the foosball table. And when it's nice outside, go on a leisurely bike ride, compliments of the owners (bikes for both adults and kids are in the garage). Or head to the beach for some beachcombing, a stroll, or some alone time. This section of the beach tends to be uncrowded, and it's a wonderful place to search for desirable agates. A new outdoor shower makes washing off sand a breeze.

And if you're in the mood to get out and explore, visit the Siletz Bay National Wildlife Refuge for wildlife viewing and photo ops - look across they bay from Lincoln City and you might see the sea lions sunning themselves on the sand. Lincoln City is under seven miles north and offers lots of activities from hiking, horseback riding, and kayaking to shopping, dining, and gaming at the Chinook Winds Casino.

Whether you come to the Oregon Coast for some quiet time or whether you want to fill your days with activity, this rental is a lovely home base for your break from the daily grind. Book it today, and get ready to unwind! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: There is room for two cars to park in the driveway. On-street parking is not allowed in Gleneden Beach. Please use the driveway to park at all times. Thank you.

County permit number: 320258

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining





Internet : Wave


Cable : Wave

DVD library

DVD player

Gaming system

Wireless router

Netflix streaming


On-site activities

Adult bikes

Board games

Children's bikes

Foosball table


Gas grill : Private

Beach chairs


66 reviews

Amelia H. Sep 2021
This little cottage was ideal for the beach vacation my husband and I took just after Labor Day. We have friends who have lived on the coast, so we know how hard it is to keep beach houses clean — this one was spotless! And it was hands-down the best equipped rental we've ever seen: every imaginable piece of tableware and cookware (including sharp knives!), a wood stove for cozy fires in the evening, TV and DVD player, CD player, plenty of towels, and a comfortable bed. All just a 4-block walk to the beach. The crowning touch was a little apple tree in the yard that was full of delicious red apples. We fell in love with the place and will definitely rent it again.
Layne C. Aug 2021
This was our 3rd summer visit to the Oregon coast and our favorite rental by far! Great location for day trips, restaurants, beaches and site-seeing. Barbecue, well equipped kitchen, and very comfortable king bed. We will definitely be back.
Jan H. Jun 2021
This cottage was old and cute. It has been kept clean for visitors. I loved that big bed and fresh towels. I don't reccomend this small cottage for everyone.
Macy W. May 2021
This property is indeed cute from the outside. However, I'm sad to say it is in need of some very concentrated overall cleaning and repairs. The heating system does not work so space heaters are necessary. They are provided but firewood is not so make sure you bring your own. But, basically, we were cold all the time. I don't feel safe running space heaters when I'm not there or at night so it was cold in the mornings and when we came back from any adventuring. We turned on the electric oven to about 400 then turned it off and opened the oven door to help get the place warm.
The bed was comfortable and had lots of down comforters that we definitely used. The shower is tiny but has great hot water. Lots of towel are provided, even for the dog.
The garbage collection was awesome - we forgot to put the can by the road and they came up the drive and gathered it anyway. That was kind of them. I'm sure at one time this was a great place to rent but I would not recommend it to anyone. We have rented at least 5 times on the Oregon coast and this place did not even begin to compare to all the others.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Macy. We sincerely apologize for the disappointment. We would have been happy to assist with any questions or concerns if we had been notified during your time with us. Our local team strives to provide every one of our guests with the best vacation possible. We are so sorry if our standards were not met during your time with us!
Hailey D. Jan 2021
This house was so nice and cozy. Very close to everything!
I only have 2 small complaints, but it it isn't big enough to even dock a star. There could be a better method to heating the place. The heater in the livingroom doesn't do much for the bedrooms and space heaters are hard to regulate.
The bathroom doorknob is tricky. There was a few times we thought we had been locked in.
Other than that everything was amazing. Nice and clean, cozy, adorable yard.
Will definitely be staying here again if we travel up this way again.
Manager response:
Hello, Hailey! We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed this charming cottage. We greatly appreciate your feedback and it has been forwarded to local management so that they can make improvements for future guests. We look forward to hosting you again for another relaxing stay!
Bridget O. Nov 2020
I loved the apple tree in backyard. I would like to see larger drinking glasses. I would like housekeeping to pay attention to the little things like windows being clean when I open blinds, cleaning under furniture to remove fur in pet friendly homes. I would like storage in closets for my b personal items instead of housekeeping supplies. I would like papertowels and adequate supply of toilet paper and soap and garbage bags at least 2 rolls and at least 6 garbage bags instead of 1 or none at all. I would like clean throw blankets and stain free ones as well in back stock. I would be nice to have a cleaning product to use during stay
erendira r. Oct 2020
The home away from home, really nice that it was 2 blocks away from the beach.
Tara J. Aug 2020
Great location! We liked the fenced yard for our little dog. The kitchen was well equipped with pretty much everything you need for cooking meals.
Kenneth H. Jul 2020
Sommers' Cabin was just the right size and space for our family. We wanted a small and cozy home close to the beach, and that's what this was. We loved that it was pet friendly and had lots of dog supplies if needed like bowls and leashes and dog towels. The home was clean and comfortable. The beach is just a short walk and the neighborhood was so quiet. Note: The house next door is under remodel/construction. No one was working on it when were there because it was the holiday weekend, but it may be noisier during weekdays. The outdoor shower was great to have, and our boys loved the wii gaming system. So much fun! The only reason I don't give this a five star rating is because there weren't a lot of windows that you could open, and two that could didn't have screens, so it made getting fresh air in the home tricky. It would also have been nice to have a portable fan so we could circulate air in the home during the evenings. Other than that, we loved it!
Elizabeth A. Jul 2020
We had a great time unwinding at this cozy beach house. Just two of us with our pups. Comfy king size bed and well equipped kitchen made staying in for meals easy! Short walk to the beach made it easy to carry our beach chairs and relax in the sand. Plenty of towels and linoleum floors made keeping sand cleaned up easy!
Lisa K. Jun 2020
Pros: Nice private cabin, cute inside.
Cons: Construction noise right next door, new house build.
Need to clean those cork floors, my puppy kept trying to eat leftover snacks/food off the floors. Would of liked to have instructions for those 6 remotes, starting with how to turn on the TV.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Lisa . We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home. We are working closely with our housekeeping team to ensure that they are paying close attention to detail while preparing for guests and following the current COVID-19 cleaning protocols. However, we would like to apologize for the missed area. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Michelle K. Jun 2020
Nice place for most part but wished more windows would open and there was a weird smell in second bedroom, which probably was from the old carpets. Loved that they had toys and games for kids, sand toys, and bikes to use. Also loved that the home was just few blocks from the beach and could hear the waves at night.
Haleigh S. Mar 2020
It was a great little beach cottage only a few mins walk from the beach! The house was great how ever it can get a little chilly because the only heater is in the living room. However they had a fireplace which I think you can use. The only thing that was incredibly frustrating was that the internet did not work so I could not get work done remotely. Other than that it was a great place!
Manar M. Feb 2020
Great cabin and great location, only a few min walk to the beach. Would definitely come back. Maybe just trying doing a little more detailed cleanings a few times a month. There were some dust bunnies and bugs in the light fixtures. But nothing major. Still had a great weekend 💕
Manager response:
Hello Manar, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the dust bunnies and bugs in the light fixtures. This is not the level of cleanliness that we hold ourselves too. We have notified our local team. We hope that we can host you again in the future!
Linda H. Dec 2019
Everything was in place...The yard was great for Uffy our dog who ran so much he slept two days after we got home...The five hour drive was worth every penny...The washer and dryer was a plus...The fire in wood stove kept us nice and toasty...I would book it again...Thanks fir the lovely family gathering...Linda H...
Kim R. Oct 2019
Cute house, comfy beds, and lots for the kids to do.
jo e. Sep 2019
we love the place,,, we love the area... we had the beach mostly by ourself and we had sun sun sun....
Vickie L. Aug 2019
Great location for exploring up and down the coast
Kevyn P. Jul 2019
The fully fenced yard was perfect for our little dog. It's fairly private- there's a vacant lot next door, and an empty house behind. Everything was in working order and pretty comfortable. The showe is small, so a tall.person would probably have to stoop. I'm 5'3" so I wouldn't know.
Patrick N. Jul 2019
It was a lovely relaxing stay. Loved the location, so close to some good food and good beach! It was a much needed time away from work for my wife, myself, and our growing young dog. First stay in Gleneden and think we'll be back for more!
Karen S. Jun 2019
We loved staying in this cabin. Very close to the beach, quiet, and the fenced yard was a major plus for our mini doodles. We had everything that we needed. Shower is small, but it worked for us.
Christina R. Apr 2019
Love the house! close to the beach. my husband, myself I and our two children 12 and 4 years old had plenty of room, great location...
love the Fire pit in the backyard.
Jim K. Apr 2019
Just right for our get-away! A little funky but comfortable and had everything we needed.
Tim H. Mar 2019
Great little cabin to stay for a few days. Lots of ammentities included, off the beach a few blocks, but can clearly hear the surf at night. Easy walk to public access.
Stacey F. Mar 2019
This cabin is a very good value, especially mid-week. Loved the sunny windows throughout, the wood-burning fireplace, and the quiet neighborhood close to the beach.
Chris S. Mar 2019
Had a blast here, was amazing. There was plenty of dishes lots of space, we had a blast. Only complaint was the heater not working but they provided plenty fire wood and some space heaters just no kindling or hatchet to make some.But after a call they brought some fire starters.
Robin W. Feb 2019
Nice, roomy for family of 3-4; clean and comfortable with everything we needed to make meals. If you go in winter, bring slippers as the floor remains quite chilly and they don't want people to wear shoes inside.
Cheryl T. Feb 2019
The cottage was very well kept, clean, and comfortable. It is a great place for a family with children & pets. It was very conveniently located to the beach (just a couple of blocks away. I only wish we had stayed when it was warmer so we could have used the outdoor shower.
Jean S. Jan 2019
A sweet little cottage, close to the beach with a fenced-in yard for the doggies to safely explore. The cabin is nicely equipped with all kinds of games and TV streaming options, as well as a nicely stocked kitchen (knives that can actually cut something! It's a miracle!) The place was clean and smelled fresh and inviting when we walked in. The king sized bed in the master seemed bigger than a normal king - maybe it was just me!
Paula D. Jan 2019
Everything was just right! Perfect size and close to the beach! The king bed was super cozy and I loved it was family friendly with lots of things for the kids! I want to come back in the summer and utilize all the toys in the shed for the kids!
JUDY D. Dec 2018
nice fenced yard for dog.
Cherie G. Nov 2018
The cabin met all our needs.
Angelena M. Nov 2018
Great time spent here for a quick getaway. We will be back again.
Brittany C. Nov 2018
We enjoyed the cabin and local attractions. The fire place was nice and the neighborhood is quiet. It’s perfect for a couples get-away or small family. There’s a bunk room that could sleep a couple kids, but not ideal for adults. The kitchen and bathroom were stocked with the basics and beach is less than a 5 minute walk. We really enjoyed our time!
Shauna V. Oct 2018
We loved our week here! We were able to explore the area, walk on the beach & hang out watching movies when it rained. We really enjoyed walking to the Side Door Cafe, great food! We would stay here again.
Bonnie T. Oct 2018
We enjoyed wandering around the village of Gleneden Beach. It was pretty quiet in the middle of the week. We found it easy to get onto Highway 101 for daily outings (hiking, driving, eating, browsing). The cottage is very convenient to Salishan Lodge where we attended a fascinating talk on wild mushrooms. This cottage seemed well cared for and the kitchen has everything one might need. There is plenty of hot water and the bed is especially comfortable.
Amy R. Sep 2018
The woodstove for those chilly evenings made this cabin our choice for our second stay. The location is perfect for trips to Lincoln City or Newport. House is cozy and well-stocked. Love the cork floors!
Cheryl T. Sep 2018
Sommer's Cabin was the perfect little getaway. It's not fancy, but it is comfortable, clean, well-supplied and only a three block walk to the beach. The beds- master and bunks- were extremely comfortable. My three kids and I had a wonderful time, and look forward to staying here again. Thank you!
David N. Aug 2018
The Gleneden community is nice and quiet off the hwy. The cottage is convenient to everything around and is very comfortable and fit my son's family of 4 quite well.
Randhir D. Aug 2018
Nice little cabin
Ruth L. Jun 2018
The location was great, a ten minute walk, but we chose to drive and there was plenty of parking. The beach was super private and had friendly beach goers.
Gail R. Apr 2018
Love this cozy cottage. King size bed in master is comfortable and warm. Bunks are fine. Bathroom shower is a bit tiny and could use hand bar.
Kitchen has all you need plus coffee filters!
Love the addition of electric heaters since last visit. Still could use wall hooks in bedrooms.
Thanks for nice place to stay!
Michael D. Apr 2018
The location and being dog friendly worked for our plans.
Amy R. Mar 2018
Great location, comfy home!
Mary H. Dec 2017
This was a cute & lovely home to stay at. It really would be a tight space for 4 adults. The 2nd bedroom is tiny (like a closet almost) & only has bunk beds that are really made for kids, not adults. This home would be best suited for a couple or couple with kids.

The home is not on the beach but is only a quick easy 2-block walk to get there. You can hear the ocean waves from the house.

The fireplace stove was awesome & one of the best features for us but be sure to bring your own wood or duraflames.

The house was very well equipped from the kitchen to the TV entertainment system. Dishwasher was a bonus! We really enjoyed the bluetooth speaker for streaming our music & Roku came in super handy as it was soaking rain outside during our stay. Roku has Netflix & Amazon available to guests. Bummed we could not add a channel as we had some hockey games to watch.

Glenenden Beach is always a treat for us as it is a quiet sleepy coastal town & the beach is perfect as it is never crowded & allows for long meditative walks.

As mentioned in other reviews, Blinds in master bedroom are see through so could use an update to regular blinds. Some deeper cleaning needs to happen around furniture like the TV area/cords & shelf in the bathroom but otherwise it was overall a tidy & clean property.

We would definitely stay at this property again!
Manager response:
We are delighted to see this guest enjoyed their stay! We have replaced the blinds so they are no longer see-through. Thank you!
Gail R. Dec 2017
Nice, compact cottage near beach front, réstaurants, and woods. Convenient and well-equipped kitchen. Nice supply of linens. Plenty of blankets, good WiFi and tv. Fenced yard which is great for our small dogs.
We came for Christmas holiday with relatives in Coronado Shores, so very handy for us. Heating was not very effective (wall heater and bedrooms never warm up). Wood stove nice for atmosphere, but don’t expect heat from it. House needs hooks near front door for winter rain-soaked coats or the floor will be wet throughout the house. Need hooks in bathroom and bedrooms, too. Stove, refrig. Micro, & DW work well, as do washer & dryer. Beds are hard but there is plenty of bedding.
Could use another lamp in LR to light up north side of room.
Enjoyed our stay...quiet neighborhood and close to everything.
Manager response:
We appreciate this feedback. We have placed an additional lamp in the living room, installed a coat rack near the front door, placed hooks in the bathroom, and there are space heaters available for guest use. Thank you!
Pamela B. Nov 2017
We spent our Thanksgiving weekend with our daughter who attends a nearby university. The house was cozy and in such a peaceful neighborhood. We loved being able to bring our dog for her fist ever trip to the beach. The free wifi and entertainment system was appreciated for those super rainy times. The beach was an easy, enjoyable walk away and not crowded at all so we (and our pup) loved it.
Mary M. Sep 2017
Such a comfortable little house to be in! Comfy couches, big enough kitchen table, roomy bathroom, beds just right and good quality bedding. Loved that the yard was fenced, worked well for our doggy.
The décor was sweet and the cleanliness just could not have been better!
Thank you!
Tim B. Sep 2017
We loved staying at this home. It felt very comfortable to be there. We loved taking a small walk down to the beach. We lucked out when we were there. The weather was mid 70's the whole weekend. No wind either.

We would definitely stay there again.

Thank you
The Baritell Family.
Shirley A. Aug 2017
This house was super dog-friendly, especially because the property was fenced in well.
I really appreciated being greeted with a beach bag with toiletries. The bathroom was well-stocked with plenty of storage. The bed in the main bedroom was SUPER comfortable and even though the house is set a few blocks from the ocean, you can still hear it at night, which I love.
The entertainment center has a Wii (which I don't know how to use, but probably great for kids), a Roku, bluetooth speakers and a DVD player. I wasn't able to figure out the cable reception for the normal TV channels, but that was probably for the best, anyway.
And while the ocean is the main reason to stay in this area, the neighborhood is so lovely and friendly.
This house is great for a family with tweeners (2d bedroom has bunk beds) and a dog.
Katy W. Jul 2017
My boyfriend and I stayed here with his brother's family. We liked everything about the house, with the small exception of the beds.
We were expecting the room with the bunk beds to have a larger bed on the bottom - for parents. It was not large enough, so the parents slept on the sofa bed. Also, the main bedroom's bed was very wide but not very long. I'm 5'8" and my feet hit the wood bed frame (I tucked a blanket over the frame so it wouldn't hurt my feet). The main bed is not one mattress, but two, like a European style. And it's very very firm.
Manager response:
We are glad to see this guest was overall pleased with the home! We have added a memory foam topper to the main bed so it's not quite so firm. Thanks!
Sara R. Jun 2017
This was the perfect place for our family of four to stay. Very clean, with good spaces for us to "live in" on rainy days. Just a short walk to a very quiet beach. Thank you for all the extras - bikes for the whole family to borrow, Netflix, etc. , made our vacation very relaxing! Would recommend an update on the pots and pans and also the blinds in the master bedroom (completely see-through at night). Otherwise, a very positive experience here and would definitely stay here again.
Manager response:
We have replaced the master bedroom blinds with blinds that are not see-through. We greatly appreciate hearing this guest's positive experience!
Nancy D. May 2017
Stayed at the end of April for my birthday. Great quiet location in the neighborhood. The bakery/wine bar is great and the beach is only a few blocks away. Others in April had complained about the cleanliness, but they must have done a deep clean since I did not notice any issues. The furniture definitely needs an upgrade. The couch is stained and the futon is sad.
I cooked a few meals and had everything I needed. Overall, great house and location. Gleneden is quiet, but close enough to Lincoln City. We even went to Newport.
Teresa F. Apr 2017
Cute little place about 4-5 short blocks from beach access. The house could use a deep clean, new blinds and couc,h, but it is let friendly, with fenced yard and in a quiet neighborhood close to Lincoln City.
Manager response:
We are happy to report the blinds have been replaced, the home has been deep cleaned, and we have treated the stains. Thank you!
Walter P. Mar 2017
Very sweet and simple. All amenities were thoughtfully provided and kitchen was well equipped. Short walk to a huge beach area. Felt very homey. Easy drive to bigger cities for entertainment. Lots of bikes and games in shed. We were very comfy there.
Tonna D. Mar 2017
Last minute getaway, turned out to be a quaint little house, close to ocean for a nice walk to play on beach . Love that our dogs were allowed ? House was perfect for the 2 of us and them. Close enough to Lincoln City to enjoy some of our favorite places to eat, shop and play but no noisy traffic!