USA Gulf Coast Texas Galveston Listing #11033

Pointe West Resort: Southern Comfort - Galveston, TX

Take a Virtual Tour
100 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms Sleeps 5 comfortably  No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Pointe West Waterfront Condo on Beach with Shared Pool & Hot Tub

Show your family and friends the ultimate Texas getaway with this elegant penthouse on Galveston Beach. Soft sands, warm Gulf waters, and amenities including a shared pool and hot tub (for an additional fee upon arrival) combine to make this a fantastic vacation destination.

Located in the Pointe West Resort, this villa is part of the resort's Beach Club, providing easy access to rolling sand dunes, spacious sun decks, and the cool waters of an infinity pool. There's plenty to do nearby, from sunning on the shore to exploring lakes and lagoons. If you need a change of pace, hop in the car and head to Galveston down the road for shopping, dining, and the thrilling rides of Schlitterbahn.

Soak in the shared hot tub to relax after a long day out before heading inside. You and five of your friends and family can enjoy this condo's modern kitchen, comfy living room, and amenities like free WiFi and a flatscreen cable TV. Of course, it's hard to find anything that competes with the ocean views from the shaded balcony.

Start your next Galveston getaway now and place your reservation today!

* Contact Vacasa for our special Snowbird rates!
** Please note that this home's elevators are unreliable and that the home is not suitable for elderly guests or those with limited mobility.
*** Beach Club bands will be $15 per guest over three years old to access all amenities. This fee is charged by the POA of Pointe West and is payable at the Beach Club.

Due to local rules and regulations, there are certain restrictions around the pool occupancy and times of use. No reservations are required, but occupancy is limited to a first come, first serve basis up to 50% occupancy. Specific information will be provided after you book.

City/town permit number: GVR04045

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Common areas

Gym/fitness room

Game room



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Ocean view


Water view


Beach access





Wireless router

On-site activities

Hot tub : Shared

Pool : Shared

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared

Foosball table

Children's pool




Shared Charcoal Grill

Parking & access


Safety & accessibility

Accessible bath/shower



100 reviews

Gerard S. Jan 2023
Whatta view. Wish I had more time. Lol
gabrella p. Jan 2023
The location was wonderful. Extremely clean. Very private. I loved everything about it.
Jeffrey D. Jan 2023
We watched wildlife from the back deck.
RICHARD b. Dec 2022
The condo was wonderful and roomy. There are some maintenances needed. soiled stained carpet, entry door to patio has some closing issues. If it was summer, there is a long walk to the pool. Walking on the beach requires a long distance on a walkway.. We never were able to get the TV's to work.
EDDIE S. Nov 2022
The view is amazing
Chris A. Sep 2022
I enjoyed my stay vin the community but it was a must to keep shoes on because the floor had not been mopped and the pull out was dirty so my guest slept on the couch.
Manager response:
Hi Chris, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.  We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! With that said we will be sure to address the cleanliness issues you mentioned with the housekeepers. Cleanliness is among our highest priorities so we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. Thank you again for sharing this review with us.  You were great guests and we hope to host you again soon.
Ben F. Sep 2022
The condo is fine, but the carpet in the master bedroom is absolutely disgusting and soiled. Would be easy to replace as it’s a small square footage. Be prepared to keep shoes on until u literally get Into the bed! Would not rent again for this reason.
Manager response:
Hi Ben, While we are glad you liked our home, we sincerely apologize for the cleanliness of the floor. Your feedback has been communicated to the local team and homeowner so the flooring can be addressed. Thank you again for sharing this feedback with us. If there is anything we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know.
GLENN F. Jul 2022
The view and location are perfect but the unit was dirty, the carpets are stained and we had ants in the kitchen. Needs TLC… bathrooms were clean and the beds were comfortable but the whole unit seems beat up.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Glenn. We apologize for the cleanliness concerns and passed your comments to housekeeping for improvements. Thank you!
Dawn H. Jul 2022
Loved view and amenities
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Dawn. We regret we don't have more information regarding your specific areas of concern, as we are always happy to know how we can provide a more pleasant stay for our guests. We hope we have the chance to impress you in the future. Thank you.
Justin K. Jun 2022
We loved our stay!
Eddie E. Jun 2022
We loved it! The thermostat went out while we were there and it was immediately replaced. Beautiful location, great home, and great service!
Ryan N. Jun 2022
The condo was located the furthest you can get from the pool, which offered piece and quiet with an outstanding view of the ocean. The walk was short to the pool and/or ocean.
Overall the condo was tidy and clean but needs some TLC. There are many things overdue for replacement/repair. All the furniture is very outdated and overused with so many wear stains it made it feel unclean to sit on. The lamp in the living room was broken and the pull out sofa mattress had so many stains on it, it was unusable. The microwave is worn out and takes more time than normal to heat food. The tub filled 1/2 way with water while showering and required you turn off the water during the shower to let it drain and the sink did not plug fully in the main bathroom.
The bedroom carpets have still not been replaced as commented on reviews in August 2021, and are in very poor condition with even some burn marks. In the master bedroom one of the blinds is too small for the window and there are no curtains. No sleep in mornings there! It would have been nice to use the closet instead of it being filled with an old tube TV, empty boxes, and old doorknobs along with other random items. The washer and dryer worked nicely and we’re in good shape. The patio was nice but the furniture was very uncomfortable with just your basic plastic chairs.
During the trip the elevator made terrible sounds like it might fall apart any minute when used. I think this is a building maintenance issue, seems to be a common concern.
Overall it worked for my needs and I didn’t spend a lot of time in the condo. I probably would look for something a little more modern and taken care of in the future.
Manager response:
Ryan, thank you for your review, we sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your time with us. Please know the local manager has addressed these concerns since your stay. The sofa cover has been replaced and the owner has been made aware of the furniture and carpet condition. Please know that our guest services team is available 24 hours a day to assist should any concerns arise during your visit. We hope you choose to stay with us again!
Peggy F. Jun 2022
I thought the condo was adorable. A little bit of a musky smell but I’m sure that comes from being so close to the water. The pool was great and so was the food at the Club. Would love to stay again.
Jennifer S. Mar 2022
Pointe West condos are a great location to stay beachfront without the chaos of Galveston. This condo needs a lot of repairs and work to update the place.
Nancy T. Mar 2022
The condo was neat and mostly clean. The edges of rooms could use more cleaning attention. But, the bathrooms and kitchen were clean. The furnishings were comfortable. It was easy to access the beach. Fortunately the elevator worked for the week we stayed, although it sounded like it was struggling for its existence every time we used it. The location made for little traffic and few people on the beaches. The quiet was enjoyable. Getting to town was a twenty mile drive on a good road. Easy to do.
Sue R. Feb 2022
It’s away from the main amenities so quieter than other spots in the complex. Great gulf side views.
James S. Jan 2022
We have stayed at several Condos in Pointe West. Most have been upgraded throughout. Southern Comfort is an acceptable place to stay but shows wear even though everything was functional.
Manager response:
James, we hope you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful home. We apologize for any aspects of the home you found in need of TLC and appreciate your feedback as a means to improve. We hope to host you for a truly wonderful getaway in the future!
Harish g. Nov 2021
We love the fact that we get to watch sunrise from the bedroom and walkable distance to the beach. We enjoyed our stay very much and would like to come back soon. The only complaint is that the condo was not clean when we came in. Very old furniture and dust everywhere. We had to use our own bedspreads and towels. There is a lot to change and keep it clean!
NANCYE G. Oct 2021
Really enjoyed our stay at this beautifully decorated condo. The view is fantastic.
We hope to return again soon in the future
sandra p. Oct 2021
Love this condo...only complaint is that you have to walk over to another set of condos to gain beach access and the walkway over only has ramp. Other than that...perfection.
David B. Oct 2021
It was further from town than we were expecting but once we got out here I can see why it is so popular in the summer. The beaches are much nicer and less crowded.
Lisa P. Oct 2021
The condo was in good shape when we got there and we didn't have any problems.
Shawn and Erin M. Aug 2021
The condo is not only super clean but comfortable ideal location just a hop skip to the water. I will definitely be looking forward to my next stay
Raghda B. Aug 2021
The location is good. The condo is ok as far as space, however it needs a lot of maintenance. It's old. It has mold around d the shower door of the master bathroom. Both carpets in the master and secondary rooms have stains. The doors to the balcony are hard to close, they get stuck. The TV system in the living room is very old fashion with so many controls,an ancient box and is put in an armoire that takes space in the small living room whereas they can hang it on the wall. It's complicated to manoeuver. The balcony can easily use ceiling fans as despite being on the beach it wasn't always breezy.
The owners were good in supplying beach towels and other things. However there aren't enough dishes, only 6, no oven mitts, only 2 dish towels,no pans for the oven, not enough cutlery. We were a couple with two young children, one of whom has severe allergies, hence we couldn't go to restaurants especially in this surge of the delta variant. So we had to run the dishwasher everyday eventhough it wasn't full.
As to the complex in which the condo is, pointe west beach club, the pools are not enough for this huge complex and they are very small. Although the rent is not cheap, we had to pay to be able to use the pools which is not fair.
The beach was ok and clean.
I don't know if I would return though. But overall it wasn't a bad experience.
Manager response:
Thank you for helping us improve Southern Comfort for the best guest experience. The shower is re-caulked, the balcony door has a new knob, and the kitchen inventory is in the process of being restocked. The homeowner is currently looking into new flooring to replace the carpet. We hope to see you again, Raghda!
Albert C. Jul 2021
Linda H. Jul 2021
Overall Nice place. A few things needed attention inside the condo. Furniture (Sofa and 2 chairs) could use a good cleaning. Carpet in Master Bedroom was stained. Drain in the Master shower was not attached to the shower floor and would just come off when showering, a safety issue. Overall everything else was fine. Kitchen well stocked with all the necessary things, etc.
Manager response:
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We passed your comments along to our local manager to review and we appreciate guest’s preferences as a means to continually improve. We look forward to hosting your next stay!
Joseph B. Jul 2021
We enjoyed the whole experience
Trudy P. Jun 2021
Very clean Loved the view
Juanita B. Jun 2021
My friends and I had a wonderful Girls-Only vacation. Everything we needed was within walking distance. I loved having easy access to the beach and pool. Your restaurants served great food and delicious beverages.
John S. Jun 2021
This condo is top notch, with everything anyone could want inside. Beds are comfortable, nicely equipped kitchen etc., but the real gem is the lanai! What a gorgeous view! Being on the top floor, we noticed that we were far enough away from the ground that bugs were simply not an issue. We spent hours on the balcony during our week there. We will return for sure!!
Shannon W. May 2021
We took our first “fam of 4” vacation here with our 3 and 1 yo and the place was perfect. Not too fancy that we were nervous about the littles ruining something but very well outfitted with everything we needed. We did bring DVDs for the bedrooms, as they don’t have cable, and we also brought the the roku as they do have good WiFi. Be sure to bring your own cooking oils and spices, which is typical for a rental. Plenty of towels and blankets and pillows though. We will most def be back!
Mike R. Mar 2021
Everything was easy from booking the reservation to leaving on the day we checked out.
Theresa P. Feb 2021
We enjoyed our time in this condo. All was as presented.
Matthew S. Jan 2021
My wife and I took our toddler to Southern Comfort over the MLK weekend. The experience was peaceful and relaxing. My son absolutely loved it.
Gabriel P. Jan 2021
We have been staying here for a few years and we love it.
Stephen E. Nov 2020
Location & Beach is great! Nice for secluded get away!
Gary V. Nov 2020
It was wonderful
Kevin M. Oct 2020
The condo is pleasant and suited our needs.
Jessi C. Sep 2020
Property is generally worn down. As if the owners decorated and stocked the condo when it was built 15+ years ago and have left everything as-is since. Couch is worn and dirty. Furniture missing missing knobs. Lamp switches don’t work. Outdated televisions in the bedrooms. Lacked amenities such as aluminum foil and coffee filters. Furthest building away from Beach Club. Found hair in the bed and upon washing sheets discovered large urine stain on mattress in the 2nd bedroom. A/C air vents were dusty and moldy. Great view and neighborhood. Has the potential to be nice but there are better alternatives.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Jessi! We are sorry to hear the condition of the home did not meet your expectations. We will ensure that all areas of concern are addressed appropriately in an effort to provide a more pleasant stay for our guests. Please know that our guest services team is available 24 hours a day to assist should any concerns arise during your visit. We appreciate your feedback and hope to provide you with a more comfortable experience next visit!
Brenda D. Aug 2020
Very nice Condo with all of the updates with Large rooms. The hide a bed mattress needs to be replaced.
William L. Aug 2020
There was so much to enjoy. We may need another trip this fall.
Holly H. Jul 2020
This was an excellent condo for our beach weekend! We truly enjoyed the amenities of the condo and the community! Nice large balcony and loaded kitchen. I definitely recommend!
Katie C. May 2020
Great resort, beach club was pretty much closed and you had to schedule a time to go due to Covid. Condo was well appointed, balcony could use new furniture as both loungers were broken. Would book again!
curtis H. May 2020
This was a crazy weekend, we thought it would be a relaxing getaway but everywhere was packed.
Karen R. Apr 2020
It was perfect for us.
Kat L. Mar 2020
Perfect for a few day getaway! Nice and isolated from the business of galveston, yet not a long drive away!
Monicia A. Mar 2020
I took my daughters, sister, and mom for a little getaway before things got super crazy for spring break or shut down over COVID-19. This was the perfect place to get a peace of mind and isolate from the world. The kids love the amenities. I loved being able to have a beach view and beach access at my fingertips!
Ana B. Feb 2020
We were only here a short time but it was a great condo.
Jennifer V. Feb 2020
Rented this condo for a quick, one night mommy getaway with the BFF. It was beyond our expectations and we cannot wait to come back. Well worth every penny.
Jerry B. Feb 2020
Condo was very clean and with comfortable furnishings and bed. Wonderful location, however carpet in both bedrooms had several stains on flooring, the blinds on balcony door would not raise, only two small juice glasses in kitchen cabinet, no pot holders, knob to switch light on/off on light fixture in living area was missing, no wine opener, and stove had missing exhaust vent. Otherwise, without these minor deficiencies this property would be easily rated a 4 or 5.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback, Burt. We appreciate you comments and helping us improve for our future guests. We hope that these items did not cause to much of an inconvenience for you and your guests during your stay. We have brought you comments to the attention of the local staff and will see that they are addressed. Thank you!
Damian M. Jan 2020
The beach was empty.
Tyler E. Nov 2019
It was nice listening to the waves on the patio.
Amanda M. Sep 2019
We love coming after the busy season.
JUDY S. Sep 2019
The unit was not as nice as the previous one we stayed in earlier in the year. It had a bad musty smell in the unit. Need more than 3 glasses to drink out of. So we bought plastic cups. Carpet was not attractive. The unit was clean just not a good smell about it.
Manager response:
Hi, Judy! Thank you for your review. We have added more glasses to the home and scheduled a carpet cleaning. We believe the musty smell must have been from the storm as there is no musty odor at this time.
Mohammed W. Sep 2019
We enjoyed ourselves very much
Michael Z. Aug 2019
Really enjoyed the view.
Amy H. Jul 2019
cable was out on one of the tv's
Manager response:
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Cable is only available in the living room. We apologize for any confusion and we hope to host you again soon.
Martin M. Jul 2019
A nice table on the patio would be a nice touch
Madison H. Jul 2019
This was just what the dr ordered for a relaxing few days.
Jennifer B. Jul 2019
Love the clubhouse pool
Donald M. Jun 2019
We loved it
Erica B. Jun 2019
Pointe West resort
Laura H. May 2019
Awesome condo with a spectacular Beach Biew. I will be back❤️
Stephen E. Apr 2019
Perfect retreat between Spring Break & Summer!
Nelda L. Oct 2018
Loved the view from inside and outside! Great weather to enjoy the patio! Comfortable home.
Julie D. Sep 2018
Fully equiped kitchen, beautiful views, well maintained unit made for a wonderful beach getaway. Thank you!
Arthur L. Sep 2018
Great view of the Gulf
Molly G. Aug 2018
Great location, not overly crowded!
Paul S. Jul 2018
We loved our stay and were thankful our elevator worked, while the elevator at the pool and elevator at the unit my sister and family were at didn’t. The beach was clean and Southern Comfort was just that, comfortable and well cared for. It’s not likely we’ll be back though - no fault of the condo - the mosquitos were ridiculous! Our 2 year old got eaten alive (using regular Off not Deet) and every time we got in the truck, day or night, at least 50 mosquitos would flood in! Great place, horrible mosquitos.
ANITA Y. Jun 2018
Even though there was a tropical disturbance, we really enjoyed our stay. We loved that the condo was a little further away from the pool so it was quiet and very private. They really keep the beach looking great too! We recommend this place!
Corrie D. Jun 2018
This home is very nice, comfy and relaxing. Everything we would need was at our fingertips. We enjoyed our stay here.
Linda J. May 2018
We had a wonderful time at this condo. It was close to the water and had a great view from the balcony. Condo is on the 3rd floor and I think we were the only ones on that floor since it was May. Weather was great also. I would recommend this condo.
Susan D. May 2018
A very comfortable condo just a short walk from the beach. We enjoyed watching the birds and listening to the waves from the balcony. The club house and pools were nice.
Sam H. Apr 2018
The condo was very nice and well kept. It’s just a little far from the clubhouse is only complaint. But it’s a 10 min walk and not a big deal, I would stay here again. FYI the grills at the clubhouse don’t work well in the wind, so bring tinfoil to seal them or cook in your condo on the stove, the on-site bar and grille is ok but not open mon/tues and slightly pricey for what it is.
Elma T. Apr 2018
Excellent Ocean view, quiet, kitchen, designated parking and elevator is a plus.

Very relaxing!!!!!
Kristen T. Apr 2018
Short trip with my mom and kids. It was so fun. Everything was perfect. Beach was great, visited both pools, loved then both. Cooked everynight in the condo. The trip into town was enjoyable and stores very convenient. The property was great. As a runner I enjoyed the clean beaches and walkways. Will definitely stay again.
Stephan C. Mar 2018
Just as nice as advertised.
Glenda K. Mar 2018
We very much enjoyed our time here. Came just the week before spring break, so it was peaceful. I think only one or two other families were staying there as well. Nice covered garage under the condo, just a few steps to the elevator, and the elevator just a few steps from our door, so even without luggage carriers, unloading and reloading the car was no problem. Would love for the condo to be closer to the ocean, but we could still hear the waves breaking most days, and there was nothing between our balcony and the beach. The condo was very nice, everything you need was provided. Beds were very comfortable, and the furnishings quite pleasant. Ease of reserving and accessing the property was a plus.
Brian S. Mar 2018
Clean, spaceous, quiet, great view, great location, connvient access to private beach.
James S. Feb 2018
Place is well kept, clean, great view, and comfortable. Distance from Galveston is 20 miles but less traffic. Make sure you find out where to park and where shared facilities exist since that wasn't provided to me and made for the unfortunate circumstance.
DAVID S. Jan 2018
Great condo unit. It's a little isolated - quite a ways to town but that also makes it quiet and peaceful. Beach is about 1/.4 mile walk. Beautiful view.
Leigh P. Nov 2017
This condo at Pointe West was very comfortable and had a nice beach view. Also very close to the boardwalk. Nice furnishings and the beds are very comfy.. Being able to bring your dog is a definite plus.
Derrick W. Nov 2017
I love the place and would definitely come back.
Angela D. Oct 2017
Enjoyed the quiet, the gorgeous view and greatly appreciate that it's not only pet-friendly, but larger dogs are welcome. The condo is nicely furnished. I'll surely stay there again!
Lisa M. Oct 2017
Loved the stay, the beach has easy access not crowded, the home was clean and set up comfortable. Didn't get the time to check out the club, but definitely will next time. Highly recommend.

Kelly I. Oct 2017
The balcony on this unit has the most incredible view of the sunrise. Evenings on the balcony could not be better, the ocean view and breeze make you not want to leave. Unit is clean and spacious, perfect for a weekend away!