Oceanside, dog-friendly condo w/ shared hot tub, pools, gym - close to the beach
This beautiful Galveston vacation rental offers something stylish, something playful, and something warm for up to 10 guests and two dogs, though a nightly fee per dog and minimum fee per stay will apply. Just 24 minutes from the historic Strand District in Galveston, and only steps from the beach, this first-floor condo has everything you could hope for in your next beach getaway.
The pretty living room is open to the dining area and kitchen - perfect for socializing with all members of your group! The natural light creates a feeling of expansiveness here, and there's plenty of places to sit down to relax. Gather around the flatscreen TV on the cushy couch, or read your favorite novel on the fainting sofa - there's even WiFi for your personal devices. The den on the other side of the kitchen is set up with an additional television, a Nintendo Game Cube, and a Sony Playstation for the kids and adults to both enjoy.
Meal times are group affairs at the banquet-style table set for six inside, and with the outdoor furniture on the patio, accessible from the living room and the den. The outdoor ceiling fan moves the air about on hot days, and there's plenty of furniture for everyone in your party to enjoy the sea breeze and views, not to mention a cooler for your beverages and cold deserts! The resident chef will relish in this cozy kitchen with stainless steel appliances, plenty of cooking accessories, and a dishwasher for easy cleaning.
Each bedroom offers guests their own private oasis to retreat and relax in quiet. The master bedroom features a very comfortable king-size bed and a TV. Watch the sunrise over the Gulf with private deck access, and curl up for a nap on the small sofa. The master bathroom is enormous with a walk-in closet, a jetted garden tub, a stand-up shower, and a spacious, double-vanity dressing area.
The second bedroom offers a queen-sized bed, private TV, and attached bathroom for extra privacy. This room is ideal for a couple - fantastic views and a cozy reading chair make this room a peaceful getaway.
In the final bedroom, you'll find two twin bunk beds, great for younger members of the group, and a private bathroom for them to share. Two more futons make sleeping arrangements simplistic. Need anything washed? The condo comes with its own private washer/dryer.
You'll find plenty to do in Pointe West Resort's expansive grounds. Paved paths surrounding the property are great for jogs and biking; there are stocked ponds to admire, a fitness center to work out in, and various pools to splash about! Need a place to hang out when it rains? Check out the Beach Clubhouse for board games and DVDs. Take a walk to the beach for fishing, surfing, and loafing opportunities. Check out Galveston's Strand Historic District for a day trip of epic proportions - you'll go back day after day for shopping, classic architecture, and hot spots like Moody Gardens.
Your next family vacation to the beach will be a spectacular success here, in this bright and stylish Texas vacation rental!
* For guests looking to book between February and May 2020, there is scheduled upkeep maintenance planned for this resort which could impact your reservation. Please contact us for further information.
** Note: During peak season between March 1st and September 8th, Beach Club bands will be $10 per guest over 3-years-old to access all amenities. This fee is charged by the POA of Pointe West and is payable at the Beach Club. Also, please note that this home's elevators are unreliable, and that the home is not suitable for elderly guests or those with limited mobility.
Hot tub (Shared)
Pool : Shared
Washer/dryer : Private
Internet : Comcast
Hot tub : Shared
Gas grill : Private
STEPHEN Y.Oct 2019
Everything was there for us. We cooked our own meals
Dean B.Oct 2019
Everything was very clean...close to the beach and plenty of amenities.
maria n.Oct 2019
Everything was easy
Carmen O.Oct 2019
It was a good time. My kids loved it
Callie P.Sep 2019
We had a great time .
Curtis B.Jul 2019
This property was exactly as described. Nice quiet area at the end of the island, yet within easy driving distance to all major area attractions. The condo is exactly as described. Well kept property.
Monica D.Jul 2019
A good place to get away from the city
John M.Jun 2019
This was the perfect place for our first combined family vacation. many of the others with 3 bedrooms have only 2 bathrooms. this one had three and that made things easier.
Brittany A.May 2019
Simple beach decor and everything we needed.
Juan B.Sep 2018
Well situated and great apt.
Sarah H.Sep 2018
Mary E.Aug 2018
We enjoyed the property but would be able to enjoy it more when main clubhouse elevator is fixed, we had 3 elderly family members with us. I will want a different location and more beds next time.
Linda H.Jul 2018
Loved the condo. Very clean. Very big. Had issues with fridge keeping cool.
Will definitely stay there again
Karen H.Jul 2018
The condo was realy nice . It was always to in town but the beach was not crowded.The pool was beautiful
Matthew C.Jul 2018
Perfect location and had all the comforts of home!
Alicia S.Jul 2018
I never knew this place was on the island. We stayed 3 nights and there was 9 of us. The condo was perfect size! Very clean, easy to use, and a great location. Pointe West Beach Club is very nice. We only got to use the main pool once in the evening. We ended up using the lazy river pool. I recommend with kids. You can bring your own drinks and snacks. It rained the whole day on our last full day. ugh! Invest in a beach wagon. We didn't use the beach entrance through the club. We drove and parked. It's a quit a hike. So, totting small kids and all their stuff it was easier to drive and park. They do charge you $10.00 per person to get into the pool areas. We bought all 9 bands, next time I'll buy as we go. We only used 7 bands. This condo was wonderful. You don't need anything. They don't have a grill in the condo. You have to walk a bit to grill. Were fan people. So we brought our on fans. You don't need them. They provide like 5 fans. Our over all stay was Awesome! It was definitely worth the money. My only compliant is, it wasn't long enough. haha
Marie J.Apr 2018
We had an amazing time. everything was very clean, service at the Beach Club was awesome. The beach is beautiful and the Condo was everything we expected and more.
Natalie T.Nov 2017
Love the property. Really enjoyed my stay.
Dorothy S.Jul 2017
We had a great time.
Mandy J.Jun 2017
Great place for families to get away with beach access and awesome pools.
Clara U.May 2017
The place is great in a perfect location:)
Jennifer B.Apr 2017
We love Pointe West, but this unit could have been cleaner when we arrived. Many of the beds were very uncomfortable, and the furnishings not great. We will likely choose another unit next time. But we will definitely come back to Pointe West again and again.
Chris S.Apr 2017
Nice property! Huge condo. This allowed our family of 5 to relax and not trip over each other. It was worth the extra money to stay here rather than the crowded downtown area of Galveston. The beach club was nice the pool was clean and pretty. Property Manger was quick to respond and helpful with our request.
John S.Mar 2017
Awesome place, great location, great beach view, easy pool and beach access, cleaner floor and it would be perfect!
Sheila A.Jan 2017
This was a great place to stay, very spacious. The pictures do not do this condo justice. It is beautifully furnished. TVs in all rooms. The pools and hot tub were great. It is about 20 miles from Galveston. It is very peaceful and an overall great place to stay.
Karen P.Dec 2016
This is a very pleasant and spacious condo. Has everything you need and more. We had 4 adults and 4 kids. It was perfect. The master bedroom is very large with a huge bath. Perfect! The kitchen was great. Would definitely rent here again.
Gary D.Nov 2016
Very nice property and location on the Island. Pointe West is great place to be, quiet, nice clubhouse and pool areas!
David S.Aug 2016
Go ahead and book this unit..... You will not be disappointed in your decision
Belinda V.Aug 2016
We stayed August 2016 for a weekend. Pointe West is a nice place and the unit had 3 bedrooms and 3 baths which helped with the amount of people staying. The beach is close enough, just a little walk away. The kids really enjoyed the pool, however I think the $10.00 a person for the pool is a little steep since we are already paying a high price for the unit. $100.00 for all of us just to use the pool for (2) days is a bit ridiculous. The units do have an elevator which is helpful with carrying items up and you also have a secure area that you can place your beach articles in underneath. You can only have 3 vehicles on the property per unit and (1) space is underneath the unit....just be sure NOT TO back in to the space provided are you will receive a sticker on your car stating that your vehicle WILL BE TOWED. Not sure why backing into a space is wrong, but - whatever. The grounds are nice as are the units. The unit we stayed in had plenty of space for 3 adults and 7 kids. The kitchen is fully equipped, however my daughter went to use a coffee cup and found it had not been washed prior to being put up. I normally will not use kitchen items from resorts and or will wash them before using anyways, however someone must have been too lazy and decided to place several cups, bowls and silverware back in the cabinets without washing them. We basically used paper plates and plastic ware while staying but did pull out the dishes and washed them so the next people didn't have to. One of the bedrooms my daughter stayed in still had sand in the sheets so we washed those prior to her sleeping. Other than this, our stay was fine and the kids enjoyed the beach and pool !
We appreciate having the opportunity to address this feedback. The $10 wrist band is a requirement of the Pointe West Association during peak season; these bands are not required by them Labor Day through Memorial Day. The association has also asked that guests not back into spaces as they spent too much time repairing holes in the walls from trailer hitches. We are very sorry to see that prior guests put away dirty dishes; we have asked housekeeping to be more mindful when checking dishes in the future. We also apologize that we missed the sand in the sheets; the sand does get everywhere, and during the cleaning inspection sand was found on the mattress covers and removed. We again apologize that it was missed in the sheets.
Jillene N.Jul 2016
We were very please with this condo. It was on the first level above the parking garage. My kids loved the double bunk bed room. Plenty of seating for meals. Rental company was easy to work with. Will stay here again.
Lawrence L.Jul 2016
We spent Thur thru Tues at Vista Del Mar. Very enjoyable vacation and a nice spot. The condo had a great pool area, nice infinity pool and a shallow pool for kids. Also, easy access to the beach. I would definitely stay again!
Sherry M.Jul 2016
My 2 daughters, 7 grandchildren and I enjoyed 4 days here! Memories were made at a perfect place.
Sarah W.Jul 2016
It was perfect and the pictures did not do it justice.
Scott D.Jun 2016
Great place to stay with plenty of space for 4 adults and 2 teenagers. We love the seclusion of the west side of Galveston compared to the seawall. I only wish there were more restaurants on the westside.
Paige M.Jun 2016
Property was very nice and beaches were restricted to guests of the beach club.
Deborah H.Jun 2016
We loved having a place that served food and drinks right on site. The walk to the beach was a little far, but other than that we loved our stay here.
Betsy A.Jun 2016
The only complaints would be the ridiculous walk-overs to the beach. They stop way too short of the beach and dump you off in a swamp. Then you have a long trek to get out of it and to the sand.
The resort has no means of providing umbrellas or beach chairs for guests. And there are no vendors available for rental. So you will need to bring a full compliment of beach furniture if you plan on going to the beach.
We had two boys ( 13 and 14) that planned to spend time in the game room in the evenings, but the game room closed at 5p.m. That was somewhat disappointing.
The property is really pretty, but I think they may still be in baby stages. We've stayed at beach properties on Galveston for many years and were always provided these basic amenities.
Jenny T.May 2016
This condo has a great location right by the beach club but is in need of some extermination and a deep clean. The dish and silverware drawer was filled with silverfish and mosquitos swarm by the front door. Do not stay here if you are pregnant and concerned about Zika! I got bit literally 10 times just standing on the patio trying to unlock the door. All of the drawers, cupboards and baseboards need to be treated for pests and then sanitized...lots of food particles in everything. Bring your own coffee maker!! The coffee maker had not been cleaned in weeks and had a molded filter left in it. When we called and asked for a new coffee maker, they sent someone to just clean the other one. She came...and cleaned it with straight bleach! I'm sure it killed the mold but I don't think it's safe to drink coffee from it now. Also, bring your own pot holders and extra towels for the bedroom. Each bathroom only has two bath towels which is not nearly enough for a beach vacation when you are showering a lot. The balcony has a lovely view and is great but is covered in grime and bird droppings--needs to be power washed. I think the place could be great if the owners would invest in some nicer housewares, pest control, and deep cleaning.
We are very sorry to see that there were some housekeeping issues with the home. There is a new Property Manager for this unit who has confirmed that these issues have been addressed.
Carol B.Apr 2016
I was looking to celebrate my birthday with family and wanted a place where we could all be together and not in different hotel rooms. We had experienced quite a few deaths within the last year and I just wanted to provide a time that we could get together and the occassion was not due to a sad event! My first thought was a beach house. However, after waiting until the last minute; I did have a selection for A beach house; however, I selected the Vacasa because it was more appealing and provided better scenery and atmosphere. I was able to secure the conda @ Vacasa and was excited to receive a last minute booking discount! Entry into the condo was easy and departure instructions as well. The entry process in some of my previous vacation rentals have been a nightmare. So that alone made me feel as though; I had selected the right place. I had read some previous Vacasa, reviews and it appeared all previous concerns were addressed. Previous concerns were with drainer for spaghetti missing and not enough pots to prepare meal. We brought our own plates and silverware, so I didn't really notice if there would have been enough for the 10 of us? 8 adults, 2 kids. However, we found enough pots, pans, skillets and a new large crockpot; we used but you could tell it had not been previously used. A rice cooker which my husband put too much rice in, but that was a "user" error, which I corrected.
I am used to gas stoves/ovens so it took me a minute to reaccumulate myself back to electric stove. My family including the kids and one of the relatives small dog; all had a blast and continued to thank me all weekend for a pleasant get-away. I booked Sat/Sun but due to work and school schedules; most guest left late Sunday afternoon. I would have preferred booking Friday/Saturday but did not like the 11:00a.m Sunday checkout. I made a suggestion in the what can be improved section above and for me a standard 3:00p.m checkout if you are checking out on a Sunday woud be great and any other day checkout could be 11:00a.m. With a 4:00p.m Friday check in and a Sunday 11:00a.m. checkout I feel cheated in it is not really a "full" 2 day stay; although you are paying for 2 "full" days. 44 hours verses 48 hours; now this is not necessarily geared towards Vacasa and my stay there; it is a general vacation rental comment and if Vacasa take heed and adjust; that would be awesome! Great, place, great time! Would stay again!
Howard W.Jan 2016
My wife & I greatly enjoyed our stay. The room was excellent & the view was awesome. We plan on staying with you again.
Amy & Chris L.Dec 2015
This was a great spot for an off-season family visit. The accommodations were quiet and family friendly. The balcony served as the perfect gathering spot for my large family. The condo is a close walk to the beach, but removed from the main traffic of Galveston. I would highly recommend this spot if you are willing to be unplugged. The WiFi connection was poor, and we had to run out the first night to get some of the essentials we expected to be on hand in the condo. Overall, a great place for a family gathering.
Candice P.Oct 2015
The condo is an amazing vacation for family or just for a girls getaway.
On the beach, fantastic views, wonderful pool and a restaurant onsite.
about 20 minutes from stores, but totally worth the drive.
The condo was perfect, 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, perfect for girls.
Thank you so much for sharing your review! We are glad you had a wonderful getaway and hope you come back soon.
Ruth W.Sep 2015
Pretty far out, but easy access to beach, nice pool, topsider restaurant just OK, I think they needed more help
Jessica M.Jun 2015
My family of nine stayed at 1421 # 101 in June of 2015. It was a great vacation spot for our mixed group of adults and children. The infinity edge pool was awesome. There were always chairs available in both the sun and shade, and it was never overly crowded. The beach Boardwalk is long, but not crowded, and they provide two spots for showering off the sand from the beach.
The entire property, including the unit we stayed in, needed screens replaced on the windows. They were shredded and made the buildings look unkept. Of course, I realize that a recent tropical storm might have caused the damage, so I am mentioning it, but it would not stop us from returning.
The unit itself was clean and well kept. There were some missing amenities that we have always found in other condos so we have come to the expect them. For example, there wasn't a colander in the kitchen which made a pasta dinner for nine hard to prepare. There were not any kitchen towels provided. There were paper towels, but cooking generally requires a kitchen towel to avoid going through entire rolls of paper towels each day. We could also never figure out the television in the back den area. There were tons of remote controls in the condo - at least two for each of the four tv's in the condo, but no one or combination of them would get that TV to work. The VRBO site for the listing also said a game system was in the condo, but we couldn't find it despite looking everywhere.
There were tons of great things in the condo though - ample towels, plenty of seating, good linens, three fans, great patio furniture, a large capacity washer and dryer, a cage full of beach toys and boogie boards, and many other comforts that made our group happy with our stay.
Make sure you bring bug spray. It's a must due to the orientation of the main pool house and the condo units. Those large buildings block the gulf wind in the front of the property, so the mosquitos swarm there. I mean SWARM. It was a race several times a day to run from the condo to the top of the stairs of the pool area where the breeze was strong enough to keep the mosquitos away. We quickly figured out that we had to go buy bug spray and put it on every single time we ventured out. Even with bug spray we all ended up with a dozen or more bites. We laughed about this vacation being remembered as the itchiest we've ever taken. Fortunately, the great patio for this condo is on the backside, so it benefits from the gulf breezes. We never saw a mosquito there.
Thank you for taking the time to send us this wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the condo and were able to enjoy time in the pool and the provided amenities. Please accept our apologies for the missing items. We are following up with our local staff to make sure that the condo has all the necessary items for our future guests. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to have you as guests again soon!
Flo H.Jun 2015
This is a perfect place for families with young children. The condo is very nice and the beach is just a short walk away. The location is somewhat remote, but we gladly traded that for less congestion, no loud parties or disturbances, and the safety of our children. The club was also a great amenity with the pool, fitness center, and grilling equipment.
Martha S.Apr 2015
Dirty kitchen sink , standing water in it. I had no gloves to reach in dirty water to remove stopper & let water out. fridge wasn't at correct temp , I assumed it would b &
Just put our groceries into it. No ice in ice make. On Friday night we lost power 3 times. On Saturday , during Rockets game lights went out again during 3rd quarter came back on with 1 min left in the 4th quarter. Men & boys not happy wanted to enjoy play off game. Rain came in thru one of the bedroom windows. Seal is partially broken. Lastly one of the boys fell asleep on Cleo couch and woke up with bed bugs. I have pics of all these statements. So yeah may not head back out there. Sorry things turned out like this for my family. Husband works hard for his money &
This is a treat for us , or it should of been anyways. We were actually going to go ahead & head out on Saturday night ðŸ˜’
We are sorry to see that you were disappointed in your stay. We will follow-up with housekeeping and work on those maintenance items right away. We hope you were able to enjoy the great location and fun amenities available to you. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!