USA Maine Maine Coast Kennebunkport Listing #41396

Union Street Retreat - Kennebunkport, ME

Take a Virtual Tour
14 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 2 Queen Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Downtown condo w/ ideal location - steps to shops & restaurants!

You'll be just a few steps from restaurants, shops, and the very best of Kennebunkport at this simple, well-appointed condo in the heart of downtown! Prepare your morning coffee in the small kitchenette, bring along your bike and ride to the beach each day, and spend your evenings walking to nearby cafes, restaurants, clam shacks, and ice cream stores all around you.

What's nearby:
This condo is conveniently located in the historic center of Kennebunkport, amidst a cluster of charming businesses and eateries that line the Kennebunk River. Take a quick drive or bike ride to one of the lovely local beaches, which include Gooch's Beach (one mile south) and Mother's Beach (two miles southwest). You can also easily join a kayak excursion to explore the river or hop in the car for a scenic drive along Route 1 to Wells (six miles southwest), Ogunquit (12 miles southwest), or Cape Elizabeth (35 miles north).

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Kitchenette with a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker
Please note that this second-floor condo is located in a large building with businesses on the first floor (a pizza shop, an ice cream store, and a clothing/book store). There is no elevator.

City/town permit number: STR21-00196

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions


Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games

14 reviews

Michelle K. Nov 2022
We loved the location in a couple of ways. The building is conveniently located in Kennebunkport for one. Almost everything was within short walking distance. Secondly, the apartment was over a great pizza shop and a Ben and Jerry’s. Walking in was a profoundly intoxicating experience. The smell of baking ice cream cones or fresh pizza was amazing! The apartment itself was open and clean and lended itself well to a great view of downtown. It was great to have quick access to restaurants and shops and then come back to a truly relaxing environment. We will certainly be back.
Beth H. Dec 2021
We loved the old building charm while having update amenities
Sean David G. Oct 2021
This unit is in a great location in Kennebunkport, especially for those wanting to do some touristy shopping and dining. It's nice to have a guaranteed parking spot so you can walk about the local community and shopping areas with ease.

The unit is clean and accommodating. Two separate bedrooms with queen beds that are relatively comfortable, both rooms have fans to draw in the cool air. In the main room there is a small loveseat big enough for two people, but fairly uncomfortable. There is a small high-top table with two stools, a TV, and a small prep area with microwave and small refrigerator and sink. There is a coffee maker as well, and some filters, so bring some coffee with you or buy some at the local store (which is what I did). There is also a portable AC unit that vents through the window, but thankfully we didn't need to use it due to the cooler weather.
There is a nicely sized bathroom with shower, toilet, and sink. Clean towels are provided, as well as soap, shampoo. conditioner, and lotion, There is a hair dryer as well.

The location sits on the upper floor of a two-story unit that is occupied by an ice cream shop on one side, and a pizza restaurant on the other. Unfortunately, the first night, all we could smell was the overwhelming fragrance of sweet waffle cones. It was almost nauseating after a while, and really wish there was a candle or some kind of way to disperse the smell. Even opening windows and turning on the air a bit offered no reprieve from the smell. Fortunately, the following day they were closed and the smell died down a bit, only to be replaced by the acrid smell of burning pizza dough that wafted through the air. Again, it was a matter of putting up with it or leaving, and almost considered the latter. However, it was getting late, and actually ordered a pizza from the restaurant which was 'okay.'
I contacted Vacasa regarding my concerns and was told someone would be in touch with me regarding my complaint. I have not heard back from anyone, so that is either a sign of a continued complaint they have experienced, or they simply don't care.
Still, the property is desirable for those wanting to shop a local tourist trap, enjoy some local eateries or enjoy the local views, but for those with sensitive smell, I would not recommend.
Manager response:
Hi, Sean David! Thank you for your review. We do apologize local staff missed getting to you due to a miscommunication error. The property manager is following up on this. Hopefully the compensation offered helps convey our desire to provide you with a better experience.
Eugenia P. Aug 2021
This place was great. Location was perfect and the description and pictures are accurate. Super clean apartment with clean towels, new toilet paper, kitchen paper, dishwashing soap, sponge etc. would just recommend one more AC unit :)
Manager response:
Hello, Eugenia, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We passed your comments along to our local manager to review and we appreciate guest’s preferences as a means to continually improve. We look forward to hosting your next stay!
Lori M. Jun 2021
We loved our visit to Kennebunkport and will definitely look forward to returning.

The beds were very comfortable and the apartment was clean. My only complaint is the air conditioner was not sufficient for the space. We had a great time and actually got to see two whales on our tour!
Kerry D. Jun 2021
Union St Retreat is the perfect spot for a Kennebunkport vacation. Located right in the heart of all the local shops. First thing you’ll notice is the smell of waffle cones from Ben & Jerry’s as you take the stairs up to your room. Then once inside you’ll have an almost constant smell of pizza coming from Roma Pizza below. Both of which you must try while visiting. The beds were super comfortable and made for good rest each night. I would definitely stay here again if I ever make it back to Maine.
Noor A. May 2021
The location of this rental was phenomenal! It allows very easy access to the town without needing to worry about parking. It was spacious and very comfortable for two friends staying in the separate rooms, and had everything we needed. The towels, sheets, bedding, and small touches like hand soap and dish soap, toilet paper, paper towels, plates and cups, etc. made it a functional space for a longer stay. The townspeople were very warm and friendly throughout our visit, and were happy to direct us anywhere. The town is also close to a beach and provides easy access to Portland, Cape Elizabeth, and other local hot spots.
Brian O. Oct 2020
We found the accommodations more than adequate. Being prepared with personal comforts, snacks, cereals, OJ, drinks, and wine is very helpful.
Michelle J. Sep 2020
Location was great .
Miriam M. Sep 2020
Absolutely loved the location, we were right in town and able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Having a dedicated parking spot was also a major bonus on a busy holiday weekend when parking was pretty scarce in town. One thing I would note is that the apartment is cooled by a single window ac unit so it can get fairly warm. There was a fan available in one of the bedrooms which was great but the other bedroom got pretty warm at night.
Elizabeth B. Aug 2020
Location great! There was a heat wave up in Kennebunkport and it was incredibly hot up in the apartment. It only has a portable air-conditioning unit which did not cool the whole area which was very disappointing!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Elizabeth! We appreciate you bringing your concerns with the A/C to our attention. We encourage guests who need immediate assistance to call Guest Services to further address any issues during your visit. We do apologize for the inconvenience, and have notified the local team for further review. We appreciate your feedback and welcome the opportunity to better improve our homes for future guests. Thank you for staying with us!