USA North Carolina Western North Carolina Sylva Listing #23419

Spruce Patch - Sylva, NC

Take a Virtual Tour
26 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Pet-friendly cabin w/ hot tub & mountain views - fireplace and screened porch!

Spruce Patch is a pet-friendly mountain home that sits at an elevation of 5,300 feet. Surrounded by plantlife, you will be completely immersed in the atmosphere of the Smoky Mountains. A large deck with rocking chairs and a picnic table overlooks views of the mountains. Soak up the outdoors even further with the fire pit, the screened porch, and the hot tub. Inside, an open living space is accented by a gas fireplace and high ceilings.

What’s nearby:
This home is located between Sylva and Waynesville and is part of a gated community near The Mount Lynn Lowry hiking trails, the Appalachian Trail and Waterrock Knob. It is also within one hour of various lakes, rivers, kayaking, mountain biking, and hundreds of miles of incredible hiking.

Things to know:
Please replace items where you found them and refrain from moving the furniture around.
Full kitchen
Spruce Patch is located up a 7-mile well-maintained gravel road. 4 wheel drive is recommended but not necessary in the summer months. 4 Wheel Drive is required during the winter months and chains are recommended as this elevation tends to receive more snow than other areas.
Satellite internet provided for email and browsing - streaming, downloading & gaming not permitted
Two dogs maximum
Gas log fireplace only available October - March
Firewood not supplied
Maximum parking spaces: 2
Limited cell service and GPS.

This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Mountain view




Cable : DirecTV

DVD player

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private


Gas grill : Private



26 reviews

I don't think a one star rating is worthy for this home. If you are looking for a place to "unplug", then this may be the home for you. They advertised that there's wifi but they did not advertise that there is wifi with LIMITED INTERNET service. Worse, there's no wifi at all and you will also have limited to no signal on your phone. This is also a safety issue because when power is down, you are COMPLETELY shut off from calling someone else! Speaking of power being off, our power went down for a few minutes because weather was a bit bad that night. Aside from having no signal and no wifi, we also could not find any emergency light. We found one flashlight but it had no batteries! The fireplace is power-generated so good luck with getting heat too. Kitchen is dirty. Stove top has not been fully wiped. Oven is filthy with old food debris inside. Kitchen cabinets are not clean. We had to re-wash all utensils we had to use! Bed sheets and comforter had traces of hair and stains. We did not use them and had to use our blankets. Bathroom shower upstairs is clogged. We had to use a plunger just to be able to get that water puddle down the drain. Same with the bathroom sink. We called Vacasa Customer Service to report these issues with the hope of someone coming in to resolve it. We have been told each time that a local team will call us. No one did! No one called and no one came. We were booked from Monday to Friday. I must have texted and called at least 10-12 times and got no resolution at all. We decided to cut our trip short for safety reasons and to save whatever is left from our vacation. I called to let them know that I expect to receive a refund and they refused to provide a refund. So before you decide to book here, read the other reviews. You will notice something consistent. That NO ONE comes in to resolve the issues!
Manager response:
We're disappointed to read you were so unhappy with your stay that you left early. This home is not advertised as having high speed internet, but the WiFi does work with what's available in this secluded, mountainous region. Flashlights and new batteries are located under the kitchen sink, and the slow drains are normal for the build of the house. Housekeeping has been alerted to their oversights. Thank you!
Abigail C. Dec 2022
Well decorated home. The drive is long to the home as others have mentioned. The amenities needed some attention and housekeeping was an issue
Manager response:
Hi, Abigail, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are glad to learn that the home is well decorated. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced due to the long drive, and the amenities that needed to be fixed. We make every effort to present clear, accurate descriptions of our homes in order for guests to make informed decisions on their rental choices. We encourage guests to reach out with any questions or concerns prior to booking, as we are happy to help. We also appreciate our guests' preferences as a means to improve and we have forwarded your comments along to our property management to consider in the future. Also, we are deeply sorry if you have encountered issues with housekeeping. Our team of housekeepers takes pride in their cleanliness standards, as it is a top priority service we provide for every guest prior to check-in. Please know that local staff is available to assist with any cleanliness issues you encounter while in the home. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future!
SAURAV A. Oct 2022
Nice cabin with a great view. Getting there is a bit painful, narrow gravel road for about 5 miles. So, better pack ‘everything’ as grocery run won’t be easy. One issue was no propane for the barbecue. Even after calling vacasa support, no one helped on that. Rest was fine. Loved the fireplace and general decor. Kitchen was well furnished.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Saurav, we are glad you enjoyed the views during your visit. We make every effort to present clear, accurate descriptions of our homes in order for guests to make informed decisions on their rental choices. We encourage guests to reach out with any questions or concerns prior to booking, as we are happy to help. We apologize for the issue you experienced gas grill. We are sorry for the delay in addressing that issue, and will follow up with the appropriate parties regarding your experience. We hope to host you again in the future.
Jack F. Oct 2022
The views from the deck are spectacular! Heating and cooling the house worked fantastic.
Nathan M. Aug 2022
This was our second trip to Spruce Patch. The location is wonderful with an amazing view. It is very private and peaceful. The house is well laid out and has most of everything you need. Things are starting to show a bit of wear and we had to purchase a mattress pad since the king bed did not have one and our request for one went unanswered. Other than this it is a great spot to enjoy the mountains of NC.
Manager response:
Nathan, thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our home's location! We apologize for not getting back to your request sooner. We are in communication with the relevant parties to ensure our service standards are being thoroughly met. We hope you'll give us another chance to serve you better in the future.
Cara B. Jul 2022
Beautiful view & nice house! Really enjoyed our stay (& the pups did, too)
Mary Beth S. Jun 2022
The house was lovely and we enjoyed most of our stay. Our next to last day we lost power. After waiting for 9 hours for the power to come back on we decided to cut the vacation short. We thought since we didn't have appliances, air, fans, lights, hot water, let alone hot tub, TV, or WiFi, that Vacasa would understand and refund our last day. Nope, Vacasa's policy is if it isn't their fault ("they can't control power company"), the customer is stuck with paying. Not a good way to develop loyal customers. After paying rental fees, cleaning fees, and Vacasa fees, expecting the customer to pay for coverage for their rental fees if the house has something suddenly happen to it is a bit much.
Jessyca C. Mar 2022
We absolutely loved this place, the hot tub, the firepit, the AMAZING views!! We brought our pups and they had a great time in the yard. You will want to get your groceries before the hike up the mountain because once you are there you will not want to leave!
Terri W. Oct 2021
The view from this cabin was exceptional. Also a great location for hiking and close to the blue ridge parkway. We enjoyed walking around Waynesville and Sylva both a short drive from the cabin.
Jim S. Oct 2021
The awesome views are worth the 20 minute ride up! Highly recommend this well maintained cozy mountain retreat. We would definitely book this property again.
Joseph O. Oct 2020
The cabin was beautiful and the views were incredible. The staff was incredibly helpful any time I called for questions. The only reason this wasn’t a 5-star review is that- for a 5 night stay- there were only 2 trash bags, 2 rolls of toilet paper, 2 dishwasher tabs. We went to the store ahead time to prevent having to go up and down the mountain, as it is not a quick, down the street trip. This forced us to have to go to the store, which took about an hour and a half to get toilet paper, paper towels and dishwasher tabs. I would have appreciated a heads up on the lack of accommodations in regards to cleaning supplies/toiletries. Additionally, there was a dishwasher full of dishes that we weren’t sure were clean or dirty. Considering all of the COVID regulations and that we are getting charged an arm and a leg for cleaning fees, I would have thought those things would have been addressed. Other than those things, it was an overall pleasant stay.
Suzanne P. Sep 2020
This is a great home. The view and elevation were spectacular. We were able to watch migrating raptors as well as the stars!
Kelly O. Sep 2020
This place is simply amazing. You cannot beat the view. The pictures associated with the listing are accurate. We highly recommend this as the perfect anniversary or honeymoon getaway. 10 out of 10 rating. Advice, buy your groceries before you head up the mountain the drive to the house is lengthy (20 to 30 minutes).
Anya W. Jul 2020
The view is amazing!! The house was well maintained with a peaceful and cozy atmosphere. And did I mention the view was breathtaking?
Mary R. Jul 2020
The view was breathtaking. Lots of comforts indoors and out. This was a special place and we hope to go back,
Julia H. Jul 2020
The location was great—just beautiful and peaceful. The house was outfitted with about anything you could want. Just a couple of negatives. The TV didn’t work so we sent a message informing of that—no response. We found an opened (and partially eaten) package of donuts under the bed in the loft, and it was clear no one has cleaned under it for a very long time—the dust was an inch thick. The tub drain in that attached bath was almost completely blocked, leading to a very slippery tub floor as the water backed up.
Manager response:
Hi Julia, thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement regarding some specific cleanliness issues with the home. We will pass your feedback to our housekeeping team for future consideration. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Patrick B. Feb 2020
Had the best time! Cabin was as advertised and in a perfect secluded spot. We had 5-6 inches of snow overnight and the next day and made the drive somewhat of a challenge if your not used to driving in the snow. 4wd definitely needed in winter
John C. Jan 2020
This place is in the middle of no where at 5400ft elavation and it is amazing. It does take about 25min from the main road to get there by a narrow whindy rock road. But even covered in snow with an AWD SUV I never felt unsafe. The hot tub is only big enough for two. The grill worked great as did the DTV and WiFi. Not much cell coverage. the view was amazing.
Rayda A. Jan 2020
We loved our stay at the cabin! Everything was very clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen had absolutely everything needed. It is very remote (20-30 minute drive up the mountain), but we liked being away from everything.
charles m. Dec 2019
great place loved the weather and the view
Lindsay S. Nov 2019
We had a lovely time at this very private mountain home and what a great view! The kitchen had everything I needed to cook with... I brought a few utensils and things from home just in case but didn’t need them. The home was way up the mountain, took us about 30 minutes to get to the top. We arrived after dark and it was foggy, we could only see about 3 feet in front of us and it was slow but we managed. I would plan to arrive during daylight hours next time. We loved the view and how private the location is. We enjoyed the gas fireplace, the hot tub, and the camp fire area. Everything a mountain getaway should be. My only complaint is the beds were older inner spring mattresses that were squeaky and soft/not supportive.
Nicholas C. Aug 2019
There was nothing better than sitting in the hot tub and looking up at a million stars. The cabin was comfortable and extremely secluded.
Tom f. Jul 2019
Spruce Patch boasts a beautiful view over the valley and mountains beyond. The public space is large, open and well appointed. the beds are comfortable. The upstairs loft if warm, and we opened the windows to maintain a comfortable temperature up there. Since thee nighttime temperature was in the low 60s, this was not a problem. The room is open to the view and to the downstairs, so it's not for people who need lots of privacy or darkness.
Julia H. Jun 2019
Loved the Spruce Patch cabin. The views were beautiful from the deck. The privacy of the cabin location added to the relaxation and peacefulness. The cabin was cute and nicely decorated.
Trevor W. Jun 2019
One of the most amazing views!!!
Joseph V. Jun 2019
The cabin not only had an incredible view but was very well equipped. We thoroughly enjoyed out time.