USA North Carolina Western North Carolina Bryson City Listing #23460

Bear Trax - Bryson City, NC

Take a Virtual Tour
25 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed 3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Log cabin with mountain views, deck & WiFi - close to Bryson City!

Welcome to Bear Trax - a custom Smoky Mountain log home located on the ridge behind Bryson City. Because of its prime location, guests will have an excellent east view of Balsam Mountain and the Great Smoky Mountain sunrises. The home comes complete with a jetted tub, HD televisions, a home theater system, and a gas log fireplace. A covered deck offers plenty of seating.

What’s nearby:
Bear Trax is five minutes from the Deep Creek area of Great Smoky Mountains National Park and 20 minutes to Cherokee and the Nantahala Region. Skiing is available at Maggie Valley, about 45 minutes from the cabin. The surrounding mountains offer plenty of options for hiking and exploring the landscape.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
The gas log fireplace is available from October to March only
Maximum parking spaces: 3
Limited cell service and GPS

This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC.

Parking Notes: Park in the driveway at the cabin. Access: Easy - Paved

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.



Jetted tub


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Mountain view





DVD player

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing


Gas grill : Private




25 reviews

Nelson D. Oct 2021
The cabin was great we all loved it we had a great time the beds sleepwear

We had a great time the cabin was nice the beds were comfortable sometimes the coffe maker would not work

Dana B. Aug 2021
The employees of Vacasa were great. We had a couple of questions and their response time was terrific. So I am giving the cabin a 4. If I was basing it on the cabin alone, it would be 3. The cabin was nice but was a little dated. It certainly can be a beautiful upscale cabin with a little TLC. I think it had been shut up for a while because it was musty smelling when we went in or that could be the way cabins are supposed to be. The bath towels had the "left in the washing machine too long smell". A house beside this one had construction going on. It was during the day so it was not a noise issue. But they left trash and water bottles all in the side yard in front of the garage of the cabin we were in. We enjoyed watching the free range chickens during the day. We went on the back porch to spot the beagles we heard hunting in the woods. Overall we had a really nice time. It was close to town but did not feel like you were in town.
Marilyn T. Jul 2021
Great mountain cabin. Nice view.
Amy C. Jun 2021
The house is very lovely and very clean! It was great as a handicapped accessible home as my dad doesn’t do steps well. The only disappointment was we had to go buy more trash can liners as we only had one, more TP, and more dishwasher detergent. Beds were were comfy. Internet is slow but we needed to disconnect. Overall, it was a very nice stay.
Lisa C. Jun 2021
My husband and I traveled to Bryson City with another couple to enjoy the Smoky Mountains on our motorcycles. Bear Trax was a great fit for us. We loved sitting on the back deck eating our breakfast and looking out at the view. The hot tub was a great way to relax after a long day of riding!
Christine M. Dec 2020
The house is nice. I could mention that there aren’t enough towels (and they’re rough!), or kitchen amenities were dirty, or the sheer (!!) curtains, or the cleanliness wasn’t up to my personal (COVID-era) standards - but the house is nice for a stay near Bryson City and near the National Park. A great view from the back porch which was important to us. A previous renter mentioned the number of Confederate flags and I have to agree - the area gives a general unfriendly, unwelcome vibe to visitors. The neighbors are close enough to see and overhear. It all just depends on what you’re looking for, but this house is a great option for a place to stay near Bryson City.
Manager response:
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are sorry to hear that the home had some items that needed some attention. Your honest feedback is greatly appreciated and has been forwarded to local staff so they can work towards better improving the home for future visits. We look forward to hosting you again, Christine!
Lisa Y. Sep 2020
We enjoyed our stay with four friends in this home. Distance to town and trails for hiking at Deep Creek was ideal. Nicely furnished.
Patrick C. Aug 2020
Nicely appointed home that was clean and had wonderful Mountain view for the back porch.
Seth H. Aug 2020
We loved the house. It was clean and inside had everything we needed. The issue was the hot tub quit working day two and we couldn’t get anyone out there until the day we left. This was a big reason for us being there. It may not mean much but it did to us. Also, the garbage from the previous guest was not picked up from outside trash cans and all three were pretty full.
Manager response:
Seth, thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that the hot tub quit working during your stay. We know that you were looking forward to using it and we apologize this happened. We also apologize for any delays in our response. The hot tub has been removed as an amenity at this time. We would love to host you again in the future.
Lisa L. Jul 2020
The best part about this cabin is that our teenager girls could have their own room (shared) downstairs. Even when they were singing together at the top of their lungs, we could barely hear them on the first floor. The beds were all very comfortable. I give it only 4/5 stars because the hot tub did not work and that was an important reason we chose this cabin. Also, the neighbors were shooting a handgun off their back porch one evening and that was a little annoying.
Manager response:
Hi, Lisa! Maintenance is aware of the hot tub now and will get it addressed as quickly as possible. We do apologize this important amenity was missing during your stay and would encourage you to please call so we can assist you in having the best experience possible. Thanks!
melanie M. Jul 2020
The cabin is beautiful. The floor plan worked great for our family . I’m giving the rating a 4 not based on the property itself but because the neighbors clearly don’t want renters nearby and because the bathroom floors, sinks and tubs weren’t cleaned to my satisfaction. In the picture there appears to be plenty of parking. In the description it says 3 cars will fit . Maybe if everyone is driving a VW Beetle. The area to park is parallel to the house and as wide as a vehicle.
With that being said, we had a tremendous vacation in Bryson City .
Pratik P. Jul 2020
The place is so beautiful.... ans specially it has all kind of kitchen set n spicies. The rooms and bathroom are nice specious.
But the bad part of this is,
Hot tub was not working good... not able to get hot.
One bedroom's bed needs to repair because its making so wied noise and hard to take nice silent sleep.
All curtains are transparents in bathrooms so we have to put towels on curtains because of privacy purpose.
David W. Jul 2020
Great location and a nice view. Three bathrooms were a plus
Andrew C. Jul 2020
We loved how the cabin is positioned right up against a beautiful backdrop of trees, filled with birds, fireflies, and lovely night sounds. We called it our treehouse escape.
Daniel D. Jun 2020
After all the glowing reviews I found about this location, I decided to book a few nights here after a funeral for some rest and relaxation. I found numerous things that did not match up with the reviews:

1) The directions led me up into someone's driveway that wasn't the property I was looking for. This must be a common thing because a guy came out and immediately told me that the cabin I was looking for was up at the top of the hill. His directions were to go back down the road, take a right at the stop sign and follow it around to the same named road up the hill. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE don't try to find this place at night. You may not get such a warm welcome or response, plus the actual road leading to the cabin is steep and narrow.

2) Arrived to find the cabin filthy. Sheets were laying in the floor, there were blood stains on one of the mattresses, bugs were in one of the showers, the spa had greenish looking water, there were dirty dishes in the sink, and it overall looked like it had not been cleaned in a while.

3) The cabin thermostat was reading around 78 degrees and we could not get the A/C to work during the time we were there. Apparently according to the binder you can only adjust it a few degrees at a time to get it to work properly.

*WARNING, WARNING, WARNING* READ THE BINDER IN FULL WHEN YOU FIRST ARRIVE. There is a sentence in the welcome section that states if you stay overnight you are accepting the conditions of the cabin as is. When I tried to contact someone about the cabin, I found out the office that was in charge of the property was only open M-F 9-5. This doesn't help if you have problems on Saturday or Sunday. Obviously, we immediately left and had to go about 25 miles away to find a hotel which of course we had to spend more money to stay in. We did manage to contact the cabin owner by email, who called the VACASA property manager. Apparently both people had different stories about why this situation happened, but long story short the cabin was not supposed to be available for the time I requested. VRBO/VACASA were quick to take my money, and now I am sitting here waiting for my almost $900 refund. I was told it takes 7-10 business days to get a refund so please be aware of this policy before renting the property. If you do want to rent this cabin, I would contact both the VACASA property manager and VRBO to see if it is actually available before paying the money and spending hours getting there. This experience put a lot of unnecessary stress on both my family (who was grieving from the loss of a family member) and my wallet. I will be very cautious next time I rent with VRBO or VACASA.
Manager response:
Hi Daniel, We apologize for any confusion or frustration you experienced. We regret that we were unable to host you and a full refund has been issued.We truly hope you'll give us an opportunity to impress you on your next stay. Thank you!
Kennah B. Dec 2019
Close to down and paved driveway. Great spot for visiting the Polar Express.
Shannon F. Dec 2019
Close to town and clean
Nancy F. Oct 2019
Cabin very nice. Two bedrooms on main floor but the nicest bedroom was in basement with a very steep spiral staircase. This was not mentioned in details, Also there was supposed to be a toaster but not there. Mostly very clean except bedroom windows dirty and cobwebbed.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us! The property manager has replaced the toaster, scheduled an exterior window cleaning, and also scheduled an additional pest control to supplement the quarterly treatments. We hope to see you again!
Madeline H. Aug 2019
I chose this cabin to celebrate my 28th birthday with a few of my closest friends and our significant others. We had the best time and loved how peaceful the atmosphere felt inside and out.
Another major benefit was how close to town it was. Anywhere we needed to go was 20 minutes or less to get to.
robert G. Aug 2019
We didn’t realize how close to town this cabin was. It only takes 2 mins and you’re back on Main Street! Extremely convenient. We loved the cabin - it was a great vacation.
Tania P. Aug 2019
Beautiful clean cabin with amazing views.
Harsha A. May 2019
Easy to access and close proximity to downtown Bryson City. Great furnishings and the cabin had everything we needed. Loved the hot tub.