Virtual Tour
USA California Marshall Marin County Listing #4020

Mollusk Manor - Marshall, CA

69 reviews
Max occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms 3 bathrooms Dog-friendly 
22505 CA-Hwy 1, Marshall, CA 94940

Dog-friendly home on Tomales Bay w/ private rocky beach

With its own rocky beach on the eastern shore of Tomales Bay, this coastal contemporary Marshall vacation rental is the perfect place to unplug and enjoy the natural beauty of Marin County.

Gorgeously situated on five wooded acres, this two-master suite (plus a private den with a sofabed) bayfront home is less than three miles from the charming town of Marshall and only 12 miles from Point Reyes Station, the gateway to the wild and beautiful Point Reyes National Seashore.

High ceilings and skylights create a space that is flooded with natural light, while large windows frame forest and bay views in nearly every room.

As the fog retreats over Tomales Bay each morning, guests can enjoy the view in front of the gas fireplace in the spacious living room. An additional great room with a plush built-in sofa is an ideal place to curl up with an engrossing book.

And although guests can enjoy the famous local oysters just down the road at Hog Island Oyster Company or Nick's Cove, the airy open kitchen, complete with a dishwasher, is equipped for every cooking or baking need. In the mornings, sip a cup of coffee at the intimate fireside kitchen table; in the evenings, enjoy family dinners in the dining room for eight.

Just beyond the sliding doors, an outdoor deck features a table and chairs for al fresco dining with a bay view. Designed as a coastal retreat, this serene and secluded home encourages its guests to unwind without cell phone service or cable. Yet technology lovers need not fear. Mollusk Manor is equipped with WiFi, a TV and DVD player, a landline phone, and board games for adults and children alike.

At night, this home can accommodate as many as six guests in two master suites a private den, and three full bathrooms. Each upstairs master suite features a queen bed, an en suite bathroom, and a view of Tomales Bay, while a sofabed in the den provides additional sleeping space. The family dog is also welcome here for a small nightly fee.

But guests will find the greatest entertainment in the surrounding natural wonders. Follow the outdoor wooden staircase to find a private rocky beach, ideal for wading or bringing kayaks ashore. And don't worry about keeping your clothes clean and dry, because you'll also have a washer/dryer.

A destination for quiet family getaways and relaxing weekends with friends, the Tomales Bay region is beloved for its cuisine and rural beauty. Pack a picnic from Cowgirl Creamery in Point Reyes Station and drive 28 miles to reach the stunning cliffs of Drakes Beach; continue another four miles to watch whales swimming by the majestic Point Reyes Lighthouse.

Reconnect with your friends, family, and breathtaking surroundings by booking this California vacation rental today! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Property permit ID: 30534



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling


Gas fireplace

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining






Water view






DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Sound dock

Nearby activities & attractions

Board games


Beach towels


69 reviews

yanjie d. Dec 2019
Very peaceful place for family retreat.
Dara A. Sep 2019
We rented this specifically for the hot tub. I had to ask a couple days before our stay after reading another review if the hot tub was broken and indeed it was. It was a pretty big disappointment but they refunded me $200. Furniture was a little outdated and dirty, looked like it was from the 80s, but the house was spacious and comfortable and kitchen fully stocked with pots pans dishes etc. Kids loved the rope swing and the rocky beach.
Kathryn S. Aug 2019
We loved the location (beautiful!), and the house is quirky in a charming way. The two bedrooms are spacious. The house is older and not necessarily updated, but the kitchen was plenty big for group cooking and the views are fantastic. We particularly loved the beach (note: it's a rocky/gravel beach, not sandy, so take folding chairs). The kids collected crabs and we kayaked directly from the beach. Spectacular wildlife! Pelicans, bat rays in the bay, tule elk, deer, howling coyotes, etc. All these things made the house worthwhile and enjoyable.

There were also some significant and apparently ongoing problems: the hot tub was broken and not able to be fixed while we were there. Apparently Vacasa was aware of this issue but it still took numerous calls to them to be told that it would be down the entire trip, so we were given a $200 credit in compensation. Major disappointment, the kids were bummed.

Also, the dishwasher has a note that says that it's only good for 'sanitizing' dishes, not washing, so it's basically useless and we ended up hand-washing dishes for 6 people. Not so relaxing. Also there are several notes around the house about glitchy fireplaces, etc. (we didn't try these and so can't report on them).

The house is older and not necessarily updated, and it smells a bit damp but in my experience that's common for NoCal beach houses. There is also some areas of poison oak around the location. Again, typical of NoCal, so just stay on the path and you'll be fine, but if you're highly allergic you should beware.

If the owners invested a bit and fixed these issues, they'd have a truly fantastic rental and we'd be happy to come back. As it stands now, however, we wouldn't.
Manager response:
Hi, Kathryn! The owner is determining whether to replace the hot tub or repair its pump, but either way, it will soon be taken care of! The note regarding the dishwasher is simply asking that all food be rinsed off before the dishes are put in the washer. We apologize if you thought it meant you had to hand wash everything! There is a particular smell here due to the home sitting under eucalyptus trees. Thank you!
Eliza G. Aug 2019
This is undoubtedly a great location and a house full of potential but Vacasa is overcharging for it and mismanaging it in a major way. Things touted as attributes (view, amenities like hot tub and dishwasher) were broken or marred (view made gross by filthy picture windows, dishwasher didn't work which meant dirty dishes put away in the cupboard when we arrived--YUCK--and handwashing all our dishes, hot tub not functional for humans--though some very cool frogs were loving it). Inadequate cleaning meant that we were STILL finding trash from the previous occupants on the LAST day (a lovely little cache of coke cans and cookie wrappers under one addition to the press on nails and earplugs--used--that we found next to the other bed on the FIRST day). Signage posted around the house refers to things that are absent (disposal) or irrelevant (it says NO PETS in what was a pet-focused rental). We could go on and on. We felt duped and stupid. The staircase is also treacherous--not a great spot for infants or anyone with mobility issues. Vacasa needs to get their act together and stop price-gouging customers.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Eliza. We are sorry to have been unable to provide you with a more pleasant vacation experience. We are happy to report that the dishwasher has been repaired and we are currently addressing repairs to the hot tub. Cleanliness concerns have been addressed with housekeeping. We hope to host you for a great visit in the future!
DAVID A. Jul 2019
Loved the home! Big and beautiful! Loved the living room fireplace! Fireplace in kitchen did not work.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback. The manager will check the fireplace. It occasionally needs to be reset. Please come stay with us again soon!
Jacob B. Mar 2019
Amazing views, and large property with plenty of privacy. My family and I couldn't have been more pleased. Be aware that the internet does not support streaming so you may want to bring some DVDs
morgan w. Mar 2019
This place was as advertised. Lovely house with many nooks and crannies to relax or create.
kelly i. Feb 2019
Sun shimmering on Tomales Bay was beautiful. It's a great home setup for cooking, hot tub and relaxing. We have been wanting to stay her for a while and were not disappointed! Kids want to go back.
Christian K G. Nov 2018
Beautiful views, spacious and thoughtful house layout and the hot tub was actually really HOT, with working jets. All the gas fireplaces were easy to use and very romantic. My husband and I loved our relaxing stay here!
Jennifer G. Oct 2018
Peaceful location and surroundings. House is dated, but nice enough. Needs repairs/replacement of hot tub, sink and dishwasher. Knew ahead of time about dishwasher having issues but really no excuse to not have replaced at this point. Hot Tub was a requirement in any house we selected so was quite disappointing the jets didn’t work. Heat was adjusted but without jets was silly. Sink(considering everything needed hand washing) was ridiculous, everything gets sprayed including yourself.
Manager response:
We apologize for the inconveniences and disappointments this guest faced with the hot tub and dishwasher. We have been working with the owner on these items, and we did just have a tech out to service both. Thank you!
Anne V. Sep 2018
We stayed with our two young kids and my mom for a family wedding at the nearby Strauss Ranch. We rented some baby gear and toys through BabyQuip and we loved sitting in the living room by the fireplace or in the enclosed deck with expansive views of Tomales Bay while the kids played. Plenty of space, a well-stocked kitchen, big bedrooms, and lots of sleeping options made the inside of the home very comfortable. The great views of the water and the little piece of shoreline were perfect for taking in the surroundings. Vacasa agents were highly responsive-would definitely recommend them and this house!
Sandy S. Sep 2018
The dishwasher didn’t work. The hot tub was only slightly warm and no way to make it warmer.
Manager response:
We apologize for the inconvenience and have sent technicians out to handle these amenities. Thank you!
Kristen C. Aug 2018
My friends and I were in town for a wedding nearby and this was the perfect stay for us. The location, artsy and modern furnished spacious interiors, incredible backyard with views of the water, beautiful trees, and even a swing was the right amount of magic for our already lovely weekend. Would highly recommend!
Kelsey S. Jul 2018
The house is beautiful and has a lot of space, but it isn’t very clean. There were cobwebs in the downstairs shower - even though they said we couldn’t check in early because they were cleaning - and the drain didn’t work well. We also had to wash several dishes before using them. Most importantly, the hot tub didn’t work, and that was the whole reason we booked this house (and a measly $140 refund for a $1k+ reservation is ridiculous).

The property was nice and fun to explore. It’s definitely not a beach you’d want to sunbathe on (it’s covered in seaweed and we saw a dead seagull, dead skunk, and several dead jellyfish), but we found neat shells and anemones, and the water and hills were pretty to look at.

The last thing I’ll complain about is the 4pm check in time. The fact that you don’t learn if there’s an opportunity to check in early until day-of is ridiculous, especially when so many folks are traveling from out of town. We’ll never book with Vacasa again.
Michelle J. Jul 2018
My family and I really enjoyed the location, hot tub and other amenities. The place is quiet, peaceful, charming and clean. Several appliances did not work (e.g. kitchen furnace, dishwasher and garbage disposal) but overall, it's a great place.
Stevie D. Jun 2018
Truly a gem. It was the perfect peaceful getaway with a gorgeous view of the water and trees from the house. The kitchen is great for cooking, and there were several quaint nooks and corners to curl up with a book or take a nap. Also the beds are SO comfy.
Dani S. May 2018
Beautiful house with incredible views. Well-stocked for a weekend or a week away with family or friends.
miriano r. May 2018
The house is very nice, nested in an almost private wood on the waters of Tomales Bay. Fells like you have a “park” at your disposal. Modern architecture, interesting interior layout with the rooms at various angles that still nest harmoniously (only bad choice: the stairs that go upstairs, at 45 degrees from the direction of walking). Furnishing in modern eclectic style, very well integrated. The view from the three big windows in the living room is amazing.
On the negative side the property could use a better maintenance. We found fresh spots on the floor (kind of coffee?), most of the sofas are stained, there was a hole in the wall going up the stairs. A garbage bin was already full when we arrived. Something was in the washer.
Still it deserves four stars, but it’s a pity I can give the full five stars that the property would deserve.
candace l. May 2018
The house was super spacious, lots of nooks and crannies, and set on a really lovely piece of land leading down to a shallow beach overlooking Tomales Bay. You could sit and look at the giant windows for hours.
Arik D. May 2018
The place was amazing, the location ideal. Can't recommend enough!
Dianne H. Apr 2018
This is a beautiful property situated on an extensive treed lot right on Tomales Bay. Every room in the house has wonderful views through large picture windows, of the water , the outdoor sculpture or of eucalyptus and cypress trees. It even has a private beach from which you can watch birds and sunsets to your heart’s content. Indoors the house is spacious, interesting and filled with light and artwork. There are many rooms or spaces in which to hang out or socialize very comfortably. The kitchen is large and opens onto a lovely deck. The kitchen is well equipped but there is no allocated space for food. We used the counters and the art room which adjoins the kitchen.

The house, its fixtures and furnishings are beginning to show their age, however the setting more than compensates. The stairway to the second floor is somewhat tricky having been designed on a diagonal and would be difficult for anyone with a mobility issue. There is a pull out couch in the office on the main floor as well as a full bathroom, however.

When we arrived the house had not been cleaned because of problems associated with flooding on the Point Reyes roads. Nicole, the local Vacasa manager responded very quickly to rectify the situation and we were very pleased with her efforts.

I would stay there again, with pleasure.
Stayed: April 2018
Recommended for: Activities (Point Reyes lighthouse, Bodega Head, Dillon Beach, Abbott’s Lagoon Point Reyes Station (bookstore, bakery, creamery), Nick’s Cove Restaurant, any of the oyster bars)
Adventure Seekers (Wonderful area to explore . Hiking, kayaking , birdwatching)
Family (Lots of space, indoors and out.)
Friends (Good cooking and socializing space.)
Groups (Sleeping space for 3 couples, lots of room for socializing and cooking.)
Mattice B. Dec 2017
The pictures don't do it justice. It features a great view, large private lot, private beach, and a great location.
Shavaun T. Nov 2017
Nestled in a cypress grove, but with a spectacular view down Tomales Bay to the hills of Pt. Reyes. Steps down to the beach. Huge open plan with lots of places for smaller groups to gather. Very good kitchen. Great for families or 2-3 couples.
Brent M. Oct 2017
What a great location to spend some time and unwind.
Monica M. Sep 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is a bit older (would benefit from a few updates) but beautiful, with an artistic flare and magnificent views and accessibility to the bay. Very private, yet close in. My family wants to live there ;)
Bruce F. Sep 2017
My Wife is in in the television industry where as she has to watch TV fairly often. A TV is not a TV unless it receives a signal. The number one amenity of this house on the website says that it has a TV , it doesn't, it has a monitor so you can only watch a DVD. Not what we expected.

They claim to have 24/7 customer service. We had to leave a message every time we called with 1 time taking 3 hours to get back to us.

Well stock kitchen and I feel in love with the professional range.

On a lighter note be careful where you park! After one night my black car was white the next morning from the bird droppings.
Merrik B. Aug 2017
This is a lovely home with all the amenities, plus several bonus rooms (an office and an art room). Beds are very comfortable, home is clean, and the water pressure is great. Sitting in the hot tub under the stars is glorious, and if you go down to the beach on a moonless night, you'll likely see bioluminescence along the shore. It was a lovely retreat, and we'd stay here again.
Deborah T. Jul 2017
We loved our stay at Mollusk Manor at the end of June. The house is amazing with lovely soft Tomales Bay peaking through the beautiful fragrant trees. There is plenty of room for everyone to spread out and relax in the living room and other cozy places throughout the house, with even an art/craft room available with supplies to exercise your hidden talents! Lots of games, puzzles and books to entertain a diverse group. Hot tub was splendid on a cool evening. The kitchen has everything you need, including cookbooks, to host a delightful family gathering. And if you love oysters, or have never tried them, be sure to get some of the local Hog Island oysters (either at their roadside place or at a nearby restaurant)--they are so delicious!!
Trent M. Jul 2017
We enjoyed waking up to the beautiful view of the bay each morning and,sunsets at night. 30 mins from hiking to light house, elk reserve, beachs,and tidepools at Dillion beach . Quiet area. Beautiful home.
Angela T. Jul 2017
If you're looking for something silent in the middle of nature, you want to do selfcooking and you don't mind to drive 20 minutes to the next bigger village then it is definitly a dreamhouse!! We really loved it and want to come back!
Clinton C. Jun 2017
Quiet and off the beaten path we really liked the area and the house.
Jenny C. May 2017
This was by far our favorite rental in Marshall. The house is large and comfortable, the cook's kitchen very well-stocked, and the location is incredible! The property is very quiet and private, with 180 degree views and water access, and it is just a quick jaunt to great food and beaches. We will be back--soon!
Deborah V. Apr 2017
We have stayed at many home stays and BnB's around the world and this was by far the best stay we have ever had! My grown children and partners joined James and me for a relaxing weekend and this fit the bill perfectly. The kitchen was wonderfully equipped so we ate all our meals there including a oyster feast , The architecture takes full advantage of the views and provides nooks for anyone to escape though we spent most of our time in the great room. It has high ceilings allowing for big windows and skylights which envies the outside in. Hot tubbing under the starts with a full moon was the best. We will be back!
Maia C. Mar 2017
We absolutely loved our stay at the Mollusk Manor. We were 4 adults and 2 children (ages 2 & 4). It was a perfect place for us to cook and share meals together, read by the gas fireplace and large picture windows when it was raining outside. We appreciated the books, games and craft room in the house and took advantage of the garden and small pebble beach with the kids.
Marilyn M. Jan 2017
This home is beautiful, peaceful and healing. There are views from every window in the house. It was hard to leave. We will definetely be back.
Kathleen P. Jan 2017
Beautiful and comfortable home in Marshall. Close to hiking and other activities as well as great restaurants. Would stay here again.
Jeffry A. Jan 2017
A group of 6 of us stayed here over New Years weekend; we were all in town for a wedding that took place up the street at Strauss Ranch. The pictures do not do this property justice. It is truly one of a kind and we never got in each other's way - lots of room, great amenities, nice HOT hot tub perfect for a soak after a long day.

Vacasa was very easy to work with and they were very professional from the start. They even collaborated with the owner on our behalf to allow for a small reception for out-of-town wedding guests.

This was our first rental with Vacasa, and based on our experience, it definitely won't be the last. Thank you for a seamless and top-notch experience!
Sandra A. Jan 2017
This is our second stay in this beautifully designed home. So many different spaces to enjoy the surroundings. If you appreciate the design aesthetic of original Sea Ranch architecture then this would be for you. The kitchen is so well stocked with cooking and baking tools it inspired me to create great meals. The house could use a little fixing up, like drawers and persnickety gas fireplaces, but we saw beyond that to a beautiful and relaxing home. We did experience some problems with water and gas but Vacasa made up for it with exceptional customer service. We were there in a very strong storm and enjoyed watching it from the oversized windows. We will be back.
Kim H. Jan 2017
The place worked out really well for 2 older adults and 4 young adults. However, it was freezing cold when we arrived (in late Dec.) and one bedroom was too cold to sleep in the first night. The location is lovely and the kitchen worked well for multiple cooks. It's a bit of a drive to Point Reyes National Seashore, but the location on Tomales Bay is serene and beautiful. We'd definitely stay here again!
Addie J. Oct 2016
Nice location.
Bruce K. Oct 2016
It was a pleasure to stay in this very cool, creative house. It had a great flow and lots of room to relax and enjoy the beautiful views. A great kitchen where many can gather, and two to four great places for people to sit and eat. The three full bathrooms were awesome and the two bedrooms upstairs were large and very comfortable. It was a complete pleasure to stay here, and the flow and comfort of the house was awesome. The only thing we missed was being able to watch TV. There was no cable service, and there was a TV upstairs where you could watch DVDs. Overall, it was a joy to stay there! :D
Joel R. Aug 2016
Fantastic place to stay. Wonderful location, beautiful house. We loved staying here and hope we'll be back!
Andrew H. Aug 2016
Our family of 5 stayed at Mollusk Manor in mid-August. We have 3 teenagers and we all enjoyed our stay. There are 2 bedrooms with bathrooms and a 3rd office with a pull-out. They also have a couple day beds which worked great for the 13 year old. Hikes, visits to Stinson & Dillion beach along with day trips to San Francisco and Muir Woods satisfied all and were within an hours drive. Great spot to get away from it all!
John P. Aug 2016
This is a stunning and spacious, yet homely house in a beautiful, peaceful setting. It has a modern design, with big picture windows, and an open and interesting layout. There are many of the owners' sculptures, drawings and paintings around the house, as well as many interior features which add to the experience. There is plenty of space outside for children to play (and adults too). The kitchen is well-provisioned with a great oven and fridge-freezer, plenty of flexible seating. Excellent washing machine and dryer. We enjoyed watching the buzzards in the trees above and one morning we saw a grey fox cub sunning itself on a tree stump. There are gorgeous sunsets to be seen by the shoreline and this part of the coast does not seem to have a much sea fog as lower down, closer to Stinson beach and SF. We would definitely recommend it and would love to come back.
Susan A. Jul 2016
This was our first time renting a home away from home (through Vacasa or anyone). Here's how things went. Check in was easy and confirmed quickly, and I got an email from the local property manager soon after checking in, which made us feel well cared for. When we wanted to extend our stay by one day, she helped us make it happen. The property itself is as the photos say: large, clean, homey, with a large functional kitchen (with far more kitchen utensils than I knew how to use). Beds were organic cotton and comfy. Towels were fluffy and new. These seem like simple things, but they can really make or break your stay, whether in a hotel or home. Location is pretty isolated, and when I needed to go to the pharmacy, it's was a 15-minute drive at least. But that's not necessarily a bad thing! Be aware (and they did warn me) that there is no, no, no cell service at the home itself. I had to drive about 10 minutes to get my AT&T service to click back on. But the home has a working landline, and local calls were covered. Wifi was strong. All in all: happy!
Vicky G. Jun 2016
This house has lots of difference spots, inside and out, for reading, relaxing, chatting, and napping. A fun design. Light, airy and enjoyable views.
Lynn O. May 2016
A beautiful, peaceful place to stay with wonderful neighbors!
Noelle E. Apr 2016
The pictures do not do justice to the beauty of the home. It is secluded with a water view from every room and a deck also with full sunlight and water views. We loved having what felt like our own private beach and were far enough away from civilization that it felt like a retreat, but close enough to enjoy Point Reyes and the Marshall Store and Cowgirl Creamery easily. This was an amazing stay in an impeccable home and wish we could have extended our vacation by days and days!
Emmanuelle S. Apr 2016
We loved the house, the garden, the location. Perfect place for a family gateway.
Very spacious.
Amy A. Apr 2016
The home was clean, well stocked and very comfortable. We had a great time enjoying the views and our kids loved the big tree swing in the yard. On a warmer weekend we would have enjoyed the secluded private beach. Overall a great stay!
Rachelle D. Mar 2016
Perfect place to relax and get in touch with nature.
Nancy H. Feb 2016
This house is located on the water side of the highway. It is designed so that every room looks over the water. What spectacular views!! The second floor bedrooms are HUGE with very large queen beds and nice bathrooms. Both bedrooms have water views too. The gas fireplace in the living room and kitchen is a really nice touch - particularly on the colder mornings and evenings. The hot tub was amazing. Very hot and very clean, and is right on the deck, also overlooking the water. The kitchen is super - everything you need, plus lots of spices and a gourmet oven/stove. Amazing!!! The house is far enough from the road that you don't even notice the traffic noise. If you had kayaks, you could totally launch them here and enjoy Tomales Bay. My only negative comment is that for an elderly person, the stairs to the second floor could be a challenge. They were angled and somewhat tricky - but there is also a fold out couch and full bathroom on the first floor so if you are bringing an elderly person along, that would work for them. We definitely recommend this to couples traveling together, or folks with a couple kids. Thanks for everything!
Leora A. Jan 2016
Beautifully homey feel. Loved the personal art, the deck mandala, the perfectly situated nooks & seating areas, and the kitchen was a pleasure to cook in. We had a hard time leaving this very unique and special place to be!
Sarah R. Jan 2016
We enjoyed our stay at Mollusk Manor. The view from the house to the Bay is beautiful, and the house itself is cozy and well-stocked. We enjoyed cooking in the kitchen, relaxing by the fire, and walking to the water and up the road to Nick's Cove. Overall a great spot for a weekend getaway.
Joanne K. Jan 2016
We came here for a womens weekend and had a fabulous time. The house is very spacious and cozy but interesting and modern as well. It is also very private and the grounds are large.
Cameron C. Dec 2015
Had a wonderful weekend. Cooked big dinners, took nice hikes in nearby hills, meditated on the views of Tomales Bay. Wow, I'm looking forward to going back again soon.