Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Northern Oregon Coast Gearhart Listing #3263

The Crimson Pelican at The Highlands - Gearhart, OR

49 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 2 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 5 bedrooms 3 bathrooms 1 dog max  (65 lb weight limit) 
4715 S Highridge Road , Gearhart, OR 97138

Modern home w/ ocean views, access to private hot tub & tennis courts, dogs ok!

Breathtaking ocean views can be seen from this beautiful Gearhart vacation rental. Ideal for family get-togethers, this home offers two full kitchens, a private hot tub, a fitness room, and space for one dog!

As part of the quiet gated community of The Highlands, this split-level home boasts access to the community's tennis and basketball court, as well as being right on the golf course. Reserve a tee time and then walk to Del Ray Beach, just a short distance away, while you wait for your time slot. Seaside is three miles away for shopping, dining, and more.

From the calming painted walls and unique decor to the lovely furnishings and wood floors, you'll easily feel right at home here.

The Crimson Pelican offers multiples of almost everything, giving guests almost two distinct living areas between the upper and lower level. Living rooms with light-colored furniture and nice decor offer space to relax, watch a movie or show on the flatscreen TVs, and simply spend time with loved ones. DVD players and WiFi are included! The upstairs living area even has a stunning gas fireplace, perfect for those rainy evenings, and a wet bar complete with a mini-fridge.

There are two kitchens. The downstairs kitchen is a great place to serve pizza. The upstairs kitchen comes with everything you'll need to whip up delicious culinary creations. All the major appliances are provided, as are a microwave, dishwasher, coffeemaker, coffee grinder, blender, toaster, mixer, and much more. There's even plenty of comfortable seating on each level between the dining room tables and kitchen barstools.

Three bedrooms are situated upstairs as well as two full bathrooms. The master bedroom becomes an oasis after a long day. The ocean views are simply stunning, and add to the relaxing atmosphere. Step out onto the balcony, which overlooks the golf course. Light the fireplace and snuggle up on the enormous king-size bed for a good night's sleep after watching your favorite late-night show on the flatscreen TV.

Soak in the tub, rinse off in the stand-alone shower, and take advantage of the double sinks that make up the attached master bathroom. There is also a small bedroom with a twin and a twin trundle bed connected to the master bedroom.

The second bathroom on this floor has a tub/shower combination and is great for guests staying in the second bedroom, which is furnished with a queen-size bed. Downstairs are two more bedrooms, one with a king-size bed and the other with a queen, giving each of 10 guests (eight adults maximum, please) a bed to sleep on each night.

This home even has a fantastic fitness area downstairs, complete with workout equipment, a pool table, and a steam room. Even more amazing amenities here include a washer and dryer, a gas grill, board games, and books. And don't forget your dog (under 65 pounds) is welcome with an associated pet fee.

Explore the outdoors by hiking through the Gearhart Ocean State Park. Drive five miles south to Seaside to walk or bike the Promenade, browse through shops, ride the carousel at the mall, or check out the variety of restaurants. Astoria is 14 miles northeast. Ride the Riverwalk Trolley, or visit any of the amusing and educational museums and galleries. There are numerous fun places to stop along the way there as well, like Cullaby Lake, and Sunset Beach State Recreation Site. However you pass the time, you can unwind with the private hot tub behind the home.

With family or friends during rain or shine, this Northern Oregon Coast vacation rental is the perfect home base.

AMENITIES

Activities

Gym/fitness room

Board games

Golf on-site

Pool table : Private

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared

Children's games

Golf Nearby

Features

Fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Gas fireplace

Wedding venue

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

TV

Cable

DVD player

Wireless router

Miscellaneous

Iron

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Deck

Scenic

Water view

Gulf front

Gulf view

49 reviews

Stephanie R. Oct 2019
The house is beautiful and spacious, and a wonderful view of the ocean from the living area and master. The dining area was big enough for all of us to sit comfortably. The kitchen had basic supplies for cooking. Upon entering the home it just seemed a little dirty. The carpet looked dingy, we found a screw on the floor that went to eyeglasses or something, glad I found it before my one year old did. My Dad found a pacifier beside his nightstand on the floor and there were not enough Hangers in his closet. The light on the back porch was out and there were a ton of steps to get down to the hot tub that makes it uninviting for older guests. Overall it was a great stay and wonderful neighborhood. Close to beach access for stunning sunsets!
Manager response:
Thank you for your comments. We will address your feedback with the local staff.
Paul K. Sep 2019
Upon arrival we had to clean the filthy house so that our puppy wouldn’t eat the stuff littered all over the floor. Mini rubber bands, Bobby pins, toothpicks, golf tees, thumbtacks, food debris, and sand was all over the living areas. I went to wash the pillow cases as they didn’t look their best to find huge holes with duck tape holding the soiled pillows together. Did I mention that this place charges tougher $700 per night for a place like this? The hot tub had standing dirt so we decided not to use anything except the pool table. Screen door was broken and place was hot (no a/c) partying going on at 4:30 in the morning. Definitely wouldn’t recommend.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry to read you had some disappointments. We currently have six box fans in the home to help with the heat. The hot tub is always cleaned before each guest arrival and then inspected by the property manager and/or senior housekeeper. We are unsure of what you were experiencing as it was clean upon pre-arrival inspection. We have checked the pillows for tape and found none - this is not something we would permit. The screen door is scheduled to be fixed.
QUAN M. Aug 2019
The floor was left with apparent solid stuff that should’ve cleaned. Found an underwear in one of the closet with a plastic bottle of unknown type of liquid. Comforters were not very clean either. I had to vacuum the floor and wash/dry the comforters
Manager response:
We are sorry to read you experienced some housekeeping oversights. Cleaning the floors thoroughly is required between each reservation, and we will remind our housekeeping team of this. We will also check for any dirty comforters. Thank you!
Connie J. Aug 2019
Location, neighborhood, five bedrooms and two kitchens.
Damiana K. Jul 2019
Large house with 2 separate living areas with kitchens which makes it great for large groups, although one room is awkward to use as you need to go through the master. Master bath was lovely, as was the hot tub and fireplaces.
Andrew W. May 2019
We had a great time at this house. Walking distance to mcmenamins and right on the golf course. It was a short taxi ride over to the Astoria crab, seafood, and wine festival. Worked out perfect for our large group. Just note that the room with the twin bed is connected to the master. And we never could find the 2nd twin bed that is in the description. Other than that, we are definitely looking at coming back again.
Leea D. Apr 2019
Plenty of space for our family of 9 to spend the weekend. I would definitely recommend.
Manager response:
Leea, We are o glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for letting us know about the smell in the drawer We will make sure it gets cleaned well. Beds are a personal preference of firmness. We are sorry these were a bit firm for you. Thank you!
Jamie D. Mar 2019
We enjoyed our stay! It is a beautiful home in a quiet, gated community off the golf coarse. It's very spacious with two separate living areas, which worked great for three families. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home!
Shawn J. Nov 2018
The house is beautiful! Thoughtfully decorated with great art. A view of the ocean and a short walk down to beach. It was so roomy and everyone felt like they could stretch out. The hot tub and sauna were wonderful. Also loved the gas fireplace and big kitchen to cook in. Will definitely stay here again.
Trina D. Aug 2018
Great use of space. Kitchen was well appointed. Great for multiple families.could use some patio furniture.
E. K. Aug 2018
We were three generations and three separate families and this was absolutely perfect space—plenty of room for hanging out together as well as private areas. There is a queen bedroom, twin bedroom and bath that can be closed off for a family with young children. The two kitchens were great for group cooking. The views from the house are lovely and the walk to the beach is easy, The beach is beautiful and pretty empty. We could walk to the McMinim’s for lunch or brunch but also enjoyed exploring the area by car.
Geah S. May 2018
We had 4 couples/small families staying on this trip and this house was perfect! TheMaster suite is huge and the attached bedroom was great for our 3 year old. The two separate living areas were so nice to spread out when we needed to, but there is plenty of upstairs space when everyone wanted to be together. Great value for what you get. I’ve stayed at spendies places that offered much less. Gearhart is one of my favorite escapes and we will be back!
Elizabeth J. Apr 2018
We were planning our return trip before we even checked out! This gorgeous home has everything you need or could want! Beautiful view...comfy beds..every pot and pan...pool table and several pieces of exercise equipment. Oops..forgot to mention the hot tub...golf course out your back door and a very short walk to the beach!
Andrew T. Apr 2018
This house is perfect for a large family gathering, or groups of friends to come stay at the beach. Even when it was pouring down rain with the wind howling, the house had plenty of things to do like the hot tub, steam room, or pool table - making for a really great weekend on the coast!
Marissa N. Apr 2018
We were thrilled with this house, a few highlights:
-Hot tub was covered by the deck so could use even in the rain!
-The kitchen was really easy to work in
-We really enjoyed the view of the ocean from the living room
-The neighborhood was great to walk when it was a little windy and rainy on the beach
Jessica R. Jan 2018
NA
Robin E. Dec 2017
second year staying here. Great proximity to beach and awesome neighborhood. Gearhart is a cute community. Partial remodel is nice and looks like a hot tub is being added.
Tammie D. Dec 2017
We enjoyed this place very much, was a very comfortable and homey house will stay here again
Marilyn B. Aug 2017
We all enjoyed our stay here. It had a wonderful view of the ocean, and was a short walk to the beach! It was also close for a short drive to Cannon Beach or Astoria.
Ginger C. Jul 2017
We had a multiple family gathering in Gearhart. The house exceeded our expectations. We had all the amenities we needed. There was plenty of space for each family to have their own space when needed, or all be together at once. The neighborhood is gated and a beautiful place to stay. The beach is a short walk from the house and very easy to access. You can also walk (.7 miles) to the McMenamins Sand Trap Pub for a great place to hang out. Seaside is a short dive to the south for family fun and grocery shopping. We would definitely stay there again!!!
Trish A. Jun 2017
This is a great location for kids and a dog. The beach is fantastic. The gated community keeps traffic down so very safe to walk. The house was very comfortable for 6 adults, two children and a dog. We will return.
Charles T. May 2017
Nothing too bad to complain about. We had a good time at the beach house.
Candace C. Apr 2017
This home was the perfect location in a gated community on the golf course and only a few blocks to beach access. Furnishings were lovely and home was well stocked and comfortable. Quiet location away from downtown Seaside but only minutes away. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Thanks for a great overall experience!
Cheri G. Mar 2017
This was our second time staying here. Great location! We can walk to beach and to the Sandtrap Lounge. Love the steam room and how much room there is in this beautiful home.
Christina F. Mar 2017
There were 10 of us and we had a great time
Kelly R. Dec 2016
This is a great house, in a beautiful neighborhood, that's close to one of the best beaches in Oregon. Our multi-generation group had plenty of room and appreciated the well stocked kitchen. We even had the unique experience of having a large herd of elk come right up to the back deck to graze.

Arrival at the house was quite frustrating, however, due to inaccurate information about the lockbox location. Advised that it would be on the door handle (which was not the case), we went with what seemed the most obvious alternative--a prominent Master Lock lockbox at eye level above the entry steps. After numerous unsuccessful attempts to enter the supplied combination, we gave up and called the management company. They again told us that it was on the door handle, but when we insisted that indeed it wasn't, they said they would have to call someone else and get back to us. All this while trying to stay out of the driving rain.

The return call advised that the Master Lock wasn't functional and that the actual boxes (two more, one of which should be ignored) were down low at the end of the stair railing. Please correct these instructions for future renters--would also be good to include a photo of where to find the lockbox.

Also recommend including instructions on how to light the master bedroom fireplace similar to those for the one in the living room--it took us awhile to figure out where the valve was located.
Manager response:
We apologize for the confusion with checking in; the lockbox instructions have been updated. Thank you!
Eugene M. Sep 2016
Overall, a very nice house and great stay!
Richard H. Aug 2016
Nice home, pet allowed important to us, near beach access.
Selena B. Aug 2016
The beach is great! The house worked out perfect for us. We had 13 in our party. Room for everyone. The little bedroom in the master room is a little awkwardly placed but we made it work.
Robin T. May 2016
This home was comfortable as well as entertaining. Thank you
George F. May 2016
Terrific home, very well-equipped and situated.
Judy T. Apr 2016
Nice house, lots of room, double kitchens, steam shower in exercise room, partial ocean view. Master has unusual floor plan, but would work well for family w/ a small child.
Meghan B. Apr 2016
This place was great! So relaxing and spacious. We will definitely come back!
Ian N. Apr 2016
I thought the check in process was very easy and pain free. The short walk to the beach was awesome.
Angela H. Mar 2016
Nice house, clean and spacious with lots of natural light on main floor. The small bedroom with daybed is accessed through the Master, which is a bit odd, but it worked out for us. Next time, we will take more advantage of the extra kitchen downstairs, which was fantastic. Some deck furniture in addition to the bench would be nice, and so would a griddle in the kitchen (we made our pancakes 1 by 1 in a skillet). Large kitchen area with seating for at least 10-14 was excellent! The neighborhood was lovely, quiet and peaceful and beach access not heavily trafficked. Having the golf course in the back yard - but not too close - was a nice touch.
Cheri G. Mar 2016
Very spacious and comfortable beach house. Loved the boardwalk beach access.
Naomi H. Mar 2016
Had the family together for the weekend , had a great time the house work good for us