USA North Carolina Buxton Cottages at the Cape - Buxton Listing #44397

Barracuda #2B-CAC - Buxton, NC

Take a Virtual Tour
16 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 2 Queen Bed 2 bedrooms 1.5 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Beachy townhouse w/private W/D, shared pool, free WiFi, AC, & ocean views

Build a beautiful resort village on a favorite Hatteras Island location, and they will come. The Cottages at the Cape are the closest rental units to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse in Buxton. They share a long border with the national park and are literally steps from the beachfront. Bring the bikes, because Buxton’s unique shops, restaurants, and lighthouse are all very close. Forget the 4WD vehicle - those in the know have discovered that the three jetties to the east of the cottages produce some of the best fishing, surfing, and swimming on this island. Walking to the south will take you to open beaches, the famed Cape Point, and if luck is on your side during the summer, a few sea turtle nests (be careful to stay outside the barriers). This is an excellent two-bedroom condo with one-and-a-half baths. The interior has been professionally-decorated with comfortable and fun beach décor. You'll have access to an outside shower and a patio, and there are plenty of appliances, counter space, and cabinet storage in the full kitchen. The living room is a great place to enjoy a movie night with friends and family after a fun day on the beach. An escape to the cape never looked so good as at Cottages at the Cape.


AttractionDistance From Home
Currituck Beach Lighthouse0.9 Miles
Historic Corolla Park1.1 Miles
Whalehead Club1.2 Miles
Currituck Banks Reserve1.4 Miles
Currituck National Wildlife Refuge7.1 Miles
The Currituck Club6.6 Miles


  • You will be required to sign an additional lease agreement upon making a booking which will be sent to your email. You will not be able to check in until we have received your signature electronically. Please contact us directly if you do not receive this agreement.

  • This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC.

  • Guests have access to the Club Hatteras Pool Facility. Additional details about this facility will be shared in your check-in email and during the check-in process. The club is typically open Mid-May to Mid-October, depending on the weather.
  • You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.



    Washer/dryer : Private

    Heating & cooling

    Central AC

    Partial AC

    Kitchen & dining






    Ocean view

    Water view





    DVD player

    Wireless router

    Nearby activities & attractions


    On-site activities

    Pool : Shared



    16 reviews

    Pat B. Nov 2022
    Balcony views Easy location Comfortable
    Karl M. Oct 2022
    If you are looking for super fancy keep looking but, if you are looking for clean, simple, beautiful location near Hatteras lighthouse, quiet this the place we are happy here house is clean stocked with kitchen supplies best location in buxton… love this place
    Barbara C. Aug 2022
    Everything needed for a week at the beach! Screened porch AND front deck, steps from the beach, well-equipped kitchen, short walk to restaurants,
    Nelson C. Jul 2022
    House was nice, clean and comfortable. We couldn’t get the main TV to get a station, but we didn’t go to watch TV, so it wasn’t an issue and feel certain if I had called, someone would have fixed the problem.
    Manager response:
    Nelson, thank you for your feedback, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time in our beautiful home. We apologize for any inconvenience the TV caused you during your stay. It is always our goal for our guests to be able to use everything the home has to offer. Please know that our local staff is available to assist with any issues you encounter while in the home. We encourage guests to call our 24-hour Guest Service line to alert us to issues so that we can promptly rectify the situation. We welcome your feedback as a means to improve and look forward to hosting you for a truly carefree stay in the future!
    Amy B. Jun 2022
    The barracuda was just right for our family and our budget. It is very simple, but had what we needed. Great location to beach, food, and shops.
    Georgia M. Jun 2022
    We stayed for 3 nights in Barracuda..Very beautiful and clean has an excellent location. Check in was super easy and so was check out! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
    Nancy G. Oct 2021
    I liked the ease of getting on the beach. I loved the lighthouse and being close enough to learn more about it. I liked the size and price of the duplex, beds were comfortable and screened in porch was a great feature. A few things needed work but all in all I would return!
    jim s. Aug 2021
    House was fine. If you've never rented a beach house before you might be disappointed, but it was clean enough and nothing too detrimental. It would have been great to have a BBQ grill or beach toys like mentioned in description but overall not too bad of a place. I'd rent here again.
    Manager response:
    Hi, Jim! Thank you for staying with us! There is a grill at the home; we apologize if you missed it. We hope to see you again!
    Adam J. Jul 2021
    Overall a great rental and location. The layout was great and there is quick and easy access to the beach from the property. It is super quiet in the evenings and my wife and I enjoyed nights on the back balcony once our kids went to bed. We had some issues while we were there and put in quite a few maintenance requests. Mike and Billy were out to our rental multiple times to get everything fixed that they could and were incredibly nice and helpful. We were even offered a partial refund (without asking) for a couple of bigger issues that were not able to get fixed during our stay. Overall, a nice place, but there are simple things that could be done to make this feel more like a polished house and a 5-star rental (many of the blinds are broken, window screens are torn, peeling paint on the wood trim of outside doors, etc.). I don’t think those issues are specific to this property, but seem to be common among places in the development from what we heard from others we met while on vacation. We would recommend this property and would consider staying here in the future.
    Manager response:
    Thank you for your review, Adam. We take guest feedback seriously and have forwarded this information to the local staff so they can review and update the home as needed for future guests. We will be sure to follow up with the appropriate parties regarding your experience. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
    Angela M L. May 2021
    The property was not great. Check-in consisted of waiting until “exactly 4pm” and then a woman comes out, drops a bunch of envelops with keys into a box and then you have to find your envelope and figure it if you have questions no one is there to help.
    Our apt...bugs in entryway, like a previous review stated, no towels/extra sheets as they were left in a box for the previous guest to take and use (I’m guessing because the previous guests didn’t receive theirs either). The beds were the worst. I had to wash all of the bedding including comforters, pillows and mattress pad before we could even sleep as they all smelled of cigarettes and body disgusting.
    The door locks are ancient and all of our neighbors got locked out at one point (or more).
    Bottom line is that the property needs a deep clean and the locks all need to be upgraded...I heard most of my neighbors complain about the same things.
    The beach that you can walk to is pretty dirty; lots of cigarette butts, cans and trash. We actually drove to the Rodanthe public beach everyday because it was so, so much better.
    I’m really disappointed in our stay and I was so happy to check out.
    Manager response:
    Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Angela. We are truly sorry to hear about the unfortunate issues affecting your stay. Please know this is not the standard grade of presentation that we provide, and that we take your feedback very seriously. The local staff has worked to address these cleanliness and maintenance issues in the home. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, as this helps us improve the quality of experiences we provide our future guests. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with a truly exceptional vacation experience in the future.
    Christian H. May 2021
    Very close to the beach. The kitchen had very useful utensils, pots and pans. Washer and dryer worked great. Plenty of storage for your belongings.

    There were hundreds of bugs in the entryway downstairs. The house could use a little updating and TLC. Like some bright color walls and nicer outdoor furniture.
    Manager response:
    Hi, Christian! The homeowner has implemented pest control to address the pill bugs, and we have shared your concerns with the furniture, blinds, and sinks with the owner. Thank you!
    Greg C. Mar 2021
    Cleaning crew must have left in a hurry! Blue tote tray left behind on kitchen counter, coffee carafe had grounds in it, coffee filter basket had coffee in it, counter top had coffee spills (so much for surfaces being wiped for covid), foyer had close to 200 bugs on floor, splashed water on kitchen floor and when wiped with paper towel came off with brown stain.
    Manager response:
    Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Greg. We sincerely apologize for the disappointment regarding the cleanliness of the home upon your arrival. Our team of housekeepers takes pride in their cleanliness standards, as it is a top priority service we provide for every guest prior to check-in. Your feedback is important to us so we have passed along your comments to the local management and housekeeping staff. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future.