USA North Lake Tahoe California Carnelian Bay Listing #48837

Little House Big Views - Carnelian Bay, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
4 reviews
Max. occupancy: 2 1 Queen Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom 2 dog max  (30 lb weight limit)  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Family & Dog-Friendly Guest House w/ Free WiFi, a Kitchenette, & Lake Views

While this charmingly cozy chalet holds many family memories, it is now ready to provide all-new memories for you and the family dogs. Enjoy a filtered view of Lake Tahoe from this adorable home that also includes a well-equipped kitchenette and an inviting living area with a wall of large windows. And outdoors, you'll find bench seating for enjoying the sights and sounds of the surrounding forest, especially in warmer weather.

What's nearby:
Take a walk down a nearby path and view Lake Tahoe from seven levels of mountainside porches on the property. A mile-and-a-half north, explore Carnelian Bay's public, rocky beach where you'll also find several local businesses and restaurants. Or check out Kings Beach and additional shops and restaurants, about five miles from your door. Less than (lucky) seven miles away, check out the casinos in Crystal Bay, just across the state line in Nevada. Visiting snow fans can find cross-country and downhill skiing options throughout the area including Northstar, 13 miles northwest, and Mt. Rose, only 20 miles northeast in Nevada. Additionally, the Heavenly Resort is accessible on the Nevada side of the southern state line just 33 miles away.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Kitchenette with a minifridge, cooktop, wall oven, and microwave
Up to two family dogs (30 lbs. max.) are welcome with a small nightly fee
A small family can be accommodated

Parking Notes: Left side of the garage and the further left slot

Ski Shuttle Details: TART

Please see web sight for more information: https://tahoetruckeetransit.com/

County permit number: STR21-81043

You must be 30 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Children

Children's games

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Space heater

Kitchen & dining

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Water view

Media

Internet : Charter

TV

Cable

DVD library

DVD player

VHS library

Wireless router

VCR

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf Nearby

Outdoor

Balcony

Deck

4 reviews

Karen Q. Jul 2021
I booked this property from Sunday to Thursday. Upon my arrival, I found the home to be uncomfortably hot. The owner's book says to turn on the fan and open the windows. Unfortunately, the only fan in the house didn't work and the windows/sliding door didn't have screens so I couldn't leave them open. There is a door hidden behind wooden panels, that has a screen but for whatever reason, the owner didn't think it was advantageous to put a lock on that door. Ultimately, the only way I could cool down the house was to leave the patio door completely open. I am a single, petite, woman traveling by myself so this felt very unsafe. I wasn't expecting to have to choose my safety or comfort on this trip, especially considering the amount they charge. Of course, this was completely unacceptable and I chose to leave the property for my own safety.
At such short notice, I was unable to find another accommodation in the area so I had to spend a hot and sleepless night there on a half deflated blow up mattress (yes that's the only bed in the house). Upon my departure, I attempted to lock the front door using the unlock code provided to me by Vacasa. I didn't work. If I was to stay there the entire time, I guess I would have had to be okay with having my personal belongings and myself at the mercy of whoever wandered onto the property.
From the time I arrived until the time I left, I was in contact with the property owner as well as Vacasa regarding the circumstances. Vacasa was non-apologetic nor forthcoming with information on how to request a refund. I'm extremely disappointed in the quality and poor customer service for such a high-dollar property.
Manager response:
Karen, we are very sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay. Please know that the safety and comfort of our guests are very important to us. Our team inspected the property upon your departure and confirmed the fan is working, the windows can be opened and the doors are locking. The owner will instal screens on the windows soon. While we understand this doesn't make up for the disappointing experience, we hope the refund issued shows our commitment to your satisfaction and our intention to make things right. We hope we can have another chance to host you when the time is right. Thank you!
Carolyn J. Jul 2021
We loved this tiny place. It felt so loved and had cds and vhs from the 70s and 80s. Very quiet and calm. We couldn't figure out how to turn on the ceiling fan nor how to turn off the bed heater. But the space was adorable. Nice neighbors and close beac access w as lkable to save the trouble of finding parking. We highly recommend.
Karl W. Jun 2021
Driving up to the house, we were floored. The property and the house are beautiful, The house inside and out looks brand new. The interior is quintessential old school European alpine flair. We will definitely look to book this house very soon. The owner has taken exceptional care and pride in this property.
Blaine & Joyce G. Jun 2021
We loved everything about this little gem!
If you're looking for quirky, quaint and a lot of sweet extras, this is the place! We loved everything about it!!!