USA Oregon Rockaway Beach Ocean Rogue Inn - Rockaway Beach Listing #11804

Ocean Rogue Inn Unit 8 - Rockaway Beach, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
65 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 1 King Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly oceanfront studio w/ lovely views - the beach is your back yard!

Escape to the Oregon Coast and stay in this comfy, dog-friendly studio with a great oceanfront location, two private decks, lovely views, and immediate access to the sand and water.

This rental is located in the Ocean Rogue Inn, right off Highway 101 about a mile south of the heart of Rockaway Beach and directly adjacent to the beach and the iconic Twin Rocks. In the town of Rockaway, you can pick up groceries and grab a bite to eat at one of the charming restaurants, or you could head about 15 miles away to Tillamook for more options. The 22-mile drive south to Cape Meares takes you around beautiful Tillamook Bay, so you can make a stop at the cheese factory for a tour and some samples. Nehalem Bay State Park is only 14 miles to the north. This second-floor rental offers comfortable accommodations any time of year with a kitchenette, free WiFi, and cable TV. When it's sunny and mild, relax on one of the two private decks while you take in beautiful views, listen to the crashing waves, and breathe in the sea salt air. Bring the dogs along for a small nightly pet fee, and end your days with a warming fire in the firepit. Book this studio today and experience the beauty of the Oregon Coast!

What's nearby:
You'll have a number of terrific restaurants within two miles north of the home anytime you need a break from the kitchen. Be sure to visit Diamond Beach and Rockaway Beach when you want to enjoy a day at the water.

A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Kitchen & dining





Water view






DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private


Beach towels


65 reviews

Mellisa V. Nov 2021
I love the location, the bed is nice and big but the couch is weird lumpy and very uncomfortable. The fireplace did not work, some of the stove burners did not work. It smelled like dog pee. All and all I had a nice time love laying in bed looking at the ocean.
Manager response:
Mellisa, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of this home. We apologize for any discomfort the couch caused. While it is in good working order, each guest has their own unique preferences. We make every effort to be transparent with our listings, including the amenities provided. This home does not advertise a fireplace available for guest use. We are sorry for any disappointment this caused. We are so sorry for the maintenance issues you experienced with the burners during your stay and for any cleanliness issues you endured. We appreciate your feedback as a means to improve and hope to host you again soon.
Gerald M. Oct 2021
It would have been nice if the fire alarm didn't go off. We weren't even cooking. Porch light was out, scary steps to the upstairs without light. Fireplace did not work. Other than that, I loved the place and had a great time with my wife and dog.
Manager response:
We are so glad you stayed with us, Gerald, and apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. The fireplace is not an advertised amenity since it is not available. The fire alarms are new and tested correctly, so we are surprised to hear you had any problems with them. We will be sure to keep an eye on them. The porch light has been replaced. Thank you!
Dave E. Sep 2021
Don't go here.
Manager response:
Hi, Dave! We appreciate you submitting your feedback! We're sorry to hear that you did not find the home fitting for you. We attempt to be as transparent with our listings as possible and provide accurate and current photos, amenities lists, and descriptions so that guests may make an informed choice about what they are paying for and make the right decision for their needs. Thanks for staying with us and we hope for another opportunity to impress you with a much more enjoyable stay!
Gael W. Jul 2021
Someone needs to invest in a new sofa bed, and a new shower surround, the mattress is terrible. The rental was very clean, though the walls I noticed had dirty spots around, and window and patio door channels could use a good cleaning, it would save money in the long run. We thought the doggie supplies was a nice and thoughtful touch, as well as the people beach towels. I would stay here again, though all the furnishings are old, as long as I don't have to sleep on that horrible sofa sleeper.
Manager response:
Hi, Gael. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you overall enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you found the sofa sleeper to be uncomfortable and we have shared your review with our local staff. The windows and patio door channels will be cleaned as well. We are happy to hear you otherwise enjoyed our home and hope to have another chance to impress you in the future.
Carolyn H. Jul 2021
Unit 8 is on the second floor of the building with a wonderful view of the ocean. The table seats 4 and I had relatives coming for 3rd of July dinner. Including the deck chairs, I was able to cook dinner and feed 10 people in the living room. Food was laid out on the dining room table. Instructions for getting the cable TV to work were great at explaining exactly which controller to use. Very nice short walk to the beach.
Lisa S. May 2021
the positives: We loved the views and sipping coffee and watching the waves on the deck. Great games and DVDs were available. Dog friendly, with an easy-to-use kitchen with everything that you need.

Areas to improve: The bed was way too soft and had a big divet in the middle of it. The bathroom shower had paint that was peeling and the water pressure should be checked.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Lisa. We are glad you enjoyed the views and we appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement. We will follow up with our local team to address these areas of needed attention, and we hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Ellen C. May 2021
Ocean Rogue apt 8 has a wonderful private feel about it. Yes, the building, appliances and bathroom are old but it was spotless. They obviously take care to keep it clean. There are 8 units on the property all together fairly close so there are people about all the time but no problems at all. Everyone controlled their dogs. The actual ocean is a fairly long walk, it always seemed to be low tide and it is a beautiful wide beach. If you are someone who likes shiny and new pay more and go somewhere else. But this a great price fo ocean front.
Eileen S. May 2021
This is a homey simple place w ample kitchen, and a lovely 180 degree view from windows and porch. Great yard with fire pit, bbq and net
Nicholas S. Mar 2021
Beautiful view (unit 8) and on the beach. Place is in need of some serious reinvestment. Aging fixtures, leaky faucet, lumpy couch, ratty exterior woodwork etc. Been coming here for years, but not what it was.
Manager response:
Hi, Nicholas, thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the view during your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the state of the home and will pass this along to our local team to work toward improving the home for future guests. We hope to host you again, for a more enjoyable stay in the future!
Jared R. Feb 2021
This place was gross. It had a great veiw and thats it. There was crusty dog poop in the carpet. The dishes and utensils were sticky. Old beer boxes left by the previous renter. Cob webs everywhere, and the shower was disgusting.
Manager response:
We are so disappointed to read about your experience, Jared. The carpets are scheduled for a cleaning, and housekeeping has done a thorough cleaning of the home to address the oversights. This is certainly not our standard, so we do hope to be able to impress you in the future!
Dave H. Oct 2020
The location is great, with some view of the ocean and a pleasant, short walk to the beach. The studio was plenty large enough for the two of us and our dog. It is in pretty good shape except for the shower, which had painted tile that was peeling. The only real inconveniences were no dishwasher or soap for washing dishes and no water on the day we checked out. Overall, this place provided a pleasant few days.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. This home, as per the listing, does not come equipped with a dishwasher. All our homes come with up-to-date pictures and amenities listing so that guests can choose the home that is right for them. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope you choose to book with us again!
Susan R. Jul 2020
We stayed in # 8 and loved that it had a balcony with chairs and beautiful views from the windows. The beach is nice with a view of twin rocks and awesome sunsets. This place provides a great place for families to bbq, eat, have a fire and enjoy time together without worrying about children being to close to the ocean.
Beth M. Jul 2020
Wonderful unit on the most beautiful beach. Great value for money. The unit was spotless and nicely decorated but the location is the best bit. Right on the most amazing beach. Having a beach fire at night was a highlight for us. Love it.
Jordan S. Jun 2020
My family and I came in from Spokane and stayed 5 nights. We will for sure bring our dog next time they are very dog friendly. Very peaceful home right next to the beach. We will be back for sure.
Jeffrey H. Jun 2020
Quiet location from the hwy. Only steps away from the beach. Very comfortable king size bed. Next time if my daughter and her husband come with us we will rent unit #1 & #8 as they are connected by the staircase inside the house.
Candace M. Jun 2020
House was clean and property had great beach access.. Unfortunately the TV would not work and we did not hear back from the owners to resolve that issue kind of a bummer but the house was nice
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Candace. We sincerely apologize for he oversight concerning your outreach for assistance with the TV. This concern has since been addressed with our local team and should not pose further issue. We hope to host you again in the future!
Amanda C. Mar 2020
The Ocean Rouge is a great little place outside the hustle and bustle of the resort areas!
Jeffrey H. Feb 2020
I’m a return reviewer. Five years running, I’ve spent 10-18 days at the Ocean Rogue and couldn’t bear to leave. It’s a home away from home with down-home comfort and everything you need, right on a fantastic beach. It has almost none of the feeling of staying at a commercial place. Moreover, the Inn seems to draw super courteous guests who always tone it down by 9:00PM so that it can be a restful place and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Not everyone will be looking for the same things I do, but in general I would encourage people to book here, quickly!
Dave Z. Feb 2020
We enjoy this place; it works well for us and allows our dog. It has everything we need to have a nice getaway. If you need perfection, look elsewhere; this place suits us and we find the management very nice.
Jennifer G. Feb 2020
This is a great ocean front location - just a short walk thru the dunes to the beach! Being on the second floor this unit has a good view too. We appreciated the dog towels and treats as well as all the well appointed kitchen. Don’t bring anything to cook that’s going to make smoke though - there’s no hood fan! Comfy couch and bed, and warm gas fireplace were all welcome on a stormy night.
The one suggestion I would give the owners - have someone come in to resurface the shower - or replace it with a fiberglass insert. The tiles are peeling and I didn’t even want to step into it.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review! We have taken pictures of the shower to share with the owner so they can determine their course of action. We hope to see you again!
Melinda T. Jan 2020
We loved the beach access, view, value, and location! It was a short 2 minute trip to a great beach. There was a nice gas fireplace and the bed was comfortable. It was pet friendly with treats, towels, and pick up bags for the dog which was appreciated.

There were a few issues that would need to be resolved before we would return. The shower stall desperately needs to be replaced and had visible mold. The oven temperature indicator was not working and there could be better soundproofing between the upstairs and downstairs unit due to it previously being connected by a stairwell.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Melinda. We have fixed the oven knob and cleaned out the shower stall. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Randi F. Nov 2019
Yoga on the beach every morning, relaxing ocean sounds at night. Unit 8 offers a cozy, comfortable location to start your day from, exploring all the coastal towns and beaches. Vacasa made renting and staying there very easy. I'll always choose Vacasa when I travel now.
pam o. Oct 2019
Was thrilled with location, walk to the beach and views! We had the 2 story #8. Convenient to everything on 101.
House very comfortable.
Cathy L. Oct 2019
We loved sitting on the deck watching beautiful sunsets over the ocean, but most of all we loved walking out the door with our dog, and taking a very a short stroll through the sand dunes and then miles of beach to walk. We have walked most of the Oregon Coast beaches and this is one of the finest easiest beaches to walk. Such fun!
Now with that said, guests should be aware that your not staying at a 5 star Hilton. Ocean Rogue is funky, old and needs to be up dated, but for us it was wonderful. It came at a GREAT price, and we were provided with everything that we needed plus Vacasa's housekeepers did a great job in making sure our room was very clean. Would we go back again? In a heartbeat!
Rosiele d. Sep 2019
Love how this place is so close to the beach. Instructions were easy to follow to get key and everything else. Since this was an upstairs apt we could hear the “neighbors” on the lower floor pretty well. Comfortable place though
REBECCA F. Jul 2019
I loved everything about it! I loved all the quirks that an older place like this has. Unit 8 is upstairs with a great view and lots of windows with a balcony facing the ocean. It's one of the bigger units as most of them are on the smaller side. Nice little kitchen area with a table that will fit 6 people. The staff here were just wonderful to me and my family. I had booked last minute for myself as my family was already staying here for a week and I decided to join them for a couple days if space was available. I had Unit 2 for my first night and 8 for my second. The manager said she would get the rooms ready for me asap even though I told her that's not necessary. The housekeeping staff is very thorough and very friendly and helpful. We had a lot of fun. I will be returning.
Mary B. Jul 2019
The bed was comfy. The views were lovely. The apartment was clean, and treats for people and pups were provided. No spatula could be found. Very noisy on the beach on Saturday night: fireworks! There is a strange locked open closet with wooden slats in the living room which looks like a large kennel with mats on the floor. Not exactly tasteful decorating.
Otherwise, great stay.
Belinda N. Jun 2019
Unit #8 Had everything that we needed, including a spectacular view. We enjoyed watching the deer from our deck, barbecuing our dinner, taking long walks on the beach with our dog & exploring the towns around us. Will definitely go back!
Charles W. Jun 2019
It was perfect for my wife and I.
Room was very clean. WiFi worked perfectly. Shower was a bit small for me but I’m 6’4” haha! Wish we would have brought our pups with us. Everyone else staying there had their dogs and the pups seemed to be loving it! Next time we will bring them!
Geri O. Jun 2019
#8 is upstairs so has a great ocean view. When we aren’t walking the beach we are sitting out on the balcony. Our dog is out there the whole time, watching deer in the morning. This a great quiet little area and the town has fun quirky little shops. The bed is super comfy. This time Vacasa had some nice treats for the dog which is nice cause the pet fee is a trifle steep. We love coming here and relaxing and hope to come back many more times. The place isn’t fancy but feels like the vintage summer house It is.
Diana H. Mar 2019
Accommodations were great the view is awesome. Very open floor plan when you walk in. Very happy with the kitchen, the fireplace , really nice place.
Joanne S. Feb 2019
We had a great stay at Ocean Rogue Inn. Beautiful view and quick walk out to the beach. Every amenity you might need and the furniture was really comfy. Can't wait to come back!
Dave Z. Feb 2019
With so many places going upscale I am glad to find a quaint and cozy spot with easy beach acces and a view for a reasonable price. They are pet frienly as well. It was reasonably clean and in decent shape. Having the Twin Rocks right out front makes for a great place to watch the sunset and you can walk the beach for quite a ways in either direction. It is actually a couple miles south of Rockaway so the beach gets less traffic. Will come again!
Jeffrey H. Jan 2019
I probably called last year's review "Home away from home" too. That is how I think of Ocean Rogue. It's super pleasant, comfortable and very well kept with immediate beach access and even a kitchen. Reservations and check-in are a breeze. Ocean Rogue is pet and family friendly and maintains a no parties policy so that evenings are restful. I can't recommend it highly enough if you're looking for a reasonably priced, perfectly situated stay at the beach.
Shawn R. Dec 2018
It's beautiful, quiet and peaceful. The view is fabulous from the balcony!! Coffee, a beautiful Ocean view and a peaceful vibe, that what the Ocean Rogue Inn provides!

The room was clean,cozy and comfortable. All the comforts of home. The kitchenette was fully stocked with all you need to cook with or bake.

Windows all around the unit, you can open or shade down to your liking.

The bathroom was very clean and fully stocked with full fluffy white towels, A personal favorite feature of the unit.

Vacasa customer service was friendly, accommodating and prompt.

Thank you for the stay. Look forward to the next!

Warm Regards
Shawn Roberts
Geri O. Oct 2018
This is our second stay at #8. We love it because it is upstairs with a balcony front and back. There is a great view of the ocean from it and the solid bank of windows means ocean views from the living and dining areas. A few minutes walk through grassy dunes and you are on the beach, just a little ways from the Twin Rocks. I loved the easy access and walking my dog on this quiet stretch of beach. We have come twice now in the off season and the whole place has been very quiet. The weather was still very nice so I'm talking before and after summer vacation but not yet winter. I would give this place a 5 if it had a tub and a better couch. The shower is fine if a little cramped, water pressure and temp were good. I like the big comfortable bed and the general layout. The outside stairs could be a challenge to folks or their dogs who don't get around so great so beware of that. There are units on the ground floor with just a couple of steps up. If you want a great view and great beach access this is the one. Our dog spends all her time out on the balcony watching the ocean and the wildlife. Will always come back to #8.
Kathryn S. Oct 2018
I've stayed at the Ocean Rogue at least yearly for many years, and I still love it!

One thing of note: For some reason the shower had a lot of mold collecting (this has never happened before in the many years I've been coming), and many of the dishes were missing. I reported this to Vacasa and they sent Randi over the next morning. She did a great job getting the shower in much better shape, and she hunted down the missing equipment. The moral of this little story? Vacasa was definitely responsive, which pleased me.
Cindy M. Oct 2018
Quiet, hassle free, with everything you could want. This unit is upstairs so you have view of waves and nice propane fireplace. Good for two people - would be a little cozy for 4 but would work. Nice king bed but only curtain between bedroom and dining. A little worn but everything works great.
Guy M. Oct 2018
Very quiet, that's good. Clean, comfortable, beautiful beach. Please be aware that when we were there that there was only one dinner plate (lots of other little ones), only two forks, only two mismatched larger coffee cups. but lots of bowls and drink glasses. These were minor and our stay was excellent.
Jacki C. Sep 2018
Nice, quiet location. Clean, and the price is right! Our new go-to spot!
Emily D. Aug 2018
We really enjoyed our stay in unit 8. We could see the beautiful waves from the living room area, the kitchen had pretty much all the dishes we needed to prepare and cook small meals, and our kids loved the swing set and sand toys when we weren't at the beach. It was so nice to cuddle up with popcorn and hot cocoa to watch a movie with the fireplace on on our last night there, which was cool and rainy.

The kitchen and bathroom were very outdated, but mostly clean. The shower needed a good scrubbing. We could tell previous guests had had a dog with them, we could smell it in the carpet, which needed a cleaning but wasn't any worse than we would expect for a reasonably priced beach side hotel.

The very short (1 or 2 minute) drive into town was great for dining out. We ate at the Beach Bite & Dos Rocas restaurant and the food was so delicious.

We would definitely stay at Ocean Rogue Inn again.
Ashley W. Aug 2018
Cozy little place right right on the beach. My family and I love how quite it is at this location in Rockaway Beach. Clean, well stocked plenty of room for 4. A little out dated inside, but that isn’t bothersome to me. I will say the pull out couch mattress is awful. Like sleeping on a prison mattress. The couch is fine, but the mattress not so much. We also would have liked to have coffee available without having to go get it to brew at the house.

We rented the top half of house option. The stairs to the rest of the home are blocked off awkwardly and there is a little noise from the people downstairs. Again, not bothersome to me. I think you can rent the whole house and they probably just block it in halves to rent it out to more people. We were left with plenty of clean linens and toiletries. The dishes and cooking equipment were good. Overall, we loved The Ocean Rogue Inn by Vacasa. We will be back!
Manager response:
We apologize for the disappointments this guest experienced. We are taking these comments seriously and discussing them with the owner. Thank you!
Camie R. Aug 2018
The view from this upstairs unit was amazing, once the fog lifted. Easy entry and exit. Was disappointed they have quit having in- unit Ocean Rogue Blend coffee available.
Stephen H. Jul 2018
They have a nice little setup here with several small cottages adjacent to a common area and then beach, which was really nice. Would be great for a group. Cottages are nothing fancy but perfectly fine. The bed was better than average. Overall a thumbs up!
Megan C. Jul 2018
I loved staying here! This house was so cute and charming and everything I wanted for a too-short stay on the beautiful Oregon coast. Favorite details: the phenomenal view of the ocean, the little deck, the weird movie collection, and the adorable layout.
Tracina S. Apr 2018
Loved this little apartment. Nice views. Everything we needed. Sweet gas fireplace. Easy beach access. Hope to go again!
But, the sofa/sofa bed were uncomfortable. No sleep possible. We picked this unit to have 2 separate sleeping areas (we had a snorer amongst us!). But there was only a curtain between bedroom and living room. So snoring was not remotely contained.
Still, will likely go again. But bring an air mattress & ditch the snorer!
Anne M. Apr 2018
We wanted something close to the beach with a kitchen. This unit worked out good for the two of us and our dog. It's nothing fancy but was clean. We could hear the folks in the unit below but they were quiet when we went to bed so it worked out fine.
Mary Beth W. Apr 2018
Jeffrey H. Mar 2018
With extended stays at the Ocean Rogue Inn for the past three years, about all I can think is, "Can't wait to go back". This is a home away from home - great people, attractive, comfortable, pleasant, full kitchen, convenient location, and of course the beach and Twin Rocks in your back yard. Ocean Rogue offers high quality and outstanding value. It feels like home.
Julia L. Mar 2018
Loved it. Was easy to find, quiet and wonderful view is the ocean.
Sue W. Feb 2018
Awesome views from the balcony! Great access to sandy beach.
Stanton M. Jan 2018
Great location, great view, and overall peaceful experience. We come up from Northern California and will definitely stay here again.
Mary Jane C. Jan 2018
I have stayed at the Ocean Rogue many times. My family used to vacation there when I was a kid. #8 is probably my fave unit (love the fireplace and the view). So, it was exceedingly strange to make a reservation this time and have no personal element. No nice lady to chat with when you arrive collect your key, or when you realize you'd like to borrow a board game or DVD, or when you can't find a corkscrew in the flat.

There was a name and a number for a "local" contact person on the table and that was it. The key was in a lockbox by the door. We got an email offering us a late checkout option (we took it). There were a few other people staying at the motel, as it was the middle of December. I wonder what it will be like in the height of summer with nobody to hold down the fort.

My friend and I jokingly referred to the place as a "zombie motel". We concluded that staying at a self-serve motel (which is essentially what Vacasa is running) has no real advantages. The price is not lower, despite the absence of onsite workers. You completely lack the human element. I don't think I would mind this in a home vacation rental, but with a motel it's bizarre. I am not sure whether we will stay at the Ocean Rogue again. I have a lot of memories there, but I'd also prefer that my money go to local people and not to an offsite, Portland-based management company.
Manager response:
We absolutely understand the tone of this guest’s comment. It has been mentioned in the past regarding the extremely sweet lady who greeted guests. Vacasa’s management of the property includes the help of local staffing to oversee and maintain up the units. Thank you.
Nancy B. Nov 2017
Perfect place for walking the beach and watching storms roll in. Centrally located and easy access to browsing the towns from Seaside to Lincoln City.
Suzanne M. Oct 2017
We loved all the windows facing the beach and the quiet setting.