Virtual Tour
USA California The Northern California Coast Gualala Listing #8588

Windswept - Gualala, CA

45 reviews
Max occupancy: 12 1 King Bed, 4 Queen Bed, 1 Futon 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms 1 dog max 
38520 Robinson Reef, Gualala, CA 95445

Oceanfront w/ incredible views, decks & a hot tub - close to town, 1 dog OK!

Wake up to the soothing sound of ocean waves at this four-bedroom Gualala retreat, an oceanfront home with a spectacular bluff-top position, a beautiful dog-friendly interior, and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean from its private balconies, sunrooms, and hot tub.

Perched atop the iconic bluffs of the Northern California Coast, this two-level home sits two blocks west of an incredible stretch of California Highway 1. You'll be half a mile north of the charming galleries, markets, and restaurants in downtown Gualala; two miles south of Cooks Beach; and two miles north of Gualala Point Regional Park and the Sea Ranch Golf Links.

Comfortable, welcoming, and bathed in sunlight, this home is ideal for fun-filled summer vacations and quiet family holidays. You'll find plush seating and breathtaking views everywhere you look, whether you curl up on the sectional sofa with a book, set up a board game in the window seat, or turn on the sound dock and warm your toes by the wood-burning fireplace (logs are even provided).

Use the telescope to scan the horizon for whale spouts each morning and head into town to pick up a few breakfast fixings at the Surf Market. Back at home, you'll have a well-equipped full kitchen with a stainless steel refrigerator, specialty tools such as a coffee grinder, and a dishwasher to make clean-up fast and easy.

Sit down with pancakes, eggs, and the morning newspaper at the eight-person dining room table, or feel the warmth of the sunshine as you eat at the glassed-in patio table. Turn on the slow-cooker to get a head start on dinner, use the WiFi to plan the day's adventures, and grab your clean clothes from the washer/dryer as you head outside for the day.

Spend your afternoons walking in the sand on Cooks Beach, watching the harbor seals play near Gualala Point Regional Park, or wheeling the gas grill out of the garage for a barbecue on the deck. One adult dog is even welcome to join you here, but please be advised that he or she is not allowed on the furniture or to be unattended inside the home.

As the evening fog begins to roll in, there's no better time to enjoy the warmth of the private hot tub, which overlooks the ocean in a glass solarium. Spend the rest of the evening playing Wii with your children in the downstairs game room, choosing DVDs and videos to watch on the living room flatscreen TV, or staging a true cinematic experience on the Blu-ray with 3D capability.

At night, Windswept will accommodate as many as 12 guests in its four bedrooms and two-and-a-half bathrooms. The master suite has floor-to-ceiling windows that face the ocean, as well as a king-size bed, a private fireplace, a flatscreen cable TV, and a bathroom that connects to the solarium with a soaking tub and a stall shower. Two bedrooms offer a queen-size bed each, while the fourth has two queen-size beds. The futon in the game room also folds out into a full-size bed.

Whether you're a beachcomber or a wildlife enthusiast, Gualala is perfectly positioned to help you escape the bustle of everyday life. Gorgeously secluded on the southern border of Mendocino County, this small town is surrounded by ocean cliffs, wild beaches, and hiking trails that meander through open meadows and redwood forests.

Take a morning walk at Cooks Beach before heading 18 miles north to see the stunningly situated Point Arena Lighthouse. Tee off among the oceanfront cypress trees at the Sea Ranch Golf Links, go whale-watching in Gualala Point Regional Park, or spend a day exploring the public access trails to Shell Beach and Stengel Beach in Sea Ranch to the south. You'll also be in a perfect spot to pick up a custom pie from Upper Crust Pizzeria on your way back home.

The striking beauty of the Northern California Coast is all around you - reserve your stay at this Gualala vacation home today!

*Please note that this home is in a neighborhood that is prone to seasonal visits from ants. We always try to be proactive as possible when dealing with this issue. Thanks!

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children's games

Game room

Gaming system

Features

Fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Wood-burning fireplace

Space heater

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Blu-Ray player

Cable

DVD library

DVD player

Netflix streaming

Sound dock

TV

Wireless router

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Deck

Patio

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

45 reviews

Laurie H. Apr 2019
The view was outstanding! It was close to town and it had almost everything we needed....except body soap.
judy S. Feb 2019
the view
Robert T. Jan 2019
The views from the front of the house are truly amazing! We had a few overcast stormy days and some clear sunny days and the views were definitely the highlight of our stay. Plenty of room for a larger group, big comfortable couch in living room. Kitchen fully stocked for cooking (bring your own cooking oil, ziplock and spices) lots of dishes, pots pans and everything we needed to cook otherwise. Only a few minutes from town and a great location for a private relaxing trip we would definitely stay here again!
Colleen A. Oct 2018
The view was truly amazing. We literally watched whales breaching from both the living room and the deck. It was so cool! The house is beautiful, but could use a little TLC. It was affordable and comfortably held our family of eight and a baby. We very much enjoyed ourselves.
Cynthia B. Sep 2018
The views are so awesome! The house had everything we needed. The hot tub and large windows that opened up made watching the sunset so breathtaking! Loved our stay! The fireplace added such a wonderful touch. 😊💖💖💖💖💖
Linda F. Aug 2018
Spent 3 nights 4 days at Windswept. There were 12 of us and the house was perfect for our retreat. We plan to return!!
Janine L. Aug 2018
The view was amazing and there was plenty of shared and private spaces for our group of 10 to relax and enjoy.
EDWARD B. Aug 2018
Great for large family gathering. Beautiful setting. Close to town and the beach. Will definitely return.
Marian M. Aug 2018
The place is beautiful, one of the bedrooms closest to the main door, bed is not comfy as the others, it sucks that it does not have beach Access, Aunts were controlled but lots of traps throughout. The positive breath taken views!
Marguerite D. Aug 2018
We stayed for 5 nights, and loved it. We did not experience any ant problems during our vacation as mentioned in other reviews. The house was great and we would return. Our only complaint would be that the mattresses are in need of replacement. 4/5 of the beds had very large potholes in the mattresses and need to be replaced.
joseph m S. Jul 2018
The views were amazing! It was big enough to sleep all 10 of us comfortably and had plenty of things for the kids to do. Deer at the back door when we woke up, a sneaky fox trying to get some BBQ chicken, and lots of sea life down at the beach kept as all in awe! We hope to make this an annual summer trip.
Brandy L. Jul 2018
I sat by the widow on the window seat pretty much all day watching the ocean and looking for whales. This was a great home for my family to relax and enjoy the ocean and the sounds of the waves 24 hours a day. Absolutely loved the star gazing while sitting in the hot tub. We wished we could of stayed longer.
Mary K. Apr 2018
....the view is what sold us, and it was all we imagined. But there were some bumps. We were looking forward to the hot tub, but on arrival, found it to be somewhat suspect in cleanliness - BUT! - the agency sent someone out to drain and clean it, so we were able to enjoy two of the four nights. Other issue was the ants - we assumed the previous issues mentioned had been resolved, but found dozens - literally - ant traps through out the home, some too close to eating & cooking utensils for comfort. There was left over trash in the garage from the previous guests, wet laundry running in the dryer when we arrived. Housekeeping return to take care of the laundry, but we had to deal with the garbage - and the resulting ants - until the garbage was emptied, and we had to take it out. We cleaned the oven on the auto clean option because the it smoked when we turned it on to cook dinners - and there's no kitchen vent to help disperse the smell & smoke. The ice makes was frozen over, and failed to work even when it was removed by us and allowed to thaw out. The glass room was wonderful for relaxing, but has several leaks that became apparent when the rains started up - and we loved the rain! Also a leak in the hot tub room, along with almost every set of blinds needs serious replacement.

But - the beds were very comfortable, if a little challenging for shorter people - games for those rainy days were very much enjoyed, and it was nice to have REAL wine glasses to enjoy the sunsets with as opposed to the small ones you normally find in vacation rentals. Plenty of towels and kitchen towels - also not normal - were appreciated by all of us during our stay. Overall this is a wonderful home that just needs some TLC to bring it back to what was obviously it's past glory - Suggestion to the Owners - close it down for a week or two, fix it back up and then you'll really get your moneys worth.
Lenee D. Mar 2018
We had a great time, home was very nice, had some ant issues, but views were amazing.
Edward C. Feb 2018
Let me start by saying the fumes from this place absolutely breathtaking however upon check-in we noticed it was a serious bug problem in the kitchen and the bathroom on the couch in the Jacuzzi ants ants were everywhere.

The Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom it did not work and was permanently shut off at the breaker switch the hot tub broke day number two and The cleaning team forgot to clean this particular unit so we had to check in an hour and a half late.

However the views were stunning and the price was right but sometimes you get what you pay for
Manager response:
We apologize for the issues this guest experienced, and we have refunded them accordingly. The hot tub has been fixed, the jacuzzi has been removed as an advertised amenity, and we had an exterminator treat the home. Thanks!
Morgan G. Feb 2018
Stunning ocean views from a cute, cozy home. Would definitely rent again!
Kirsten K. Jan 2018
the home is homey. the view is stunning. I could nit pick but if you want peace and quite and a view without equal, this is the place to stay.
Mike K. Jan 2018
we enjoyed Windswept. on the plus side it is spacious, beautifully located on the ocean bluff, has great windows and views, private, quiet, and close to town. On the minus side it is dated, well-worn, and has a steep driveway. Garage is nice but no remote control.Had trouble burning green firewood without kindling. Still it is very comfortable.
Allison P. Jan 2018
The views are stunning! We saw sea lions, dolphins, and whales just by sitting on the deck off the dining room and watching the water. The amount of space was perfect- we loved that every bedroom had some sort of ocean view, and of course the master had the best view of all, aside from the living room. It is quiet and off the main highway/town just far enough to be peaceful, yet close enough to walk to town- about 20 min each way. The amenities and house quirks left some room to be desired, but those are easy fixes that would make this rental nearly perfect.
Maria T. Nov 2017
Beautiful location and nice home. Great place to relax.
Mark M. Nov 2017
While the ocean view was beautiful, my wife said she would NOT want to stay there again. There were still ants. It still had a musty smell. The whole place needs to be cleaned up. There was a bag of opened pretzels in the garage. There was a lot of "junk" in the garage and in the laundry area that did not need to be visible. Putting all the junk in closed cabinets would have created a much neater appearance. Spider webs here and there. cracked window right next to jacuzzi. In the cabinet under the TV there were some movies that could be watched but the problem was that they were VHS tapes which was just an example of how out of date the home was. All the would work in the room with the jacuzzi was very worn. I could go on and on.
Beryl S. Nov 2017
If you're looking for new and contemporary, this isn't the house for you. If you don't mind older, somewhat dated with a slight mildew or musty odor, mostly in the bedrooms, then this house would work for you. I'm not sure how much of this review will be visible to the public but there are some maintenance and housekeeping issues that I addressed above and I hope get addressed. Plusses are the view and that it's pet friendly. Not kid friendly due to the stairs within the house and no area outside to play. The house advertises that it sleeps 12. The dining room table does not accommodate that many. It accommodated our group of 9. This house does not have an open floor plan making the living room quite cozy with a large group. The driveway is extremely steep so a vehicle low to the ground will probably bottom out. Unlike Sea Ranch, there isn't access to a walking trail along the bluff. This house was probably an awesome home when it was first built and with some maintenance, housekeeping and some updating has great potential. As previously stated, if you're looking new and contemporary with an open floor plan, this one probably wouldn't be for you.
Manager response:
We appreciate this review and will look into the other comments left for us regarding the maintenance and housekeeping suggestions. Thank you!
Kathryn V. Oct 2017
Gorgeous property on the ocean! The feeling of gazing at the ocean with a million stars above is hard to put into words......all while soaking in a comfy hot tub!
Plenty of choices of nearby restaurants or one mile from local market.

Very disappointing maintenance and upkeep of the property is the only aspect that soured the experience.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see there were any disappointments at all with this stay. We always appreciate specific feedback that will help us make improvements. Thanks!
Rhonda R. Oct 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Windswept it was very comfortable the views were amazing and we truly appreciate you allowing us to bring our dog. We hope we can get back there very soon.
Marilyn S. Oct 2017
Our group enjoyed a pleasant four nights, and being allowed to include our 4 legged little friend was a plus.
Thomas H. Sep 2017
We will be back!!
Kerry C. Aug 2017
The house is nice and has a great view (once the fog lifts). There is a mildewy smell throughout, but it is on the coast so maybe that is typical. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals; which is good because the town has few restaurants. We didn't spend a lot of time there as we were out exploring the coast. The Gualala River nearby is a good place to kayak. The driveway is very steep and your car will scrape going up and down unless you have a truck with a higher clearance. Bring your own shampoo and soap for the showers and if you need more than one bath towel per person and 1 hand towel for 4 people bring your own towels, too.
Brent K. Aug 2017
Great place to get together with a group of 4+ households. Super close to town! The master bedroom downstairs is the best! It could use an extra spare bed though. Such amazing views. Be careful of the STEEP driveway.
Tatyana O. Aug 2017
The house was much cheaper than others we looked at and I could see why when we arrived. But I have to say the views made it better. If you don't mind musty smells or killinh insects throughout the day, then this is a good deal. But I do have to say the management company was great. The entire process was simple and stress-free.
Thomas V. Jul 2017
We really enjoyed the house, biing close to town was nice also.
Kim L. Jun 2017
Celebrating a special milestone with dear friends - couldn't have picked a better place than Windswept.

The view from the hottub does not disappoint!
Smita K. Jun 2017
The house location is excellent and so are the breath taking views from the property. The kitchen is well equipped. The rest of the house is well maintained.

There were few cobwebs in the rooof deck and on the chair in the patio deck. Couple of chairs in the patio are rusted so they need to be replaced. While the ant situation isnt bad, we did notice a single line in the upper bathroom.
Lynn W. Jun 2017
Nice neighborhood, beautiful view!
Charles P. May 2017
Stephanie M. Apr 2017
This house is everything you could want and more! The kitchen is well stocked and you will have all of the resources you need for your getaway. I was afraid the house would not meet the expectations set from the pictures but it was just as beautiful as the pictures portray it. Would highly recommend! I'm going to try to make it back!
Nouf A. Mar 2017
I loved this place the view was amazing this place is nice for both kids and adults. The house had everything in it. The weather is cool and cold at night I enjoyed every detail of it.
Pauline C. Feb 2017
We will definitely come back here. A lot space in the house and surrounding by the sea and stars.