Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Northern Oregon Coast Rockaway Beach Listing #549

The Salty Salmon - Rockaway Beach, OR

81 reviews
Max occupancy: 16 3 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 4 Twin Bed, 2 Sofa Bed, 1 Crib 5 bedrooms 3 bathrooms Dog-friendly 
822 N Pacific Ave, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136

Dog-friendly getaway, with ocean views, the beach is just one block away!

This custom-built, dog-friendly vacation rental features outstanding ocean views, plenty of space for all your family and friends, and an upper-level deck ideal for outdoor dining.

What's nearby:
This home has a great location one block from the soft sands of Rockaway Beach, with abundant views of the sea right from the deck. The nearby town of Rockaway Beach offers guests adventures like boating at Lake Lytle or fishing for Dungeness crab, as well as the selection of shops and restaurants within walking distance of the home. Manzanita and Cannon Beach have more shops and restaurants to explore, all within a half-hour of home.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dogs welcome for a small nightly pet fee A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.






Children's games

High chair


Washer/dryer : Private

Kitchen & dining






Water view


Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter

Nearby activities & attractions

Board games

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private


Gas grill : Private



81 reviews

Sandra K. Feb 2020
Second row from ocean. View was very nice. Home was comfortable. Hot water was not adequate to use spa size tub.
Would definitely rent again.
Jessica M. Nov 2019
This house was perfect for large family gatherings and our dogs. It was conveniently located to town and the beach access.
Misty P. Sep 2019
The house is absolutely beautiful. There was plenty of room for the 7 of us. We loved the view of the beach from the deck and the closeness of the beach access to the house. Lots of pots and pans to cook at home and the grill was perfect! We couldn’t have asked for a better home away from home!
Lindsay B. Aug 2019
Nice home that is made for a large group, had a great time. Plenty of room, towels, and easy walking and parking. Clean, close to beach. thank you.
Francisco E. Aug 2019
Great house for a big family. Beautiful view to the beach.
LAVELLE F A. Aug 2019
Great location. Kitchen well stocked. Easy accessibility to beach.
Glenn R. Jul 2019
We really enjoyed staying in this home where we had a grand family reunion and created great memories. It was located few steps from the beach which is great. It had all the amenities expected in your own home (cookware, plates, cups, kitchen utensils, spices, towels, etc). While it is not a five star home (it is more like Holiday Inn) I recommend this place for the value, nice ocean view (you see the ocean above the rooftops and between the homes in front), proximity to the beach, and overall utility (it does the job and a bit more). It was a close drive to grocery stores and restaurants as well.
Martina M. Jun 2019
Cute house between ocean and lake. Worked well for my family.
Close to the beach and very accommodating. Once the renovations are complete, this will be a perfect location for anyone looking to have fun and relax.
Toni T. Nov 2018
Multiple families and all our children and pets were able to gather and have a great time. The cooking utensils left something to be desired, but we muddled through. Generally speaking all of our needs were met and everyone was happy!
Tana V. Sep 2018
House was clean, well supplied for our large group, easy to keep clean and close to the beach. TV in master bedroom was advertised as 2nd TV but was NOT use able. Would have liked a few kids toys/games for grandkids when they visited but over all a great place to stay.
Manager response:
We apologize for the mistake with the listing and have corrected it so the home is listed as having one TV. We are adding some kid games to the unit and appreciate the suggestion. Thank you!
Dixie V. Aug 2018
House was clean and close to the beach! Kids loved the bird that came to visit every morning
Dan C. May 2018
Plenty of bedrooms
Edwin C S. Mar 2018
Everything you and your bunch need - and then some! Steps to the beach. Great views from the upstairs family room and we’ll-stocked kitchen. Comfy and convenient to everything. Had a great time!
Bev G. Jan 2018
This spacious house is great for a group. Comfortable beds, plenty of space, and just steps from the beach. Nice partial ocean view, and walking distance to just about everything.
Steven D. Nov 2017
Very Happy with the stay. Great house, great service
Gilbert M. Oct 2017
We had a great stay. The place is very spacious. There ended up being 7 guys, plenty of room for all! Thanks
Cindy G. Sep 2017
There is a wide stairway in the house. We brought our baby gates, but they would not fit. We ended up pushing one of the sofas over and had to move it each time someone went up or down.
Jenica P. Sep 2017
The house was very roomy, open, and clean. It's located right by the beach so all you have to do is cross the street and you're there. It was a great place for our huge family and we would go there again.
Jerry H. Sep 2017
Dirty sheets dirty dishes dirty laundry. Would not recommend. Says it sleeps 16 but much smaller than the video tour suggests. On a better note the weather was the best we've ever had at the beach. We go often but will try another rental property next year
Manager response:
The property manager has addressed the housekeeping issue, and we apologize that it was ever an issue at all.
Bret B. Aug 2017
The decks are small and the rooms more outdated then the pictures. Great location only a half block to the beach. We had a lot of fun. Place just isn't as advertised.
Karen P. Jul 2017
Great location! Easy walk to the beach. We enjoyed our stay here very much.
Thomas S. Apr 2017
We had a wonderful weekend. living room has a great view of water and natural sunlight makes for some fantastic ambiance. If you have multiple families or atleast 13 people in yur group then I highly recommend this property.
Catherine E. Dec 2016
Great open space of kitchen and living room. Great windows on west side of house (3 sliding doors). Hosts are very generous with *lots* of towels, gracious with holiday decoration policy, nice mini view of ocean, great access to beach. Nice size fridge, lots of dishes and cookware, and basic condiments/spices. Great price; we'll try to rent this home for our next family visit!
Jessica S. Oct 2016
We had a great stay! Good for a big group!
Wendy B. Sep 2016
This house was a wonderful space for our family reunion. There are a few repairs that need attention, but overall it was great! We'll be back!
Marut S. Sep 2016
Great place to stay at
Kevin C. Sep 2016
Weather was nice.
Judith M. Aug 2016
The best part of this rental was the location to the beach and town of Rockaway.
And the major problem we had was the ants takeover of the kitchen area. This was finally resolved after an employee of the company brought ant traps. Also we never did get a call for early check in which would've been helpful.
Lawrence T. Jul 2016
Was looking for a place for adults, kids and two dogs. Found a winner. Not nirvana but very comfortable, quiet, and near to so much.
Fred P. Jul 2016
It was a great experience and a great time/weekend, first time we had ever used Vacasa or even rented a home on the coast. Very simple and easy experience, no hassles or problems to speak of. Vacasa answered my phone calls and responded to all my questions even how silly my questions may have been. Looking forward to planning my next trip.
Somsak P. Jul 2016
This is not the Hilton (slightly outdated inside) but this is definitely a great place for large gatherings. They provide plenty of towels and stuff in the kitchen for 4 families to do what we needed to. It was very clean, which is very surprising since it is pretty much a beach house (think sandy and wet kids running in and out all day). Having no shoes in the house policy is probably a big reason why. It was literally a stone's throw away from the (real sand) beach.
Jeff S. Jun 2016
Had a fantastic view. For our family reunion it was great.
Leah S. Apr 2016
We found the property be charming, until we recognize there are ants in the kitchen, cobwebs, dirty under the beds, and a load of laundry left for us to fold in the dryer
Manager response:
Glad to hear you enjoyed this charming home! Our property manager has been notified to address these concerns about any pests in the home, as well as the cleanliness, so assure that this is resolved for our future guests. We hope to host your next vacation soon!
Klaus H. Sep 2015
We enjoyed our time very much, beach is very convenient even for tots but there were quite a few things needing repair & replaced, just ordinary maintainence needed.
Michelle D. Sep 2015
We will be back. Great house, great location.
Joe P. Sep 2015
We had a great time. Everything was there to do dinners and BQ worked great.
I would recommend this place to someone else. Hot tub was nice.
Wil H. Aug 2015
This house has a great setup and amenities for a large group. Everything was perfect, which made for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. This was my second time staying at this house and I would go back again.
Charlyn B. Aug 2015
This was not an amazing property, but it did have quick beach access and was centrally located to other places we were planning to visit. Bed linens are older, towels don't match, but there are plenty of them. Mattresses in the kids area are not awesome, but they are bunk beds. We had 11 people in our party, so there was room for everyone. 3 big bathrooms were great, with plenty of hot water. We didn't try out the hot tub, so I can't review that. The place met our needs, but there were little things like broken blinds, screen doors & the deck off the master bedroom has a hole in it. There is a distinct smell of mildew right as you walk in the door. All in all it was fine, we made memories and had a good trip.
David A. Aug 2015
Great house for large group - we had 16 between the kids and adults. Location was convenient to lots of great beaches and fun towns.
Lisa K. Jul 2015
The Great Escape house had plenty of room for 11 of us and we never felt like we were stepping on each other. We all had beds but the sofa sleepers are not meant for adults, maybe just small children. The location was amazing, just steps away from a beautiful beach with very few people. The hot tub was an added bonus! There wasn't much for indoor entertainment and the Internet didn't work our entire stay but we did enjoy a movie in the evening in the living room. This house is very comfortable and we really enjoyed the deck and outdoor seating.
Beverly G. Jun 2015
We loved the big roomy light upstairs area for dining and game playing. The kitchen was very user friendly. Super close beach access. We would definitely come again.
Jenniffer T. Jun 2015
They had everything we could need and more. Big and roomy. A typical rental in need of a new mattress or two but very usable. 12 of us and we never ran out of towels or hot water! Lovely views and the beach is just steps away. We never saw a soul while playing on it. The hot tub is not as pictured and is very small.
Kelly & Anna C. Mar 2015
Love the location, less than a 1 minute walk to the beach, a 5 minute walk to shops in town. We had 4 adults and 5 teens and we had plenty of room. The house has 3 bathrooms which was very nice. We were very impressed with the Vacasa maintenance man. We couldn't get the hot tub to get hotter than 80 degrees. We called Vacasa and the maintenance man was there within 40 minutes! Problem solved! We would recommend Vacasa and this house to a friend and we will definitely be back!
Manager response:
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy our property manager was able to come out to fix the hot tub issue in a timely manner and you were able to enjoy your vacation. We look forward to helping you plan your next great vacation!
Joseph A. Mar 2015
The only problem was that the hot tub didn't work, the temp never raised above 63.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that the hot tub was not working properly during your stay. Our local property manager does schedule a spa check to take place before and after each reservation to make sure it is in good condition for our guests' arrival. We do wish that you would have contacted us during your stay so we could have addressed the issue. We hope you were able to enjoy the fantastic ocean view during your time with us and were able to have a wonderful trip to the Coast. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Lindsay M. Dec 2014
My friends and I came here to celebrate the end of our first term of graduate school. We intended to say indoors and just enjoy the storms coming in from the ocean. Unfortunately, the living room wasn't quite comfortably furnished enough for a cozy beach getaway, at least not to fit all 11 of us, though the couches present were comfortable.

The other BIG issue with this place was the musty-mildew smell in the bottom floor. There are two conjoined rooms with three bunk beds, where five people slept, and that was where the smell was the worst. It seems like there might be water damage and mold growing, from the smell of it. My guests were, as a result, really uncomfortable.

As we were getting ready to check out, my guest and I were looking to clean the place up a bit. We noticed that there weren't any paper towels or cleaning supplies beyond dish washing fluid to clean with. I've stayed in other Vacasa rentals before and they've always had such items on hand. We did the best we good cleaning before we left, but were limited in what we could do. We weren't horribly messy or anything, but we had cooked there and the counters did show it a bit.
Tiffany F. Nov 2014
The great escape really is just that. It's a quirky home that's kind of just what you imagine for a beach home. It has a lot of hidden nooks and crannies in it that make it more fun. One of the bedrooms is an open space/doesn't have a door -- but we made it work. The home is pretty magical though. I truly enjoyed the stay. Hot tub!! HOT TUB!! It was magic.
. Nov 2014
The Great Escape is located close to the beach and has a beautiful view of the ocean! We also loved the private hot tub. This isn't a luxury home, but it is a perfect place to make memories with family and friends. I will be coming back to Rockaway!
Manager response:
Thanks for sharing your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed this fantastic home. We agree that the location is fantastic and the hottub is a real treat. Please come stay again and thanks for choosing Vacasa!
. Nov 2014
This is a great escape! I absolutely enjoyed my stay. The pictures do not give justice to how lovely this home is. The kitchen is well-stocked. The house is neat and clean. The bedrooms are big and so are the bathrooms. The beds are very comfortable. The towels were even folded into nice little shapes (I'm a sucker for those things). There are plenty of extra towels and blankets, should you need them too. Vacasa does deliver! The only thing that I think is important to note is that the bedroom with the two bunk beds does not have a door. I wouldn't call it a bedroom. The second bedroom with the other bunk bed is more like a panic room. These rooms are adjacent to the W/D which can be problematic if you decide to wash clothes at night. It would be too noisy for the occupants of these rooms. Other than that, I absolutely enjoyed my stay. The house is beautiful. Rockaway Beach is beautiful. I certainly recommend this home, and I do hope to go back again someday!
Donna C. Sep 2014
We rented the house for a 16th birthday party. One Mom, a little dog and 8 teenage girls. The house had the perfect layout for our party and the kitchen had everything we needed to feed this large crew.
Vacassa was great to work with when I had to change our reservation to a bigger house. The representatives were very helpful and accommodating
Danita P. Aug 2014
We had our family reunion here and could not have asked for a better spot. While you are not right on the beach, you can see the ocean from the balcony and, best of all, you can hear the waves. So very soothing and restful. The house itself is perfect for all ages. There is a sand pit right by the front door that our boys delighted in for the entire stay and the young adults loved the hot tub and the casual atmosphere. The kitchen is well equipped for a vacation house and the layout of the house was perfect for a large group. While it is true the house is not "new", it is well maintained and very homey. I would definitely recommend this property for anyone who is looking for a place in Rockaway Beach.
Manager response:
Thank you so much for the thoughtful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to your next visit!
Judy B. Mar 2014
As a large family this house was perfect for all of us. Plenty of room for all, clean and well kept we woke up to a beautiful view of the ocean and a very short walk to the sand we look forward to staying again . The property management people we spoke with were very nice and helpful in answering any of our questions we had since it was our first stay . Thank you for a wonderful time.
Judy M. Jul 2013
We recently stayed at Great Escape in Rockaway. The house was very clean and across the street from the beach and within walking distance to the shops. Vacassa waas easy to work with.
Orie K. Jul 2013
Very nice place to spend our time. Close to downtown and just a row if houses between us and the beach. We would stay there again.
Jackie P. Nov 2012
We enjoyed our stay over the Thanksgiving holiday! The house was clean, ready and nicely furnished! We appreciated the well-stocked kitchen and the extra blankets, etc. Plenty of space for a large group and the ocean view through the houses across the street was great! The reservation process went smoothly and the staff was helpful and friendly!