Virtual Tour
USA Oregon The Central Oregon Coast Depoe Bay Listing #832

Pirate Cove Cottage 2 - Depoe Bay, OR

71 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 1 Futon 2 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms No Pets 
605 Hwy 101, Depoe Bay, OR 97341

Oceanfront, oceanview cabin - whale-watch from the huge deck

This oceanfront two bedroom, two bathroom vacation cottage in Depoe Bay boasts amazing water views and is the perfect choice for an old-fashioned family vacation, or just a fun ocean getaway for up to six friends. Sitting right above the crashing waves of the Pirate Cove, this one-level beach home offers both historic charm and modern amenities.

Step into the living room where you'll be greeted with hardwood floors, a comfortable futon-style couch, reclining easy chair, and a decorative 60s style, retro wood stove. On cool coast evenings, you can sit back with a martini or old-fashioned in style. There's a flat screen TV with cable and a DVD player for watching movies, and WiFi throughout the house in case you need to catch up on email.

This bright, open space also includes a dining room table right next to a large set of windows with stunning ocean views. Spend your meals socializing as a group and watching the waves crash into the cove below. This is also a wonderful viewing spot for nesting seabirds and observing sea lions sunning themselves out on the rocks.

Just outside the cottage is a well-maintained lawn and deck, where you may be lucky enough to catch a view of an eagle soaring by. There's even a carved wooden bench just out the back door to grab a few quiet moments with a book or just watch the ocean. A briquette barbecue is located out on the deck for a late afternoon feast outdoors. After dinner, you'll definitely want to linger at the outdoor table and keep an eye on the setting sun.

The full kitchen continues the retro-design but with all the modern appliances needed to create vacation meals, from fruit salad and French toast in the mornings to fish tacos with all the fixings at night. A fun, lemon yellow kitchen table completes the room and provides extra space for culinary projects or just enjoying a quick snack. Best of all, the dishwasher will have everything cleaned up quickly, so there'll be plenty of time to join in on a board game in the living room.

The spacious master bedroom has a queen sized bed, bedside tables and reading lamps, and a soft, plush, ocean blue bedspread. You'll definitely feel relaxed in this serene space, while you lay back and listen to the ocean sounds through the window. The private master bath includes the original claw foot tub, as well as a shower.

A second bedroom features very a queen bed. Perfect for older kids or anyone who's a kid-at-heart, this room will inspire its occupants to stay up late into the night talking and having fun. Colorful bedspreads and ceramic reading lamps add style to this merry space. A second full bathroom is located nearby, as is a washer and dryer for your group's convenience.

This two bedroom, two bath cottage will sleep six people quite comfortably. If you have a larger group, Pirate Cove Cottage 1, a one bedroom, one bath home is right next door, and ready for four additional guests. For family reunions, both spaces are ideal, with the smaller cottage providing extra privacy for grandparents or a couple with small children. For separate renters, please note that both vacation homes share the same yard, deck, and parking area.

Right outside this charming cottage, beach access is only a short five minutes north or south at either Depoe Bay's state waysides parks. Fogarty Creek State Recreation Area, about a mile north, offers plenty of opportunities for exploring, including birdwatching, tide-pooling, trails with wooden footbridges winding through Sitka spruce trees, and plenty of forest and beach views.

Downtown Depoe Bay is easily walkable from this cottage, with plenty of small shops, restaurants and art galleries to investigate. Pick up some local confections at Fuddy Duddy Fudge or browse the aisles at the Pirate's Cove Gift Shop. For more outdoor attractions, check out the Spouting Horns, a natural phenomenon caused by the ocean water being forced up through the natural lava tubes in the seawall. If there are any foodies in your group, you'll want to plan a special meal out at Restaurant Beck, just to the south of town, for a true farm-to-table experience from James Beard Award nominated chef Justin Wills.

Each December and April, Depoe Bay turns into one of the most popular destinations on the coast for Whale Watch Weeks. Visit the Whale Watch Center in town to learn more and then see if you can spot some whales from your very own deck back at the cottage or even from the dining room table! Other area special events include the Wooden Boat Show in April, the Annual Fleet of Flowers in May, and a Native American Style Salmon Bake in September. For a family day trip, visit the Oregon Coast Aquarium, just 20 minutes south in Newport to discover more about the area's rich sea life.

Pirate Cove Cottage 2 is ready and waiting for your memorable trip to the Oregon Coast. Stylish, comfortable and a bit retro, but with all the modern amenities, this getaway will be your home away from home in Depoe Bay.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Washer Dryer : Private

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Wave

Cable : Wave

DVD Player

TV

Wireless Router

Outdoor

Outdoor Fire

Patio

71 Reviews

Shannon B. August 2018
This property is located right at the edge of Depoe Bay. Makes it very convenient to walk anywhere in town. The only drawback is the home is very noisy. 101 is right out front so the front bedroom is very bright and very loud due to the traffic and street lights. The back is very loud because there's a large Rock covered with birds that chirp incessantly. Also when the wind shifts a certain way it has an unpleasant smell. The house was cute and suited our needs
Jolinda W. August 2018
Great location. Cozy cottage. Amazing view!
jason s. July 2018
The house was dated and close to the road without blackout blinds, which allowed a lot of light in, all night.
Besides that is kind of fun to go back in time and enjoy simple living. The view was unbelievable. Whale watching while you eat at the table. Beautiful sunsets and the sound of crashing waves. We will be back.
Karen M. June 2018
The view
Krista L. June 2018
Very clean, everything functional. Very cozy and enjoyable
sara b. April 2018
This cottage was not as updated as cottage 1. It is old and needs a lot of work. I would suggest renting both cottages and using the other one for cooking and showering and only use this one for sleeping. The view from the deck makes it a plus in my book. I would definitely come back and rent both cottages again. Rent this both cottages you will not regret it. Just minutes to Depoe Bay.
Tasheon C. November 2017
Location was amazing! I dealt with a internet guy when I first got there and in the end he didn’t even fix the internet. I have unlimited data on T-Mobile and AT&T you’re fine but my friend had Verizon and zero reception at the cottage.

The location is perfect to everything. Quick walk to Depoe Bay proper and 15 minute drive to Lincoln city and New Port.
Paulo J. September 2017
If you want location this is it! You are in front of a cove with seals, birds, beautiful view but don't expect a luxurious house. It was ok for us. It needs better curtains!!!
Jennifer A. September 2017
Everything needs updated. Furniture, sinks, shower. Had musty smell in house. Had to open windows every day to air it out. Hot water faucet in bathroom didn't work. The view was beautiful and the location great. But the house was not comfortable.
Manager Response:
Oceanfront homes tend to have a musty odor. We apologize if this was upsetting for our guest. The faucet is scheduled for repair. Thank you!
Douglas B. August 2017
I can't say how appreciative we were of what was available to us in our reservation.
James M. August 2017
we spent a long day on the road to get to the property. The first thing we noticed was the strong odour/smell when we opened the front door. The open drain under the kitchen sink was not clean. Ant traps everywhere.
Kudos to Photoshop for the pics on your website, not a true reflection of what you get for the money spent.
The bathroom situation in the bedroom is not ideal. Shower curtain is a nuisance, drain doesn't work properly, bathroom tap (screw came undone).... The list is endless for deficiencies. The rugs need a good cleaning.
With a lot of TLC this property could have potential.

The positives... amazing view from the deck and whale watching. The Oregon Coast is beautiful
Manager Response:
We are disappointed to see this guest was not happier with their visit. The home smells like most oceanfront homes, and the drain isn't dirty, but stained. Ant traps are needed as ants can be a nuisance in this area, and the other items have been inspected. Thanks!
Scott E B. July 2017
The place was clean and quent upon arrival and has a great view. However the electrical needs work as it started on fire due to, what the fire chief called use of extension cords to power too many electrical items on a single circuit.
Manager Response:
We apologize for the unusual situation this guest found themselves in. An electrician ran all new wiring and added a new receptacle to replace the need for extension cords. The electric fireplace has been removed as well. Western Electric has inspected the home and and cleared it of any hazards. Thank you!
Dusty A. June 2017
I have rented from Vacasa before - but this fell far, far below the mark.

I would like to commend whomever took the photos of Pirate Cove #2. Excellent photoshop skills.

I read that it was close to road - no issue for me, I have a white noise machine. Was worth it for the view and location.

They failed to mention in that room the streetlight is right outside the window - so bright you don't need the light on to read your sleeping pill bottle label at 1 am.

The Cabin grounds were horribly overrun, not quaint coastal unruliness, I mean weeds, over run grasses blocking the walk, etc. The entry door was filthy and covered with cobwebs. The inside was the same. The bug traps were everywhere and over flowing, floors not swept, mopped. Runs not vacuumed. And the floors, walls etc were beyond shabby chic, not quite what the photos led to believe. Layers of dust and dirt, dirty bath, did I mention the army of ants and spiders?

I was embarrassed that it was the place I had rented as a gift to my mother a birthday and 'thanks for all you do' gift rolled into one. It would have been to be expected at maybe 50 bucks a night... in prime season, but at over 250 a night with taxes and fees? Outrageous. 544.00 for two nights - I don't expect 5 star turn down service - I do expect clean and to not leave covered in spiders.

While the fridge was clean, the counters, some dishes and the shelf above the sink (at eye level) was filthy - and really - if you are putting out traps because you have a bug issue, maybe change those traps between renters? The few utensils and antiquated appliances are either not useable or were dirty. Don't even touch the cutting boards - you expect some mildew at the coast sure - not cutting boards saturated with it. Needless to say, cooking there was not an option, so much for saving a little by cooking moms favorites for her. Thank gods for Tidal Raves restaurant.

Don't make the same mistake I did. Rent elsewhere. This place was a total dive. I've seriously stayed in backwoods, seasonal hunting lodges that were cleaner and less bug-ridden that this.
Manager Response:
We are very sorry to see this guest was not happy with their stay. The home has been thoroughly cleaned, and the bug traps are regularly switched out. The lawn is maintained regularly by maintenance. Thank you!
Kristen T. April 2017
If you want simple and quaint on a private little cove....this is the perfect spot!
Lauren Y. March 2017
Cute little cottage with spectacular views. Great grounds to enjoy time with family and friends. The walk to the beach is a little long but a very short drive. People in Depoe Bay are friendly and courteous. It's a great place to relax even in off seasons.
Janet B. October 2016
Our cabin was comfy and clean, and the view to the water was outstanding. But we had no way of knowing it was directly next to the busy highway, with traffic noise starting promptly at 5am every morning.
Steve F. September 2016
Beautiful views, great place to stay! We will be back!
Dan W. September 2016
Great central location. Nice place to stay
Brian M. September 2016
My fiance and I recently stayed for four days/nights and had an excellent time! Beautiful view from the large deck out back--enjoyed watching sea lions sunbathing on the rocks below and whales only a few hundred yards out to sea...outstanding! Our only qualm was the cabin itself was near the road, so you could hear traffic nearby, but the sound of the ocean/waves pretty much drowned it out; the location, however, was within walking distance to local restaurants and businesses nearby, which we enjoyed. Overall, an excellent experience and would stay again! :)
Crystal B. July 2016
We have stayed here before and its a sentimental favorite now for our family. After 26 doctors appointments last month it was just just the get away our family needed to recharge and we hope to return every year. We saw so many whales that we stopped counting. I cooked all of our meals for our stay, the cooking equipment is rather outdated but had everything we needed. Anything they didn't have we were able to improvise. There was plenty of extra bedding and towels. Having a washer and drying at the house was lovely. The neighbors renting the cottage next door were very sweet. Being so close to another home wasn't a problem at all. The views from this home are incredible and you can see many whales from your dining table. The fireplace adds a cozy ambience. We love this place and can't wait to return.
Erin F. July 2016
Please see my previous comments for the review. We really enjoyed Depot Bay!
Kara E. July 2016
This cottage is cute and quaint with an amazing view. The housekeeping was impeccable. The cottage was comfortable but could use a bit of updating (old carpet in the bedrooms) as it has a bit of a musty smell. A good value for its cost.

Depoe Bay is a great central place to stay if you plan to road trip north and south along the coast as day trips. The nearby state parks are great. Our toddler really enjoyed Fogarty Creek State Park beach access which is just a few minutes from the cottage.
Chris S. July 2016
The house is simple. It is located on 101 so there is traffic noise but, being from a city, it was more ambient than disrupting. I would rent this house again for the view from the deck alone. Depoe Bay is also perfectly situated between Lincoln City and Newport, plenty of day trips available without constant crowds.
Deb F. June 2016
The location of this house is directly on highway 101, a bunch of road noise day and night! The back deck that overlooks the cover is amazing and almost make up for the noise!
CARLA H. May 2016
Loved it!
Ronley R. April 2016
This cute adorable quaint beach cottage loaded with character, charm and a fantastic view from the back porch or the dining room table is not to be missed.... Was a wonderful experience. Only complaint I have is the uncomftorable living room furniture and lack of railing on back porch steps! Other than that an "A+" for this vacation spot and cottage!
Floyd S. April 2016
Nice big area to park my boat The street light shines through the front bedroom but after fishing all day I didn't mind . I met the owner and he was a nice guy ! I enjoyed my stay and I will rent again when the Tuna get near !
Nick N. March 2016
It was a nice, tidy house. We enjoyed it. The view from the lookout deck was amazing.
Janet W. March 2016
Beautiful deck and view. Charming, casual, simple beach cottage. We were comfortable and happy.
Jane B. December 2015
Incredible view!
Charleen H. October 2015
Even though this house is close to the busy highway , the view and deck off the back make it a very desirable spot. The view of the cove is spectacular. The view from the back windows is also great. We watched the whales ,sea birds and other wild life everyday.
Danelle H. July 2015
There seem to be some mixed reviews about this property. Here is the reality. It is a cabin, not a 5-star resort. It is a fantastic cabin, right on the ocean. It has all of the fun quirks of a cabin and is a perfect retreat for a family of 4.

When you are facing the deck from the porch - there is a little seating area over to the right (in the garden) that offers the best views while seated. Great place for morning coffee.

Also recommend going out to the point to the South (through the neighborhood) and hiking the waterfront cliffs.
Alexa H. July 2015
Cure place with great view and location. Perfect for whale watching.
Road noise is significant.
lots to do within walking distance.
David D. May 2015
Once you are over the gravel parking lot , and enter the cottage you will know you made a great choice. Basic 1930 funky , clean and comfortable , well equipped with one of best views on the coast. You will not notice the house next door or the fact you are close to the road, quite, slept great. If you want fancy with up scale bathes and furnishings this is not the place for you. Think charm, nice trees and ocean. Will be back.
Julia E. April 2015
House is right off why 101 but the view out back and sound of the water makes you immediately forget it. Wildlife in your back yard; eagles, seals and whale spouts seen from the deck daily. Amazing. Wish I could have stayed longer.
Ryan R. February 2015
We really loved Pirated cove cottage 1 and have stayed there mutiple times. I notice that 2 had been "remodeled" recently but the 1st cottage is by far way cozier. We unfortunately could not hear the ocean even though the views where spectacular :( We will not be staying in this cottage again, but definitely will try to get pirate cove cottage 1 booked again in the future!
Jasbir V. December 2014
The ocean view is great. The deck is not attached to the unit and is a few steps away from the property. Plus it looks shared with the other unit. The construction seems to be done by an amateur person. Everything is functional but extremely dated.
John A. September 2014
It's the back deck that makes this place unforgettable
Kunakorn C. June 2014
We enjoyed watching the beautiful sunset from the deck while eating home-cooking dinner. Also, we saw seals resting on the rock and the birds flying and gathered on the rocks from the deck.
Manager Response:
Thank you for this great review. We are glad that you enjoyed the great views, and the amazing experience of seeing a whale.
Michelle N. May 2014
It was the perfect vacation... exploring all the amazing things Oregon has to offer during the day and coming back to relax and spend the evening in the perfect cozy beach cottage. We will never stay in a hotel/motel again when visiting Oregon now that we've stayed at Pirates Cove 2. I recommend this little home to anyone planning to spend some time in Depoe Bay.
Tami W. February 2014
A very cute little house. We were there for a crafting weekend, so spent most of it at the dining room table. The dining room looks out over the back yard, Pirate Cove, and the ocean beyond. The view alone was stunning and well worth the trip.
Jennifer V. February 2014
This is a great spot on the coast and we enjoyed our stay very much. The website doesn't show how close this house is to the next property, though. (The place next door is about 5 feet away). Had I known this we would not have reserved it. We were lucky in that we only had neighbors one night and they didn't step outside much. Since the yard is shared, this would be ideal for two families who know each other but a little awkward for strangers, I think. The view is spectacular from the yard and from one window.
Julia M. January 2014
We stayed here at the beginning of January and saw so many whales just on the back deck. There were over a dozen harbor seals in Pirate Cove and they were fun to watch as well. The house is right on the 101, but this didn't make too much noise when we stayed there, or at least our daughters didn't complain about any noise. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed to make breakfast (and other meals, but we ate out for lunch and dinner). The bathroom had probably the original fixtures, including that style of porcelain sink with a separate hot and cold faucet (haven't seen that since I was in London). The wood stove now has a fake fire insert with a remote control, but it does heat the room.
Daedra B. November 2013
The house was easy to find. We very much enjoyed the view from the house and the deck. The flow of the house was unique, but not bad. We'd go back.
Manager Response:
Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Jon C. November 2013
The view was beautiful.. we saw wildlife and had a few amazing sunsets too.
Jane T. October 2013
We had a great stay at the Pirate's Cove house. The view was excellent and the house was warm and cozy. Loved Depot Bay and Carrie's Whale Museum. Her whale tour was in a smaller ocean raft, which was exciting! We will definitely stay again!!
Christi B. October 2013
The cottage was exactly as shown in the website pics, including the awesome views. It's on a busier street than we expected (the main street through town), but that makes it just a very short walk down the street to the restaurants, pubs and shopping. Loved the wood-burning fire stove, especially during storms.
Ellen V. August 2013
Comfortable and very reasonable.