Virtual Tour
USA California Northstar Truckee Listing #1758

Northstar Retreat on the Greens - Truckee, CA

28 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 2 King Bed, 4 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 4 bathrooms Dog-friendly  4WD/traction may be required in winter
180 Basque Drive, Truckee, CA 96161

Dog-friendly getaway with shared hot tub, pool & resort access, near beach!

This bright and stylish, pet-friendly four-bedroom Northstar vacation rental features a contemporary and colorful design with great resort amenities like a shared pool, hot tub, sauna, and tennis courts! In addition you'll have a spacious outdoor deck with sweeping views of the tree-lined landscape and a gas grill for cook-outs.

From your location right on the Golf Course at Northstar California Resort, besides being so close to the green in the summer, you'll also be only a five minute drive from skiing in the winter! And if you feel like taking in the views from the beach along crystal blue Lake Tahoe, you can be on the sand in nearby Kings Beach in under 15 minutes!

After a day on the green or on the slopes, come back to your Northstar retreat for a relaxing evening in front of a toasty fire in the wood-burning fireplace. There are pops of color from the artwork on the walls, the throw rug, and mantle knick-knacks. Two comfortable sofas provide seating for everyone in your group and you'll have gorgeous views of the outdoor scenery through the large picture windows. And for entertainment, there's a flat screen TV, cable a DVD player, and a VCR.

This large open main level space also has slanted wood ceilings, a big dining table, and a bright, open full kitchen! This space boasts gorgeous cabinetry, a butcher block island, white ceramic tile, and all of the pots, pans, plates, and gadgets you'll need to get delicious vacation meals on the table! There's even a blender for smoothies and a mixer for baking projects.

When it's time to turn in, you'll have a king bed in the master, along with another flatscreen TV, deck access, and more of that lovely, slanted wood ceiling at this Truckee getaway. A second bedroom also has a king sized bed, and the third and fourth bedrooms have twins -- one room has two sets of bunk beds (please note that one set is specifically designed for children) and the other two single twin sized beds. This home will sleep up to eight guests very comfortably.

The four bathrooms include a large soaking tub and a gorgeous glass block walk-in shower. Another great feature of this Northstar Retreat on the Greens? You can bring your dogs with an additional pet fee. Other amenities include a washer and dryer, WiFi, a stereo with a CD player, and an iPod dock.

As part of the Northstar Village community, this vacation home has access to the Northstar Community recreation center. The center has two pools (one large family-friendly pool, and one multi-lane lap pool) and a large fitness center with cardio equipment, strength training machines, and free weights; the center also has a snack bar. And in winter, the village offers a very large ice skating rink surrounded by fire pits, shops, and restaurants; in warmer months, the rink is used for roller skating and seating for outdoor concerts. Year-round, the cinema at Northstar offers two theaters showing current films.

Looking for more winter adventure? Some of the best skiing in all of California is just minutes away at Northstar California Resort, with even more options within a 30 minute drive at Boreal Mountain, Sugar Bowl, and Soda Springs. In addition, this Lake Tahoe destination is also near snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, and even tubing.

In summer, you can visit the beaches of Lake Tahoe or Donner Lake, hike through miles and miles of beautiful landscape, and mountain bike at the resort. There are no end to Lake Tahoe's activities and attractions! Year-round you will find something to do, even if it's just relaxing in front of the fireplace on a snowy evening.

Plan a stay at this bright and contemporary North lake Tahoe vacation rental for a memorable family getaway to Truckee and fun-filled Northstar California Resort!

Read more Read less 



Basketball court : Shared

Foosball table

Game room

Golf on-site

Gym/fitness room

Ping-pong table

Pool table : Shared

Tennis court : Shared


Washer/dryer : Private

Wood-burning fireplace

Pool : Shared

Sauna : Shared







Internet : AT&T

Cable : DirecTV

Sound dock




Wireless router


Hot tub : Shared

Gas grill : Private


28 reviews

Julie L. Mar 2018
Great house with a large comfortable family space, spacious bedrooms and pet friendly! Loved our stay!
Evan S. Oct 2017
We booked this stay the very last minute do to getting evacuated from the Sonoma County Fire. We had no trouble getting booked. Ernie the property manager was most helpful. The washing machine had broken down, but no big deal. The location was amazing! Only thing was broken and missing blinds in the living room/kitchen/dining areas, didn't offer enough privacy. Other thank that our stay was amazing. Would stay hear again in hopes that the blinds will be replaced.
Manager response:
We appreciate this guest's understanding with the sudden disrepair of the washing machine. They were refunded for the inconvenience. We will be replacing the washing machine, and the blinds will be replaced by the end of the month. Thank you!
Tatiana B. Jul 2017
We had a pretty good stay (4 adults, 4 kids and a dog.) There was plenty of space for everyone and 4 bathrooms is definitely a plus. The driveway was not a problem in the summer but something that would definitely worry me if coming in the winter. The air conditioning did not seem to really cool the house, and the upstairs bedrooms were pretty warm at night. Some of the large windows are missing screens and go almost all the way to the floor, so definitely a safety concern and we did not open them for that reason.

It was great to enjoy the sunset on the deck and we made a lot of use of it. One warning though, make sure to wear shoes on the deck or you will end up with instant splinters, all kids plus several of the adults had several painful ones each.

The location is very convenient to both Truckee and the lake and we also made use of the shared pool and game room, all great.
Manager response:
The property manager greatly appreciates this feedback and will bring it to the attention of the owners as they are staying in the home for the next few months. Thank you!
Sari C. Apr 2017
We have 3 children ages 15 to 10 yrs old and a dog. This home was perfect for the whole family. This was a last minute spring break getaway, and it was perfect. There was plenty of space for the 10 year olds to play outside, and my 15 year old loved taking the free northstar shuttle over to the village for the many different activities available there. Our dog loved it too, plenty of space inside and outside the home. Beautiful view, and also such an open kitchen. We want to come back in the summer!
Tania N. Apr 2017
One of our favorite places to stay
Dwight H. Mar 2017
We have found our go-to place for family ski vacations. The house is ideally situated to Northstar, being only a few minutes from the slopes by car or the very convenient free shuttle bus. The rooms are spacious and filled with natural light as the house fronts the golf course and open meadow. The kitchen is expansive and the island cooktop a treat for chefs. Everything was perfect.
Christopher P. Feb 2017
Nice place to stay
Sherry Y. Jan 2017
Our stay at this property was so traumatizing that none of us will stay at any Vacasa property again. First of all, the property wasn't clean. The moment we stepped into the house my husband stepped on a piece of dog poop on the floor. The inside of the dishwasher was also filled with trash, as if the previous renters were using it as a trash can. The house was also in poor condition. Water started leaking from the kitchen ceiling when one of us was taking a shower upstairs. The oven and dining chairs were falling apart. And the worst part of our stay was the poor Management and the non-existent customer service. The driveway of this property was super steep and covered in ice. We went on a bright sunny weekend and two of our cars that don't have 4 wheel drive were stuck at the bottom of the icy driveway the following morning after we checked in. I called Vacasa's customer service at least 10 times for 2 days straight and none of them were unable to help. Up to the day of our check out date, not a single one of them contacted me to provide any solution or status update. We were left hanging and stuck at the house way past our check out time and eventually had to call a local tow car service and pay for towing ourselves to get our cars out of that driveway. Thanks to this horrible house and Management, our ski vacation was completely ruined.
Manager response:
We are embarrassed to read what this guest experienced while staying with us and will be investigating where the lack of communication may have happened that caused our guests to be left feeling like they were not taken care of. The Property Manager has addressed any maintenance issues he could discover and has followed-up with housekeeping.
Ken O. Jan 2017
Big place. Lots of bathrooms. Nice quiet heat system.
JOYCE E. Nov 2016
We were at this lovely home Nov.21-28. Plenty of space. My son. daughter-in-law and granddaughter were with us.
Kitchen was amazing and so well stocked. No lack of dishes, serving pieces and silverware. Loved the concrete floors and area rugs. Dining room chairs were broken from trying to use them on concrete floor. Great deck and plenty of sun light. On the golf course so easy to get to the snow with a 2 yr. old. Really a fun place for all!
Amy R. Aug 2016
We loved the property minus a few big things! Only 2 twin bunk beds the other are crib size mattress. Air conditioner was broke and it was 89 degrees the week we were there. Windows upstairs are unsafe if you have pets or children. They go down to the floor. Someone could easily fall out. Windows and lack of screens was not good due to bugs!!! Yellow jacket nest so you cannot eat outside. My son was stung :(. The location of the property was great!!!! The kitchen has everything you need while on your trip. It's comfortable but bring slippers, The floors are a rocky concrete. I would stay here again if the fix Windows. The slider won't open and tbinds are a hassle opening. This property is a real gem if they make a few needed improvements!!!
Manager response:
We apologize that there were some safety concerns and inconveniences with this stay. The Property Manager has taken care of the bee problem, and he has ordered screens for the windows. All windows are now opening, and the blinds are being repaired and/or replaced as necessary.
Jimmy J. Jul 2016
2 are standard twin size and other 2 are half the size in length .....more for a toddlers. Picture in description looks like the double bunks are all same size....but they are not. They had lots of towels available. They provided some laundry detergent which is convenient to families with kids.
Robert C. Jul 2016
We greatly enjoyed our three night stay in Northstar ... Great property and area.
Philip G. Jun 2016
The location was great and the price was pretty good compared to other options, so we were overall happy with the place. It also was a good house to take a couple of dogs. There were a few things that need to be improved: There wasn't a grill when the add says there was, there is no deck furniture so it was a bit inconvenient to enjoy the deck without moving furniture around, and the carpets were in very bad shape throughout the house. With a little bit of effort this could be a great rental property, just not quite there yet...
Manager response:
The BBQ and deck furniture have been placed on the deck for the warm season, and the carpets are scheduled to be cleaned the very beginning of August.
Alisson A. Apr 2016
We really enjoyed this house. Very competitively priced and quite spacious. We were all very comfortable and we are a family of five with our golden retriever. It was so much fun to just go right out of the back of the house to take out dog for a walk or a run. People mentioned in the past reviews that there's a problem because the driveway is so steep in the winter. But we did is we parked our van at the top of the driveway and that way we can get out easily when it snowed. We truly enjoyed our time there. It was clean and comfortable. I'm going to be honest, it is very outdated and a lot of decoration etc. it still has everything you need. One thing they could invest in his a DVD player though. Sitting there watching cable with commercials is like torture.
Ming J. Apr 2016
This cabin is very clean and has a modern design. The most useful feature is it has 4 bathrooms (and 3 of them are full), which is super useful for several families stay together.

The late stay feature is also helpful, for only a small percentage of the day rate, I can stay till 7pm on the checkout date. Some of my friends decided to not ski on Sunday, and it's so convenient for them to stay at the cabin until other friends finished skiing and leave together.
Judy H. Mar 2016
Northstar is a great area- this property if represented well would have honestly let people there are only two bunk beds that the room the 2 bunk beds are in is virtually a closet. The floor is cement like a patio throughout the living area-with random rugs - great for ski boots walking around. Grill didn't work inside-kitchen is well equipped. Make sure you realize there is a steep sloping driveway down to the house. Fine in the summer- tricky in the winter.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that some of these things caught you off guard and appreciate your assistance in helping future guests come to know the home better. The Property Manager will check the grill so we can make sure it is functioning properly.
Bill W. Mar 2016
We had three adult couples and the house was well suited to our needs. It was comfortable and had almost all the amenities you would want. My wife thought there were not enough paper and other products for the kitchen. The only real issue was lack of cleaning when we got there from the previous tenants. We could not unpack our gear for over 2 hours while we waited for a cleaning crew to arrive. They were very nice by the way but were on their 7th home of the day. Too many homes scheduled for this crew for one day. I would suggest making more clear that the driveway is very steep and could definitely be a problem in heavy snow.
Manager response:
We greatly appreciate your patience with our cleaning crew and their hectic schedule that day. We do our best to make sure all days are manageable for our crews, but there are some days that are busier than others.
Chad G. Feb 2016
Great house for a Northstar ski vacation. House is a little dated but it has great views and is very close to the lodge. Only issue we had was the driveway.
Devin Z. Feb 2016
The house was absolutely beautiful! Property was immaculate, comfortable, easily accessible, warm and inviting. We loved the spa bathtub, the warm wood finished kitchen and ceilings and the bunk room for the kids was awesome! Two thumbs up.
Peter B. Jan 2016
Great location on Northstar shuttle route. This house only has 6 beds plus a sofa bad, not 8 plus a sofa as advertised. The 7th and 8th beds are really only about 4 feet long, so only big enough for a 3 year old.
Peggy H. Nov 2015
Make sure that everything is in working condition before you move in. Our gas fireplace, the cd player, and a tv did not work and never was fixed. We stayed a week. Management told us that the gas fireplace and the cd player would be repaired. Oh well....we won't return.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize that there were a few amenities out of order for your stay. We will get them repaired as soon as possible for our guests to enjoy! We hope you enjoyed your beautiful surroundings and found the home spacious and welcoming!