USA Northern California California Shaver Lake Listing #29958

Holloway Chalet - Shaver Lake, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
21 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 3 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Mountain Cabin w/ Valley Views, Private Washer/Dryer, WiFi, Hot Tub

Families or groups of friends will love this peaceful and contemporary cabin, complete with a game room for ping pong and a wood-burning fireplace! You'll have a quiet acre of countryside to explore the San Joaquin valley landscape and outdoor dining on the large back deck, equipped with a gas barbecue and private hot tub. In addition, the view from the spacious upper-level balcony is hard to beat! Finish the day with a peaceful view of the sunset with a glass of wine. The newly updated kitchen, featuring granite countertops will provide the perfect space to cook family meals. After everyone has had their fill of fun for the day, you can all curl up on the multiple sofas and watch a movie with the whole gang.

What's nearby:
This home lies in Ridge Top, one of Shaver Lake's gated neighborhoods. Shops and eateries are less than four miles north in Shaver Lake Village. The town also features easy access to SUP, kayaking, and boat rentals. Winter fun at China Peak Mountain Resort is only 22.7 miles north where you can ski and snowboard! If you don't feel like cooking, check out Shaver Lake Pub N Grub or Shaver Lake Pizza for some great food and a cozy environment! Yosemite is about an hour away as well which would be perfect for a day trip!

Things to Know
Full kitchen
Free WiFi
Garage/game room with a ping pong table
Four-Wheel Drive may be necessary during winter months

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Mountain view

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

Miscellaneous

Step-free access

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games

Ping-pong table

Pool table : Private

Foosball table

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Deck

21 reviews

Michael G. Jan 2023
Awesome location beautiful view we will definitely be staying there again.
Michael B. Jan 2023
Stayed there with four other families. Probably three families is the most you should do with this place. The view is spectacular, there are games and sleds. The spa was the main attraction for me. The driveway is too steep so be careful if there is snow out. Everything seemed to work. This was a replacement stay for another place that cancelled on me. I did enjoy the stay. It has a nice creek below the cabin. I thought it was really beautiful.
Casey E. Jan 2023
The scenery was beautiful and the hot tub took the experience to the next level.
Loreli C. Dec 2022
This is our second time staying at the Chalet and I can say it truly feels like home. The cabin has everything anyone could need and is cozy for the whole group. What an awesome and authentic mountain experience!
Carol A. Sep 2022
It was a nice big house with plenty and d rooms to sleep and nice big tables enough to sit with large family Had nice large deck with grill and hot tub The down fall was nice in the drawers in kitchen and pantry. A broken ceiling fan upstairs. The hot tub worked one day only and breaker box and fuse went off and had to be reset. The kitchen dishwasher leaked and was not useable.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your time with us. Please know the local manager is looking into and working to address these issues further. We look forward to hosting you for a great stay in the future!
Maria N. Aug 2022
The house was very nice in pictures but when we got there it was visibly dirty, there was trash outside, there was signs of rats and bugs. Two of the beds were broken.
Manager response:
Maria, thank you for sharing your feedback and bringing these issues to our attention, we apologize for any inconvenience. We take guest feedback seriously, and we have forwarded this information to the local staff so they can review and update the home as needed for future guests. We look forward to hosting you again!
Thai Y. Apr 2022
The house needed a lot of repairs. We were out of heat for about 2 days until maintenance came and fixed it. The house was really cold. The kitchen doors were so hard to open and it was hard to close. The master bedroom sliding doors would not open and one of the windows were broken. The TV in the main living room was not working. There were lamps that were not working. Some rooms were dark due to the lamps not working.
Manager response:
Thai, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we sincerely apologize for the challenges your party experienced during your stay. Please know that your feedback is essential, and we have passed your comments along to our local manager, who will work with the homeowner to make any updates. We truly hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future.
Priscilla C. Feb 2022
We luv Shaver every year. The house was nice and spacious. The views here were amazing, especially sunsets. You can also see the city lights at night. The house is somewhat dated, the house could use some dusting and yard maintenance in the front. There was debris from prior visitors. I do wish there was more toilet paper/paper towels/trash bags/dish scrubber. I did like that there was plenty of variety of games for our family to play. Wifi was strong and kitchen was useful. All in all we had a great time and enjoyed our stay.
Manager response:
Hi Priscilla, thank you for your review, we're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate you letting us know about some areas of the home that may need some attention. We have notified our local manager who will continue to update the home as needed. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful getaway in the future!
MICHAEL C. Dec 2021
A little rough around the edges, but the games were a huge hit with everyone, especially the kids. Furnace overheats the upstairs, we ended up closing vents and opening windows. Carpet needs to be deep cleaned or replaced. General repair/upgrades needed throughout.
Manager response:
We're so glad you stayed with us, Michael. We apologize you had any frustrations during your visit. The carpets are getting scheduled for a professional cleaning. Thank you!
Karen D. Jun 2021
The home was roomy and comfortable for our multi generation family of 10. It is dated and lacks AC. This made for uncomfortable afternoons and evenings. Vacasa was always quick to respond to our concerns and questions. I would have expected a more updated home for the price.
Haykaz N. May 2021
The house was amazing. It was very clean and it was stocked with towels and little soaps and things I did not expect. We've had rentals where there were no towels or sheets but they had that and more. The hot tub was clean and working great, the bathrooms were clean and working properly. There were games at every corner of the house. We had such a fun time playing all the games, we didn't end up leaving the house once. It was a great, relaxing family trip. Definitely will be coming back here.
Maurice C. Jan 2021
Everything
Nathaniel & Veritta H. Jan 2021
Loved it!! Great house
Destiny B. Aug 2020
My friends and I absolutely loved this cabin for our first cabin trip! There were SO many games to keep us all occupied in different areas of the home. All the beds were comfortable, even the bunk beds and the deck in the back is huge and open! The only downside is we got this cabin because of the Jacuzzi, and it did not work at all nor was there any notice about it or any instructions. The AC wouldn't work, so we all had to get out for the day because it was just too hot inside! The nights were definitely amazing though and the kitchen with the view of the sunset was the highlight for us all. Thanks for an amazing experience! Definitely recommend!
Manager response:
Hi, Destiny! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! The home does not have air conditioning as it is typically not needed; we apologize if you were uncomfortable because of this. The hot tub has been repaired. Thank you for staying with us!
Claud Y. Aug 2020
On a positive note, the house was well equipped with furniture and bedding. Also, we enjoyed the doll house that was provided.
Unfortunately, there were many negatives to list... for this review I will narrow it down. As stated in prior reviews, the freezer did not make ice, the spa was not functioning and water was brown and had a foul order. Part of our reasoning for renting this house was for our family to enjoy the spa. The deck has multiple broken chairs and the family was unable to enjoy it. Another reason for our rental was to BBQ, unfortunately there was no propane in the tank. There were trash issues as there were no cans and animals got into bags overnight. There are not 4 bathrooms in this house, there are 2: which will probably make a difference for future renters.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Claud! The spa has been removed from the advertised amenities until it can get repaired. The deck furniture will be replaced, and the ice maker is currently functioning. We hope to see you again!
susie h. Jun 2020
This cabin was great and I would rent again. Hot tub STILL doesn't work so PLEASE get it fixed or remove it. I thought for sure after reading reviews it would have been fixed. Refrigerator needs to be serviced. Fridge barely kept things cols and Freezer worked as refrigerator, NEVER froze or made ice.
Manager response:
Hi, Susie! We are so glad you stayed with us and apologize the hot tub was still out of order during your reservation. The hot tub is operational now that the filter has been taken care of. Maintenance has checked the refrigerator and freezer and found them working well. Thank you!
Ryan P. Mar 2020
Absolutely great for families with kids
Ivan C. Jan 2020
The Holloway Chalet didn't disappoint. Plenty of room for everyone, the layout was perfect for the kids to play and for the adults to have their own space. Plenty of boardgames/activities to do, rooms were clean and cozy. Only thing that wasn't 100% was the jacuzzi. The water had a funky smell to it and had stuff floating around in it. Would recommend.
Manager response:
We are so glad you enjoyed the home, Ivan! We do apologize for the disappointment with the hot tub. We have cancelled our contractor and will now be cleaning and maintaining the hot tub ourselves. Thank you for staying with us!
Tigran T. Dec 2019
I stay at a cabin 6-8 times a year at Shaver Lake and this was by far the best one, everything was wonderful this was a lovely cabin with plenty of rooms and games!! I will definitely be staying here again. I want to thank the family who let us enjoy their cabin and make us feel home away from Home.