Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Depoe Bay Listing #1090

Depoe Bay Delight - Depoe Bay, OR

79 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 4 2 Queen Bed 2 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom Dog Friendly 
230 Coast Ave., Depoe Bay, OR 97341

Dog-friendly home with ocean views from deck and private hot tub!

This charming two-bedroom Depoe Bay vacation rental features an array of amenities that will truly delight its guests. Breathe in the fresh sea air and gaze out at beautiful ocean views from the deck or sip glasses of wine in the unique indoor hot tub during your next getaway to the Oregon Coast!

The Depoe Bay Delight is within easy walking distance to gift shops, art galleries, and coffee shops. A short stroll across the street leads to a bluff located high on a cliff with stunning views of the waves crashing below. You can even see the entrance to the "World's Smallest Harbor" along with sea birds and the occasional whale. The nearest beach access is about one mile north at Fogarty Creek State Park where you can spend the day hunting for shells or playing with your dogs.

You'll appreciate the personal touches inside the endearing exterior that make this house feel like a home. Soft carpeting, plush furniture and a charming gas fireplace will instantly put you at ease.

The entryway opens into the elevated living area. Come back from a leisurely walk on the beach and let the fire warm you while you lounge on the couches. Enjoy a cozy movie night in front of the wall-mounted flatscreen TV, which includes a DVD player and cable. WiFi is available. And the kitchen is only a few steps away if you need to pour a fresh drink or replenish the popcorn bowl.

The kitchen is completely stocked to satiate every culinary desire from simple snacks to gourmet dinners. A refrigerator, stovetop, oven, microwave and dishwasher are at hand as well as a coffee maker so you can enjoy your morning brew on the front deck. While sauntering around town, purchase fresh seafood ingredients and return home to prepare a five-star meal in the comfort of your beach house.

The huge windows in the living area provide an ocean view for entertainment while eating meals at the corner dining table. You can also daydream out the window while soaking in the built-in hot tub.

When it's time for sweet dreams, you can crack the windows in the bedroom on the main level and let the ocean lull you to sleep. This room has a queen-sized bed with comfortable bedding and there's also a full bathroom with a tub shower combo on the main floor.

Up the steps, the second bedroom also has a queen-sized bed with a serene blue color scheme and slanted windows to fill the room with natural light. Altogether, this home will comfortably accommodate four guests and is ideal for a romantic weekend getaway, a small family or even two couples traveling together. Your four-legged family members are also welcome, though a nightly fee per dog and a minimum fee per stay will apply. This home does not include Internet access so you won't be tempted to distract yourself from your peaceful vacation with work or email.

On evenings when you're not in the mood to play chef, nearby restaurants include Gracie's Sea Hag for fish and chips and clam chowder, local favorite Tidal Raves Seafood Grill, and for an unforgettable meal, drive the scenic one and a half miles south where James Beard semi-finalist best chef Justin Wills is making quite a splash at Restaurant Beck. A short 20-minute drive south on Highway 101 will take you to Newport where you can spend all day exploring the renowned Oregon Coast Aquarium. Go north instead and in about 20 minutes you'll end up in bustling Lincoln City, home to the Chinook Winds Casino and the Tanger Outlet Mall.

Soak in the hot tub until your skin is wrinkled or explore the coast until you're covered head to toe in sand and salt spray - No matter how you spend your time here, your trip in this Central Oregon Coast vacation rental will be truly memorable.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Gas Fireplace

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Wave

Cable : Wave

TV

Wireless Router

Outdoor

Hot Tub : Private

Scenic

Water View

79 Reviews

Jennifer M. Sep 2018
We saw whales from the breakfast nook while drinking our morning coffee. It was a lovely stay!
clinton Y. Jul 2018
Loved being able to spot whales from the windows!
Kristine B. May 2018
Baby-friendly, comfortable, great location. The indoor hot tub and fireplace made us think about coming back in the winter!
Michael L. O. Apr 2018
Enjoyed looking at the Ocean crashing on the rocks while sitting in the Living room, even though the mirror and window were slightly dirty. Enjoyed the Hot Tub in Living room while still able to enjoy viewing TV. Totally Loved the Beach front view from across the street, while sitting on the Public Bench.
Lance B. Jan 2018
Cute little beach house. Very close to the downtown area with many restaurants within walking distance. Also very close to the harbor. With whale watching options, and charters that you can rent. There's also a cute public bench that is located right across that street from this home, that overlooks the ocean. Perfect for watching the waves crash, or just a great sunset spot. Did I also mention that theres a hot tube in the living room. Pretty cool!
Jordan O. Jan 2018
Great house overall! Chlorine smell was a bit strong- especially while sitting in the hot tub.

Other than that it was a nice little get away.
Bethany B. Dec 2017
Plus you can see the ocean from the hot tub and from a lot of the windows. To get to "downtown," all you have to do is walk across the bridge over the harbor. It's an adorable tiny house and we look forward to staying in it every year.
Brittainy L. Dec 2017
Everything was perfect, had plenty of dishes and towels etc. My only complaint was the hottub was very dirty. Would definitely stay here again though!
ARNETIA S. Oct 2017
We had a wonderful little vacation in Depoe Bay Oregon! We didn’t want to leave. So Beautiful, and a great location.
Linnea D. Aug 2017
.
Jason C. Aug 2017
We enjoyed our stay here! Great location within walking distance of everything in town and with an ocean view.
Levi S. Aug 2017
Great two bedroom house, with great whale watching! Hot tube inside the house was a nice surprise!
Jennifer H. Aug 2017
Such a nice property. Great place to go and find peace in your life. Weather you are starting over or just trying to ground yourself and recharge. Highly recommend this property.
Joshua M. Jun 2017
Very clean. Had everything we needed. Great location.
Kurt P. May 2017
It was awesome to listen to the waves and walk across the street and watch the sunset on the bench and to walk to the shops and restaurants. The hottub was so nice after a day out and the reclining sofa was nice to relax in afterwards. They had a canvas bag upon our arrival. It was a perfect get away!
Peter C. May 2017
Very close to the strip of restaurants and shops, and of course the Ocean.
Adrian E. Apr 2017
Great place, could use a stero or Bluetooth speaker for music. See through blinds were a dislike from our part but other wise enjoyed the stay.
Mackenzie W. Mar 2017
Cute house in good location. It's in in the heart of Depoe Bay so not for anyone who wants a secluded private residence. Also, while dog friendly (which we appreciated), the house doesn't really have a yard and it's near the cliff side/ocean so be careful!
Mariksa I. Feb 2017
Nice quiet little place to stay and enjoy the Depoe Bay Area. Just right off the main stores and restaurants walking distance.
John L. Feb 2017
Great location, wonderful little town, walking distance to everything. Just a bit small and a tiny bit "tired" inside and out, but great value for the location (across the street from the ocean) and the price.
Cody T. Feb 2017
The place was great for me and my lover, however the chlorine seemed a little high in the hot tub and had to keep the place WELL VENTILATED in order for it to not be too chlorine-ee or thick with moisture, even with the lid on. Honestly it seemed like more of a hassle to have then anticipated. but if you have the windows open and the fireplace on with the over head fan it circulates the air evenly. Overall, i like the place and the lighting ambience and fire stove central heating. It makes for a great home base to go explore other areas of the coast, and a great get away for two, or a few close friends. I'd stay here again for the price and small size, but might not bother with the hot tub.
Whitaker B. Feb 2017
Perfect for a couple get away. Clean and cozy house with great views overlooking the ocean plus all the locals are very friendly, I Highly recommend Vacasa for a vacation rental!
Caelon V. Jan 2017
The house is not on the ocean, but it does have somewhat of an ocean view. The ocean there is very pretty. Depoe Bay is also a very relaxed little town that was fun to visit. The house was within walking distance of most everything in town, which was nice. The hot tub in the house needso some maintained, it was a bit rusty. Also, it was very loud because the heater was always on and it smelled of chlorine. Definitely should open a window a crack. Everything in the house was in decent shape and worked, except the kitchen faucet needed to be fixed. Beds were nice and clean. Internet was a bit spotty, but nice that it was provided. The house was nice for the location, but i'm not sure I would rent it again.
Manager Response:
We appreciate the comments concerning the hot tub. It’s understandable that some people are more sensitive to the chemicals than others, and we find that opening the window next to the hot tub immediately after opening the hot tub cover will help eliminate the built up vapor more quickly. Because of its location, there will always be some noise from the heater. Immediately after this guests’ stay, the kitchen faucet was repaired. Thank you!
Ericka K. Jan 2017
Great place for a small family who want walking access to Depoe Bay. Actually, don't rent this place so that it's open when we want to rent it. ;)
Holly V. Dec 2016
This was a lovely place!!! The coast is across the street, with a lovely bench to sit on and see out over the ocean. Sadly, no whales came to see us at this visit, but overall it was great! And super fun to have a hot tub in the living room!
April G. Dec 2016
This house is quite cozy with the hot tub off the livingroom and dining room area, tiny kitchen, tiny bathroom behind the kitchen, The tiny stairway leads to a loft area that has beautiful skylights with pull up shades, providing a delightful display of the moon and stars on a clear night, and lights of the town. While all the windows had thin pull shades, there were no curtains on any of the windows in the home, and we had to step outside and check to see what could be seen from the street. The gas fireplace appears as wood on the fire, with coals lighting up red just like a wood fireplace. The downstairs bedroom was a nice availability as we are awoken by light noise and the downstairs was definitely darker, but again, no curtains to make it dark. And then there's the fact that if you close the door to the bedrooms the temperature will decrease as the stove in the livingroom is what heats the house. While it is a cozy getaway for 2 people, it may be crowded with more that four. Also, no phone available for usage, so if you don't have cell service there's no way to contact anyone for assistance by phone in the rental.
Sarah K. Oct 2016
We had a wonderful time at Depoe Bay and at this house. It was well kept, clean and homey. The location is great, you can see the ocean and the waves crashing against the rocks from the dining room and living room. Very close walking distance to the local shops downtown. It was also really nice to have a hot tub for those blustery days the Oregon Coast is quite well known for. Would definitely stay here again!
Eric K. Oct 2016
Small home but comfortable furniture and beds. Hot tub either needs to go or move it outside. The chlorine level burned our noses and had us coughing the whole time we tried to use it. Required to keep the fan on 24/7 which was annoying. Did not feel we got our money's worth.
Manager Response:
We are sorry to see that the hot tub situation did not work well for this guest. We do understand that some people are more sensitive to the chemicals than others, and we find that opening the window next to the hot tub immediately after opening the hot tub cover will help eliminate the built up vapor more quickly. As there is no other place to put the hot tub, it will be remaining where it is at this time. Thank you!
Steven A. S. Sep 2016
The steps going upstairs are VERY steep, and there is an opening at the rail where a child or pet could fall.
Paul S. Sep 2016
While not ocean front, the house has a great view of the inlet and the whales that live there. easy walk to everything in Depoe Bay.
Brittany W. Aug 2016
The house is much smaller than the pictures, and the upstairs bedroom has slanted ceilings, so count on bringing a helmet or hitting your head. Overall this was an adorable little property. Very comfortable reclining couch. We even saw some whales while sitting on the porch.
Dan R. Aug 2016
Was a great location got to see the whales
Ellen K. Jul 2016
The house and it's proximity to shops and restaurants in Depot Bay was great. The whale feeding in the bay could be watched from the table in the front room.
Marnie E. Jul 2016
This is a great little house. We enjoyed watching whales from the front porch and our daughter loved the upstairs room. Being within walking distance of the shops and restaurants is very nice.
Jonathan G. Jul 2016
We had a great time,and would stay there again
Kerry B. May 2016
Great location. Effiecient use of space throughout the cottage. Lots of windows for natural light & some even offer small views of the ocean. Large indoor hot tub and gas FP were appreciated amenities after a along day of touring the area. Kitchen well equipped. Master bed and living room sofas offer comfortable rest.
Cindy D. Apr 2016
The area in Depoe Bay is Beautiful, the house is small and quaint. I do not recommend it for ppl with small children, but I do find it to be a nice little get away house. The view is ok, the area very peaceful and the town is wonderful! !!!
Phillip E. Mar 2016
We had a great time at this house and the surrounding area! The house was clean and the hottub was an awsome feature!! We loved the location that was close to the ocean and the shops.Stop in at the Chowder Bowl and get their Cannon Bowl of chowder!! It is the best in the west!! We look forward to coming back! Thanks to the people at Vacasa we enjoyed our stay!!
Jordan Y. Feb 2016
Overall, great experience.
Randall B. Feb 2016
The house is nice enough. The location is great. The management company seems to have a problem making sure the lines are clean, the electronics all work (5 remotes, switched from Dish to cable, the cable modem was not equipped with guide function, no instructions on how it works).
Manager Response:
Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry if you found some linens unclean upon arrival. We appreciate the feedback and have shared it with our property manager. They will ensure that the linens are completely clean for our guests going forward. Thank you again for choosing Vacasa.
Kristie S. Feb 2016
Clean, cute, perfect for a getaway. Close to good restaurants. If you are sensitive to chemicals the hot tub may be too strong with chlorine or whatever they use, for you. The price is good regardless of whether you use the hot tub so if you have other reasons for a visit to Depot Bay, we highly recommend this spot. Staff was responsive and very helpful (fireplace was tricky to get started but they got it going).
Jenelle E. Jan 2016
Because everything was "just right."

We took our two dogs to stay in this charming, cozy home, and were happy as clams. Kudos to the responsiveness of the owner because everything people had any complaints about in past reviews has been fixed: from the kitchen with the new stove to cook our "porridge" (steamed crab, baked oysters, and shrimp salad from the fish market), to the comfortable furnishings, and not too-hard and not too-soft queen beds: everything was perfect. There were new pans, new appliances, and everything was scrupulously clean.

Also, this place now has WIFI and cable! We were pleasantly surprised to find that this had been installed just a week before our visit.

Other extras not mentioned anywhere: soak in the hot tub with the main lights off and turn on the green light on one side of the room and the red light on the other, like the welcoming lights in the harbor. Don't worry, you can see out the blinds a lot better than anyone can see in. Down below the backside of the property, if you walk around the block to face 101, is a little grassy potty area for the dogs with doggy bags and a waste can; we utilized this frequently.

Only suggestion I have is to keep jets in hot tub on the low setting or off, as the chlorine in the enclosed space on high made us cough. The chlorine smell is a little overpowering at first but by the next morning we were used to it. Perhaps, as we did, when first uncovered after sitting awhile, open the window next to it to air it out for a bit.

Overall a fantastic trip and the weather even agreed with us, making it another worthwhile money-saving trip of going in the off-season, which we've been doing in past years. This is my sixth time in a Vacasa rental (two with friends, four under my name), and in the top two of my favorite places we've stayed.

Chelsea N. Jan 2016
TV/video did not work at all. Hot tub was dirty, low in water, and unsafe due to chemicals. I put my toes in, started coughing and finally got a bloody nose. Horrible.
Manager Response:
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to see that the hot tub was not properly prepared for your stay. This has since been addressed as well as the TV. We hope you otherwise enjoyed the home!
Michelle W. Dec 2015
Overall we had a relaxing Christmas vacation. In the evening we had no entertainment (such as cable, stereo or Internet) so bring your own.
Daniel C. Aug 2015
The bed mattresses were creaking a lot and they're a bit uncomfortable. The one thing we really needed for cooking was a mixer but there weren't any even though they stated that they had one. There are a couple stores that you could walk to but a grocery store is about a 10 min drive (maybe less). I enjoyed my stay overall. Would recommend! (Unless you want wifi, they don't have wifi. They also don't have a mixer.)
Manager Response:
Thanks for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to announce that the mattresses have been replaced and new internet and cable service is available at this home so that our guests can enjoy them while they relax. We hope you get to come back and stay with us again!
Joanne D. Aug 2015
We very much enjoyed this house. The couches were SO comfortable. The fireplace very warm and cozy.
The fireplace pilot wasn't working and my husband fixed it during our stay, as well as the kitchen sink hose. Everything was perfect then. The home is a great place to stay for access to downtown walking.
Ryan M. Aug 2015
If your idea is to use this house as a "home base" and venture out to nearby shops and to Lincoln city or Newport, this could work well. If your idea is to lounge around and sip mimosas... You could find better elsewhere.
Charles C. Jul 2015
We loved staying in the house. Our only concern was the bed. It was too hard for us, and there wasn't enough room in the bedroom.
Deborah L. Feb 2015
Let me start by saying I really loved how close we were to everything! You can walk right outside the door and down the street to the shops and restaurants in Depoe Bay. The rental is also pet friendly which was great! With that said there were more issues inside the rental that I was expecting. The ceiling fan looked like it hadn't been dusted in over a year. The hot tub was extremely over chlorinated which made it hard to stay in unless we opened the front door and the skylight upstairs for proper ventilation. The whole reason we picked this property was to cook together and save some money instead of splurging on every single meal. So it was a bit disappointing to find pans where the Teflon coating was completely shredded and chipping off. I don't know about you but I would prefer not to have those kind of chemicals in my food. We would have brought our own cookware if we had known the cookware provided wasn't in good condition. Also the oven is almost completely broken, the face of the oven where you press buttons to adjust the temperature was difficult to change. I kept pressing and it wouldn't change. It looked like other people had the same issue due to the fact the face of the oven was broken and starting to fall out of place. When we got there our "clean" dish towel had burn marks on it because someone had previously used it for cooking and burnt it. But why would the stuff put it back out? If this review would allow I would post pictures of all the issues. We searched the kitchen and no oven mits were provided. Over all we still had a great time exploring the surrounding areas but the accommodating where just okay.
Manager Response:
Thank you for this great feedback. We took your comments and worked with our property manager to improve the home for our future guests. Many items have been replaced, including new pots and pans for our guests to use in the future! We are glad that you had a great time and hope you come back soon!
John P. Jan 2015
So many wonderful things about this property -
- The hot-tub was super great... others had complained about the 'black spots' on the bottom (rust?)... but it wasn't noticeable while soaking.
- The location was awesome - blocks from EVERYTHING in town and a great view of constant waves crashing.
- Fireplace was a plus!
- Cozy little rooms suitable for two couples... having one couple and two friends led to one person sleeping on the couch, but the couch was super-comfy!!

Sheri W. Oct 2014
This was the best stay in Depoe Bay. We were right on the water and watched whales all day, every day! The local merchants were the friendliest around.
Manager Response:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your getaway to Depoe Bay!
Ashley T. Jun 2014
Hands down, the best part about this place was the indoor hot tub. But aside from that, it was a nice cozy little house within walking distance to some fun places. Would definitely recommend!
Manager Response:
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in this cozy home and that you appreciated the indoor hot tub.
Michael M. Jun 2014
Loved the house, and the hot tub. Ventilation wasn't the greatest, but we made do. Overall, a great stay.
Sue M. Apr 2014
We would stay here again in a second.Amazing ocean views, great location, easy walking to Depoe Bay and very centralized for several other coastal attractions.
Dana J. Mar 2014
Had an amazing stay, took full advantage of the hot tub.
Manager Response:
Thanks for the great feedback!
Steven R. Mar 2014
All necessities were amply supplied. Very clean and fresh. Nicely maintained. The hot tub in the main room with TV and fireplace was so nice. Very comfortable furnishings. So close and convenient to all of Depoe Bay and still very quiet and restful. We'll be back.
Michelle H. Feb 2014
Having the Jacuzzi right there was amazing for every ache and intimate glass of wine. Top bedroom is 'too hot', back bedroom ' too cold'.... February had odd temperatures, we couldn't seem to get the temperature right, but it was PERFECT, relaxing and enough 'left behind' stuff that we barely had to go to the store. Highly recommend this home for anyone looking for a weekend get-away :)