USA Washington Puget Sound Bainbridge Island Listing #10117

Cheryl's Bainbridge Chalet - Bainbridge Island, WA

Take a Virtual Tour
33 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Comfy, Dog-Friendly Bayfront Home w/Stunning Ocean Views near the Beach!

Leave behind your troubles and escape to this comfy dog-friendly home on Washington's Bainbridge Island. Gorgeous accommodations, along with plenty of charming sights to take in nearby, make your next getaway an easy choice. Enjoy the beach near your home with your friends and loved ones before heading back to relax. The deck has a stunning view of the water between the trees, while the A-frame structure and wood paneling inside provides a nice, rustic atmosphere.

A gas stove for cold winter nights and a comfy reading nook where you can curl up provide a truly welcoming atmosphere. During your stay, watch for birds or soak in the original clawfoot tub. The full kitchen makes it easy to warm up leftovers or create a home-cooked meal from scratch. And don't forget to include your furry friends - up to two dogs can stay in this vacation home for a small nightly fee.

Place your reservation today and secure a breathtaking getaway on Bainbridge Island!

Nearby Services and Dining Options
Cafe within 16 miles. Casual dining within 16 miles. Dine-in restaurant within 16 miles. Gas station within 29 miles. Supermarket within 26 miles.

Places to Visit During Your Stay

AttractionDistance From Home
Seattle Center16.0 Miles
Space Needle16.0 Miles
Chihuly Garden And Glass16.0 Miles
Gas Works Park20.3 Miles
Woodland Park Zoo21.0 Miles
The Golf Club At Newcastle28.3 Miles
Benaroya Hall14.9 Miles

Things to Know
Free WiFi
Full kitchen with a dishwasher
Electric vehicle charger available
Three beach chairs are available for guest use
A Pack-N-Play and a high chair are available
A 4x4 is required to reach this home in winter
Age-appropriate games are available for younger guests
*Be aware this is a rocky, Washington State beach that is only accessible during low tide, and there are steep steps down to the beach
A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: There is driveway parking.

Other permit number: 45495

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.





Children's games

High chair


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Water view



Internet : Century Link


On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private

Beach chairs


Parking & access

Electric vehicle charger

33 reviews

Ethan M. May 2021
This was our fourth stay here....this time we were pleasantly surprised to arrive to a remodeled kitchen!
Isabel K. Apr 2021
Cheryl’s place is unreal! The clawfoot bathtub, stunning views of the puget sound and sunset, steps down to a private beach(!), huge windows for natural light, great puzzles, fireplace, and comfortable beds.. it made for a perfect retreat. For fans of family cooking, the fancy kitchen and barstools are a plus. I recommend sitting down by the beach at sunset for wildlife night I saw an eagle diving for a family of ducks (sad but fascinating to witness), and another night I saw an otter feasting on a fish within 10 feet of where I was sitting! Magical.
Alexander B. Sep 2020
We loved our stay at Cheryl’s place by the water! Beautiful home, tranquil setting, great access straight to the water. A ton of light and deck space — this was an absolute dream place to explore Bainbridge from. Would highly recommend and hope to return.

Only feedback is not to Cheryl and her great home, but to the property manager Vacasa — seriously, do they ever answer a message? Wanted to figure out how the garbage works since we were there for a week, and what days the bins are to be left on the street, and also if we could extend...3 days of messages and no response.

Aside from the non-communication from the rental manager, this is a wonderful place and cannot recommend more highly.
Alyson B. Aug 2020
The view from the house is amazing. We loved watching the water everyday. It is very peaceful. The previous reviews are accurate, and those complaints have not been fixed. The steep stairs do lead to the water. You need water shoes, there are a lot of barnacles on the rocks. To get to the tiny beach you need to walk waist deep about 25 feet. There are no places to sit at the end of the stairs or after wading in the water so bring your own chairs. It is beautiful when you get there. Since the photos, there is a new deck, BBQ, landscaping, and the bedroom balcony is not enclosed. We would come back knowing the limitations. It is very beautiful.
Manager response:
Hi Alyson, thank you for your feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the location! We take this feedback seriously and please know that local staff is available to assist with any issues you encounter while in the home. Please note new photos are scheduled to be taken soon so we can update the listing photos. We hope to have the chance to host you again. Thank you!
Kathleen M. Jul 2020
The good:
The view from this house is spectacular. The deck is marvelous and the BBQ grill works like a dream. We spent most of our time on the deck and it was lovely. The owners have clearly spent a lot of time on the landscaping and exterior of the home, and it shows! The little creek it looks like they’re building is going to be a great addition, and we got to watch deer grazing in the area next door.

The shower and bath are both great. The beds are really comfy, as is the couch! There are lots of spots to curl up and read or stare at the water.

Despite what the info says after you’ve booked, there is strong and reliable Wi-Fi.

The house was SUPER clean. Vacasa was extremely responsive and jumped to help whenever we had even the slightest issue.

The less good:
It’s only revealed after you’ve booked, but there are 92 (VERY steep in places) steps down to a mostly non-existent beach. It’s not a beach you can hang out on or even fit a chair on in high-tide. Also, I would not recommend carrying kayaks or floats up and down those steps. They get nearly vertical in places, and you just won’t be able to carry things up and down safely.

Inside the house, watch your head when you first walk in, as there is a dangerously placed cabinet right at head-height as you walk through the laundry room to the rest of the house.

Lots of things inside the house are in need of repair or replacement. The most pressing is the upstairs bathroom pocket door. It’s not on a track so it’s quite an effort to push it back and forth and it makes a tremendous squeaking noise along with the scraping of wood. Also, there is a giant window that looks out into the rest of the house, and since there’s no curtain or blinds or any way to block it, everyone in the house can see you when you’re in the small bathroom.

There is no coffee or sugar in the house, so make sure to bring your own.

Overall, for the amount of money we paid for three nights, I would have expected common things within the house to be in better repair. Overall though, it was a nice getaway.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Kathleen! We are sorry to read you didn't have a perfect experience. The homeowner is currently replacing the refrigerator, and we will be sending along your suggestions for their consideration as well. Thank you for choosing Vacasa, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Ryan M. Jul 2020
Really enjoyed our time here. Beautiful simple cabin with excellent views. Mind you the beach is rocky and comes and goes with the changing tides.
Andrea P. Jul 2020
The location of the house was lovely but the inside could stand a deep, thorough cleaning.
Manager response:
Hello, Andrea! Thank you for your feedback and for bringing your cleanliness concerns to our attention. We are working with our local staff to address the issues in this home and welcome this as an opportunity to improve the quality of experiences we provide for our future guests. We hope to host you again!
Roy H. Mar 2020
The Chalet was very clean and very spacious. It was easy to get down to beach and get some fresh air. We were so glad we were able to bring our dog with us as well.
There was wifi even though it said they didn't have it. I know that it is supposed to be a get away a chance to unplug but a TV might be a good idea??
Cathy G. Feb 2020
I loved the sun streaming onto the couch allowing a perfect nap, reading and viewing area!
Christina J. Feb 2020
We enjoyed our stay at Cheryls Chalet. The home had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We brought our own wood but we knew that we needed that ahead of time so it was fine.
Great views! We would go back!
Joyce E. Dec 2019
We enjoyed our stay at Cheryls chalet in almost every way! Nicely furnished, clean comfortable place! I didn’t read the fine print about needing to bring firewood for the wood burning stove though. It was 52 degrees in the cabin when we arrived. The “heater” heated the unit to a “high” of 62! My husband went the next morning at 7 am to town to get wood. It was $5 for a bundle. I suggest spend $5 and make the guest happy - or put the part about firewood in big letters at the front of the guest instruction!
Amy G. Nov 2019
Relaxing hideaway and lovely to be on the water. Beds were cozy.
Elizabeth M. Aug 2019
This home is at a beautiful location, with beach access, amazing view from the deck and floor to ceiling windows. There's a cozy reading nook and lots of places to curl up and talk or read a book. There are games provided for fun family times and the location is very near shops and restaurants. I would be remiss, though, if I failed to mention that the house could have been better appointed by the management company; we were short on laundry soap and had no soap for dish washing and no bags for trash. Otherwise, though, it really is an excellent little retreat.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Elizabeth. We’re delighted to hear that this home suited many of your vacation needs. We apologize if the home was not properly supplied with our starter-kit items. We will certainly follow-up with our housekeeping team to see that this home is adequately stocked of laundry tablets, dish soap, and trash bags. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Allison B. Aug 2019
Stayed here for a girls weekend and it was perfect. It's a lovely view to wake up to and a watching the sunset down by the water was wonderful. Close to shops and food but also has everything you need to prepare a dinner in-house. Highly recommend for a relaxing break from city life.
Gabriel S. Aug 2018
The island was a perfect escape to unwind after a couple of amazing shows at Safeco. The venue was a short walk after a beautiful 35 minute ferry ride. The cottage was nice and equipped with the internet. Wild blackberries provided breakfast and the swim in the sound was super revitalizing. I'd recommend Cheryl's Chalet to everyone.
Howard W. Aug 2018
We stayed for a few days in late July. The house is cute, remote and quiet -- all things we were looking for. Our stay was good but not great.

We knew we were booking an older hosue and a cabin at that. It could have been a bit cleaner I think, in and out. The driveway down tot he house from the main road has some major ruts. The shower door does not close all the way. It can be muscled shut from the outside but not the inside.

There is a cute reading "cubby" area: upstairs which my kids liked, , but there was an electrical outlet with not cover on it in the same space. That should be repalced immediately for obvious reasons.

We had an issue with the clothes washer while we were there which was promptly resolved by VACASA. Thank you

So all in all, a good stay and cute cabin but a good day or two of cleaning and maintenace in and out should probably be scheduled.

Manager response:
We appreciate these comments and are using them to make improvements. The owner and property manager are brainstorming solutions for the driveway and shower door, and the outlet has been covered. A deep clean is scheduled for after the busy season. Thank you!
Joseph D. Jul 2018
gorgeous home
Ronda T. Jul 2018
This was the first time we've spent extended periods of time in Bainbridge and we couldn't have picked a better place to do so. The view was beautiful from the deck, the beds were comfortable, it was quiet, and we loved the bookcase and the game options as well. We even traded a book! We'd definitely recommend this location to anyone wanting a quiet home to relax, chill, and enjoy time away!
Lauren L. Jun 2018
Great directions to ice cream and local favourites, close to everything with wonderful accommodations and well kept grounds. We loved the board games and no tv. Robins were nesting above the side door sconce, the kids watched mama bird feed the babies for hours. Thanks for hosting!
Amanda A. Mar 2018
Perfectly sufficient. I needed a couple of nights away from the city for a couple of nights. But I wanted a few and a comfy place if I was going to escape the city. Just in case, here are some things about the property to highlight: NO TV (but there is internet), the steps to the water are VERY steep... and its much further down than you think. Moreover, the immediate access to the beach is a sharp 10' drop... not exactly dog freindly. The beach itself is barnacle and rough stone riddled... while not bad... you should be aware. The drive down to the house is steep and UNPAVED. So with enough rain... it could be difficult getting in and out (the write up only cautions winter weather - though a good rain could also be a problem).
Pat L. Jan 2018
This cabin has a beautiful view but is in need of some repairs. The kitchen has lots of dishes but limited pots and pans. Also very limited cooking utensils. The oven buttons were difficult as the 0 and 9 for setting the oven are not operational. The kitchen sink hose is broken. Two of the skillets had to be washed before using as there was food stuck to them.
There is not a lock on the main floor bathroom.
The windows offer a beautiful view but they are very drafty in the winter.
There are several basic maintenance issues that need to be addressed such as a missing doorknob on laundry room door.
We also had to go to the neighbors and ask them to keep their dog indoors or stop his barking as the first night we listened to him outside for at least an hour.
Large table with ample chairs for all to sit at table.
Needs a television!!
Good supply of games to entertain everyone.
Manager response:
We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this guest may have experienced. Please be assured that we have followed up with an inspection to address the items listed in the review. We are currently working with the owner in regards to the door knob and drafty windows. We will be adding a number of games to the home. We have addressed the pans with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening again.
Patty L. Jan 2018
Had a great time at property. Really set up with things you need. Loved the bed! Be use to bring extra indoor shoes for "shoe off policy" and some soaking salts for the wonderful bath tub. Thanks for letting us bring our dog, but stairs all around to get in, not good for older dogs with hip issues.
Darcey M. Dec 2017
The view at this home was just lovely. The big dining table and master bedroom were quite nice, and the beds were comfortable.
Delton C. Oct 2017
Had a very quiet and pleasant stay. Having no TV gave us time to do a puzzle and play some games with our adult kids. The view from the deck and beach were very inviting.
Deborah A. Sep 2017
Quiet location. Great beds. Well appointed kitchen. Very close to great hiking trails through lovely forest of Gazzam Park. Lovely landscaping. Many steps to get into house so not appropriate for guests with mobility issues.
Matt H. Sep 2017
Overall I would recommend it. It's a very nice house with plenty of beds and a beautiful view of the ocean. There are also steps down to the beach.

We had some issue that will hopefully be fixed by the time another person rents it out. The propane tank was empty and we had to drive all the way back into town to get it replaced/filled which is pretty annoying because its somewhat of a long drive. There was a terrible smell coming from behind the dish washer which we think was a dead mouse. Also, keep in mind that there is not TV if that's something that you need.
Manager response:
We very much appreciate receiving this review. We have scheduled a contractor to check behind the dishwasher for anything that might be causing unpleasant odors. We have also purchased a backup propane tank for guest use. Thanks!
Raymond J. Sep 2017
House was nice just needs maintenance done and need to be informed when contractor is showing up. fix dishwasher and toilet and dripping tub stay would have been much better. I was there for work not play or would have been very upset showing up with contractor there if my wife and kids were there. My trip got cut short due to the project we were working on not being ready and paid for a knight we did not use. I asked if we could use it in the next week or so to finish are project and was told no. We said we would work it out when house was open.
I let the management company know on first day. I understand no refunds but with the problems with the house I would think they would have worked with me.
Brian L. Sep 2017
Peaceful, comfortable, homey and relaxed. Our family loved it!