USA North Carolina Western North Carolina Bryson City Listing #23431

Bears Den Max - Bryson City, NC

Take a Virtual Tour
25 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 3 Queen Bed 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Mountain home with covered deck, hot tub, & fire pit - wood-burning fireplace

Bears Den Max is an ideal Smoky Mountain cabin that is located on the east end of the Nantahala River Gorge at an elevation of 2,200 feet. This home has a covered back deck with a large hot tub. Additionally, there is an outdoor firepit with twinkling lights strung above. In order to provide guests with nothing but endless comfort, this retreat has been recently updated with all new living room furniture, including two Flex Steel top grade leather motion reclining couches and an amazingly comfortable rocking chair. Relax inside with the home theater system or simply kick your feet out in front of the wood-burning fireplace. Entertainment will be endless with a 55-inch top-of-the-line Bravia 4K resolution and a 43-inch top-of-the-line Bravia 4K resolution downstairs. Sleep soundly with Serta IComfort mattresses.

What’s nearby:
The home is in the heart of the Nantahala-Fontana Lake Region of the Smokies, less than 10 minutes to Tsali Recreation Area-Fontana Lake and 5 minutes to the Nantahala River for paddle sports, mountain biking or horseback riding. It is also just outside of Bryson City which has options for dining and shopping.

Things to know:
Fully equipped kitchen
Firewood not supplied
No internet access
Maximum parking spaces: 3
Limited cell service and GPS
The fourth bedroom is located in the basement and can be accessed via an outside entrance only (no interior stairs)
*Reach out to Vacasa to learn about reduced winter rates!
All mattresses have been updated.

This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining








Cable : Dish Network

DVD player

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private


Gas grill : Private







25 reviews

Gina M. Apr 2022
This is a cute house and the kitchen is well stated. Thankful for the ramp because it really helped getting my elderly parents in and out of the house. It was just what we needed for the weekend.
Lisa R. Mar 2022
Location was good, clean cabin but lacking a few items in the kitchen we have had at previous rentals. Issues with television and outdoor lights. After two calls on hold for 45 minutes then 18 minutes and a promise to have someone repair these…disappointed no one even came to cabin to make an attempt to fix these.
Manager response:
We appreciate your review, Lisa. It's disappointing to read you didn't get better service from us during our busy spring break season. Local staff has confirmed the issues you encountered are now all addressed. Hopefully we can host you again for a better experience.
Jonathan E. Mar 2022
Very clean and professional look from the start. Will definitely be back here
Amber P. Nov 2021
Home was nice, could have used some updates on furniture and the bathroom on the main floor had issues with the water pressure. You would need a vehicle with 4x4 in winter for sure as they stated, drive way was rough as most mountain cabins. We very much enjoyed our stay and would return if coming to the area. Plenty of room!
Manager response:
Hi, Amber! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for bringing some items to our attention that may need some TLC. We have passed your feedback to our local staff to work on improving the home for future guests. We hope we can host you again for a much more enjoyable stay.
Edward H. Oct 2021
Basically overall clean. There were a number of minor issues, bring your own toilet paper, etc. They provide a starter amount. The beds were not grand. The biggest problem was that we called Vacasa concerning a problem with the lower level toilet needing a bolt and a new wax ring - it actually rocked. The local management company never called us about the problem.
Manager response:
We are so glad you stayed with us, Edward, and sincerely apologize we were unable to provide a resolution for you right away. We are actively working on getting a vendor in the area to fix the toilet, but everyone is booked up a ways out at the moment. The problem is scheduled to be addressed by the beginning of November. Thank you for your understanding!
Robert W. Aug 2021
Great space
Pamela V. Aug 2021
This makes the second time we have stayed here and we have had such a wonderful time both times, however, this stay we noticed there was some electrical problems throughout the house. The out,et in the bedroom downstairs did not work. The lights outside and in the kitchen and downstairs flickered ALOT. Our first night something happened with the AC, The lights flickered and then the AC made a horrible noise. We turned the breaker off and back on and it quit. Not too sure what happened there. We did notice the floors were dirty. Found that out because our granddaughter got out of the shower and before she got into bed she had to have her feet washed again. Our son found several roaches in the bathroom upstairs. The furniture could be updated but it wasn’t that bad. We would stay there again. Just wish it was pet friendly.
Susan C. Jul 2021
Loved the area and cabin.. Hated the beds.. Needs mattresses replaced other than that it's wonderful.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Susan! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the home. We regret that the beds were not suitable for your party and appreciate this feedback as an area to improve upon in the future. We hope to host you again soon!
Christine B. Jun 2021
Whats to like NOTHING this place is so dirty inside and out.
The grill fell apart and fell on my leg, hot tub didnt work for two days the power button was broke we had to use the circuit breaker to turn on and off, no ice or water from frig ,outside gutter is growing plants and trees,we cleaned up cigarette butts outside this is for non smoking families,
May/June 2021
Manager response:
Hello, Christine, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay. We apologize that your experience in our home was not the vacation for which you had planned and for which we strive to provide our guests. We also apologize for the grill falling apart on you, we hope there weren't any injuries because of this. We appreciate you notifying us promptly of the issue so that we could take the appropriate steps toward a resolution. Please know that the comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our priority and the experience you had is certainly not commonplace, nor is it indicative of our level of service.
Laura H. Apr 2021
Quietly tucked away. Met all needs.
Andy C. Feb 2021
Plenty of room for the whole family with a beautiful wood fireplace to sit by and relax and not to far of a drive to the casino. Enjoyed our weekend getaway to celebrate our oldest sons 21st birthday
Paul R. Dec 2020
We had a good time with our short Christmas weekend, were snowed in for a couple of days and made use of the fireplace and outdoor fire pit.
Richmond W. Nov 2020
We had 6 adults and two children. The house was perfect for our little family.
mauricio s. Nov 2020
Great venue, well thought with many amenities we specially enjoyed the fireplace. House was clean and well maintained. If you want to reload energy from Mother Nature this one is for you. No internet and a 20 min from Bryson city. Handicap entry with ramp that access main room is a plus
Thomas M. Sep 2020
The house was not cleaned properly. There were cobwebs in the windows and on the ceiling fans. There were also cobwebs from the ceiling to the shelves that the plates were stacked. The shelves that the dishes were stacked on were filthy and had not been cleaned for a while. It was very obvious especially when viewed from the upstairs bedroom. The toilet on the top floor was rusted inside the bowl and on the floor by the kitchen table has a black spot where something had been spilled and not cleaned. It looked like it is permanently stained. The light switch in the bedroom on the main floor has a short in it. It became obvious that the floors hadn't been scrubbed when I accidentally spilled a little water on the bathroom floor and when I wiped it up with one of the bath towels, the towel was black and absolutely filthy. When we stripped the bed in preparation for check out, the mattress was covered in stains. Although there was a mattress cover, it was horrifying to find out we had been sleeping on this. It's really a shame because it's a nice property and if it were properly maintained i would give it a higher rating. On the positive side, we really enjoyed the hot tub and we had a great time sitting around the firepit.
Manager response:
Hello, Thomas, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize for the issues during your stay, as this is not the high standard of guest satisfaction and cleanliness that we hold ourselves to. We have provided your valuable feedback to our local manager. They have stated they have cleaned the toilet to remove the rust, unfortunately, due to the hard minerals and iron in the water, it has not been successful. They will be having an electrician to the home to work on the lightswitch in the master bedroom. The local housekeeping team will be deep cleaning the home for future stays. We apologize for the inconvenience and frustrations. We hope we have another chance to impress you in the future.
JOn L. Sep 2020
The house is close to the Gorge. The bedrooms are god size. The mattress' are too soft. The place was clean on check-in. The Hot Tub was Green. Call Vacasa and they sent someone that night to clean. The propane bottle was empty for the Grill. Took 4 phone calls and 24 hours to get a new bottle.
The fire pit was good.
Amy C. Jul 2020
We loved the close proximity to the Nantahala river. The cabin was perfect for our family of 6. We really enjoyed the fire pit i. the evenings and off ron the deck in the mornings. Beds were comfortable, kitchen was fine. We staggered our usage somewhat, but we never ran out of hot water. The driveway is a bit tricky. Try to arrive before dark on checkin day.
Shawn S. Jul 2020
We loved the location, the house was lovely and spacious.
Shannon Y. Jul 2020
The house was location is fine to Bryson City, NC and outdoor activities. However the owner needs a new cleaning service. The hot tub was not useable. It was green inside. Upon arrival it had not been cleaned. We had to wait 2 hours for it to be cleaned and it was unacceptable. Bugs in the downstairs bedroom and that shower looked like it hadn’t been used or clean in awhile. Thick dust on the shelves in the kitchen and corners. The towels smelled soured. Just not pleased with the cleanliness of this property.
Manager response:
Hello, Shannon! Thank you for your review. We apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered during your stay with us, we have worked closely with our housekeeping crew to address these concerns thoroughly. We hope for a chance to impress you in the future!
Claire J. Jan 2020
Bears Den's location and amenities were just right!
Roy M. Jul 2019
Just there for 4th of July weekend. Only 5 minutes to NOC and 30 minutes to Fontana Dam and marina. Very nice and can accommodate several families comfortably. Air conditioning works very well.
Lorie L. Jul 2019
What fun! Planned a quick weekend trip to Bryson City. Cute cabin. Very clean. Loved the little town of Bryson City and the shops. The hot tub was a great place to unwind at the end of a long day hiking on Deep Creek trails. A few waterfalls along the way. Hope to come back in the fall. I'm sure the colors are gorgeous.
Lynn D. Jun 2019
We really enjoyed our stay at this cabin. It's located between the NOC and Bryson City. Perfect for all of the activities that we had planned during the day. The fire pit outside is amazing.