USA Texas Central Texas Fredericksburg Listing #5143

The Blacksmith Quarters on Barons Creek: The Octavia - Fredericksburg, TX

Take a Virtual Tour
104 reviews
Max. occupancy: 2 1 King Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Romantic cottage w/private hot tub and gas fireplace for two!

*This home does have an unmonitored water feature; as an extra safety precaution, this home is not recommended for guests traveling with children under the age of 17.

Plan a romantic getaway for two in this charming Fredericksburg cottage, which boasts a private hot tub and cozy fireplace in the heart of Texas wine country! Whether you need to get away for the weekend or for an entire week, this charming abode is the perfect place to wander the antique shops, sip delicious vino, and reconnect with that someone special.

The Texas condo is located on the Barons Creek property in Texas Hill Country. You'll love being within walking distance to cultural attractions like the National Museum of the Pacific War and Roxbox Theater. The region's famous wineries and brewpubs are also within walking distance, including Fiesta Winery and the Fredericksburg Brewing Company just beyond your door!

Inside, the Victorian-inspired cottage is both regal and cozy, offering vaulted ceilings with antique wood panels, reclaimed Victorian mantelpieces along the fire, and a stylish cow-skin rug. The kitchenette is the perfect place to store snacks like goat cheese and figs to fuel your days in the tasting rooms. The simple space provides a miniature sink, microwave, coffeemaker, and mini-refrigerator perfect for storing leftovers! Enjoy nearby Tex-Mex at Mamacita's, German cuisine at Auslander Restaurant, or fine dining at August E's, all just blocks from home.

The unique wrought-iron frame is perfectly positioned in front of the flatscreen TV and fireplace so you can snuggle watching a romantic comedy, or start a fire for a romantic evening in. You can even bring the bubbly outdoors while enjoying a glass in your private hot tub!

The full bath offers spa-like features, with a luxury double-headed walk-in shower and double vanity. You'll love getting ready for date night out on the town in this chic space. Outside, sit in the courtyard and listen to the creek as a calming way to start or end your day.

In between your date nights at the restaurant and tasting room, don't forget to soak up the culture of this historic town! Visit the Pioneer Museum Complex, Sauer Beckmann Living History Farm, or Admiral Nimitz State Historic Site to learn about the region's German heritage.

Wander along Main Street to find treasures in the antique shops, or pick wildflowers for your sweetheart at the breathtakingly beautiful Wild Seed Farms. For a little rugged beauty, pack your hiking boots or mountain bikes for active days at Enchanted Rock State Natural Area and Old Tunnel State Park.

Southern comforts and charms are on full display in Fredericksburg, and this Texas Hill County cottage is the perfect place to enjoy it all with that someone special!

*Please be aware there is no daily housekeeping at this property, though your rental will be thoroughly cleaned prior to your arrival.

We’re excited to inform you that this unit utilizes a comfortable style of bed-making known as Triple Sheeting. Triple Sheeting is proven to be more hygienic and is used by five-star hotels around the world. It consists of a fitted sheet, a flat sheet, a blanket, and finally a decorative top sheet.
Due to this change, the pictures for this home may not accurately represent the bedding that will appear during your stay. This has not affected any other amenities or the amount of beds available.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Kitchen & dining




Internet : Time Warner


Cable : Time Warner

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private



104 reviews

Bronson M. Jan 2023
We completely enjoyed our stay. The property was exactly what we wanted and exactly as advertised. Definitely recommend.
James N. Nov 2022
My wife and I stayed here for our 20th anniversary. It was a beautiful place that worked out well for two people. I was told by the Mrs. to add one recommendation, and that would be to include a full length mirror somewhere in the room…
Michelle U. Nov 2022
We loved the room so much, we’re considering modeling our new apartment we’re building at home after it. We had a little issue with the key cards, but Mercedes and Luis were quick to fix it, even at the late hour. Our coffee pot had some issues, probably needs some maintenance or to be replaced. But other than that I love that space and its proximity to Fredericksburg and Luckenbach. We’ll definitely stay here again next time!
Alejandro F. Nov 2022
My wife and I definitely loved the Blacksmith Quarters. We stayed in the Octavia and it was beautiful. It was our first time staying in Fredericksburg and we will definitely be booking again this place again.
Lori R. Sep 2022
Unique property. Very private. No staff in sight. VaCasa
Mark G. Aug 2022
Right downtown but setback and very peaceful setting!
Daniel C. Jul 2022
The great thing about this property was how close it was to everything. The down sides was there were no chair in the back by the hottub, it took 3 hours for the ac to drop the temp from 78 degrees to 75 degrees, and no smart TV.
It was well laid out and comfortable, but not worth the price!!!!!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Daniel! We are disappointed to hear of your negative experience while using our services. We have provided your valuable feedback to our local manager. Our manager has confirmed all the home's air conditioners are being serviced by a professional vendor. Unfortunately, due to abnormally high temperatures it is difficult for the air conditioners to keep the home cool. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you.
Stan S. Jun 2022
This is where you want to stay in downtown Fredericksburg when you want to be close to everything, but also feel like you're staying in a cottage out in the country. The obscure entrance into the quarters is easy to miss if you don't know where you're going. This makes it very private and quiet. There is private parking in the courtyard area, and the stone cottages are set back from the street overlooking Barons Creek. The room furnishings are magnificent.
Blacksmith Quarters is walking distance to all the action, but enjoying a glass of wine on the
front porch, or in your own private hot tub is a a real treat after a long day. It might be a little more expensive than the other hotels in Fredericksburg, but it is worth the extra money. We will definitely be going back.

James B. May 2022
This is a lovely quiet place near the center of town on Main St. We were the only people there during our whole stay. The little running pond contributed to the relaxing on our patio. Although there is a hot tub in your private back yard we did not use it. Looks a little out of date.
The room was clean and inviting, however the two chairs at the foot of the bed were very low and not comfortable at all. Because there is an iron headboard sitting in bed to read or watch TV is very uncomfortable.
This is a very overpriced place which could use other amenities. The front building on the street is a wine tasting room with a lovely patio but is only open Thursday -Sunday for tasting. It would make a nice little breakfast patio for staying quests. Just a small basket with Nature Granola bars and small bag of popcorn is not good. There is a little refrigerator that has cold water and will hold items you may bring back to the room. This is a nice place but certainly not worth the price per night and would recommend it only if price is never an issue, and if it provided a breakfast.
Janet M. Apr 2022
We were very disappointed to arrive at our cottage and find there were no clothes hangers in the closet. Normally, this is a standard amenity. When calling management, we were told this is not a standard feature in their homes. I certainly do not understand how an establishment of this level does not provide a means to unpack your clothes from a suitcase. I was very disappointed that I had to leave and go in search of hangers to purchase myself. The remainder of the property was lovely.
Brandon B. Feb 2022
This is a perfect property for a romantic stay in Fredericksburg. We loved everything about it. Highly recommended!
Todd H. Dec 2021
We stayed here 2 years ago & the property was immaculate but noticed some maintenance issues this time. The water feature wasn’t running at all this time. Seems it was either winterized too early or it was broken. . The floors & shower in our cottage didn’t look/feel clean. The coffee provided & the refillable Keurig filter was awful. There’s nowhere to really relax in the cottage except the 2 less than comfortable chairs or the bed and there’s no desk/workspace. We went to press a shirt & discovered the ironing board was broken. Our 2nd night there we came back to the cottage on a chilly night after dinner to find our digital keys didn’t work & we were locked out. Luckily a housekeeper arrived within 30 minutes & let us wait in one of the empty cottages until she could run over to the Vacasa offices & get the manual key for our cottage. The next day they did replace the battery in the electronics of the door & reprogram our digital keys & we didn’t have any further issues. Vacasa kindly gave us a 10% discount to use at any of their properties in the next year as an apology.. Overall Blacksmith Quarters is a lovely & conveniently located. property. It’s very quiet & felt very secure but I think we will probably stay somewhere else on our next visit to Fredericksburg.
Jennifer P. Nov 2021
We stayed in “Octavia”. The place itself was clean and cozy. They had the fireplace on and hot tub ready when we arrived. The room was equipped with snacks, coffee maker, bath robes, towels, refrigerator and microwave along with dishes and utensils. We enjoyed the hot tub very much along with the massive shower for two! Check in and check out was very easy. The only issue we had was the internet, even though we were connected to their wi-fi, we barely had any service for the entire weekend. We loved and enjoyed our stay! Everything you want is within walking distance as well. We will definitely be back!!
Veronica G. Nov 2021
Our cottage was way more than we expected! The location is everything ! Being able to wake up and walk right on Main Street is the best! And the fact that is is so quiet , you feel like you are in your own world! Everything was perfect and so clean. Easy check in process, zero issues. There were other guests on the property but you wouldn’t even know it! Parking was the best - literally right outside the cottage. Room was so cozy with the fireplace yet quite large and spacious. We will definitely come back!!
Wayne & Dianna S. Oct 2021
Sallie K. Aug 2021
It was not only a beautiful place and very convenient to all the places to shop but very quite. We will definitely stay they again and I highly recommend it!!!
JENNIFER D. Jul 2021
This cottage was within a short walking distance of the main tasting rooms and all of the great restaurants in Fredericksburg. It was only a short 10-15 drive to the vineyards. The room was updated, comfortable, and quiet with great amenities. Wish the weather had been cooler so we could use the fireplace. We will definitely stay here again!
Beth S. Jul 2021
The home was a comfortable place to stay with lots of nice touches like a welcome basket of snacks and a stocked mini kitchen of breakfast items! We enjoyed the hot tub. The outside area was so peaceful with the water feature. Even though it is on Main Street, it was quiet and did not feel like it.

We did have a difficult time finding the place to begin with as the sign is on the side of a building and not facing the front. And the internet connection was slow with and without using the WiFi. But we did not go to be on the internet so that wasn’t as much of a priority.

We had a great weekend in Fredericksburg and we look forward to the next time! We will keep this place in mind for our next trip!
Manager response:
Thank you for your generous review, Beth. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our home! We are sorry you had some difficulties with the internet. Please know that if any issues arise during your stay, we have local maintenance staff on standby who are happy to help. We look forward to hosting you again next time!
Linda B. Jun 2021
The whole setting was absolutely beautiful!!! Our room was gorgeous as well! Staff was very kind as we made last minute reservations. Would definitely go back again!
William L. May 2021
Location beautiful unit quiet
Patricia B. May 2021
This unit in the Blacksmith Quarters was very nicely situated with a beautiful decor and outside porch to sip on local wine! The bubbling brook and waterfall kept away any road noise while making it convenient to walk into town for shopping and dinner.

Thanks for the gluten free options for breakfast!

Trish & Jimmy
Ana R. May 2021
beautiful property, wonderful room and great location!
Kevin P. Apr 2021
Everything was perfect! Very clean and nice. It’s located close to downtown so we could come and go as we pleased.
Lauren M. Jan 2021
Great location, easy walking access to shops and restaurants. Beautiful and clean accomodations. Private and relaxing.
Benjamin M. Jan 2021
Loved the location. Loved the room. The switch for the fireplace right by the bed was fantastic! If you want easy access to Main Street but want a quiet and secluded spot, this is the one.
Rhonda G. Dec 2020
Lovely cabins that are within walking distance to downtown Fredericksburg. Check in was fairly easy with their app Vacasa. Amenities include a lovely fireplace, robes, hot tub, water and breakfast items. Very romantic and quiet....would recommend adding a small chair or stool that could be used in the bathroom for make up application. We will definitely be returning.
Matthew J. Dec 2020
Beautiful property and a great time
Michelle M. Dec 2020
Love this property! Walking distance to restaurants and main shopping. Fireplace, double shower, private hot tub!! Room was so cozy. Provided with muffins, cereal, and coffee. Wonderful experience, will definitely stay again!
Becky L. Nov 2020
The accommodations are first class. The location is on Main St. You can walk from your room to the shops. We stayed 5 days and there was not enough paper products but 1 call and they quickly brought more. Wi fi is spotty. We were very excited to see 4 fresh muffins in the room for breakfast but no more were delivered the rest of the week which was disappointing. I would definitely recommend staying here.
Manager response:
Hi, Becky! Thank you for your review. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention right away and allowing our staff to promptly remedy the situation. We are happy that your party was able to try the muffins, and apologize that there wasn't a follow-up delivery! We welcome your suggestions and value your feedback as an opportunity to improve. Thanks for staying with us, we hope to host you again soon!
Ben W. Oct 2020
I could go on and on about how much my Fiancé and I loved this place. It was a perfect spot and very relaxing. I cannot suggest it enough. It had all the amenities you could want. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip back to Fredricksburg.
Jeffrey F. Sep 2020
This property is right near downtown, so it was a 5-10 minute walk to get anywhere. There's tons of shopping and cute restaurants within a few blocks, and it's set back from the road so it was very quiet at night.

The property itself was beautiful! Be aware that the bed is VERY firm, though, so if you have back issues you might not get the best sleep. However, we'd definitely stay here again.
Manager response:
Jeffrey, We are so glad you enjoyed your visit the Blacksmith Quarters on Barons Creek: The Octavia. Beds are a personal preference and we apologize the bed did not fit yours. Thank you for choosing Vacasa, we look forward to hosting you again!
Alan P. Sep 2020
Great place quiet & clean
Lauren S. Aug 2020
Location is great to Main Street, walking distance! A cozy cottage setting and the grounds are well kept. Plenty of towels, comfortable bed, and easy check-in/ check out process.
Vern S. Jul 2020
This studio is in a great location - only a block away from where the retail starts on Main Street!! It is a bit hard to find because it's tucked in behind some other buildings.
The studio was clean & the perfect size for my wife & me with a nice double shower & comfy bed!
We had some issues when we first arrived - like we couldn't find out where the breakfast was served (turns out - it isn't due to COVID and that makes sense, instead they stock the studio with some delicious muffins, cereal and juice/milk) and the AC was struggling to keep up. Once I got through to a service advisor, the process was very effective and that same day they had an AC technician out to check the unit. Disappointingly, on our last night there, the AC was back to struggling again and they'll have to do some more work on it.
As further evidence of their local support, one of our neighbors got locked out of their studio. Because I had a LOCAL contact, I reached out to her and, within an hour, they had someone there to let our neighbors into their studio.
Due to it's location, we'll definitely look at this unit in the future.
Anchal S. May 2020
I had a wonderful time at this cottage. The amenities were nice, breakfast was delicious, and the surroundings were very peaceful.
Amanda W. Mar 2020
I love how clean it was with everything you could need. Muffins for morning, coffee, juice, water was lovely to have a little kitchenette. Private hot tub and fire at the foot of your bed is nice for relaxing after a day of wine tasting and German dining. WE WILL BE BACK!
Ramona C. Feb 2020
Not worth it after they throw on Tax of 200 dollars on top of the 225. Not worth 425.00 to stay here, Total Rip-off. Sad Part is you can’t cancel
Manager response:
Ramona, we appreciate your feedback. We are sorry you found the cottage to be overpriced, we do disclose our prices before booking the home so our guests never have any surprises. We also offer a full refund for reservations made directly with us that are canceled within 24 hours of booking. We hope we have the opportunity to impress you in the future.
Danny G. Nov 2019
The property was exactly what we were looking for. Being right on main made it easier to get around as it can be difficult to find parking in some areas. It was a surprise for my wife so she was even happier when she saw the place in person. Highly recommend staying here.
Craig and Joellyn M. Oct 2019
My husband and I loved everything about our visit! The room was attractive, had plenty of space and very clean! The outside back area was private! The front porch was charming looking onto the beautiful water feature. Only slight issue was the lockbox in getting it to close. Additional info would have been helpful. Overall wonderful experience and we would come back. The location was perfect to get to the main street right in front but recessed back enough for privacy.
Eddy N. Jul 2019
The hot tub and shower were great. Coffee pot needs some improvement.
Whitt P. May 2019
The grounds, parking and, most importantly, the cottage were impeccably designed. Privacy, luxury, and serenity were top concerns when this property was concieved and constructed. Attention to detail is found throughout. High end finishes and very upscale linens. Fine woodwork and tile that would be found in the finest of homes. I'm not sure if it's the property manager or owner but it was obviously a concern that we felt at home. Coffee, milk, water and even fresh German pastries we're provided. Yes, the price is high but you get what you pay for. I would certainly stay again.
Amanda S. Apr 2019
We won’t stay anywhere else! It’s nice and quiet, perfect for a couples getaway! I thought the jacuzzi might be a tad small but it was perfect! I loved not having to check in with someone. The bed was so comfortable and clean! This will be where we stay every time we visit Fredericksburg!
Aaron M. Apr 2019
What a beautiful and romantic place. Right in the heart of Fredericksburg. Everything was very clean and very cozy. Will definitely stay again.
Jordan D. Apr 2019
Very quaint and close to all the shops/restaurants on Main Street. Would recommend this to all my friends and family.
Allen A. Mar 2019
From the fireplace to the wooden ceiling and the private hot tub the room was perfect. The grounds were quite and perfect location. Highly recommend.
Elizabeth C. Mar 2019
Loved the fireplace, double shower and hot tub! Super convenient location. I was surprised at this price point that there was no maid service/refresh towels.
Jean O. Feb 2019
Love the setting
Billy H. Feb 2019
We stayed at the Octavia this weekend and it was fantastic. It’s the little touches like the fireplace already going when we got to the room, hot tub already warmed up, and fresh coffee cake on the counter. The room was clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The private parking for guests was very nice. Close enough to walk around town, but secluded enough to be very quiet. The grounds were very well kept. Great stay!
Shiriki D. Jan 2019
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Barons Creek: The Octavia! The room was clean, had beverages in the refrigerator, and the hot tub was nice!!
Doyle R. Jan 2019
The entire experience was top-notch. The well kept secluded property with its inviting cottages and tranquil environment provided the perfect get-a-way. We will be booking a stay here again as soon as we can.
Holly F. Nov 2018
Absolutely loved the property. The room was very clean, everything you would need was included, and the breakfast pastry was a really nice touch. Within walking distance of everything so location was perfect. Could not have asked for a better stay for our anniversary getaway.
Erin C. Oct 2018
Quiet, beautifully appointed cottage right off Main Street. I loved that you could walk to shops and restaurants but on the property you can leave Main St behind! Had a wonderfully relaxing stay! It was exactly what I was looking for.
Shawn E. Sep 2018
Beautiful property
Very clean
Nice location
Quite area at night
Private parking
Very romantic - private hot tub - fireplace by bed - double shower
Nice bed

Kristine S. Sep 2018
Very quaint setting, all new and tastefully done. Centrally located in town for easy access to Main St. Lovely setting.
Dustin W. Aug 2018
Absolutely loved our stay in this beautiful secluded cabin. The location was phenomenal; right on the strip, yet it felt personal and private. The amenities were amazing, we absolutely loved the private hot tub! We can’t wait to come back in the near future!
J F. Jul 2018
We absolutely enjoyed staying here - quite unexpectedly nice. However, we were slightly disappointed on the breakfast provided, and no option for a bottle prechilled in the room. Alas, we were on main street and walking distance to both. Highly recommended!
Robert M. Jul 2018
Not too shabby
Candy A. Jul 2018
This was an oustanding property. Loved the waer accent.
micky a. Jun 2018
the room (the octavia) was by far the most beautiful room we have stayed in in quite some time. incredible shower! loved the coffee cake. really loved the clean room. and the privacy was also good. it was great to not have to battle finding parking every time we came back to our room.
Kathy L. Jun 2018
Privacy, quiet, walk distance to most of downtown. Beautiful
Michael P. Apr 2018
Excellent location, great customer service, quiet and delicious cinnamon rolls!!!!!!
Sande M. Apr 2018
What a nice place! Looks brand new and is only a block from the Sisters Bakery - yum! Will definitely stay here again.
Tonia V. Mar 2018
We loved the Octavia it was so cozy and very nice! The location is convenient, we walked to dinner and shops! The fireplace and hot tub were the “extra” accommodations that made everything perfect!
Jimmy F. Mar 2018
This will always be our go to place now for Fredericksburg . Great room love the Hot tub and ladies at front office are awesome and very helpful.
Shane C. Feb 2018
The staff was phenomenal! We had a small issue with our hot tub and they jumped in to help us as well as followed up the following day. 5 Star service in action.
Kevin G. Feb 2018
Vacasa runs a first rate facility at the Blacksmith location. It's worth the splurge, as every detail is well thought out and as nice as any 5 star resort in terms of room design and service.
Jon B. Jan 2018
Steven T. Dec 2017
Wonderful time. Blacksmith Quarters was an A+. Quaint town with a lot of culture to enjoy. Thanks for having us.
Jennie W. Nov 2017
Great location, close to shopping and restaurants. Loved the water feature! Comfortable rooms, we will be back next year!
Sean C. Nov 2017
Enjoyed our stay very much!!
Angela L. Nov 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable and the clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating. This was a great quick getaway from the big city. I would highly recommend it and the money was well worth the stay.
Kelli N. Jul 2017
A wonderful romantic get-a-way cabin. It was nice to be able to walk almost everywhere and go back to a relaxing, cozy cottage. Amenities were excellent!
Megan D. May 2017
We had a great time!
Jan E. May 2017
Thanks, Lissa, for taking the time to give us a tour of the main house. It's all a very special historic place.
MARGO S. Feb 2017
Perfect combination of lovely landscaping with a beautiful waterfall and stream. The cottages are quaint, clean and very luxurious, what a great master bath! We enjoyed the fireplace and the private hot tub. The location is wonderful, close to just about everything. Would love to return and try out all the other cabins, overall perfect quick getaway weekend.
Denise C. Feb 2017
We loved the property and romantic ambience for our Anniversary. Units are a bit pricey. Great location off of Fredericksburg's Main street, but secluded away from the street noise. Beautiful room with fireplace, large bathroom and personal fenced in hot-tub. The cinnamon roll provided each day is delicious.
Jacob S. Jan 2017
We stayed at the Octavia House and could not have been more pleased!! The staff was so sweet and gave us wonderful recommendations to go out for New Years. The walk to our stay was beautiful and clean, the little house we stayed in was absolutely adorable. The furniture was well picked and all the accents were very thought out and matched throughout the house. The hot tub was the perfect added touch in the back so it was very secluded!! We will be making this a New Years tradition!!
Timothy H. Dec 2016
We enjoyed our stay here so much! What a perfect little B&B. The room was great, amenities and facilities were top notch, and the staff in the front office were so cordial and helpful. We look forward to staying here again!
Elizabeth G. Nov 2016
Truly enjoyed everything about this place.
Lennon J. Aug 2016
Great place to stay. Loved the layout.