USA North Carolina Western North Carolina Franklin Listing #74279

The Bear Barn - Franklin, NC

Take a Virtual Tour
4 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 1 Futon 2 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms 4 dog max  (40 lb weight limit) 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly cabin with WiFi, AC, & upstairs spacious loft - near river and town

Nestled in a lakeside community with all the charms of the woods and mountains, this lovely cabin is a sure bet for your next getaway! Ample room indoors and outdoors allows for both entertaining and relaxing. Gather around the wood-burning firepit in the backyard or fire up the gas grill on the large covered deck. A picnic table sets the scene for delicious al fresco meals. A fully-furnished loft upstairs provides an additional living space with a TV and futon. If you are looking for a peaceful vacation still close to town, The Bear Barn is the family home for you!

Places to Visit During Your Stay

AttractionDistance From Home
Scottish Tartans Museum2.4 Miles
Gem & Mineral Museum-Franklin2.5 Miles
Rose Creek Mine5.9 Miles
Smoky Mountain Center For The Performing Arts6.4 Miles
Macon County Recreation Park6.7 Miles
Sylva17.6 Miles
Dillsboro17.9 Miles
Bust Your Butt Falls14.0 Miles
Peoples Golf18.2 Miles
Bryson City27.1 Miles
Cherokee29.1 Miles
Sapphire Valley Resort32.3 Miles
Maggie Valley47.2 Miles
Cataloochee Ski Area49.2 Miles

Things to Know
Free WiFi
A futon and two beds in the loft add another sleeping option
Snowbird-friendly (contact Vacasa for details)
The family dogs are welcome for a small nightly fee (up to 40lbs.)
4x4 vehicle required in winter

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Internet : Hughesnet



DVD library

DVD player

Gaming system


Step-free access

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private






4 reviews

Erica B. Sep 2022
Lovely peaceful cabin secluded yet close to civilization. Home away from home for sure.. will stay again soon!!
Terry P. Jul 2022
The house is cozy, homey feel. Quiet, clean and lots of room. Enjoyed the spotty internet signal, we expected it since we in the mountains.Good chance to unplug and have more family time. Beds were so comfortable. Haven't slept that good in a few years. Amazing selection of movies and lots of games. Some I never hear of but we thoroughly enjoyed the exploding kittens game. Never heard of it but it is really cute family game. Porches, the corn holes, fire pit, grill. Enjoyed it all. Highly recommend. Will stay again
phillip r h. Jun 2022
I finally entered the cabin after waiting 2 hours to do so and when we entered the smell of stain or shellac knocked us down. The smell made my wife ill, giving her a serious headache. We turned on fans and air conditioner and ended up having to stay with the niece for 2 days. Then re entered the cabin to find the smell still lingered but reduced to where we could stay for a few days. This cabin has extremely poor and unacceptable Wi-Fi, must less the television was just as poor as the Wi-Fi as the television only had 4 public channels. This isn't what is advertised! I was led to believe the cabin had up-to-date Television and visiting friends and family could not enjoy the family gathering! I sincerely feel I was somewhat cheated and these problems need correcting, and I sincerely feel some form of rebate is deemed fit! Furthermore, I called these situations to be known via text and was told I would be contacted, but no one ever followed through? If I don't receive positive results than my next step is grievance with better business bureau, and then I will legally face this situation.
Manager response:
Hi, Phillip! We're happy you stayed with us though it's disappointing you were so unhappy. No odors were noticed when the home was inspected prior to your arrival or for the next guest. We apologize you didn't have the same experience. This home is not advertised as having cable. As for the WiFi, it is spotty in the mountains since there is no fiber optic as there is in the city. Hopefully we can better impress you in the future. Thank you!