Virtual Tour
USA California Northern California Shaver Lake Listing #21409

Caribou Creek - Shaver Lake, CA

4 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 2 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
42210 Rockledge Rd, Shaver Lake, CA 93664

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible, no-fee options for trip changes and cancellations.

You can reschedule your trip, cancel it and receive 100% credit for a future stay, or cancel it for a refund (minus the booking fee) at least 30 days before check-in.

Note: If your trip starts after August 31, you have these options as long as you change or cancel your trip at least 30 days before check-in.

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Most Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Beautiful cabin w/ wood stove, wraparound deck, & full kitchen - close to lake!

Make this rustic cabin in Shaver Lake your home away from home for your next getaway to Central California! Tow your boat to this secluded home tucked away in the trees, offering quick access to the neighborhood pond nearby or the waters of Shaver Lake. Sip your morning coffee out on the wraparound deck, and return home from a day of adventures to warm yourself by the wood stove and watch your favorite movie on the flatscreen TV.

What's nearby:
This home is two miles from Shaver Village, where you'll find a few restaurants and boutique shops. You'll be about three-and-a-half miles from the Dorabelle campsite for easy access to beautiful Shaver Lake. China Peak Mountain Resort's ski slopes are only 22 miles from where you're staying, or you can hike in the nearby mountains during warmer weather.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen with a dishwasher
A 4x4 is recommended in the winter
All guests must be at least 25 years old in order to secure a reservation A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Heating & cooling

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Outdoor

Balcony

Deck

4 reviews

Kevin G. Jan 2020
We stayed at Caribou Creek for two nights/three days and I have mixed feelings about the cabin.
The overall condition of the cabin is fine (i.e. exterior appearance, interior flooring and counter tops, etc.). However, there are inconveniences that add up over the course of a weekend and become nuisances.
PROS: Location, access to the two car garage, lots of towels and blankets, well-stocked kitchen, size (4 bedrooms/2 baths).
The location of the cabin is great! It's close to town, yet far enough off Tollhouse to feel away from it all. Also, there are snow hills just behind the cabin that work great for sledding and snow play. Having access to the garage provides space for cars to park and/or guests to have room to store snow gear. There were sleds in the garage as well if you get there and need them. The overall size of the cabin was nice. We had three families (6 adults and 3 kids) and it felt about right.
CONS: Heating, no washer/dryer, cabin layout, hard beds, lack of cabin 'amenities'.
The cabin has heating problems. There is no heat upstairs from the house heater, and space heaters (that were brought by Vacasa) blew the circuit. Downstairs, the bedrooms get all the heat and become hot while the great room is cold. In short, the heat is not distributed well. Not having a working washer and dryer is difficult in the winter. Most of the day is spent outside in the snow, clothes get wet. Also, to be able to wash bath towels during a stay would be nice. Layout has two bedrooms upstairs and two bedrooms downstairs, the rooms are on top of each other. Heads up, with kids and such not much privacy in the bedrooms. King beds are very firm! Personally, I do like firm beds but they were not a hit with the families who slept on them. Last, not many little touches other cabins often provide. For example, no TV options. It was NFL playoffs during our stay so we did watch parts of some of the games. But we were only able to watch anything on the TV because of devices I brought. The Internet was spotty at best and wireless devices will struggle. There wasn't any firewood (at least that I could find), but we had a box of wood so we were mostly alright. The deck and wrap around porch were covered in snow, which I did shovel but it probably should have been done for us.
Overall, like I stated at the start I left with mixed feelings. There were some very positive parts about the cabin which I appreciated and some things that could have been better. The cabin did offer everything that was advertised on its listing so I suppose it's buyer beware. For the right group in the right weather it could work out great. For us on this stay, I'd say it was so-so.
Manager response:
We are happy that you had a nice time despite the inconvenience. We always take pride in our listings being as accurate as possible. Please call us next time you are booking and we will confirm the amenities you require. We hope we can host you again in a unit more suited to your needs.
Shannon K. Sep 2019
This cabin was beautiful, and you can tell that the owners treasure it and have begun to put a lot of time and upgrades into it. We only booked 2 days, but I wish we had booked more. It felt like a home away from home. The kitchen, bathroom, and main living areas have all been quite obviously updated. There is a 2 car garage which was nice to have access to when it came time to unload and load our things. ( Front door is on 2nd floor. Either way, you have to go up a flight of stairs.) There was a nice assortment of cookware and dishware. There were many clean towels and toiletries waiting for us, and the first floor bathroom has a shower and a bath. I can't say enough nice things about this cabin. It was also fairly close to town. Just a short drive. The only (not even major) complaint I have is that the dryer did not work. This was not a deal breaker for me during a 2 day stay, but a longer visit may require some planning in regard to laundry. In all, a beautiful experience and would love to stay here during winter as well as late summer.
Manager response:
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It sounds like you had a great time. The washer/Dryer was removed from the listing because they are not working. We hope we can host you again soon!
Mark V. May 2019
This is a very nice, comfortable home in an attractive development. We found it almost exactly as represented in the virtual tour on the website. It was very clean. The bathrooms had plenty of towels and tissue. There was a nice and plentiful amount of kitchenware and utensils. The beds and furniture were clean and comfortable. There was a good selection of games and DVD's in the living room and we found the lighting attractive and very functional. We used the clothes washer and dryer and both operated fine. Our party consisted of four adults and four children and we were comfortable and enjoyed our three night stay and would definitely consider staying here again.
Kristin S. Mar 2019
We had so much fun here! The cabin is in a great location. There are 2 rooms on the main floor and 2 upstairs! The house was clean and had no issues. It felt very home-ey! Definitely would stay again!