USA California San Diego County San Diego Listing #30725

La Playa Abode - San Diego, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
8 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 2 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed 3 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible cancellation options. Read our cancellation policy >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Adorable home with good space and breathtaking views of the city and ocean!

La Playa Abode would make the perfect home base for your next San Diego vacation! You will love the wonderfully designed interior that makes it feel very open and roomy. Relax in the living room overlooking the wonderful bay and ocean views. What really makes this home shine, though, is the outdoor patio featuring one of the best views in the whole area! Take in the ocean harbor, downtown skyline, and surrounding mountains without moving an inch from your vacation rental.

What's nearby:
You will quickly find that this location is hard to beat! The home is practically walking distance from the Shelter Island Pier and plenty of great restaurants including seafood and Italian. You will also only be a quick five and a half-mile drive to downtown San Diego and six and a half miles from Mission Bay. Gaslamp Quarter, the most famous district full of restaurants, shops, and clubs & Gaslamp District sign, is also six and a half miles away and it's a must-visit! Four miles away, SeaWorld San Diego is ready to provide endless, fun-filled hours with its unbelievable rides, shows and presentations, animal encounters, and more!

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen without dishwasher
TV with HDTV antenna
A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Off-street parking; ample street parking.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Iron

Kitchen & dining

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Water view

Media

Internet

TV

Wireless router

Outdoor

Balcony

Patio

Beach towels

8 reviews

Leticia N. Jun 2021
The directions we easy to follow to get into the house. First, the wallpaper on the walls can be a little overwhelming at first sight, but the view of the water makes you forget about it. The kitchen is very old but serves its purpose. The living room and dining room immediately cause a serene atmosphere because of the beautiful scenery of the boats entering the harbor. Plus, having a smart TV adds to the relaxing ambiance.
Second, the rooms downstairs are very clean and the beds are comfortable. Their is plenty of room to stretch out and feel at home. The restrooms are unique and a little dated adding character to the house.
The only downside is not having access to the backyard or balcony from one of the rooms. My son needed to get some of his energy out.
Plus I really liked the rule of having to take off shoes in house.
Mika M. Apr 2021
This was a great property, and all in all we had a wonderful stay! There are many pros, and also a few cons, which should be noted, especially for families.

The view and adjacent terrace obviously speaks for itself. The home is also situated in a perfect location, walking distance to the harbor, restaurants, and more. Only a 5 minute drive from Liberty Station and Point Loma University, and 10 from Ocean Beach. Really can’t be beat.

With that said, the home itself is old. Much of this didn’t really affect functionality, but things like the kitchen, which is carpeted (blek), no dishwasher, and oven isn’t the best. (And no grill, so not really a good option for cooking big meals.). Plumbing also a little questionable, just due to age. Definitely could use some updates, which would make a big difference for travelers, especially those like us with small children.

Additionally, the terrace itself - with a wide set fence and several stories up, is a bit dangerous for toddlers. To me, this should be noted in the listing. We ended up putting up our own barrier for our comfort, but want other parents to be aware beforehand. Additionally, there is no access to the terrace off the downstairs bedroom or the backyard, which was a bummer, especially with the kids. Lastly, the “2 parking spots” is a joke — the driveway is tiny, and at about a 70 degree angle, making it basically impossible to park even 1 car in it. However, we had no issue finding street parking within feet of the house, so it’s not the end of the world, but again, just something that should be noted / updated in the listing.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay immensely, and would love to come back when our kiddos are a bit older and/or if some updates are made. A great stay nonetheless, just some things that should be noted / considered! Thanks!
Martine G. Dec 2020
My first impression was just how thoroughly clean this home was. During this time especially, staying in a clean environment is important to me for our family. This home has old charm, was cozy & comfortable, and offered beautiful views. We hope to return again one day.
Marta d. Nov 2020
We stayed 3 nights in La Playa Abode. The house is charming, in a very nice neighborhood with a lots of restaurants walking distance from the house.
The house itself is definitely lovely, the view from the living room and the terrace is absolutely BEAUTIFUL. You can spend all your vacation just siting and watching San Diego in changing light of the sun.
I am giving 4 stars instead of 5 because the house is dated. Once you turned your eyes off this amazing view you will see the kitchen and bathrooms two generations old. It's well kept but it does feel dated - some will find it charming, we found it just old. We would have preferred more space to prepare food, a dishwasher (yes, we knew there was none) etc. It was warm inside even in November so I would think during summer it's really hot (I do not think there's AC).
Vasaca was very quick to reply and fix a little issue we had during our stay.
Overall we really liked our stay. We loved the view.
Elizabeth B. Sep 2020
House is cute and comfortable! View was fantastic! Disappointed that management would not give us a 1 hour early check in and blamed it on COVID. I’ve rented many vacation homes and this is first one where check out was 10 am ( too early)! Also 2 parking spots promised but drive was too steep and too small for our cars - would hang out over sidewalk. Not a good parking situation. Drive was blocked by six trash cans when we got there! Not a great first impression
Manager response:
Hello, Elizabeth! Thank you for staying with Vacasa. We apologize you were not able to have an early check-in; due to the COVID-19 situation, we are unable to offer early check-in as we need to ensure our Premium Clean protocols are being carried out to ensure guest safety. For the home you stayed at, ample street parking is available for guests to use, and driveway parking is not guaranteed due to the steep driveway. We are glad that the home was otherwise enjoyable, and we look forward to having the chance to impress you!
Annette P. Aug 2020
Loved the location and view. Nice neighborhood and adorable, comfy house. Very chill and relaxing and plenty of room.
Patrick B. Aug 2020
Was a lovely home and excellent location. The neighborhood was calm and easy to navigate. The only thing I had an issue with was the response time from the owner. Best to just contact customer service if you have any issues.
Manager response:
Hello Patrick, We apologize for the issues getting in contact with us as we are handling a higher than normal guest communication. This is not our standard high level of guest satisfaction. We hope you will give us another chance to impress you in the future!
Kevin B. Aug 2020
And a perfect view!