Virtual Tour
USA California North Lake Tahoe Carnelian Bay Listing #326

Moose Cabin at Carnelian Bay - Carnelian Bay, CA

83 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms Sleeps 6 comfortably  Dog-friendly  4WD/traction may be required in winter
4155 North Lake Boulevard, Carnelian Bay, CA 96140

Homey and inviting dog-friendly cabin in convenient location

This inviting, dog-friendly cabin in North Lake Tahoe offers guests a convenient location with easy access to prime dining and year-round outdoor activities.

What's nearby:
This rental is centrally located between Tahoe City (four miles south) and Kings Beach (5 miles north). Carnelian Bay offers the best public beach in North Tahoe, excellent dining, and a famous marina. The beach also has paddleboard and kayak rentals, as well as a cafe. Crystal Bay Casino is only 7 miles north. Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadows are less than 11 miles away, with Northstar only 10 miles away. Other popular activities include hiking, mountain biking, tennis, golf, rafting, and cross-country skiing, and historic downtown Truckee is 17 miles northwest.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen (with dishwasher)
Dogs welcome with a small nightly fee A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Property permit ID: STR20-8129


Heating & cooling


Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter

DVD player

Wireless router




Washer/dryer : Private

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing


Gas grill : Private


83 reviews

Chad L. Feb 2020
Nice place in a great location!
Andrei S. Jan 2020
Comfortable and cozy cabin with enough space for the whole family. The vacation rental was spotless. We were very happy with location. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Robin C. Dec 2019
Quaint, clean, close to everything, great for price.
thomas j p. Oct 2019
The black door for the dog was great quiet back street to walk him and avoid the the busy street in the front of the house. The house was clean and comfortable
HECTOR D. Jun 2019
Tara O. Mar 2019
The large parking was handy. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook. Appreciative of being able to bring the pooch. Low on pillow cases for the 5/6 that showed up from our reservation.
mike h. Mar 2019
cabin was nice
Cesar M. Feb 2019
Nice little home, 2 queen beds, 1 twin with a pull out twin underneath. The couch/pull out bed is broken. The couch was small and worn so not a good sleeping option. They did provide a roll out pad to put on the floor and lots of extra blankets and pillows. All pot, pans and silverware are included with a nice little kitchen. Open backyard with a small enclosed area. The upstairs is very very steep I do not recommend for older couples. We had our parents sleep downstairs so they wouldn't fall. Also the house is off the main road so getting in and out with the snow was a process but I would book this house again.
Heidi S. Sep 2018
The location of this cabin is strategic if you want to go to North or West shore. It is a clean, well equipped place. We were looking for a good place to chill too and the only downside for us was that with our family of 4, there wasn’t a lot of comfortable “chilling” space downstairs. If you are headed to Tahoe for a mostly outdoor experience and need a place to eat, shower and sleep, this is perfect.
Veronica N. Jul 2018
Great family vacation home. Everything was clean!! Very close to the lake
Donald S. Jul 2018
Our stay was great. The cabin is beautiful. Yes it’s a bit noisy because of the traffic on the road. But sit out back and it’s much quieter. I noticed everyone complaining about the couch. It just sits low and an old guy like me has to take my time getting up. The cleaning people were not perfect leaving a dirty dish in the microwave and not doing a great job on the fridge. Owners if you read this I can see light coming in at the peak of the roof about 4 feet in from the front door. While we were there we found a dog friendly beach with a large meadow if Fido would rather just fetch a ball. The beach was great to cool off and no leash to worry about. The cabin is located a short drive away from Tahoe City where you can shop, eat and rent water toys. I look forward to my next trip to Lake Tahoe.
Manager response:
We are glad to see this guest enjoyed their stay! Maintenance is scheduled to inspect the area with the light creeping through, and we have followed-up with housekeeping regarding the cleanliness comments. Thank you!
Diann J. Jun 2018
House is older, but not in bad condition. It was fairly clean when we arrived, and we came prepared with laundry detergent, dishwasher pods and dish soap, etc. We had a great time going to the nearby beaches and exploring the area. The living room is small, but the seating options could be better for a family. There is one chair that's okay and a loveseat that needs to be replaced immediately. The couch is like sitting in an upside down A. There are some things in disrepair that should be attended to soon. The dogs enjoyed their time there as well. Someone (it looks like a long time ago) bent/broke part of the little fence in the tiny dog yard, but I still used it for my pup, since she is not used to pottying on a leash. The only other thing to note is this sits right past a corner and getting in and out of the driveway while people are speeding by can be hairy, so you just have to be careful. However, we would definitely come back here. The owner's decor was really cute too. Thank you!
Alex A. Jun 2018
Super clean and cozy. Was a little hard to spot from the road, but the place was nice. Comfy beds, big enough kitchen.
Prerna A. Jun 2018
The house had every modern amenity you'd need to have a pleasant stay. It was definitely a blast from the past in terms of decor. The TV NEEDS a big upgrade from the CRT but if you are not there to watch your favorite show, it's your perfect spot. Oh, an the internet is kinda slow. Again, not a problem if you are here on vacation and don't need to snap/insta everything you do every 30 seconds.
Gwenith I. May 2018
Loved the cabin here--it was cozy, welcoming, and had everything we needed. With 8 of us, it was a little crowded, but that's to be understood. There are two queen beds, a twin bed with a trundle, and two sofas, which gave everyone a place to sleep. There was ample parking for our four cars (we came from different places so unfortunately couldn't carpool as much as we would like to.) The lake is SO CLOSE and this is perfectly located between King's Beach and Tahoe City. Definitely would stay again!!
Luke P. Mar 2018
Had a great time staying at Moose Cabin. Really cozy spot that was perfect for our ski weekend crash spot. Definitely plan to stay there again for another ski weekend this season and sometime this summer to have some fun on non-frozen water.
Debra R. Feb 2018
We had a great time in this cabin and were thrilled to be able to bring our dog. The home was very comfortable and clean and we really enjoyed our stay.
Anne M C. Jan 2018
Good location on a noisy street.
Adnan K. Oct 2017
This was an amazing cozy place for a family or four. We we amazing at how accessible it was to the lake. Definitely would come back and stay here!
Olivia Y. Sep 2017
Super cozy. We love that we were able to bring our fur-babies!
Laura H. Sep 2017
Minimal assistance. Bear broke into our car and destroyed wind shield. Had to call to get more bulbs in light sockets. No land line or phne book.
Tim H. Aug 2017
A group of five friends and I stayed at this property for a summer vacation weekend. Very cozy and homy with all of the amenities you would expect. Perfect for a quiet peaceful summer get away! The two bedrooms and day bed with trundle worked out great for us.
Adva I. Aug 2017
The place is not clean or maintained enough.
The overall location is great. The specific house location is a bot noisy from the road.
Sharlene L. Jul 2017
Loved staying in the cabin. We found a small public access beach about 1.5 miles up from the cabin. There was a distant view of the lake through the trees.
Mary Ann M. May 2017
Although the furnishing might look old the place is cute and comfy and best of all clean.
Bruce P. Apr 2017
This place was cleaned with new carpets. The location is convenient but a bit close to the road where you can hear traffic from the inside. There are beds for eight, but practically, six people max as there are not enough seating around the fireplace/TV.
Kevin G. Apr 2017
My family and I stayed at this wonderful cabin for an impromptu ski trip. The cabin was clean, quiet, and as cozy as can be. As a further plus, this cabin was just a few minutes from Northstar, Alpine Meadows, and Squaw which made it a great location. A little boarding, some relaxing, and a bunch of old school Nintendo with the little ones... just a fantastic time!
Lindsey B. Apr 2017
Everything you need for a great weekend. 5 stars if they get a new couch.
LISA S. Jan 2017
Overall this was a great experience. The cabin was more then sufficient, great location, cute and comfortable. Could be cleaned more efficiently.
Deborah A. Jan 2017
We had a great time at this home. Location is in easy proximity to Tahoe city and Nevada state line. Plenty of options for things to do and lots of skiing close by. Love that we could bring our dogs too!
Sandy S. Sep 2016
Michelle S. Sep 2016
Glad to find this place to spend the Labor Day weekend in Tahoe. Home was super cozy and comfy. Definitely has that Tahoe Cabin appeal. Super dog-friendly, our corgi loved the place and had tons of space to walk around in the morning or before he sleeps at night. Lots of convenience stores (7-11, Safeway) nearby, and cute shops and restaurants surrounding the area as well. The only suggestion we have is to provide a "marker" or more lighting by the entrance of the property so future guests won't have to miss the property especially if they are arriving in the evening. Other than that, we would love to stay here again!
Rob R. Aug 2016
Cozy and nice but do recommend updating sofa and chairs in living room as they are torn and broken down also recommend putting a small patio set with umbrella at front deck as there was no shade with afternoon sun
Brian S. Jul 2016
This is a good location if you're looking for a little quieter spot, not in a town setting. It's an older property, but well maintained with a loft upstairs (includes a bedroom, bathroom, and separate daybed on the landing). The stairs are pretty steep but we had no problems.
Downstairs was a bedroom and bathroom, kitchen, and laundry room, and family room. The TV was older with a Nintendo console (fine with us as we didn't come to watch tv) and they had basic Directv. Our family of five was pretty comfortable. It was about 5-10 minutes to drive to either Tahoe City or Kings Beach. You're right on Lakeshore Drive so it's easy to get around. A little road noise, but not much later in the day. Great property manager and a good location.
Fed M. Jul 2016
The place was nice, cozy, pet friendly and affordable. We had 6 adults in the group and 2 dogs and had plenty of space for everyone.
Neil P. Jun 2016
Several issues related to health & safety, including exposed wires in bathroom and excessive mold in shower area. Shower drain very slow downstairs, leaving several inches of dirty water after showering.
Carpet in poor condition, and bbq ignition didn't work (had to match light)
Manager response:
We apologize that this stay had some inconveniences. The Property Manager is working with the owner on repairs and updates and will replace the BBQ starter right away. The drains are slow since the plumbing is old, but we have been able to address any mold issues.
SOCORRO T. Mar 2016
We loved the cabin, it is very Close to Squaw Valley and Northstar, also surrounded by very good restaurants and grocery stores but I would highly recommend new mattresses, pillows and definitely a good heater. It was freezing at night, we all had to wear snow clothes to keep warm inside the cabin. We definitely would like to go back next year if those three items get "fixed". It also needs lights on the back yard, it was hard to take our dog out at night.
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback and will take it to the owner!
Sandy H. Mar 2016
We loved the location of the cabin, easy to get to tahoe city, Kings beach and incline village. However, when we arrived at night, the central heating was not working. We only use 2 small space heaters they provided to keep warm. Called the property manager and he said he needed to check with the housemaid. Then he texted the next morning saying the house owner said we can turn up the temp on the control panel, which of course we did at the moment we arrived! Anyway, not very helpful, and no one came to take a look or called to follow up. Overall, the house is outdated, not very well maintained, but it's clean.
Manager response:
We are so sorry that the central heating in the home was not working during your stay. We take our guests comfort very seriously and appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will work with the property manager and the owner to ensure that the central heating is working perfectly for our guests going forward.
Pam H. Jan 2016
Really great property; easy to find and convenient to both Tahoe City and Truckee. Very roomy and kitchen was well-equiped. I stayed there because of the pet availability and I love A-frames. A bit rustic, but very clean and comfortable.
Holly S. Nov 2015
This property has the potential to be a great vacation cabin. The location is fantastic and is close to everything you could need. In addition, the property offers cable, wireless internet and a fabulous front porch. Unfortunately, the property does not appear to be kept up over the years and the property could use some maintenance. Neither the front porch or the back porch lights were working, which made it difficult to take our dog out at night. In addition, the carpet is very worn and could be replaced and the bathroom, especially the downstairs bathtub needs some attention (the drain was not working at all). The upstairs loft is very cute, but the stairs could use a second handrail to ensure safety.
Manager response:
We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback for us. We apologize that the outdoor lights were not working for you and will have the Property Manager inspect them right away for guest safety and security. We hope you were cozy in the home and enjoyed the fireplace!
Roger S. Aug 2015
Have written a previous letter to Vacasa on 8/21 and that will be my review.
Sherri D. Jul 2015
Good value for the price. Had everything we needed. The only things I would recommend is a TV in the two bedrooms. Some people can't sleep without a TV. Also only one working fan in upstairs bedroom.
Cindy C. Apr 2015
We were very happy with our cabin and the ease and effeciency of the rental process! We definitely would recommend Vacasa and will definitely be using them in the future! Thank you for a great experience!
Julia M. Apr 2015
This was a cute cabin, fairly well-located between Kings Beach and Tahoe City. It can be easy to miss right on the main road though, but plenty of quiet streets behind for walking a pooch. The cabin itself was really spacious, though overall a bit dated. Nothing extra special, but cute and a good value & easy to get around North Lake Tahoe.
Lisa M. Aug 2014
The house is set up very nicely to have three or four teenagers at this cabin and not be on top of each other. The kitchen table only seats 5, so other people will have to eat in shifts or put plates on their laps on the couch!
Andrea D. Aug 2014
I really like the way Vacasa handle all the reservation, easy fast no mistakes. I would rent from them again no question.
The cabin was good, not new is a little old but cute, good location, good for a family 6 to stay easily.
Near mini golf, Safeway is 6 min and so was the beach.
My only issue was the shower downstairs water was too much too hard and drain was not working well. I though was a lot waist of good water when we are in need to save them.
Overall nice place 8))
Diane M. Jul 2014
ASVINI C. May 2014
Our stay at this place was nice..very comfortable for 2 families and a dog...had a very good time..Thank you..
Elisabeth L. Jan 2014
We had 7 grad students stay at the property. It's small but homey, and everything works well. The knickknacks are cute. Of note: there are 6 chairs at the table, so consider bringing a folding chair if you have more people.
Jodi C. Jan 2014
There were 6 of us and my son's dog. We had plenty of room and we were so impressed with how clean the cabin was and well stocked. I appreciated not having to pack towels and linens. All the kitchen utensils and pots and pans were clean. I would highly recommend this cabin and I look forward to coming back.
Cyril A. Oct 2013
Need a gate upstairs for the kids,
DVD player is not working
Erik B. May 2013
Great property. Extremely clean. Well stocked kitchen. Only gripe I had was that it looks alot bigger in the photos on the website than it actually is. It is still a good size. Just not as big as it looks in the photos. Would definitely stay here again. Great location.
Randa B. Apr 2013
Wonderful and cosy cabin in a superb area! We were pleasantly surprised how well-equipped the cabin was and how close it was to convenience stores such as Safeway. True, the main road is facing the cabin so it wasn't very quiet, but that didn't bother us at all. Apart from that, it was a great weekend trip and we really enjoyed our stay! Will book again! Thanks Vacasa for being so helpful!
Manager response:
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you in the future!
Amy B. Feb 2013
Overall we were very pleased with the cleanliness, condition and overall quality of the home. It was very comfortable for 3 adults and two children (and 2 medium-sized dogs), with the openness of the floor plan. The kitchen was well-appointed and we cooked alot. And a huge thank you for being dog friendly!!!

The one suggestion we have would be to update the television set and to provide gas in the BBQ (even though it's winter the weather was quite nice and it would have been possible to grill).

We would stay here again - great spot!
Manager response:
The propane tank for the grill is now full and ready to grill!
Petko P. Jan 2013
Nice and cozy home. Can't get any better for that price. Just what you need for perfect little vacation.
Lori S. Sep 2012
Nice cabin, centrally located to everything. Considering that you have to pay a cleaning fee, I didn't expect to find old coffee in the coffeemaker and cob webs throughout the cabin. The cabin is warm and comfortable and turned out to be a great home base for all the family activities we had planned for the weekend. The screen door is torn so if you have a pet, it won't keep anything in or out. Also, the tv is old and DVD player wasn't working. This isn't a big deal if you don't plan to watch. It is a short walk across the street to the lake. All in all, this is a nice cabin in a great location. I would definitely recommend this place.
Manager response:
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay despite the issues that came up. You're right, we most certainly should have caught the coffee filter and those pesky cobwebs. Our deepest apologies for the sub-standard clean; we will be taking this up with our staff. We'll also get that TV & DVD player in working order right away. Thank you for the heads up and I do hope you come back and see us again!
Amanda R. Aug 2012
House was great had everything you need. Very clean well maintance the only thing I could say it could of use more TVs &Internet. But overall enjoy everything.
Regina Z. Jul 2012
We are a family of four including our dog stayed in the Moose cabin mid-July. We discovered that the house is quite comfortable, has everything needed for our family including a small beach 2 min walking distance from the property. We discovered great variety of hikes, restaurants and beaches in short proximity to the house. Overall the area is superb offering nice scenery, air, and things to do. Unfortunately, the North Lake Tahoe blvd is right across the house provided constant noise throughout the day. The large, very comfortable patio faces the road as well. We thought that there should be improvement made in the cleanliness of the house, but overall it was a nice stay.