Virtual Tour
USA Texas Fredericksburg The Wine Country Cottages on Main Listing #5177

Wine Country Cottages on Main: Tank House - Fredericksburg, TX

21 reviews
Max occupancy: 2 1 King Bed 0 bedrooms 1 bathroom No pets 
512 W Main Street [Tank], Fredericksburg, TX 78624

Wine country home w/ a hot tub & wet bar. Walk everywhere!

Stay in this one-of-a-kind Fredericksburg bed and breakfast cottage for your next Texas Hill Country getaway with a loved one or a best friend. Accommodating two guests, it boasts a custom interior filled with rustic charm, a private outdoor hot tub, and a walkable location near all the best local attractions in Fredericksburg. A light, unhosted breakfast is included in your stay.

Conveniently situated just a block off Main Street, the home's location is perfect for sightseeing in Fredericksburg's historic downtown area. Take a leisurely stroll to admire Main Street's turn-of-the-century buildings containing local art galleries, clothing boutiques, and German-inspired eateries. Just a short drive away, sip fabulous locally made vintages paired with delectable fare at any of the area's numerous wineries, or hop in the saddle for an invigorating bike ride along scenic country roads on the 30-mile Luckenbach Loop.

A completely updated pump-house style home with a vintage water tower enclosed with siding, you'll fall in love with this cottage's rustic old-world ambiance. Enter through stained wood French doors to reveal a space appointed with deluxe furnishings, exposed wooden beam vaulted ceilings, and custom masonry throughout.

Relax into either of two leather chairs to catch up with a favorite cable TV show on the wall-mounted flatscreen. During an afternoon break in your schedule, uncork a bottle of chilled local wine, crank up the ceiling fan, and relax indoors on a hot and muggy day. If you've arrived during a cooler time of year, turn on the fireplace and snuggle with your partner as a cozy fire warms the room.

Wind down your day with a soothing dip in the outdoor hot tub, and if you'd like a snack, head back inside to use the wet bar's mini-fridge, microwave, copper sink, granite counter, and dinnerware for a quick and easy small meal.

Time to call it a day? Retire to the king-size bed which, with fitted sheets, a plush mattress, and comfy pillows, will deliver a great night's sleep, night after night for up to two guests.

Wake up to birds singing outside and a pleasant breeze blowing thanks to the multi-speed ceiling fan. Walk through a lovely stone cellar door to use the wet bar's gourmet coffeemaker for a fresh cup of joe. Shake off any lingering sleepiness with a refreshing wash in the custom stone walk-in shower, which is through another set of French doors attached to the kitchenette area.

Whip out your laptop computer to use the WiFi for planning another activity-filled day. Take your tastebuds on a culinary adventure at any of the area's authentic German restaurants along Main Street, including Otto's German Bistro, the Old German Bakery & Restaurant, and Friedhelm's Bavarian Inn.

In the mood for a fun day trip? View native wildlife, including huge hoards of Mexican free-tailed bats darting out of caves and into the sky at Old Tunnel State Park, which is 12 miles south. If you like to play in the outdoors, rock climb and hike at Enchanted Rock State Natural Area (18 miles north), or hit any of the nearby hiking or biking trails. The options are nearly endless!

A truly unique Texas vacation cottage in a perfect location for sightseeing along Main Street in historic Fredericksburg, book Tank House for an amazing getaway in the Texas Hill Country!

**Children under the age of 17 are not allowed at this property due to safety hazards associated with an unfenced pool nearby.

Read more Read less 



Free breakfast

Gas fireplace

Partial AC

Bed & breakfast

Space heater











Hot tub : Private



21 reviews

Kristen B. Dec 2018
It was adorable! Too close to street to enjoy hot tub on patio in private.
BUCK M. Nov 2018
We loved it, was very clean and cozy with all the amenities.
David M. Oct 2018
We came to Fredericksburg with 2 other couples and we booked three cottages for a weekend get-a-way. I will admit the first time we drove past them I was shocked at how small they looked from the road. But once we got into our room, we were really impressed. The Tank room (ours) was the best of the 3 cottages we rented in my opinion. It seemed bigger and had a hot tub. The bathroom was big and everything was very clean. The linens and bed were very comfortable and nice. It also has a gas fireplace, although it wasn't needed this trip. The cottages are right on Main Street so the closer to the street, the more traffic noise you hear in the morning (our friends had those cottages and informed us of the traffic noise). Overall a very nice, cozy and much better option than a traditional hotel room.
Sheli P. May 2018
Room was clean. But it was 89 degrees inside when we arrived at 4:30. The thermostat said not to go below 70 but it was stuck on 72. The house directions say to deep door to dressing area and bathroom closed off to help cool the room?!?! Really? We showered and dressed in a totally stuffy bathroom. The tiny wall unit was not nearly strong enough to cool even the sleeping area. Property had tiny ants crawling on rock shower wall and the private hot tub was located on the front porch... in full view of other units? We will stay at the Blackstone property only now. Plus it’s way at the end of main. Too far to walk when it’s 102 outside. Disappointed. But love Vacasa. Just not this property!
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest was so uncomfortable and wish they had called us for assistance. We checked the air conditioning after receiving this review and found it to be working correctly. We were also unable to see where we advised any doors be left closed for better cooling and apologize if this misinformation caused this guest to be more uncomfortable. We have also been unable to locate any bugs in the unit, but we will keep our eyes open. Thanks!
Melissa J. May 2018
This was a very nice property. Very cozy and relaxing. The grounds are beautiful good views from every direction. Only con was getting cool air to the bathroom area I think due to the rock wall opening.
Kelly G. Apr 2018
Adorable cottage! Location worked out great too.
Henry T. Mar 2018
My stay here was a great one, and my wife and I were truly impressed with the facilities. I would describe the inside of the cottage as clean and new. The cleaning staff had an impressive attention to detail. There were no hidden dust bunnies or trash here. The bed was large and comfortable, and the comfy chairs in front of the fire place were a great touch. Also, the hot tub was a godsend after a long day of hiking at Enchanted Rock followed by a couple bottles of wine.
In addition to that, our booking agent, Jasmine, was very professional and knowledgeable of the area. She gave us a schedule upon booking that contained all the local activities that were happening within walking distance of our cottage. These included live performances at restaurants, art showings, and more. We also received some complimentary services due to it being our anniversary.
Because of this amazing experience, we will be staying with Vacasa on an annual basis. I couldn’t recommend this place to enough people. Just don’t try to book this place on my wedding Anniversary, or else…
Michael W. Jan 2018
Very comfortable bed . Only used the fireplace for warmth because it was plenty adequate . Sat in the hot tub and watched an owl perched on the church steeple. Fantastic!
Bob C. Dec 2017
We stayed in the Tank House. It is beautifully designed both inside and out. It is charming and very functional. Absolutely will stay there again in the future.
Pat C. Nov 2017
The staff at the office was friendly and helpful. They pointed out hotel-style keys as well as the waterproof fob bracelet and explained that it would be best practice to wear the fob when using the hot tub as it is easy to go out without a key - just to be locked out. When we opened the door, we knew the cottage was going to be a hit. While still standing on the threshold, we could see the cozy decor and hear music playing. The TV was set to a smooth jazz music station to welcome us. Chocolates were set out on the small table, pastry (wonderful stuff!) in the kitchenette and temperature just right. The bed/linens were very comfy. Kitchenette is stocked with plenty of coffee and half and half as well as cereal, milk, orange juice in addition to the pastry for breakfast. Great place to stay!
Arthur W. May 2017
Had a great time in Fredricksburg. The Tank house was perfect, my wife loved it. It is just the right distance to walk down main st., but not too close so you get all the traffic and noise.
Heather L. Mar 2017
The Tank House's unique features and Hill Country charm set it apart from the others. We enjoyed our stay very much!
Sharon H. Mar 2017
Nice place
Sarah B. Feb 2017
I loved our stay at the cottages. Couldn't ask for more!!!
Christina H. Oct 2016
Excellent location. We wanted to be in walking distance of restaurants, bars, and shops, and we were very pleased. Room was comfortable and clean. Bathroom was nice. Quiet and convenient. We would stay here again.
Amy S. Jul 2016
Loved the Tank House, would completely stay there again. We walked to town and dinner and really enjoyed our time in Fredericksburg. We can't wait to go back.
Jim C. Jun 2016
Out me Stay was enjoyable & perfect !!!! Had such s great time... Will definitely be back....
Kathleen H. May 2016
The kitchenette is blocked by the bathroom door and it's very noisy next to the highway.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that the layout and location of this home did not meet your preferences and hope you still had a wonderful time.
Darrel K. Apr 2016
Was high end priced, but was a trip as a gift for my wife so I booked it. Might still be high end priced, but was clean, peaceful, comfortable. As advice to other husbands, the Tank House will please the wife for a get away.
Rachel R. Apr 2016
Wine cottages are wonderful. Loved working with the girls in Fredricksburg. They were great. It was clean, close to Main Street!
Janice P. Apr 2016
This place is really high priced and not up to the quality of the photos online. We had problems picking up keys after hours and not able to reach a real person to communicate with on the phone after hours. The shower had serious mold problems on the stone wall! The morning apple streusel was very good!
Manager response:
We are very sorry to see that it was so difficult for this guest to enter the unit and can understand what a frustration that must have been. We are currently hiring and training more agents for the phones so that it is easier to reach us for assistance. The Property Manager will make sure that the mold is taken care of right away so the home can be thoroughly enjoyed!