Virtual Tour
USA California South Lake Tahoe Spruce Grove Cabins Listing #1252

Spruce Grove Prospector Cabin - South Lake Tahoe, CA

75 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 2 1 King Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 1 Bedroom 1 Bathroom Dog Friendly 
3603 Spruce Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Dog-friendly cabin w/ shared hot tub, gas fireplace, and trail access

Step into this welcoming South Lake Tahoe cabin rental and you will immediately feel like you are on vacation! This Spruce Grove cabin offers you and your family a private space where you can play cards, watch some TV, or just kick back with your feet up and a good book!

This cabin shares its fenced yard, its hot tub, and the rest of the property with six other cabins: the Bear's Den, Snowshoe, Washoe, Steamer Tahoe, Field and Stream, and Pioneer. A group of up to 34 people can rent them all together as the Spruce Grove Cabin Retreat.

This rustic duplex cabin surrounds you in the warmth of wood paneling. In the cozy living room, find your spot on the sofa or in the wingback chair and watch one of your favorite DVDs on the flatscreen TV. You can even sit around the toasty gas fireplace and tell ghost stories at night. If you've run out of stories, no worries, because with WiFi provided you can always watch some scary videos online.

The kitchen is located right off of the living room and has a little breakfast bar area where the cook of the family can keep an eye on the weekend news and set out the waffle toppings without missing a beat! You'll be happy to know that the kitchen comes equipped with everything you'll need, including a refrigerator, stove, coffee maker, and even a toaster. There's plenty of cabinet space to store all the goods you'll need for the weekend, so there's no need to run to the market. On this level, you'll also find a full bathroom with a walk-in shower.

Head up the stairs in the evening to the master bedroom, with slanted ceilings and a comfy king-size bed awaiting your slumber. With a queen-size pullout sofa downstairs, this cabin will sleep two comfortably.

If you've never been to the Spruce Grove community, you owe it to yourself to find out what it's all about. There is plenty of common outdoor space, where you can hang out with old friends and make new ones, play a game of catch with the youngsters, or enjoy a crisp can of cola while relaxing at the picnic tables.

There's a shared hot tub for a quick soak after a strenuous day at the beach. Even your four-legged friends will enjoy running around. The entire community is fenced in, so the dogs can play freely during your stay. There are even clean-up stations throughout to ensure that the place stays tidy for all of the guests (an additional fee applies).

Once you decide to venture off the grounds, you'll find the endless Lake Tahoe beaches just under a mile north. And about a mile south are the ski slopes at Heavenly. In case you don't feel like making dinner at home, there is plenty of good food nearby, including Italian at Cafe Fiore or authentic Mexican at La Familia.

You and your family are bound to have a blast at this South Lake Tahoe vacation rental, whether you decide to get some sun at the beach all day or just play with the dogs in the grass!

*Please be advised the bandwidth for wifi in this area is limited and unreliable, so please plan accordingly!

South Lake Tahoe permit: #104153

Guests staying at a South Lake Tahoe rental must adhere to all City Ordinances. In addition to noise, trash disposal, and parking rules, maximum occupancy cannot be exceeded under any circumstance. Fines of up to $2000 will be imposed by The City of South Lake Tahoe, without warning, for any violations.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Gas Fireplace

Space Heater

Kitchen

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

Cable : Charter

DVD Player

TV

Outdoor

Hot Tub : Shared

Gas Grill : Private

Deck

Enclosed Yard

Patio

75 Reviews

Kory C. Mar 2018
I stayed here, years ago when the women opened the property. It doesn’t seem that the property is being looked after properly. The cabin may need an inventory of sorts done, to see what is needed. The Prospector was clean, thank you housekeeping, but I was not happy with the age of the bed/furniture (beyond its years). For the price that is requested nightly, I’d expect basic things to be in order.
Manager Response:
We have shared the recommendation for a furniture upgrade with the owner. Thank you!
Julie F. Feb 2018
Horrible customer service . I understand things happen but the no follow up is unacceptable.
What Happened - Check in , there is a smoke dector that was screwed into the wall , screws were to long and poked out of the stircase and cut my daughters hand . Caled and nothing. Hand is looking infected , and Ive called at least 10X
Manager Response:
We sincerely apologize for the disconnect that occurred after this guest called in that caused a delayed response. As soon as local management got word of what happened they reached out to the guest and replaced the screws.
Erin B. Jan 2018
This cabin has a great location in south Tahoe & the staff is very friendly. There is a free ski shuttle that picks up at the end of the street. On our first morning of skiing, we were asking Lauren about where to catch the shuttle, and she was kind enough to offer us a ride to the gondola in her personal vehicle. The cabin is very clean. The kitchen had everything we needed. The hot tub was great after a long day of skiing, and the fireplace was very cozy. Chimayo, Cafe Fiore, and Nephele’s are all within walking distance with great food & drinks, as well as friendly servers/bartenders. As mentioned in other reviews (and by Vacasa) the wireless internet connection is terrible- don’t plan to stream movies while you’re there, just hit the Redbox! But this was no big deal for us, we were there for the outdoor activities anyway. . .
Garlan H. Jan 2018
The cabin was so cute and comfortable. I really enjoyed the fireplace and how close the cabin was to restaurants and bars. We had brought our 2 dogs and they loved it! I liked how they allowed the dogs in the front fence area! My dogs also enjoyed all the squirrels they could chase!
Jennifer Z. Dec 2017
Ease of travel and proximity to town/ skiing. Great for 3-4 people. Mattress needs replacing and WiFi is inconsistent, as described.
Bring your kitchen basis a for cooking and some additional utensils (spatulas etc) so that you don’t have to do a full shop.
Walkable restaurants, shops, and galleries. Plenty of towels and linens! Enjoyable rental.
Gia Z. Nov 2017
Thank you!
Peter H. Oct 2017
There are great restaurants and breweries around. Heidis for breakfast. Worth the wait if there is one. It was great that people kept the gate closed so the dogs could run around. This is a great cabin. It’s got everything a kitchen at home would have. Very comfortable and clean. BBQ grill. Didn’t use the hot tub but others did.Can’t wait to go back.
Keilani B. Oct 2017
Our stay was only one night but the location of this property is great.
Lissa R. Sep 2017
We loved our stay at the cabin and it was the perfect space for us and the dogs. Truly loved it and would come back again. Great convenient area and property felt like home 💕
Linda S. Aug 2017
Overall, the place was clean, quiet, and private. For a place that allows dogs to stay, I'm sure it is quite a feat to keep things clean, so I was impressed by a lack of fur and smell. I'm athletic and I found the stairs to be a challenge. The bed was also sinking, but comfortable enough to get a good night of sleep. Definitely a simple, rustic place and very centrally located. I think it is slightly overpriced for what it is, but I would stay again.
Fineta S. Jul 2017
Quiet , beautiful & close to everything you need!
Christine N. Jun 2017
My boyfriend and I took our two service dogs to Lake Tahoe for the weekend and we all really enjoyed our stay here. The cabin was the perfect size for two people, or even a small family since there's a spacious master bed upstairs and a pullout sofa bed in the living room. The pictures were a little misleading since we thought our cabin had its own fenced in backyard which wasn't the case. The entire property contains a few other cabins/duplexes and that whole property is fenced but the gate stayed open our entire stay. Overall the place was very homey and comfortable. I would stay here again and would definitely recommend this cabin.
Aramic Y. Jun 2017
I highly recommend this place.
Josh B. May 2017
The place itself wasn't bad, it just was not what we expected. We were under the impression that we had a fenced in backyard, which is the whole reason we chose this property. It's a fenced in , shared, front yard with about 5 other houses. We were able to let our dogs run free while we were there, but had to keep them locked up when we left, which wasn't ideal. It's also VERY tiny. It would be fine for one couple who was hitting the mountains all day, but for our family of 4 it was way too cramped to be comfortable. However, it was very clean which is definitely appreciated.
Susan S. May 2017
My husband and I stayed for 4 days and while this place is definitely rustic and the cabin was small, it was just what we needed.
The grounds were much smaller than I expected but they were clean and well maintained, and very peaceful.
Some jets didn't work in the hot tub but I am okay with that.
The stairs are steep, expect a workout. Had all the basics that we needed in the kitchen.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
We'll for sure stay again.
Andrey M. Apr 2017
Basic but functional accommodations. Short-drive to California lodge and Gondola (Heavenly Resort).
Zachary P. Jan 2017
Stayed here for a ski weekend with some friends and our pup. Great location, good kitchen for easy meals, and a comfortable place to sleep.
Sherry A. Jan 2017
This was a great little cabin. It was pristinely clean and a lot of the furnishings and dishes, utensils, pots, pans seemed new. The fire was cozy and really heated up the place. It is close to everything- you can walk to a few good restaurants and to the lake. There always seemed to be a representative on site in case there were any problems (there weren't).
One thing was the gate was never closed so we never felt comfortable enough to let our dogs off of their leashes.
We would definitely come back.
Kimberly H. Jan 2017
Cute little cabin. Great location.
Mark A. Jan 2017
Nice place but well worn. Good location close to the casinos and Heavenly. For the time of year, a good value especially since they accept pets.
Brandon W. Jan 2017
Highly suggest using these cabins for your trip to South Lake Tahoe! The cabin we stayed at was very cozy. Comes with a fire place as your heater & has a heater available up stairs. The one we stayed at isn't the biggest but still very comfortable. Had a king size bed up stairs with a little extra room for a mattress? Then a roll out couch & with room as well to put a mattress on the ground. Comes with kitchen items & all that! Our bathroom was a little small especially the shower but we made it work. There is a hot tub which was really nice to have available to us. The location of the cabin is in a very quiet area at the end of the street. Very close to Heavenly Resort & the down town village area. The cell phone service & WiFi are TERRIBLE. We have Verizon & it is pretty non existence & had to go towards down town to really get anything decent. So that was kind of upsetting but I guess South Lake Tahoe service is bad everywhere?

I HIGHLY recommend staying here & will definitely be back!
LILLIAN S. Sep 2016
Loved the overall experience. We didn't want to leave.
Justine L. Sep 2016
I was hesitant about staying here because of some of the reviews but I'm glad I did. The property was clean and the inside is decorated in a cozy feel. The stove was very outdated and wasn't able to cook on it as much and the pots and pans and utinsels could have been better. Overall I will be coming back and staying again.. Just going to bring my household items!!
Efren Q. Sep 2016
Overall the area is very nice. You have beaches near by to go swimming. I prefer the North side of Tahoe. If you have a dog, this house is perfect for you.
Muse O. Aug 2016
I'm glad I picked this place to stay with my husband and our 3 dogs. It was close to everything including the dog-friendly beach! It was so nice to wake up to trees peaking from the window. Friendly maids added more smiles too. I felt some stuff needed to be updated but we all enjoyed our stay and I highly recommend it. We wish we stayed longer!
Barbara B. Jul 2016
We will be back, we had a great time and our children loved the freedom on the property.
LaDonna T. Jul 2016
This is our second stay at the Spruce compound. We stayed in the one bedroom two story duplex this stay (stayed in a two bedroom unit last time). Love this place - grounds are well kept - nice hot tub (although this time around we had a short visit and were not able to use it); I especially love that we can bring our dog - it's hard to find nice places that allow dogs. It's also a great location.
Samuel G. Jun 2016
Then place was great. Thank you.
Shannon H. May 2016
When we arrived on property it was relatively clean, but the bed looked unmade and dirty sheets leftover from the previous guests. There were no towels or other toiletries. I called Vacasa immediately and left a message. The only saving grace was that a property manager happened to be onsite shortly after we arrived. I had called the Vacasa phone number provided just 5 minutes before and left a voicemail. He did not announce himself as a property manager and I could have easily assumed he was another guest. I happened to stop and ask him if he was a property manager or knew how to contact one - to complain about the cleanliness of our home. He was very helpful. What shocked me was that around 11AM the day after we checked in I received a call from Vacasa checking in with us about the cleanliness. They never got the message that a cleaning crew had already come by to solve our problem. But was is the worst is that they received my voicemail the evening prior and decided not to call after 9PM. This is an issue I would want to be bothered after 9PM about. What were we supposed to do if the gentlemen was not present on property? Or if had not asked him for help - assumed he was another guest? Would that have meant that Vacasa expected us to sleep on used sheets for our first night? I am so disappointed.
Manager Response:
We are very sorry to see that this home had not been properly cleaned or stocked prior to guest arrival and that the Vacasa phone line was slow to respond. We are currently hiring more employees for the phones and in the field so that instances like this do not happen again.
Bridgette H. Apr 2016
Cute little home great for a couples stay!
Clinton A. Apr 2016

I should have listened to the other reviews about the lack of cleanliness. They did not change the sheets from the previous renters. They smelled, had stains, and dog fur. The "best" part was when we called, they were neither surprised nor apologetic about it. We are not coming back, as you can imagine.
Manager Response:
We are incredibly disappointed to see that cleanliness was an issue for this stay. We are very sorry that this was the case, and we did have new sheets delivered promptly after we were notified.
Walter F. Apr 2016
Enjoyed our stay here. Very quiet and peaceful inside the gated property plenty of rom for pets to stretch and run around. Close to all the South Lake attractions.
Carolina V. Mar 2016
We stayed at the prospector and had a great experience there. The place is exactly how it was described and very cozy! You can fit up to 4 people and the kitchen was well equipped.
I really appreciate the fact that they allow dogs and they even had covers for the sofa and poop bags. The small community was really nice, the landscape, bbqs and hot tub. We definitely will come back here!
Juli S. Mar 2016
Kitchen tools need improvement. Bring your own basics like salt and pepper and maybe your own cooking tools, no stock pot. Cabin is a little dark but pretty cozy. Bed was very comfortable and bedding was good. Gas fireplace kept the place plenty warm. Overall we were pretty content with the place. The price was right and we LOVE pet friendly places. Although the dog did NOT like the VERY steep stairs. We weren't too thrilled with them either but again, doable.
Erika M. Feb 2016
I will very definitely be back. I have been recommending Spruce Grove to family and friends.. Such a great place for a getaway with your pooch. Cozy and close to everything.
Ryan C. Jan 2016
Very old cabin, old furnishings, sofa sleep was almost unbearable. And the cabin didn't have central heat. Heat was controlled by a small gas fireplace
Manager Response:
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to see that you did not have a better experience. We will see what can be done to help the cabin be warmer in the winter, and we will advise the owner of your comments regarding the furnishings.
Brandi Bette S. Jan 2016
After reading the review from earlier in January where the cleaning staff hadn't prepared the cabin at all and the Vacasa staff assured the reviewer it had been dealt with and wouldn't happen again, I expected to see something tolerable, at least. The first thing I found upon entering the house was DOG FECES in the little cubby under the stairs. (When I first saw the cubby, I thought that would be a cute little place for my daughter to play... until I saw the feces!) In addition to that, when we pulled out the chairs from the dinner table, there were dried chicken bones and pieces underneath! The carpet color was very forgiving to dirt. It looked clean but there were crumbs and dirt all over. Also, there was no vacuum to clean it up. When I got into the kitchen to prepare dinner, all of the pots, pans and baking sheets still had dried food, sauce, crust, etc. on them. The dishes in the cupboard were filthy as well. Part of the problem is that there was no dish pan to wash the dishes in but all renters should clean up after themselves. But if they don't it is the responsibility of Vacasa to clean it before the next renters arrive. I had to scour the counters to wash off the caked on food.

I don't want to be totally negative. There were definitely some redeeming qualities: Within 20 minutes of when we arrived, Joe- site manager- came to welcome us and asked it there was anything we needed. I told him about the feces and he immediately cleaned it up. I told him about the baking sheet and he offered to bring a new one. He also brought over more dish soap, another sponge and some foil to put out on top of the baking sheet. He made sure we had enough bath towels, hand towels and wash clothes. He checked the closet for extra blankets and brought over an extra set of sheets in case there were none on the sofa bed. After we found the chicken pieces we asked for a vacuum and he brought that right over. He was really fabulous! Thank goodness for Joe and is customer service or our stay might have been horrible.

Not sure what happened but the Hot Tub was only 55 degrees when we tried to get in on Sunday. Luckily we had already gotten in Saturday and it was perfect.

The gas fireplace kept the whole place nice and toasty warm the whole weekend! We brought an extra space heater because one of the reviewers said it was freezing but we never needed it. Besides, there was actually a space heater in the bedroom closet. And the king bed was super comfortable! I just wish the place were cleaner so we could have given a better review.
Manager Response:
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry that cabin had not been properly cleaned again! We are very much aware of this situation and will take action right away. We hope you still enjoyed your time in Tahoe!
Monica D. Jan 2016
This place is definitely a cabin with the basics. It's nice enough for a "rugged" experience in South Lake. My only complaint was that we were looking forward to letting our toddler play in the fenced in areas, but were extremely disappointed to see dog feces surrounding the property.
Manager Response:
We are sorry to see that your child's play was hampered by other guests' dogs. These properties are dog-friendly, and we do ask that all guests clean up after their pets. We will do our best to get the grounds cleaned up so children can play without worry. Thank you!
Mary T. Jan 2016
I researched about 3 months prior to selecting this property. I didn't think about this at the time, but please be aware that businesses can pay companies to write favorable five-star reviews. That being said, I'll keep this short. Our cabin was dirty when we checked in. We couldn't understand how this passed for clean - human/pet hair all over, fingernail clippings, grease/crumbs/stains/trash in the kitchen and don't get me started on the bathroom (yuck!) The sheets were questionable (hair!) so we slept on top of them with our own blanket. After many, many calls to Vacasa for help, it turns out that their new housekeeper walked off the job, failing to clean our cabin after the previous renter! Gross! I cleaned with soap and water so we could use the restroom but it wasn't until 4pm the next day, Vacasa sent another housekeeper to clean for 1 hr, bring clean sheets/towels. We are hoping for some sort of compensation from Vacasa.
We drove 11 hours with two pets and it really put a damper on the first part of our week vacation. We were so disappointed. Also, no one is on property to enforce that the gates remain closed so they were open the whole time, which is not very pet friendly. The cabin/property is in need of serious updates! Our vacation did get better (S. Lake Tahoe is beautiful!) However, I would not stay at a Vacasa managed property again; there are too many other companies to choose from.
Manager Response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We apologize for the unfortunate housekeeping incident that occurred with your reservation and want to assure our guests that this is very rare for us. (We also want to assure our guests that we do not pay for any reviews; all reviews come from guests that agree to write their honest experience after their stay has ended.) We did refund this guest since the experience they had was less than ideal. This cabin is in a great spot in South Lake Tahoe and provides all necessities needed to enjoy it as a home-base during a Tahoe experience.
Katelyn B. Dec 2015
The cabin was perfect for my anniversary! It was 5 minutes from casinos and 5 minutes from Lake Tahoe and super close to snowboarding and sledding . The fire place warmed up the whole place pretty fast and the shower was a little small , but got really hot. The bed upstairs was extremely comfortable. It was perfect that we could bring our dog too, only made the trip even better. The only thing I would fix is the pullout mattress for the couch, other then that I can't wait to come stay again !
Lauren I. Nov 2015
This facility was so great and so accommodating and truly a neat place to enjoy Tahoe. I would recommend this place to anyone for a nice, quiet vacation.
SHUQIAO W. Oct 2015
The house was quite good, although the the surrounding was not pretty much like the pic. The people was nice here, and it was clean. But no working people in the night.
Jane -. Sep 2015
very comfortable bed
clear, easy to follow self help to do/don't do instruction
Quiet, and safe enclose area with a closed gate
Melissa P. Aug 2015
Great location, fantastically dog friendly, wonderfully maintained enclosed outdoor area. The cabin itself is small and very minimal. The bathroom is very small and could use some improvements.
Jerry H. May 2015
Great value for the price. Would stay there again.
Erin M. Feb 2015
So, let me preface this with we have stayed at Spruce Grove in the past, but it had been a while because we moved further away and haven't been back to Tahoe. That said....
We have 2 dogs we take with us and Spruce Grove is GREAT for the dogs. It's very close to everything and we were able to take the pooches on walks to the Red Hut Cafe for coffee. This trip there wasn't any snow for them to play in, but what are you going to do...we are at the whim of Mother Nature.
We stayed in the Prospector cabin this time because they were running a weekday special of $85/night. How can you go wrong? Overall the cabin was fine. We knew what to expect (not a lot of frills, but comfy). However, the bed is awful. Yes, it's a king, but it sags so badly in the middle that either my husband or myself ended up sleeping on the couch every night. On a positive note, Spruce Grove has recently added flat screen TV's and cable to the cabins. This was a chance from years past when there was a little tv and a DVD player. They also have wifi which works really well (we live in the country now and I have grown to appreciate decent wifi).
I'd say aside from the bed and the fact that there wasn't any coffee or tea in the cabin we had a nice stay. We cooked in most of the time and the kitchen was pretty well equipped with pots, pans, utensils, etc.
For $85/night it is a deal!
Manager Response:
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with us! This is definitely a great home for our guests and their furry friends to enjoy. Too bad there wasn't any snow this time! We appreciate the feedback as this is an important step in ensuring that our rentals are in good condition, up to Vacasa standards, and guest ready. I have taken note of the suggestions you made regarding the bed as well as the suggestion about providing coffee/tea, we want to make our guests as comfortable as possible and I will be notifying the proper person of the suggestions for improvement. We are pleased that you did notice and enjoy the upgrades such as the tvs and wifi. Also, that the kitchen was equipped with everything you needed and that you had a nice stay! We look forward to hearing from you when you begin planning your next trip.
Nancy D. Jan 2015
Since this is located on a dead end road, its very quite. Easy access to everything. Fenced in complex, makes everything feel very private and secure. Would definitely go back. Dog friendly, no dog smell, stayed in cabin 3603.
Tina E. Dec 2014
We were really happy with the location, very nice gated area for privacy and safety. The electric fire place was the only main source of heat it was freezing in the cabin, I would recommend bringing extra blankets or a space heater. The cabin was clean but did have a lingering pet smell which I should have known and been prepared as the cabin does allow pets. Otherwise the cabin was great for the price, I will definitely be booking again.
Veronica G. Nov 2014
We loved this place. And do did out furry babies. We will definitely return several times throughout the winter and will visit spring and summer. Well stocked kitchen. Very clean cabin. We will stay at 3601 next time!!!! Thanks again.
Beverly And Steve R. Oct 2014
Lovely location and quaint cabin. Dog friendly with nice fenced in area. Close to all Tahoe activities.
Carissa M. Aug 2014
We loved this cabin and will definitely stay here during our next visit. The hot tub was well kept and the grounds were amazing.